CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center

cckkpr
post Feb 22 2012, 05:01 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 22 2012, 03:56 PM)
it is for this precise reason, that my respect for monash has gone south.....if they are willing to compromise their standards for the sake of money, like all other ipts in msia, then they are no better than the likes of mahsa, cucms, masterskill etc.....

and if they are willing to allow such wide disparity between their clayton and sunway programmes, it makes a mockery of their assurance in their website about 'the same high standards of both clayton and sunway pragrammes'.....

in the first few batches, their selection was stricter than imu-pms......now it's the reverse.....

Added on February 22, 2012, 4:04 pm
there was a time in the past, where there was an arrangement with several oz and nz unis for 'guaranteed' places for their scholars.....ie, jpa/mara 'buys' say, 5 places....and decides who gets selected.....

this arrangement was extremely unpopular with both local as well as full fees paying international students, as many were obviously sub-standard when compared to what the rest need to be to enter.....

i believe this arrangement is ended.....and all scholarship students now need to compete with all other international students for the quota of full fees places......

the result is that many scholars with 'uk, oz, nz' scholarships did 'not fly'.......their slang for getting a place and flying off......

afaik, there is no scholar in the current utas cohort.....
The "You help me, I help you" thing does not work anymore! No wonder med scholarship for overseas after pre-u are not available(yet, hopefully).

Looks like we need to own or control one of these universities; like Ohio University in the States. cry.gif cry.gif

Added on February 22, 2012, 5:06 pm
QUOTE(Syd G @ Feb 22 2012, 04:18 PM)
Fortunately he's a good person, and realized that he barely escaped the chopping block. I hope that he can buck up too smile.gif
I dont know. Will find out next week biggrin.gif
Based on insider's info, the university as a whole is losing students. Requirements were dropped for 2012 intake, e.g 320 MUFY score for Pharmacy & interview vs 340 & no interview previously. 305 for BComm(Accounting) vs 320. 360 vs 355 for MBBS. You get the picture wink.gif

I saw less than 30 students for whole IT courses this year.  Compared to say, MMU with approx 150 IT students a year.

Added on February 22, 2012, 4:20 pmBtw banner says Application for February 2012 (which starts next week) is still open till Friday. You can draw your own conclusion from there... biggrin.gif
And UK gomen has indicated that A levels grade will be tighten up to improve the quality of the students. Oz is already so competitive and UK numbers are so few. Parents really need to review the situation.

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Feb 22 2012, 05:06 PM
cckkpr
post Feb 22 2012, 05:15 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 22 2012, 05:08 PM)
Does anyone know if Monash Clayton takes up a share in Monash Sunway, and shares in the profits, OR does  it work like a "franchise", where a certain fixed percentage is determined on revenue figures?
Monash Clayton do own shares in Sunway and it was reported sometime back that both parties have agreed to reinvest all profits for upgrading and future development, at least over the next few years. (No link).
cckkpr
post Feb 22 2012, 05:44 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 22 2012, 05:39 PM)
Review the situation? Does it not mean that with all the "tightening up", only the best (in terms of OVERALL criteria) will be considered for the course in these two countries? The reality is, a basic MBBS is just a degree, that's basically it!  biggrin.gif

With the sheer numbers of med schools and students being churned out in the country, it's fast becoming "everyone can get mbbs!". Following the mbbs, they need to be trained/interned, and this is the worry, if you ask me.  Huge numbers of mbbs grads unfortunately means that employers (private sector) and our neighbour will now HAVE to become very selective. Where one gets employed/trained, and registered, will determine one's potential to (hopefully) specialise in their area of interest/skill.

Side note, is the Labour Party in Australia friendlier to international students, or the opposition led by Tony Abbott?  Watching news on australia network now, breaking news - Kevin Rudd's resignation as Foreign Minister.
Thats what I am trying to tell those planning to take med overseas.

Added on February 22, 2012, 5:48 pm
QUOTE(Huskies @ Feb 22 2012, 05:41 PM)
All Singaporean medical students in Australia are NUS rejects. Fact smile.gif
Better go UK, rather than carrying that stigma "NUS rejects". I hope not all sg ppl in UK are the same!

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Feb 22 2012, 05:48 PM
cckkpr
post Feb 22 2012, 11:04 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 22 2012, 10:24 PM)
nus only takes in 250 students, from a total population of 5 million....(that is like uk taking in 3000 (instead of 6000 currently) or oz taking in 1000 (instead of 2500 currently).....which means you really have to be the real top to enter....

you don't need to be so, to do well and excel as medical students and doctors....

these so called nus rejects will in many cases, do better than their peers in uk/oz med schools.....
How many seats do they offer to internationals including Malaysians?
cckkpr
post Feb 23 2012, 03:47 PM

4,516 posts

Looks like even with monies, getting into one of the better overseas universities for med is getting tougher and tougher. Where to other than oz, uk, sg?

Note: Just now I had an opportunity to watch "Talk Asia" interview with Dr. Deepak Chopra at 1.30 pm over CNN and his views on doctors were just shocking, with allegations that doctors today being labelled as "legal drug pushers" and the random use of antibiotics and unnecessary operations. His views are definitely controversial but enlighthening, no doubt. This chap younger brother is the Dean of medical faculty at Harvard.

Catch the repeat if you are keen.
cckkpr
post Feb 23 2012, 10:17 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 23 2012, 09:07 PM)
There was a time when us/nus admitted many msian to their medical programme, in the 70's and 80's....some years up to a third.....it was  partly by design, to attract the best talents......all students must take a scholarship that bonds them to spore for a few years.....

That changed in the 90's......when spore became an attractive place to work in it's own right......they realised they can continue to attract msians....without needing to spend any money to educate them......their parents, or the msian taxpayer will pay.....

They still actively recruit such free talents.......they regularly send recruitment missions to various western world cities and unis to 'steal' these doctors.......

Is it a good place to work in sg for docs; for those who are under employment. Not like those of other professions where it's always performance and results oriented where quitting after you hit the forties
is the norm. Nobody likes to sell burgers at that age! I know a few who has quit at that age. Are docs facing the same problems.
cckkpr
post Feb 23 2012, 11:32 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 23 2012, 10:34 PM)
training and experience are NOT qualities the young can acquire quickly.....so no, the practice of medicine is still very much a skill acquired from the sifu....ie the senior doctors....

but i personally do not think spore is a good place to live, bring up family, and retire....i had the opportunity, but declined.....but hundred of thousands of msian think otherwise.....then again, i also had the opportunities of working both in uk and oz, and also declined both, so i guess i am not a normal msian..... smile.gif
Guess you're a patriotic Malaysian! Given the chice again, which would you choose, oz or uk to work as a doctor? I know you prefer oz as a place to stay.
cckkpr
post Feb 25 2012, 06:46 PM

4,516 posts

The good lecturers at the not do good unis will benefit the most. The better unis will tie you down on a several years contract. A transfer market in play. Hopefully the higher pay will attract better academician and practitioners to share their knowledge.
cckkpr
post Feb 25 2012, 07:34 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Feb 25 2012, 06:58 PM)
THen I'm wondering who are the teachers in Perdana-1MiLLioN-Ringgit-Medical Uni...~
Good n interesting question. Some should be from JH, I guess. I also wonder what would happen when the man who could walk on water is no longer around. Not another MUST!
cckkpr
post Feb 26 2012, 12:14 PM

4,516 posts

"ACUMS offers opportunities to those with less than satisfactory academic results, but keen to become doctors flexibility to complete their basic degree ....courses on par with international benchmark."
cckkpr
post Mar 2 2012, 12:23 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 2 2012, 11:30 AM)
that is very true....always check with seniors.....

medical books are very expensive.....
For UK studies, any advice to purchase books here or there assuming list of rec books available.
cckkpr
post Mar 5 2012, 05:28 PM

4,516 posts

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/2012/03/0...e-red-with-mmc/

Ukraine: Here we come again - I am a connected person!

cckkpr
post Mar 6 2012, 10:59 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Mar 6 2012, 10:45 AM)
From "monkeygirl" in IMU thread. Re-posted here as useful info.

"feeling bored writing my report so i'm back here looking at lowyat forums.
lol.... anyway, i'm studying in leeds now after transferring thru the imu-pms route in 2010. 4th yr now.

regarding ur qw if med graduates from russell grp makes a difference for f1&2... NO
they recently revamped the f1/2 applications and it's now point based (lol.. like everything in the UK. visa application is also point based)
so you get points for having published research, presenting in conferences, etc (points are hard to come by ;( )
not too sure about the details but i think they do look at your academic standing in uni as well and award points based on where you are in your batch.
the whole application form is like an essay paper as well. they ask you things like: describe a situation where you've shown leadership skills in 500 words or something. and they give u points based on ur answers.

then starting from my batch, we all have to sit for a situational-judgement exam thing where we get points based on our scores. i heard it's an mcq paper where they give you a situation [eg: u overheard ur colleague insulting the patient with another colleague. do you: 1) report him to GMC (medical council in UK) 2) talk to him 3) report him to your consultant 4) ignore ]

so yea... ur points will then indicate how likely you'll get a competitive deanery/program (eg: london) "
Looks like more n more requirements will be implemented going forward in a excess demand situation where "winners" takes the priority.

Sure it wont make a difference if you are from a top tier university or a lower tier one? Academic performance and training WILL make a difference.

It has been shown that medical graduates from Oxbridge and Edinburgh at least consistently outdo all the other universities in post-grad examinations.
cckkpr
post Mar 6 2012, 03:00 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(h3ll0 @ Mar 6 2012, 11:18 AM)
hello all, not a med student here, but I need your opinions
I wanted to buy a stethoscope as a gift for a friend, well she already has a Littmann stet, but she didn't like the color (she ordered other color but since it's out of stock, so by default she got black). I was thinking to buy her another color, but not Littmann, how about other brand? I search online, there's this one named Ultrascope, got her fav color & it's custom made, can choose your own design, I think she will like it. I'm thinking to order it for her, but I need to know if Ultrascope is a good one, coz usually students bought Littmann right. Besides, she already had Littmann, so I'm thinking why not buying her other brand, she can use them alternately. Any feedback on Ultrascope brand?

edit : btw, is it allowed to have such bright color stet in the hospital? if not then no point buying her the stet tongue.gif
You would have got better replies in "Kopitiam" or from the relevant vendor.
cckkpr
post Mar 9 2012, 06:23 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 8 2012, 09:48 PM)
pro chancellor only what...

he will only be involved in giving out scrolls during graduation and nothing more...
They are more like commission agents. Your worth depends on how strong your cable is. Most retired civil servants who sits as Chairman of plcs do the same thing.
cckkpr
post Mar 22 2012, 02:38 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(arsengal @ Mar 22 2012, 01:58 PM)
Hello future doctors. I have a question here. I'm about to be a medical student soon. Because I'm taking A-Levels, I'm unlikely to apply for IPTAs. So my choice is now are IPTS universities. Between UCSI and Taylors medical school, which one is more recommended? I'm more towards UCSI now but I heard that the environment of study and the facilities are more well equipped at Taylors.
Pls check with UCSI whether they have any places to give to outsiders who are not their foundation students.
cckkpr
post Mar 22 2012, 03:58 PM

4,516 posts

Quote from Axiata scholarship requirements:

"Application for the Young Talent Programme must be submitted to Axiata Group Berhad by the due date.

1.The applicant must be a Malaysian citizen or permanent resident of Malaysia.
2.The applicant must have a conditional offer from one of the listed universities in the types of degrees listed.
3.The applicant must have achieved at least 4 As in STPM, and a forecasted result of ABB in A Levels, 36 points in IB, 99% TER for South Australian Matriculation, a minimum 3.7 GPA for American Degree Programme or a 98% in International Canadian Pre-University.
4.The applicant must be proficient in English, and any other spoken and written languages are favourable.
5.The applicant must consistently display active participation in sports, clubs and societies, and/or the performing arts.
6.The offer is subject to terms and conditions in relation to the student’s performance in academic and extra-curricular activities. Successful candidates will be required to attend further assessments and interviews."

Look how unfair they rate STPM results against the other pre-u qualifications. Tougher exams but lesser recognition.

For those taking STPM and you are aiming for medic, pls take note of the equivalent.

cckkpr
post Mar 22 2012, 07:18 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(arsengal @ Mar 22 2012, 05:46 PM)
I did A-Levels with UCSI and I'm guaranteed a place with UCSI med school provided I didn't do something stupid during the interview in the upcoming month. Sorry I didn't state this earlier. But I'm also considering for Taylors or IMU. But practically my sponsor won't let me transfer to IMU unless I have a very strong reason for it, mostly because IMU costs a lot more.
Haha I have evidences to support that  smile.gif
You are a scholarship holder? Interviews were mere formalities but if there are limited places, it does matter.

Added on March 22, 2012, 7:30 pm
QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 22 2012, 05:03 PM)
for some reason, a lot of weightage is placed on the a levels.....and reflects a lack of knowledge about the different public exams and their equivalence....what's with the 'at least 4a's at stpm'?.....people actually are mad enough to take 5 principles?.....

in terms of the number of students getting a minimum abb at a levels, it's equivalent to my estimate of atar 70 or so..... (17% gets aaa, ie atar equivalent 83 and above......) and they want atar 99?.....

like i said many times, the a levels is still the EASIEST exam to score, and get preferential selection.....
Guess that's the way many ppl look at it. How the modular system STPM will be viewed is another doubt. Looks like the door is closing fast on the poorer segment of society.

Added on March 22, 2012, 8:11 pm
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Mar 22 2012, 07:18 PM)
You are a scholarship holder? Interviews were mere formalities but if there are limited places, it does matter.

Added on March 22, 2012, 7:30 pm
Guess that's the way many ppl look at it. How the modular system STPM will be viewed is another doubt. Looks like the door is closing fast on the poorer segment of society.
Limeuu, do you think the easier A levels would be a better bet for medic in oz compared with other oz pre-u notwithstanding the likely one year delay?

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Mar 22 2012, 08:11 PM
cckkpr
post Mar 23 2012, 08:45 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(Crypt @ Mar 23 2012, 01:09 AM)
Im a NUMed student  wink.gif

1. Yes. They have many good lecturers from UK, Singapore and Malaysia. Btw, dont underestimated Malaysian lecturer, as in my opinion, there can actually perform just the same or even better than the UK counterpart
2. Not bad. But its more of the location as it is pretty far from the city compare to other uni e.g UM. But since you still in SPM, there would be probably more social life if you decided to come here.
4. 5 years in Malaysia. But you can go to UK for intercalation.
5. No. We used video for anatomy. This practices is similar to UK.

Btw, if I were you, I would concentrate on A-level/IB/MUFY etc. How about you do your best and maybe get a scholarship in the process. Oh I forgot, do apply to JPA/MARA/IPTS scholarship as they might sponsor you to oversea if you do well enough.
How many students in your batch n what is the allowed number of students a year? Does JPA sent students there?
cckkpr
post Mar 26 2012, 11:52 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 26 2012, 09:51 AM)
What's so great about JPA scholar anyway? They can easily be replaced by their foundation students and their own A level students now. UCSI are now at the stage where they can say no.
If both of the same kind, any uni will go for one financially stronger with big bucks.

One student drop out and your benz is gone!

11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.7172sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:49 AM