Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V31!, The Orange Legion

Poadster
post Sep 9 2009, 04:27 PM

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

QUOTE(enji @ Sep 9 2009, 03:57 PM)
Tried on A200 before. Nice feel holding in my hand.. drool.gif
A200 and A300 is the same body feel, with ample handgrip esp if you havebig hands.

A230, A330 have smaller body, and smaller grip. Too small for my hands, and too light. Feels like a toy, like a P&S with big lense.... damn kartun...

I will nvr touch the AX30 series, due to the shape.

Added on September 9, 2009, 4:29 pm
QUOTE(dingenius3 @ Sep 9 2009, 03:56 PM)

they usually only give cable to pc to transfer file..  biggrin.gif

Damn... i just realised i had misplaced my USB file transfer cable. Is there a place to buy this (cheaply)?? Sony Style ada jual ka???

Anyone wanna let go theirs??

This post has been edited by Poadster: Sep 9 2009, 04:29 PM
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 02:16 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(nickilala @ Sep 10 2009, 02:10 AM)
f58 is must have!!! smile.gif
Damn... does this mean i have to let go of my F42 to upgrade to a cobra??

Pls share the benefits of a cobra, newbie to Alpha and DSLR here.... blush.gif blush.gif
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 08:34 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Sep 10 2009, 02:59 PM)
only know it can rotate the head like cobra left n right .. good when shooting potrait.. other benefit im oso curious...
Ehhh?? My HVL-F42AM head can be rotated up, down, left and right too ma.... 90degrees to the left and 180 degrees to the right. Only F58 can do this meh??

Sorry, any sifu there can share the great benefits of the F58 as compared to the F42?? Noobie here, wanted to know is there is a need to upgrade to F58?
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 08:53 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(lildaredevil906 @ Sep 10 2009, 05:47 PM)
Eii.. Moo selling the 50mm? Curious brapa banyak? =P
aiya this tt cannot join coz it's a Friday.. Do Monday la =P...

I can smell my new accesories di mann.. New cheepo 6million dollar size bag and f58.. Hopefully tomorrow can cod!! Oh my.. I'm getting chills just thinkin about it ..
Sis, are u getting the Crumpler from KLCC, or do u have a better source?
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 09:03 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(fas29 @ Sep 10 2009, 08:50 PM)
I think he mean like this  thumbup.gif

Ooooo.... now i paham..... thanx so much....

Will try to join the TT, so to learn from the sifus.....
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 09:25 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(dingenius3 @ Sep 10 2009, 08:52 PM)
u might find it is quite interesting when u can change the head orientation demn quick..
sometime we dun wan to miss the action.. so... just push.. no more pressing button n twist..

if u r the type who is very patient... then no worries... F42 is enuff edi..
Thnx, noted that the F42 need to press, and twist rather hard to move the head, sometimes is worried mayb too hard till krak!!! cry.gif cry.gif

Mayb i will need to keep using and twisting the F42 to "loosen" the joint locks.... blink.gif blink.gif
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 09:35 PM

647 posts

Any sifus here using or recommends using a 2X tele-converter lens??

Using it means that i get double the zoom (as in 200mm X 1.5 X 2 = 600mm total)???

Will it affect the IQ?
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 10:32 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Sep 10 2009, 09:51 PM)
i was also undecided.. but i really need a travel lens and since it was a good deal, so i just go with 18250 la.. laugh.gif

and i have no regret rolleyes.gif
got it from BTS sony style brows.gif
Sig, how much did u get it for?? Will be in Pav tomorrow, may drop into Sony Style there.....

How is the IQ?? Is it better than having 2 lens (as u are letting go yr kit lenses)??

Deciding if to get the 18250 + 50mm to replace the lens kits (1870 and 55200), care to share yr exp??
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 10:44 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(ahtsong @ Sep 10 2009, 10:36 PM)
keep ur 55200, get a 16105 and buy my 50mm f/1.7...haha
You mean get both the 16105 and 50mm f1.7 from u??? tongue.gif

Any comments on the IQ between the Minolta 50mm and the SAL50mm??
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 10:48 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Sep 10 2009, 10:38 PM)
the IQ is definitely better... and 50mm f1.8 is a nice portrait lens..so go ahead..make sure u get the street price instead of the sky high retail price of Sony.
Any idea what is the street price?? wcs2798 was selling it a RM490, now its RM500... blink.gif blink.gif
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 10:54 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Sep 10 2009, 10:43 PM)
i bought a used one.. so it's pretty cheap la laugh.gif

from my exp (be informed that i only have this lens bout 1 week so haven't fully tested it yet properly), the IQ is sharper than the 1870 on the wider side..  but on the tele end, it's about the same as 55200.. and u'll get an extra 50mm reach with it.. also it eliminates the hassle of changing lens..

it also have internal focusing and so u'll get a petal hood.. really handsome one (if that really matter to you tongue.gif)

18250 and 50mm is a nice combo.. so far it really works for me.. UWA is a bonus.. so i can cover 11-250mm with just 2 lens laugh.gif
Cool... was using a Fujifilm S100FS, loved the 28-400mm (35mm equiv.) zoom. Now getting used to the hassle of changing lens when i need to get closer, and still find it not as close to the 400mm in the past.

Was contemplating on getting a 2X tele-converter, doesnt that double the zoom of the 55200 to 400 (or 600mm in 35 mm terms)?? But am concerned about the IQ if adding the 2X, any sifus here tried it???

I know the 50mm is very good, but UWA in which lens?? With 0.45X adapter??
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 10:56 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(lehtung @ Sep 10 2009, 10:45 PM)

Thnx for the time illustrating it.... i know the diff now, but wonders if worth the hassle to sell off my F42 and hunt for a F58.

Really appreciate the effort to educate a newbie..... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 10:59 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Sep 10 2009, 10:51 PM)
which 50mm?? brows.gif
He says "get my 50mm f1.7", so i'd assume he is refering to the Minolta in his sig.... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Wonders why he wanna let go his prime lens??? rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 11:01 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(ahtsong @ Sep 10 2009, 10:54 PM)
no la...i won sell my 16105...as i love it...only selling 50mm

i previously own a 18200, but not 18250 b4...i know 18250 is sharper than 18200, but i after using 18200 for travel, i feel that i seldom use the tele end but use the wide end more..

16mm is very nice to use...u can see my travel blog (like under my sig) all using 16105 and 50mm mainly for food.

i din own a SAL50 1.8 b4, so i cannot compare the color
ooo... why u wanna let go yr prime, berapa luui?? getting new stuff??? rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 11:10 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Sep 10 2009, 11:02 PM)
never tried TC before.. so can't really comment on that.. well, one of the best thing about DSLR is that the ability to change lens actually.. i still need to change for 50mm and UWA sometimes.. but like i said, i'm looking for a travel/walkaround lens.. also, i want that extra 500mm for my raynox brows.gif

oh ya, my UWA is SAL-1118..
shaddap u tongue.gif
don't sell your f42.. just buy f58.. later u'll regret it like me.. cannot play multiple flash now sad.gif
harlow... i dont print money nor have a money tree growing out of my garden lo..... tongue.gif tongue.gif

just go the A300 + kit + F42, now hunting 18-250, 50mm f1.8, VG, crumpler 6 mil, crumpler cam strap, mayb raynox....

can jump river oredi lo.... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 11:12 PM

647 posts

Any F42 flash user using diffuser here?? Wanted to know what diffuser type fits and which is best, between the boxy type and the toilet bowl type??

Wanna use it to snap pics of my newborn niece, going to SG during raya.
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 11:18 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 10 2009, 11:14 PM)
not recommended to use flash on newborn  shakehead.gif
I plan to diffuse it, and bounce it wireless from a distance. Not directly in her face la.... blush.gif blush.gif

Thnx for the advice....
Poadster
post Sep 10 2009, 11:23 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 10 2009, 11:18 PM)
what u can do, if u really wanna flash, have your back facing a nearby wall, then twist the flash facing backwards away from the baby towards the wall bouncing the light back at the baby... gives a much better wrap than using diffusers

Added on September 10, 2009, 11:20 pm

even if wireless, your pop up flash will be directly at the baby's direction as well
Cool... will use this technique.... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Was planning to diffuse the pop up flash and the F42, then point the F42 to a wall, and fire it off wireless-ly when taking snaps of her... didnt realise that the pop up will fire off too...

Is there a way to fire the F42 wirelessly without firing the pop up??

now all i need is to download PP skills into my brain.... ala Matrix... hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Poadster: Sep 10 2009, 11:28 PM
Poadster
post Sep 11 2009, 11:25 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(dingenius3 @ Sep 11 2009, 08:14 AM)
bro... what TC brand dat u using now? wat was the problem dat nite ar? i'm thinking that TC didnt support SAM lenses kot..  rolleyes.gif

@Poadster : me n ranceed tried the new 50f1.8 with an old TC... it didnt autofocus..  sweat.gif
Ooo... was thinking to get new ones, they are not very expensive AFAIK.

Then i prolly need to look for better glasses with better reach lo.... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
Poadster
post Sep 11 2009, 11:28 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Sep 11 2009, 09:11 AM)
Wa! Who's that handsome guy with the black cap on , next to albert? (:
Anyway forgotten let you try my toilet bowl diffuser. even more difference. Love the after effect. (:
Bro, any samples for the toilet bowl diff?? Am looking for diffuser and learn that there are 2 types, the boxy ones and the toilet bowl ones.

Am deciding which is better than the other, esp the toilet bowl type. What flash u using??

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0570sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:09 AM