limeuu
post Jun 3 2011, 07:39 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(NatBass @ Jun 3 2011, 07:27 AM)
http://mmc.gov.my/v1/docs/MINIMUM%20CRITERIA%20V2.pdf

Okay i just saw this. They are saying that as of April 12 if anyone desires to enter med school must have a minimum of 5B in spm ( add math chem bio phy and math ) 3.0 > in foundation and so on right.

So for those who joined med school before april 12 goes by the old ruling of 5credits , 3.0 and recognized uni?

And i got a friend which is leaving to indon soon.  Sometime aug (which is after april 12) and he doesnt have the 5b's , but he'd get into a recognized uni by msia. Upon graduating , can he work back home ? he has a recognized degree , or will they still look at his spm even tho he is a doctor that has graduated by their listing. hmm irony much
he should not even be doing medicine.....should not be allowed to.....

no wonder there are hordes of indonesians leaving for spore and msian for treatment......
limeuu
post Jun 3 2011, 09:52 AM

12,290 posts

it becomes a problem when the authorities fails (does NOT want) to control doctor training.....and every tom d*** and harry thinks he is 'passionate' about wanting to 'help people in africa' and thus should be allowed to be a doctor......and there are so MANY pathways which allows very weak students to enrol, study, and pass a medical course and automatically becoming a doctor..........

this is a phenomenon peculiar with some 3rd world countries, in particular msia (and apparent india as well)...........

it does NOT happen in developed countries........where prospective students are informed in no uncertain terms, that they will have to be the cream de la creame to even think about applying......and few backdoors left open...........
limeuu
post Jun 3 2011, 11:28 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(monochrome1234 @ Jun 3 2011, 11:08 AM)
Medicine there cannot be compared to 3rd world countries (hence the name duh). Some universities even have 6 years courses. Not disagreeing, but I still can't see why u keep comparing obvious stuff like that. Fact is, you cannot expect top class treatment in every local clinic you walk in too. In fact, you might as well go on comparing everything they have in 1st world countries that we don't. It has always been that way, I don't see it changing anytime soon.
Wrong........it was never like this..........We did have good quality medical training.......and our graduates in the past were recognised in many countries......over the years we deteriorated......and this decay accelerated the last 10 years.......with the adoption of the airasia model.......now everybody can be a doctor.......

If one's attitude is like that, u are condemned to be 3rd world forever.......
limeuu
post Jun 29 2011, 06:48 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jun 29 2011, 06:22 PM)
If door open for entry into John Hopkins Serdang, Selangor. How ah?
there is no such thing......read the adverts and website carefully......

at no point is it said you will receive a jh degree.....they just say they use their programme (franchise arrangement) and have assistance from their academic staffs...........they are silent on exactly what degree you get (in contrast to the other degree, where they were very quick to say you get the irish degrees)........and i suspect it will be the perdana uni's own degree.........

caveat emptor......
limeuu
post Jun 29 2011, 07:09 PM

12,290 posts

so you are going to put this after your name?.....

Dr. XYZ, MD (Perdana) (taught to John Hopkins standard, by visiting lecturers)......smile.gif
limeuu
post Jul 7 2011, 11:38 AM

12,290 posts

the standard of journalism in msia is very low, especially when it comes to technical matters, like medical, legal, engineering areas......

there is not enough information from the article to even conclude what the events were, and the term 'colon cleansing' is likely the reporter's layman translation of a medical term......
limeuu
post Jul 12 2011, 05:02 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Jul 10 2011, 12:38 AM)
got a question. Anyone can tell me alternative treatment for AB resistant H.pylori in Malaysia? First line (amox+clarithro+PPI) failed. Aussie therapeutic guideline says metro+tetra+PPI for resistant strain, just wondering what does malaysian guideline says. Or is it the same? =) thanks~
there is high resistance to metro in msia, so levofloxacin based therapy would be preferred 2nd line..........
limeuu
post Jul 12 2011, 10:30 PM

12,290 posts

please note that both degrees are not recognised in spore........

if one intends to work and maybe settle in oz, then the logical choice is jcu.......whether one can find internship in oz upon graduation is another question, but if one doesn't mind regional centres like cairns or rockhamton, it's probably possible to get one......but 6 years is a long time, and things will be different by then........
limeuu
post Jul 12 2011, 10:52 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Jul 12 2011, 10:41 PM)

Both degree doesn't recognized in Singapore? Do you mean JCU as well? I was briefed during my interview session that it is recognized worldwide. May I know the source?

Thanks in advance for your input icon_rolleyes.gif
no medical degree is 'recognized worldwide'.......

go to the smc website and look at the list of recognised med schools.........

also note their policy of only recognising the degrees where the clinical years are done in the country of award of degree......which means the pmc/irish degrees and monash msia are not recognised.........
limeuu
post Jul 22 2011, 01:25 PM

12,290 posts

when any uni needs to trumpet itself with it's name, it is best to steer clear of them......

do you see any such names in the top 100 unis in the world?........or even in the top 1000....smile.gif
limeuu
post Aug 9 2011, 11:37 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Aug 9 2011, 01:12 AM)
smile.gif pseudomonas is the most common bacteria for nosocomial UTI....
that is incorrect.......what are they teaching you?!

the microbial spectrum of nosocomial uti will vary from hospital to hospitals and region/country to region/country......but e.coli, klebsiella, enterococcus and candida consistently will be at the top of the lists......and pseodomonas somewhere down the list......
limeuu
post Aug 18 2011, 10:37 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Medico @ Aug 18 2011, 10:17 AM)
Hi guys, need your advise here. I'm an IMU student, choosing my PMS very soon so I need to know something about specialty training.

1)Specialties(say cardiology) are offered by Universities or Hospitals?
2)What do they take in account when I apply for a specialty i.e my MBBS grades or any research achievements?
3)Is it harder to cross country(if I graduate from Aus and decided I want to go UK for my specialty training instead)

I know it may seem funny for me to think of that so early but I think it really affects my PMS choice a lot, so I need some advise from you guys. thanks!
i am more worried that after 4+ semesters at imu, you have to ask these questions.....because there are (and should be) resources at imu to answer all these......and really, by sem 5, a medical students should know how postgraduate is conducted in the medical world......

and it is way too early to think about postgraduate..........concentrate on getting through med school first.....

as for choosing pms, decide based on which country you like, the cost implications, and finally, it's the luck of the draw.....getting to oz is very difficult now, as there are so few undergraduate places left.......so the bulk of people are going to end up in uk.........
limeuu
post Aug 26 2011, 06:49 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Aug 26 2011, 05:45 PM)
Masterskill has just announced to Bursa Malaysia today on the increase in intake from 50 to 100 students for the first batch.

I thought the gomen has freeze the increase in intake of students in medic colleges to monitor quality.

Hmm....sometimes who you are and who you know is important.

Apa apa pun boleh, ! Malaysia!
the freeze is on any NEW programmes, but licences already given will continue, as will increase of intake as ans when set requirements are met.........i think there are still a couple of licences outstanding.....we need not have any new med school for the next 100 years..........
limeuu
post Aug 26 2011, 11:25 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Aug 26 2011, 08:43 PM)
If it doesnt apply to existing quotas, it wont make any sense. Worse still, you can even increase first year quotas!
in a way, it like closing the barn door after the horses have bolted.........yes....
limeuu
post Aug 27 2011, 09:23 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Aug 27 2011, 07:23 PM)
Everybody seems to be looking at status and monies. If you dont have the passion, spare a thought for the patient and choose another profession.
oh, they have the passion......it's the one thing they use to justify their lack of academic ability......

passion for the status, money, 'prestige' etc..... biggrin.gif
limeuu
post Aug 28 2011, 12:24 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(windz93a @ Aug 27 2011, 10:37 PM)
LOL! So medical students in all the medical schools in the country can no longer be considered the creme de la creme, but they're passionate.
the problem is, the creme de la creme are still there.....but contaminated by a lot of sediments......and it becomes difficult to differentiate........

the med school they come from will tell.....it is still safe to assume all from places like uk, oz, spore, ipta (stpm route) will be indeed the top students of their time.....

for the others.......their spm results will be telling...... biggrin.gif
limeuu
post Aug 28 2011, 12:21 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(fastimes @ Aug 28 2011, 09:22 AM)
Sorry for interrupting the bashing, I'm a new medical student here from one of the IPTS. (hopefully I'm not the one being referred to here :S)

Anyway, any pro-tip on how the amount of stationary I should be hoarding? Planning to get 5 A4 size-note from bookstore ,should that be enough? Any other stationary stuff that is useful (index card etc.)?

Btw, on this issue, being a local IPTS student, how 'bad' are the standard are? Does it really bad compare to prominent grads such in UK in term of their surgery/diagnostic skill?
what qualifications did you get in with?......

if it is less than aaa at stpm/a levels and atar97, you will NOT have gained entry into a medical programme in uk/oz (or even ipta actually).........in fact many with better results fail to secure places, when they do badly in the umat/isat/ukcat/bmed exams and interviews.....

this simple fact will benchmark you compared to your peers in good med schools.....
limeuu
post Aug 28 2011, 12:42 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(sotong1992 @ Aug 28 2011, 12:26 PM)
IPTA medicine courses are flooded with matriculation, foundation and even diploma programs' students.
i was referring to stpm entry.....

ipta has always been a problem, with 2 cohorts of students mixed together, and that is consistently reflected in the results when you plot a normal curve, it's a double hump......

many of the cgpa 4.0 from matrik are b students....there are some diploma transfer students, but not many......but that is another issue.....
limeuu
post Aug 28 2011, 01:46 PM

12,290 posts

since this topic is brought up, let me shed some light...

from observations amongst the 1st years students in critical science based courses in ipta (medicine, dentistry, pharmacy), stpm now only account for 5-15% of students......and in some ipta like uitm, it will be zero......

this applies also to non-malays......eg a cohort of 9 chinese pharmacy students in a top ipta, only one came from stpm.......

it will be such, obviously, when there are 300+ stpm vs 2000 matrik students with cgpa 4.0..........

while to say stpm route is cut off into ipta is not true, it certainly is a much more difficult and uncertain route......and getting one of the 10% of matrik places allowed for non-malays become like a small scholarship in itself (and indeed, for the first time, giving a matrik place was ONE of the jpa 'scholarships'!!)......for you pathway becomes much more secure.....

all this is of course, a very sorry state of affair, but it does NOT justify the laissez faire and mercenary approach to doctor training in ipts/3rd world overseas med schools........
limeuu
post Aug 28 2011, 02:55 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Aug 28 2011, 02:21 PM)
The other point is that despitebecause of? the limited places in Ipta for medical students, more parents are sending their children overseas,oz or uk, for medic, partly also due to the comparative fees payable to IMU or Monash. Those lucky enough to secure an overseas posting after graduation will be a boost.
imu-pms is an easier backdoor pathway into 1st world med schools........and is a bit cheaper than direct entry..........

many parents are eyeing one of the coveted places, as it is usually a ticket for the student/family out of msia.....i know many students amongst my friends and acquaintances who have graduated from uk and oz within the last 5 years, both private and scholars......and i only know of one who came back to msia to work from nz.....several of course ended up in spore......

23 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0519sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:13 AM