145 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.

felixmask
post Apr 10 2013, 04:15 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 10 2013, 04:04 PM)
Well there are red cheap China stocks listed in Malaysia , PE of 3 +- many.

U dare to buy  laugh.gif
I wont buy, else the stock "SongLap" me to the longkang.
SKY 1809
post Apr 10 2013, 04:19 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 10 2013, 04:15 PM)
Cannot say like that lor , U could be the next Billionaire in town if u make it right.

Highest record here is about 8 to 10m.

kelvinlym
post Apr 10 2013, 04:24 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 10 2013, 09:15 AM)
It depends, if done due diligence, could be an investment. I cashed out my Baidu shares in 2010 after they announced their stock split. I made some money due to the increased liquidity of the stock. It was a pure speculative play contrary to my value investing principles. My research shown Baidu was market leader in China, so risk was low. However, I don't trust much on China companies anymore nowadays.

Of course PE is not everything, but if you consider 2 stocks with the same risks, wouldn't you buy the one with lower PE? smile.gif

I'm currently looking at the Osram spin off.
felixmask
post Apr 10 2013, 04:24 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 10 2013, 04:19 PM)
Cannot say like that lor , U could be the next Billionaire in town if u make it right.

Highest record here is about 8 to 10m.
that is fundamental - the business is good suddenly. Sure i jump to ship. SKY 1809 got tips ?

This post has been edited by felixmask: Apr 10 2013, 04:25 PM
newbie99
post Apr 10 2013, 04:29 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(noprogambler @ Apr 10 2013, 12:25 AM)
Of course, 10 years is short and I never thought can reach RM1 million to RM8 million by 10 years leh. Maybe I need 15 years to grow RM1 million to RM8 million. Below is my plan.

So far my track record in share investment is CAGR 20%, which means my portfolio size would double every 4 years. For your information, I just got the share margin facility not long ago, hence the CAGR 20% is an unlevered return.

Maybe my portfolio size was too small and I could flip CAGR 20% in the past, so to be conservative I assume my portfolio's return will be mean reverse to market return when its size becomes larger, likely my long run CAGR would reduce to 15% and with that my portfolio could double every 5 years, this indicates RM1 million could grow to RM8 million in 15 years. And don't forget if I also keep pumping in additional annual savings, then the period of achieving RM8 million could be even shorten further.

Correct me if I am wrong smile.gif .
i used to think like you, thinking everyday is a brilliant day, always counting when i will achieve 1m, 10m, and 100m. My wife keeps on reminding me that not everyday is a good day. Once you are hit by 1 in a 100 year event, like Asian Financial Crisis, or Subprime Crisis, it may be very difficult to continue that CAGR of 20%, as mathematically you will need to get at least 100% return to get back your capital pre crisis if you suffer 50% loss, if you cannot find additional source of capital. That may warrant you to take unnecessary risks and cause further capital loss. I find avoiding trapped in a major crisis is more important to achieve high return.

As a matter of fact, i am currently having the exact dilemma of whether to start liquidating my portfolio as i have achieved my financial goal 3 year ahead of schedule, or continue the aggressive investment strategy..

EddyLB
post Apr 10 2013, 04:36 PM

1,864 posts

QUOTE(noprogambler @ Apr 10 2013, 02:08 PM)
Yah you did, then I can on my own way different from yours tongue.gif .
Ya, there is no right or wrong way. Both way also can reach the destination. Best of luck ! icon_rolleyes.gif

SKY 1809
post Apr 10 2013, 04:40 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 10 2013, 04:24 PM)
that is fundamental - the business is good suddenly. Sure i jump to ship. SKY 1809  got tips ?
I got relative's parent bought lands/prop in KL when almost everyone jumped ships.

May13 time

Now they are super rich.
felixmask
post Apr 10 2013, 04:48 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 10 2013, 04:40 PM)
I got relative's parent bought lands/prop  in KL when almost everyone jumped ships.

May13 time

Now they are super rich.
1969, i havent born.
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 10 2013, 04:54 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Apr 10 2013, 04:24 PM)
It depends, if done due diligence, could be an investment.  I cashed out my Baidu shares in 2010 after they announced their stock split.  I made some money due to the increased liquidity of the stock.  It was a pure speculative play contrary to my value investing principles.  My research shown Baidu was market leader in China, so risk was low.  However, I don't trust much on China companies anymore nowadays.

Of course PE is not everything, but if you consider 2 stocks with the same risks, wouldn't you buy the one with lower PE?  smile.gif

I'm currently looking at the Osram spin off.
Of course pick the one with lower PE...no? unsure.gif
SKY 1809
post Apr 10 2013, 05:06 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 10 2013, 04:54 PM)
Of course pick the one with lower PE...no? unsure.gif
Last time there was a very cheap low PE co listed in Bursa, heavily promoted by some analysts as very good.

I highlighted that this co had 1 to 2 years of uncollected debts. ( money owing to them.)

Touch wood, 1 year later or so, company got delisted by Bursa.

I also feel sori for them. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 10 2013, 05:06 PM
kelvinlym
post Apr 10 2013, 05:17 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 10 2013, 10:06 AM)
Last time there was a very cheap low PE co listed in Bursa,  heavily promoted by some analysts as very good.

I highlighted that this co  had 1 to 2 years of uncollected debts. ( money owing to them.)

Touch wood, 1 year later or so, company got delisted by Bursa.

I also feel sori for them. notworthy.gif
That's why I never trust analysts, Malaysia's stock market and KLSE.
5w4tch
post Apr 10 2013, 05:47 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Apr 10 2013, 03:50 PM)
When wet market aunties are talking about shares, then the market is peaking.

FYI to beginners in stock investing, cheap doesn't mean the price itself is low.  Learn about market cap, P/E ratios etc before evaluating a company on it's price alone.

Would you invest in a stock at a price of RM10 and P/E of 10 or a stock at RM20 and P/E of 5, considering both companies sell the same product with each having market share of 50%?
Very useful advise. Thumbs up bro thumbup.gif
SKY 1809
post Apr 10 2013, 05:50 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Apr 10 2013, 05:17 PM)
That's why I never trust analysts, Malaysia's stock market and KLSE.
Cannot say only Malaysia got problems lah ..HerbaLife in US is now facing problems too.

Many stories going on there . Some more auditors gave insiders news to others to short sell shares.
Edisonkim
post Apr 10 2013, 05:59 PM

151 posts

Just Sharing
Im
Marital Status: Not Married no gf.

Asset(s):
1 old car now cost dont know lolx because
10yrs+

Insurance:
Life: RM15k
Saving: RM30K

Investment:
FD: RM 18k

Cash in hand
RM10k
but life is like a hell bad... because holiday or not holiday also need to work haiz...
kelvinlym
post Apr 10 2013, 07:06 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 10 2013, 10:50 AM)
Cannot say  only Malaysia  got problems lah  ..HerbaLife in US is now facing problems too.

Many stories going on there . Some more auditors gave insiders news to others to short sell shares.
I'm not saying other countries are problem/scandal free. I'm saying I don't trust the regulation authorities in Malaysia, the low volume of shares traded in KLSE and how manipulation-prone they are.
SUSMaterazzi
post Apr 10 2013, 10:12 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(Edisonkim @ Apr 10 2013, 05:59 PM)
Just Sharing
Im
Asset(s):
10yrs+

Insurance:

Investment:

Cash in hand
RM10k
but life is like a hell bad... because holiday or not holiday also need to work haiz...
walau why life insurance too high? is it asset? will you enjoy it while you are alive?

SUSMaterazzi
post Apr 10 2013, 10:14 PM

1,569 posts

Just Sharing
Im
Asset(s):
10yrs+

Insurance:

Investment:

Cash in hand
RM10k
adolph
post Apr 10 2013, 10:34 PM

Hail the hitler
832 posts

Just Sharing
Im
Asset(s):
10yrs+

Insurance:

Investment:

Cash in hand
RM10k
Edisonkim,

Life insurance is for protection purpose only, and not conclude as assets. you are transferring the risk from yourselves to the insurance company by promising a regular paycheck to insurance company for investment. Therefore, the return is not stable and guaranteed, you may get 50% from your investment amount, you may only get the return slightly higher if the investment gain a profit as shown in your portfolio. Saving is an also known as endowment plan, you are buying a fund offered by insurance company with no backed by anything, your unit is calculated in net asset value (NAV) which may varies depend buy and sell at the time. Insurance saving plan do not guaranteed you in an amounts as you pay, therefore, you need to calculated for the allocated premium available with the current market price but not your payable premium to the insurance companies.

This post has been edited by adolph: Apr 10 2013, 10:37 PM
Edisonkim
post Apr 10 2013, 11:34 PM

151 posts

thanks for the reply bro so what should i do can advised a bit? thanks and troublesome you
RecruitingTheBest
post Apr 11 2013, 01:22 AM

88 posts

Ok just sharing...

Marital Status: Not married

Assets:
1 car - 2 years old worth 90K
1 house, 2 condos, 1 shop lot (shared ownership with 1 more person)

Investments:
Stocks: 60K
FD: 350K

Savings in Bank: 60K

Liabilities:
1 housing loan, 1 car loan.

Currently finding what I can do with the cash, I don't want to invest in stocks anymore as I feel stocks are already quite high now.. Don't want to go into properties as I'm already holding some. Sigh...

145 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:32 AM