CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center

cckkpr
post Feb 2 2012, 01:22 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 2 2012, 11:20 AM)
Those who do not make the cut for undergrad mbbs, will opt to do a med related degree, and my son alone, already knows a handful of international students taking that route. Many domestics are also taking that route, so I don't see how it will be "less competitive", generally.

For offshore students, it's generally agreed that taking A levels is the more flexible course, and I believe this has been discussed and explained at length by limeuu a while back, in this thread, and also in another thread " need serious help" where grades etc were discussed in detail.

With IMU-PMS, the uncertainty of matching will still haunt the student for 4 sems, correct me if I'm wrong. Also, ALL uk unis have limited places for internationals, between 24 to 35 places, thereabouts, but UK has a lot more medical schools. I believe Australian unis cn offer up to 20% of their med places  to internationals, and even with the tsunami/ rising tide of medical grads, the demand has not changed much, yet.

Are you an education agent?  hmm.gif
No. Significant interest n directly affected.
cckkpr
post Feb 3 2012, 03:15 PM

4,516 posts

Anyone had any idea of the "criminal record check" for UK university requirements for medical students. Some confirmation to be issued by Putrajaya?

And the health check requirements? Any validity period? If going in Sept, is it possible to do it now? Not specifically indicated on the offer letter.
cckkpr
post Feb 3 2012, 04:09 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Feb 3 2012, 03:47 PM)
Most universities will need what is called a "Certificate of Good Conduct", which is issued by the Malaysian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Which can only be applied for online.

http://www.kln.gov.my/web/guest/ekonsular
Thanks for the info. Asked Mabecs and they said Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Good.
cckkpr
post Feb 4 2012, 08:18 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Feb 4 2012, 07:34 PM)
they've jacked up the fees over the past few years. It isn't that cheap any more. Despite the expensive fees, people still are willing to fork out that sum to study med in Monash, regardless of the reasons behind their decision.
When demand exceeds supply, .......one of the benefits of Ipta which is govt owned
cckkpr
post Feb 4 2012, 11:11 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(D_s_X @ Feb 4 2012, 10:39 PM)
I did it in Putrajaya (travelled there myself), was ready with all the forms and whatnot. Got it done in 2 hours or less.
I thought someone said online. Will look into your suggestion. Tks.
cckkpr
post Feb 4 2012, 11:39 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 4 2012, 09:31 PM)
In the midst of this "madness", there is still that accepted reality that doing medicine in "traditional" overseas destinations like UK, Australia and Ireland requires a certain amount of money. One cannot compare IPTAs, as entrance requirements THESE days are based on a whole set of other criteria, and it will not be surprising if a successful applicant to say Oxbridge, would not even have a foot in any of the IPTAs. Plus, with the declining standards of what was once Malaysia's pride uni, Uni Malaya, aspiring medical students will be better taught and trained overseas, albeit for a hefty sum. Of course many will argue that at the end of 5 years, it's still that basic medical degree. An oxbridge medical degree will of course open more doors!  biggrin.gif

As far as Monash Clayton is concerned, there's about 60-65 international places, and with their ATAR cut-offs, it would be interesting to find out just how many applicants with A levels were offered, and their corresponding A levels results. I read in another forum that for UNSW, A*A*A*A = ATAT 99.6, and that A*A*AA = ATAR 96. Why there is still an unceasing demand for Monash Clayton is quite bewildering, considering the australian currency is at it's strongest with no indication of weakening in the interim.
Agreed that overseas med degree is costly. But the 2 years of attachment thereafter will allow you to recoup part of the costs. I read an article in US that the cost of your education can be recovered within 18 months. In both oz n uk, I think that academic excellence may not earn you a place. Uk allows 4 unis appln n you need some luck to secure your place. You can prepare meticulously for the interviews but if an unfamiliar question pops out, your chance is more or less gone. If you put in both Oxbridge, you will hv to pray hard. For Monash sunway, if you excel academically, it's a done deal. A few who had 3/4 A* did not secure interviews or places in uk and was very much disappointed. A good lecturer/counsellor makes a lot of diff but how many do it. Some are asking students to write n the lecturer just sign. Yeah, agreed with you how many are A levels in oz Monash.

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Feb 4 2012, 11:40 PM
cckkpr
post Feb 5 2012, 09:10 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 4 2012, 11:57 PM)
Not sure about recouping part of the costs. The med grad is expected to live off his/her salary, I believe FI salary is about GBP24.5K/yr, and in F2, it goes up to about nearly GBP28k. I think this will be just enough to be self supporting, and even if there's any left, it will not be going back to the "investor" (more like "sponsor"!)
When applying through UCAS, the applicant needs to know his/her own strengths/weaknesses, as different uk med schools place different emphasis on criteria for admission. One student who did A lvls in Concord College was sufficiently prepared for UKCAT, got a fab UKCAT score and got a place in Sheffield, a UKCAT heavy med school, which apparently if one lands an interview, it's really only a formality. For Oxbridge, there's the BMAT to go through.

I thought Monash Sunway looks at ISAT and interviews as well, albeit at a different level, as alluded to previously.
Yeah lah sponsor! The 2 yrs working there will be better than here. Thorough preparation is important indeed but the 20 odd places available for internationals could just be a lottery draw. Your total of 4 choices max only allow you access to not more 100 places. As for sunway Monash, isat is not a material criteria unlike oz but some interviewers are downright "cold" and can be unnerving. At the end of the day, academic excellence and funding will save your day.

Added on February 5, 2012, 9:12 am
QUOTE(D_s_X @ Feb 5 2012, 12:16 AM)
Alternatives my friend, alternatives.
I should have said online only.

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Feb 5 2012, 09:12 AM
cckkpr
post Feb 5 2012, 09:22 PM

4,516 posts

Just curious, why are there so many Canadians doing med in oz and also at graduate entry level.
cckkpr
post Feb 7 2012, 02:43 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Feb 7 2012, 01:58 PM)
Was talking to a MUFY JPA scholar today. She told me that in her batch, some didnt manage to get the score required or failed the interview or didnt get enough IELTS score for Monash Sunway MBBS admission..

Quite a sad scenario for all of us taxpayers.....
It also happened last year where those scholarships given to those who did not made it were withdrawn and given to others. So much for SPM high achievers.
cckkpr
post Feb 7 2012, 04:26 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 7 2012, 03:38 PM)
There has been a change of policy regarding "recouping the costs of scholarship". What used to be just paying that nominal RM100k back to JPA for an overseas med degree is NO longer "available". Parents are now wholly liable for the entire sum of the scholarship. In any case, many did not apply for JPA as well to avoid mandatory service.
No more entire sum. It should be closer to 2x to act as a deterrent. JPA may not be giving undergraduate overseas scholarship this year. A guy who got biochem at Imperial wrote in n asked for scholarship and was informed no scholarship.
cckkpr
post Feb 7 2012, 05:11 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 7 2012, 04:58 PM)
Not first year, but third year, and applicant needs to submit results for first and second year. This only applies to students doing medicine, dentistry and pharmacy courses, overseas.
During my recent visit it is after one year. Non critical course can get RM200K. No need to pay if agree to bond.
cckkpr
post Feb 7 2012, 09:56 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(whyyyyy @ Feb 7 2012, 07:10 PM)
i thought it is  available after 1st semester at foreiign university
IMU pms student normally will only get it for the final year as the third year 6 months is not considered and the 1 year completion is the fourth year.
cckkpr
post Feb 8 2012, 07:12 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(eliselam @ Feb 8 2012, 06:19 PM)
Wow, I thought King's fee is hefty as it is London. 35k for fisrt two years and 100k for next 3 yrs. But Aberdeen is exp too in remote Scotland.
Last year was 16800 per year. 5% hike? Aberdeen last year was 13200, why such a drastic almost 100% jump. Unfair for those who applied based on last year rate n the unexpected increase.
cckkpr
post Feb 8 2012, 08:40 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 8 2012, 08:17 PM)
Unless it's specifically stated that fees are "fixed", one can painfully assume that it will increase, and make for that adjustment in the spreadsheet!  sweat.gif
As long as PM Cameron still in power, internationals can rest assured as he has stated that internationals should not be asked to pay more. Thus local fees have increased.
cckkpr
post Feb 8 2012, 10:44 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 8 2012, 09:53 PM)
each med schools is tied to a local health trust/authority.....and graduates will normally apply and be accepted into the region's health trust, and rotated through the nhs hospitals within that trust.....it thus does not matter really, which med school you graduate from....the majority of new doctors do not compete with graduates from other areas....

however, beyond fy2, entering the ct/st years, your references (from the fy years), intercalated degrees, papers presented/published, and having honours will determine your chances....and potentially, which uni you go to may have some bearing...but minimal.....
Reckon that the diff could be something between UM and Unimas. I don't expect it to be like Monash/Imu and those of mahsa/segi.
cckkpr
post Feb 9 2012, 08:56 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 8 2012, 11:11 PM)
the best judge of the quality of a med school is by the quality of students it attracts and eventually selects....

in that respect, all the uk med schools will want aaa for entry...so there isn't a lot of difference....(which is not saying much, as 25% of students gets aaa anyway, ,and they use ukcat/bmat and interview/personal statements to differential)........
This may be of help to potential students going to UK for med, as they can apply to less competitive med schools which are relatively much cheaper with not much difference in quality. As it is now, applicants are only given 4 choices and if you include Oxbridge, the odds are that you will have only two remaining choices to stake a place.

But with so many straight As students, ALL would want to go for the best and this is one factor that needs to be carefully considered if one wants a uk qualification ( I am assuming that all med schools have the basic facilities and are research oriented)
cckkpr
post Feb 9 2012, 10:41 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(Kaylain @ Feb 9 2012, 09:47 AM)
You can either apply to Cambridge OR Oxford in one cycle, not to both at once smile.gif

Teaching styles should also play a factor in deciding which medical school to apply to too. Liverpool, Manchester and Glasgow are now fully PBL while Oxbridge and St. Andrews are still following the traditional method. The others have integrated these 2 teaching styles as they see fit.

Also the courses at Oxbridge, St. Andrew's, ICL and UCL are six years whereas the rest of the medical schools offer a five year course.
Any idea of which universities outside the Russell Group are popular for intending Malaysian students?
cckkpr
post Feb 9 2012, 11:45 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(Kaylain @ Feb 9 2012, 11:11 AM)
There aren't many universities outside the Russell Group that offer medicine. Those that I know of are University of East Anglia, University, Keele University, University of St. Andrews, Peninsula College of Medicine and Dentistry (Partnership between Exeter and Plymouth) And Hull-York Medical School

Not sure which ones would be popular among Malaysian students as if they are diligent in their research they should be able to determine which universities they should apply to to give them a better chance of an offer.Each university has different requirements on the afore-mentioned criteria so therefore students should definitely play to their strengths smile.gif
Russell has 20 and add those that you named; not that many though. Malaysia has 20+ and is still counting.......as we are seeing an oversupply of docs in the near future and when gomen put a freeze, we could put those capacity to "foreign" students who are in need of med education. This goes well with our current promotion of medical tourism in this country.

It would be interesting to see how the current issue of unemployed nurses are being resolved.

Added on February 9, 2012, 11:46 am
QUOTE(eliselam @ Feb 9 2012, 11:43 AM)
Some medical schools eg. Norwich, Hull and York, Pennisula are not recognised by SMC.
Thanks for this update.

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Feb 9 2012, 11:46 AM
cckkpr
post Feb 9 2012, 01:57 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(eliselam @ Feb 9 2012, 11:57 AM)
You are welcome. An "easier" school might be Queen Belfast which is recognised by SMC and regularly appear in UCAS extra for international students.
Is it true that Irish med schools which were very popular previously is no longer the case now. Is it a fact or just a myth?
cckkpr
post Feb 9 2012, 04:35 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Feb 9 2012, 04:13 PM)
Uncle Google couldn't help me to locate this info..

Could you kindly provide its link please ? tongue.gif
Previous year: Pre-clinical 13200
Clinical 24,000

I think it was just a 2.5% increase for the year. As I said earlier, those who applied last year and were offered a place this year will be very disappointed with the almost 100% jump. shakehead.gif

11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0910sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:45 AM