CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center

limeuu
post Jun 29 2010, 01:03 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 29 2010, 09:40 AM)
I cannot believe this. tongue.gif laugh.gif First time ever that I heard a Singaporean wanting to be a Malaysian. sweat.gif
being a malay may explain why............ smile.gif
limeuu
post Jun 30 2010, 12:32 AM

12,290 posts

you will end up with fat embolism..........
limeuu
post Jun 30 2010, 10:36 AM

12,290 posts

as usual people gets confused about 'accreditation' of med schools.......

the most important body is the mmc, which then confers recognition upon a degree, and grant the licence to practice medicine.........and that only happend when the 1st batch of students are in their final year, or sometimes after they have graduated..........

in the history of new med schools in msia, there has NEVER been any med school not granted recognition by mmc, no matter how bad or how non-compliant with guidelines........it is a political decision.......

although one was quite delayed.........ie aimst was delayed for 2 years, where graduates could not start work for a few years......

others like mqa, jpa, is irrelevant, as far as the value of the qualification is concerned.........

as for jpa sending students, they have even sent students to non-mmc recognised med schools and then after they graduated, have to appeal to mmc to recognise them...........

msia boleh.........
limeuu
post Jul 25 2010, 01:36 PM

12,290 posts

india (and increasingly china now) actually makes a lot of medical equipments.........which are reasonable in quality, but at the fraction of the price of 'branded' marques......

so a rm25 indian made stethoscope is fine......but you will not be able to get that in oz.....

the other things you can get cheaply in india are books, medicine ('generic originals') and skeleton sets (at least in the old days!)......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jul 25 2010, 01:36 PM
limeuu
post Aug 17 2010, 08:28 AM

12,290 posts

would be an eye opening experience for some.......

but no, i would not bother to 'investigate' these claims.....

i know they are fake......... smile.gif
limeuu
post Sep 22 2010, 12:12 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Sep 21 2010, 09:23 PM)
lol cause i got rejected from UK, and besides, where else to go? KL? I rather go AUS. Cross the river when I arrive at the bridge.
it is generally more difficult to enter oz med school than uk......in part due to the diminishing undergraduate places..........so it is surprising to get an offer from oz after rejection by uk...........

which may lead credence to an observed phenomena......foreign students with a-levels who apply in the mid year appear to have a better chance of getting a place in oz, compared to those who did sam/ausmat........in part because there is a bit of 'first come first served' principle for the international students places......and in part because oz cannot substratify aaa in a-levels....which is equivalent to anything from atar90 to 99.95......unsw would not look at any applicant with atar less than 97..........but will consider aaa, even if the equivalent is atar90 (or 99)............
limeuu
post Sep 22 2010, 09:45 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(tqeh @ Sep 22 2010, 09:26 PM)
http://www.smh.com.au/national/hospitals-b...90724-dw5z.html

have a look. This year many NSW's international grads din get a job.
this is a very old news report from over a year ago.......

they have increased the number of intern places, so the 'oversupply' may not be so critical now.....you will likely get a job, but you will need to consider going interstate, and to regional hospitals for the jobs.....

however, i am not aware of any monash msia graduates getting internship in oz, so i think these students are somewhat unlucky, graduating as they did in the middle of a glut.....

Added on September 22, 2010, 9:48 pm
QUOTE(DoubleU @ Sep 22 2010, 09:37 PM)
well, isn't that the case in malaysia as well? GH in KL, JB, Penang all full... but rural area still need doctors.
we are talking about intern/houseman jobs, which are special gazetted positions in major hospitals, under supervision of senior doctors.....however, unlike oz, where these positions are fixed......in msian boleh style, it is not fixed in msia, and they will just absorb all graduating/returning doctors into the system.....so at one time, some hospitals have 200 housemans running around doing very little work.....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Sep 22 2010, 09:50 PM
limeuu
post Sep 23 2010, 01:24 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Sep 23 2010, 12:32 PM)
Whats the point of being crowded with in bigger towns and cities where you will not be able to learn much. If there are better chances of learning in rural areas, then so be it.

But the gomen has got to make the move to send more of these senior specialists to the rural areas before putting the housemen there. I think increase allowances and incentives like better promotion prospects are some of the enticing factors.
you obviously do not have a working spouse, and school going children, or elderly dependant parents...... biggrin.gif

not to mention the attractions of big city lifestyle....

and of course, if you are a junior doctor, getting sent to a rural hospital means possible stagnation in post graduate training, sometimes forgotten.... sad.gif

and finally, there are no big nice private hospitals in remote areas to join later...... hmm.gif
limeuu
post Sep 23 2010, 06:29 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(tqeh @ Sep 23 2010, 04:48 PM)
everybody knows (or should know, especially intending students) this was going to be a problem as far back as 2008.....and the projected shortfall was initially in the hundreds.....

as this report says, the numbers of international students not getting an intern offer are few so far.....because the actual number of places have increased in most states.....

like i said, students will need to look interstate, and to regional centers, rather than hope to stay on in teaching hospitals or the capital cities.....

Added on September 23, 2010, 6:33 pm
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Sep 23 2010, 05:30 PM)
I know its difficult to get moving but inserting little clauses into the medical program application with a proviso that such national service is a MUST for all successful appllicants.
this 'national service' existed since the 60's......called the compulsory service......ie forced labour with the gov for 3 years after housemanship......

as to little clauses like that......even for people who received NO funding from the gov?.........i can understand that suggestion for scholarship students and ipta.......but even for those whose parents pay a fortune themselves......?

Added on September 23, 2010, 6:35 pm
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Sep 23 2010, 05:30 PM)
We have got to start somewhere, no? If everyone is only going to bother about their own selves, then dont complain about the overcrowding in the bigger general hospitals. We should not be stagnating the housemen in the rural areas, it has to be by way of rotation. The gomen should be transparent in such matters.
you just landed in bolehland is it?......... smile.gif

This post has been edited by limeuu: Sep 23 2010, 06:35 PM
limeuu
post Sep 23 2010, 06:47 PM

12,290 posts

spore under trains doctors, and there is an estimated shortfall of 250 doctors a year......as the news report collaborated by the 200 overseas doctors they recruited this year....

however, with the increase in NUS intake, and once the 150 from NTU-Imperial come on stream maybe in the late 2010's, the need will narrow.....

but till then, there will be a good 8-10 years where spore will continue to absorb 200-300 new doctors from overseas (read uk/oz/nz), both sporeans studying there, or msians (including um/ukm).......
limeuu
post Sep 23 2010, 07:13 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 23 2010, 06:56 PM)
both strong engineering based higher institution education providers collaborating together to conduct a medical course?

things are getting more interesting...
imperial has a very strong med school.........

you may not have heard of imperial med school.....

but you should have heard of st. mary's, charing cross, westminster, Royal Postgraduate Medical School and the National Heart and Lung Institute......
limeuu
post Sep 23 2010, 07:44 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Sep 23 2010, 07:22 PM)
haha, but interesting thing is they can never get the really top medical schools in the world ie Harvard, Johns Hopkins, Cambridge and Oxford to collaborate with them . Duke and Imperial are always below these universities in recognition.
you shouldn't complain about imperial or duke.....it could have been some unknown indian or indonesian or polish med schools..... biggrin.gif

the likes of harvard and oxbridge will NEVER do any collaboration with other unis.....do don't even think about it.....

limeuu
post Sep 23 2010, 11:02 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 23 2010, 08:31 PM)
oh boy. my knowledge of medical schools are really limited. semua tak pernah dengar.  laugh.gif 

st mary's hospital med school......founded 1854.......

merged with imperial college 1988, and with charing cross and westminster med schools 1997 to form the current Imperial College school of medicine........

famous alumni....sir alex fleming......and 4 minute mile roger bannister.......google if you don't know who they are.....
limeuu
post Sep 24 2010, 12:07 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 23 2010, 11:39 PM)
in malaysia you are required to go through 4 years masters..before u specialise...FRCS is no longer applicable here IINM..
frcs is very much still 'applicable' in msia........if one can get it........

limeuu
post Sep 24 2010, 12:40 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 24 2010, 12:25 AM)
okay applicable is a wrong term..

should say..nobody in malaysia provides FRCS training anymore...is this accurate?  biggrin.gif
not accurate.......

few people in msia will be eligible to sit for the exam......it's an open exam, as long as you satisfy the eligibility criteria........has a passing rate of about 20%.......

compare that with the masters with a pass rate of 100%.....

choose your surgeon carefully......
limeuu
post Sep 24 2010, 12:47 AM

12,290 posts

mrcs is.......but not recognised by msia as specialist qualification....

next step, frcs can sit in spore, hk, or uk.....in the old days, people went and sat in uk anyway........
limeuu
post Sep 25 2010, 10:07 PM

12,290 posts

it's a graduate entry programme, so i think it will not be very popular.......msians want to get into med school as early as possible......from spm.....from pmr if possible.........not spend 1-2 years in pre-u and another 3-4 years in a first degree.........
limeuu
post Sep 26 2010, 07:01 PM

12,290 posts

foreign unis that open branch campuses in other countries do that for one simple reason.....make money........

there are exceptions of course.....nus-duke and the proposed ntu-imperial may be different.....an attempt by unsw to open a branch campus in spore failed......poor enrollment......

monash, nottingham are here to make money.....swinburne and curtin are slightly different.....they are not making much money, and is financially supported by the swak state gov......

i reserve judgement about john hopkins......
limeuu
post Sep 26 2010, 07:23 PM

12,290 posts

newcastle is doing the same thing as monash msia when they started.....the first batch will do their 1st 2 years in uk.......and return for 3rd year onwards, hopefully physical structures will be ready.....

a bit optimistic i must say.....
limeuu
post Sep 26 2010, 08:18 PM

12,290 posts

in the us, they can theoritically accept anybody with a first degree, even if it is not science based.....but if so, you will need to do a bridging science programme to bring you up to speed.....

i know someone (american) who graduated in business/economics......then decided to do medicine, and did a 18 months science bridging course, and got into med school......

23 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:54 PM