CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center

limeuu
post Dec 17 2010, 10:21 AM

12,290 posts

like i said, disease pattern is different.......many students in uk will have never seen a case of malaria.....

on the other hand, the subtle symptoms of multiple sclerosis will often be missed by a doctor in the 3rd world, an under-diagnosed illness, where doctors have little experience with it, and no diagnostic tools to confirm......

because of the late and gross presentation of many diseases in the 3rd world, many 1st world medical students love to do their electives in these countries, where they can see and experience these patients which otherwise they will only read about in textbooks.....as well as often, able to do hands-on procedures on them, something they will not be allowed to do back in their home country....
limeuu
post Dec 26 2010, 06:45 PM

12,290 posts

society mores have a big impact of decision making regarding health care.......

what they choose is strongly influenced by their health believe systems........thus many people will seek bomohs, sinsehs, alternatives, even direct sale products, over modern healthcare.....

society mores will also influence how they respond to illness......in the example above, some women would rather die, than loose their breasts and risk ostracisation by their husbands........it obviously still happens in Kelantan........but as late as 20 years ago, it was the same in KL......

a study done in the late 80's in KLH showed 60% of breast cancers present in late stages (defined as 3 and 4).........the figures is now about 10% or less........

the difference is patient education, awareness, and i think most importantly, the financial independence of women, and the changing status of the women in a marriage......

as it changed in kl, it will change also in Kelantan, albeit more slowly.......

in the meantime, we continue to do our best to educate the population.......

not just in breast cancers, but in all aspects of health care, including their health belief systems.....we still see people going to bomohs for treatment of dengue, malaria etc.......and some people are still very critical of the modern scientific health care system...........
limeuu
post Dec 31 2010, 09:46 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(DireAnguish5678 @ Dec 31 2010, 08:16 PM)
H.O. only in GH. like e.g. SP, HSAJB, Ipoh. Only capital cities have GHs, I don't think there're many 'ulu' places that have GHs. For M.O., then only district hopsitals all over etc. Is it so important? If you're not in ulu place also you'll still be working all day. If you got through your HO, then you should be tough enough to handle 'ulu' places.
that is not true........housemans are posted to many bigger district hospitals eg muar, sibu, miri..........
limeuu
post Jan 30 2011, 11:44 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(blabla987 @ Jan 30 2011, 07:27 PM)
" To gain full GMC registration as a holder of a UK primary
medical qualification NUMed graduates would need to
complete a programme for provisionally registered
doctors and be awarded a Certificate of Experience. At
present, the only recognised programme for provisionally
registered doctors is the first year of the foundation
programme (F1) provided by the postgraduate deaneries
of the UK. Applicants from outside the UK and EU should
note, that as NUMed graduates, you will potentially not be
able to complete the first year of foundation training in
the UK leading to full registration, as under prevailing UK
immigration rules you may not be able to get a work
permit. "
Does anyone know what does that statements means? From the NUMed Leaflets?
And where do you guys suggest to study medical? Financially around 500k..
simple.....

means that while the degree is recognised by gmc, to gain full registration, one needs to complete the 1st year of the 2 year foundation in the uk.....

the same rule exist for msia......even if your degree is recognised, you need to fulfil the housemanship year to get full registration.....

the only difference is, while msia recognises housemanship done in some countries (uk and oz included), the uk does NOT recognise housemanship done outside of the british isles......

therefore, to get full registration with gmc, you will NEED to do the fy1 in uk......and you CAN, as far as the gmc is concerned......

BUT, under current laws, the bba (british border agency, or formerly immigrations) says you CANNOT, as a foreigner..........unless you can get one of the tier 1 or tier 2 visas.......

tier 1 and 2?......to know more, go to bba website........generally, a fresh graduate from without the british isles will not qualify for these visas.......

ie, it's the same as the monash msia mbbs.......you have NO automatic right to work in these countries even if your degree is fully recognised.....

bottom line:......qualification recognition and right to work are two completely separate matters........something which many people do not realise.......
limeuu
post Feb 1 2011, 09:19 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(blabla987 @ Feb 1 2011, 09:13 PM)
Then no point study at NeMed.. You still cant work there although graduate from there.. What if do medicine directly at UK or do Twinning like IMU to UK?
both nemed and monash msia share the same issues........

at the present pound sterling level, just go straight direct entry to a uk uni, or via imu-pms.......fees are the same if you choose the cheaper ones.........
limeuu
post Feb 10 2011, 03:29 PM

12,290 posts

i am not sure if people noted this in the media lately........

of the 11k students 'rescued' back from egypt, 5k are medical students!!

for the 5 year courses there, that translate to 1000 new doctors every year on average.........and practically ALL will return to msia.........

so we now have 1000 new doctors a year from russia, and 1000 from egypt......smile.gif
limeuu
post Feb 11 2011, 11:38 AM

12,290 posts

there isn't really a shortage anymore..........

there is however pockets of shortages, mostly in rural areas........that is maldistribution, not shortage........a problem that will persist no matter how many doctors there are (exist in oz, us etc).......
limeuu
post Feb 12 2011, 09:00 AM

12,290 posts

any country that takes in 1000 students a year from one country, into a critical course like medicine, there MUST be a prawn behind the stone.......smile.gif

but who cares, it's an easy and cheap pathway for malays/muslims......
limeuu
post Feb 19 2011, 08:36 AM

12,290 posts

it is NOT so easy to extend any posting in housemanship......let alone terminate their service.........

politicians gets involved........

the head of dept gets criticised for 'failing to teach the houseman adequately'........

hosp directors hauled up to explain why houseman sacked.........asked to explain why cannot teach them.......

easiest to just pass them and let them be somebody else's problem.......

msia boleh......smile.gif
limeuu
post Feb 20 2011, 02:24 PM

12,290 posts

finally, what i have been saying all these years (and getting flammed for by the likes of hypermax etc) is coming out openly in the mainstream media and national consciousness........

'passion' is NOT an excuse to become a doctor.....ever.......all well managed countries with high standards of healthcare allow only the BEST of their youth to become doctors.......msia had no such control, and have allowed sub-standard students become sub-standard doctors ever since it existed......

msia boleh.......again.....smile.gif
limeuu
post Feb 23 2011, 12:50 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Feb 22 2011, 07:59 PM)

Sputum AFB/culture +/- PCR is still often required to effectively rule out active pulmonary TB. Patients who are suspected of having this are often quarantined with contact precautions until at least 3x samples are negative.

that is not correct.......cultures and afb have excellent positive predictive value, but poor negative predictive value.......

ie, if you get a positive result, it probably confirms active disease........if you get a negative result it does NOT confirm you do NOT have TB............

up to 50% of patients undergoing treatment will be based on presumptive diagnosis, taking in the whole clinical picture.......in many cases, you will NOT find the organism even in patients with very classical clinical picture........
limeuu
post Feb 23 2011, 09:58 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Feb 23 2011, 08:39 PM)
Right. My bad.

Yet most of the time once the sputum is cleared patients are allowed out of isolation.
Diagnosis of course, is always based on history + examination + investigations as a whole clinical picture, not a sole test.
infectiousness and cure are 2 separate and completely different aspects of tb treatment.........

within 2 weeks of treatment, the afb will have a fragmented appearance, and deemed NOT infectious anymore, although negative smears is required before release from isolation........however, they are NOT dead yet, and if treatment is stopped prematurely, they can reactivate.......

remember, antibiotics either kill bacteria by causing cell death during multiplication process (bacteriocidal), or by stopping multiplication (bacteriostatic) and giving time for the body's natural immune system to kill the bacteria.....because the mycobacterium multiply very slowly, the effect of anyi-tb medication is mostly baceriostatic (even if the primary action of the drug is bacteriocidal, eg aminoglycosides), and time is needed for the immune system to kill and remove the bacteria.........

that is why the minimum duration for treatment for uncomplicated pulmonary and extra-pulmonary(not cns) tb is 6 months..........in the old days before rifampicin, it was either 14 or 16 months.........
limeuu
post Feb 24 2011, 10:21 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(NatBass @ Feb 24 2011, 08:52 PM)
sweat and tears may also turn orange? hah word.

nop im not exposed. did an x-ray already.

He is eating a lot of proper food now , trying to improve his immune system and taking transfer factor tablets as well. hope all goes well. how do i copy and paste stuff? i got the ct-scan disc.
any one can figure out why this is a scam.....purely based on basic science principles?..........

limeuu
post Feb 25 2011, 03:05 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Feb 25 2011, 02:09 PM)
It is quite hard to believe that the transfer factor to be administered in oral tablet form because they are all composed of amino acids. It is an protein like your insulin will never present in tablet form. If take PO then it will digested into amino acids before they are absorbed into the circulation for their functions la!
well done......... rclxms.gif
limeuu
post Mar 1 2011, 11:03 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Mar 1 2011, 10:21 AM)
Huh?? What did i flame you for?? i thought the last time i flamed you was for your statement that a doc with unrecognised basic degree but with recognised post grad diploma/degree eg mrcp isn't registrable with SMC.

still around?.....

how's housemanship..........?
limeuu
post Mar 1 2011, 12:36 PM

12,290 posts

it can still be harder work going forward, depending on where and what postings you do.........smile.gif

but you will look back in future, and realise this could be the best times of your professional career.........
limeuu
post Mar 11 2011, 10:31 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(plain_white @ Mar 11 2011, 10:19 AM)
i heard CUCM was derecognised. Can anyone confirm this?
please see the cucms thread.......

how can they be 'de-recognised' when they were NEVER recognised in the first case......
limeuu
post Mar 11 2011, 01:53 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Mar 11 2011, 12:29 PM)
though their in the second schedule.
Recognized Date
29/07/2010 sehingga 31/12/2010
http://mmc.gov.my/v1/docs/Jadual%20Kedua%2...-07_Website.pdf
had for a really short period lol
hmmm......this than is also a testimony to the thoroughness of mmc.....that they would recognise a degree, and then change their mind within 4 months...... hmm.gif
limeuu
post Mar 12 2011, 09:18 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Mar 12 2011, 06:50 PM)
India does not recognise any colleges offering medic on a twinning basis.
it matters not, as msian students studying in one of these 'twinning' med school will not want to stay on and work in india anyway......

and strangely, while not recognised in india, they are recognised in other countries......like msia...... biggrin.gif
limeuu
post Mar 14 2011, 03:48 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Mar 14 2011, 01:04 PM)
So just to be clear, are you doubting on the competency of the graduates from the said schools?
where in my original statement would you infer that?.......... smile.gif

i was merely commenting on why it matters not that the degree is not recognised by india........ biggrin.gif

i am sure it will raise some eyebrows when people find out a degree from india is not recognise in india itself......

23 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:24 PM