Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V31!, The Orange Legion
Braynumb
Sep 28 2009, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(albnok @ Sep 28 2009, 11:03 AM) SpOOkY: Funny, the first time I touched a (preproduction?) Canon 5D MkII, I got this: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Combo button mash? Record short video until memory full, then press Review button. Er, was the subject moving? Generally for lens tests you try to use as fast a shutter speed as possible with low ISO so the high ISO does not affect your perception of sharpness. Also possible that there was subject motion? I am pretty sure the 70-300mm G is good at 300mm. Ugh... hate that error... wastes time turning the freakin camera off and on again... lost too many shots when I got that on my 350D last time... good thing new owner didn't mind the error... b4 bought my D40 also tried a 5D... brand new from shop, just wanted to test, turn on, *ERR-99*......  turned off straight away...  Canon somtimes have serious issues with Err-99...
Poadster
Sep 28 2009, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Sep 27 2009, 10:07 PM) no la i tested on d spot the 1st 2 shoot is fast 2 sec only after tat all shoot need 6 sec preview time straight change my card to sandisk 1 but still unacceptable zzzz , 4sec (raw +jpeg on a300) btw wht card u using?preview time? Read back somewhere in this thread, Kingston Elite Pro 8GB does seem to have sloooow response time with Alphas.... but anyone has comments on the 4GB version?? Am using the Sony 4GB 133x, plan to get another one from SG. There only SGD69 compared to RM299 locally....
Braynumb
Sep 28 2009, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 28 2009, 04:01 PM) Is the A500/550 the worthy upgrade from A700 ? I'd get the a700 though... somehow, it looks better and feels better in my hands...
Kul | Mo0
Sep 28 2009, 04:38 PM
Just sold my a200. And have decided to stay on the orange side. Now to find an a700. (: Cameraless now. ):
Poadster
Sep 28 2009, 04:50 PM
Wanna ask, is Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 DL Macro Super an acceptable budget constraint lens??? Is this comparable to Sony's A200 kitty of 70-300?? I do have A300's kitty 55-200, but wonders if this is a good zoom (due to the 300 reach), or shld i invest in the 18-250 walkabout?? Pls advice....
Braynumb
Sep 28 2009, 04:50 PM
aiseh... time to update your geavity Mo0...
Kul | Mo0
Sep 28 2009, 04:52 PM
Sad le. Now I can only shoot using lens. LOL! No time to hunt for a700 some more. ):
Braynumb
Sep 28 2009, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(Poadster @ Sep 28 2009, 04:50 PM) Wanna ask, is Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 DL Macro Super an acceptable budget constraint lens??? Is this comparable to Sony's A200 kitty of 70-300?? I do have A300's kitty 55-200, but wonders if this is a good zoom (due to the 300 reach), or shld i invest in the 18-250 walkabout?? Pls advice....  if I were you, I'd invest on a walkabout lens... keep your 55200 and buy a Raynox 250 to turn it into a Macro lens... Worth it...  Added on September 28, 2009, 4:57 pmaiseh... you planning to get brand new or 2nd hand one? This post has been edited by Braynumb: Sep 28 2009, 04:57 PM
Poadster
Sep 28 2009, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(Braynumb @ Sep 28 2009, 04:52 PM) if I were you, I'd invest on a walkabout lens... keep your 55200 and buy a Raynox 250 to turn it into a Macro lens... Worth it...  Been buying many stuff and not spent enuff time on taking pic and learning the cam.... Hmm... Raynox 250, interesting idea, more poison. Also, am pondering if i shld get the new SAL 18-55 SAM to replace my kitty 18-70?? Budak tadika ma..... tq for any replies...
shootkk
Sep 28 2009, 04:57 PM
Loyal Sony A100 User
QUOTE(Poadster @ Sep 28 2009, 04:50 PM) Wanna ask, is Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 DL Macro Super an acceptable budget constraint lens??? Is this comparable to Sony's A200 kitty of 70-300?? I do have A300's kitty 55-200, but wonders if this is a good zoom (due to the 300 reach), or shld i invest in the 18-250 walkabout?? Pls advice....  The A200's kitty tele is the 75-300 and not the 70-300 ler.. The 70-300 is a G lens! Cost is approaching RM 3k! The Sigma 70-300 is better than the SAL75300 but it has a history of having it's gears stripped by Alpha bodies. So it is not highly recommended. If you are lazy to change lens, then the 18-250 will be great for you.
Braynumb
Sep 28 2009, 04:59 PM
if you feel like it'll make a difference, then why not? since you already have the 55200... it's kinda like 18-55 then then if 55 not enough, change to 55200... cool... well same thing... it's up to you.
Kul | Mo0
Sep 28 2009, 05:01 PM
Come to think of it. I really love the 55-200. It wont lose out to beercan by alot. (: Fast and sharp photos. (:
dingenius3
Sep 28 2009, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(Poadster @ Sep 28 2009, 04:50 PM) Wanna ask, is Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 DL Macro Super an acceptable budget constraint lens??? Is this comparable to Sony's A200 kitty of 70-300?? I do have A300's kitty 55-200, but wonders if this is a good zoom (due to the 300 reach), or shld i invest in the 18-250 walkabout?? Pls advice....  since u already haf ur kitteh 55200... better dun get that siggy... its not really that good when reaching above 200mm.. BUT.. u can get a decent macro 1:2 with it.. yes it is quite a cheap telephoto lens + macro.. the best is get a true macro lens if u wanna shoot macro.. for fun this siggy can la.. my opinion.. get that travel lens 18250 !
Poadster
Sep 28 2009, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(shootkk @ Sep 28 2009, 04:57 PM) The A200's kitty tele is the 75-300 and not the 70-300 ler.. The 70-300 is a G lens! Cost is approaching RM 3k! The Sigma 70-300 is better than the SAL75300 but it has a history of having it's gears stripped by Alpha bodies. So it is not highly recommended. If you are lazy to change lens, then the 18-250 will be great for you. Oppps.... my bad, A200 kitty is 75-300 arr..... sorry... Am toying with the idea of 18-250, lets see what kinda price i can get for them (new or good quality 2nd hand oso can)... Also, if i get an 18-250, should i get rid of my 18-70 + 55-200 kitties??
lehtung
Sep 28 2009, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(Poadster @ Sep 28 2009, 04:57 PM) Been buying many stuff and not spent enuff time on taking pic and learning the cam.... Hmm... Raynox 250, interesting idea, more poison. Also, am pondering if i shld get the new SAL 18-55 SAM to replace my kitty 18-70?? Budak tadika ma..... tq for any replies... 55200 + raynox » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
Poadster
Sep 28 2009, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(lehtung @ Sep 28 2009, 05:04 PM) 55200 + raynox » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Wow!! Nice macros..... i like flower macros, but not insects or bugs macros.... they creep the hell out of me.... Guess i will now ask mitmivec for the Raynox 250 liao..... *trying to resist the poison*...
neo_lam
Sep 28 2009, 05:28 PM
jz now check alphanatics oni left one set of sec hand a700.... for the one who hunting for a700 can go and take a look at it.... since not much a700 left now...
Kul | Mo0
Sep 28 2009, 05:52 PM
There is? Who oh? I thought all sold dy? ):
gizmo_pony
Sep 28 2009, 06:55 PM
Q : Basic question here, I used B/W using RAW on my A200, but when transfered to m laptop, and try to open it using photoshop, the pictures are all with colors... Why is that ?
hazril
Sep 28 2009, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(gizmo_pony @ Sep 28 2009, 06:55 PM) Q : Basic question here, I used B/W using RAW on my A200, but when transfered to m laptop, and try to open it using photoshop, the pictures are all with colors... Why is that ? Thanks all the creative settings wont have any effect on raw if im not mistaken...only JPEGs will have effect if u use BnW....