Intel P55 H55 H57 LGA 1156 Core I3 I5 I7, OC and Discussion

king99
post Jan 12 2010, 08:30 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 12 2010, 08:28 PM)
your BClk*your multiplier is correct in CPUz (128X20 = 2.56ghz).. is your BClk set on 128Mhz? coz thats lower than stock :/ aside from CPUz.. what other application show you? 2.56 also?.. i ask this coz cpuz sometimes screw up the reading.. there was ones it showed my CPU is 5ghz doh.gif

... im starting to feel that your bios chip is screwed.. try RMA the mobo XD
Tried PC Wizard and it's reporting the stock clock correctly. Now will try OC it to see if same.

Added on January 12, 2010, 8:39 pmOk, even PCWizard showing my 3.2GHZ Clock at 2.5 GHZ......

But at Bios there it shows 3.2 GHZ, any other software to detect CPU Clock Speed and heck, even Window 7 own system properties showing 2.5 GHZ

This post has been edited by king99: Jan 12 2010, 08:39 PM
kInOzAwA
post Jan 12 2010, 08:43 PM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

QUOTE(king99 @ Jan 12 2010, 08:30 PM)
Tried PC Wizard and it's reporting the stock clock correctly. Now will try OC it to see if same.

Added on January 12, 2010, 8:39 pmOk, even PCWizard showing my 3.2GHZ Clock at 2.5 GHZ......

But at Bios there it shows 3.2 GHZ, any other software to detect CPU Clock Speed and heck, even Window 7 own system properties showing 2.5 GHZ
i know why.. you're using windows 7 right? you need to go to power setting and set it to high performance... another method is to disable the Intel Speed Step Technology / Thermal monitor at the bios. smile.gif
king99
post Jan 12 2010, 08:56 PM

1,188 posts

I set high performance......turn off anything to do with power in bios including the ones u mentioned.

It still show 2.53 GHZ !

The weird thing is, it only show when It pass 3.1 GHZ or at stock speed.

In Stock speed the multiplyer go haywire with 9x 24x 23x Multiplyer

when at 3.2GHZ....the performance macam 2.6 GHZ ( 3dmark Vantage )

This post has been edited by king99: Jan 12 2010, 08:58 PM
Bonchi
post Jan 12 2010, 08:58 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

hmmm.. i'm using windows 7 RC 32.. what is that high performance thing shocking.gif i only see balanced and power saver in mine..

and i didnt disable any of those in the bios.. it doesnt cause any probs for me so far (pheonix bios)
you can try.. but i doubt that will do any help much.. coz when it steps down.. it'll step down all the way to X9 multiplier.. it doesnt seems to be your case there..

anyways do check this out :link:.. seems there's a problem with GD65 bios v1.6 .. why not try 1.5.. and if its still problematic go back all the way down to 1.0 and see.. and if your hardware is still new.. try exchanging with the shop (the mobo)..
king99
post Jan 12 2010, 09:36 PM

1,188 posts

Well, I Flashed back to 1.4 and everything run fine now.....benchmarking later to see if performance is up to par.

Thanks guys for helping me.

*PS : Noob OC here, never taught of using old bios, always taught new is better doh.gif
Bonchi
post Jan 13 2010, 02:54 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

never simply flash your bios dude... for me.. i usually only will flash my bios to make my mobo support newer processors only.. i dont see the reason to update the bios frequently.. it will also disrupt your hard earn labour in overclocking your processor... coz your mobo may not behave the same after you flash it... and most of the time.. you will have to start back from square one.. doh.gif
kInOzAwA
post Jan 13 2010, 05:02 PM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

QUOTE(king99 @ Jan 12 2010, 08:56 PM)
I set high performance......turn off anything to do with power in bios including the ones u mentioned.

It still show 2.53 GHZ !

The weird thing is, it only show when It pass 3.1 GHZ or at stock speed.

In Stock speed the multiplyer go haywire with 9x 24x 23x Multiplyer

when at 3.2GHZ....the performance macam 2.6 GHZ ( 3dmark Vantage )
actually i have the same prob before using windows 7, but after when i set the power to high performance everything seems fine... check out either there's software related problem in the OS.... EIST you set enable or not? smile.gif
tech_frix
post Jan 13 2010, 05:06 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

but i really think that GD65 got so many probs..
flashing d bios is a good solution..
selfdz87
post Jan 13 2010, 06:24 PM

~5Ghz+ Club~
932 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Jan 13 2010, 05:06 PM)
but i really think that GD65 got so many probs..
flashing d bios is a good solution..
really 'lega' buyin this P7P55D laugh.gif
so far no problem for me... thumbup.gif

btw i have one question...
if i OC to 4Ghz,i cannot use my Wifi adapter... rclxub.gif
but at stock settings i can use it... doh.gif
did anything of this related to my PSU??
i use 4 pin 12v power connector to hook in to this motherboard... sweat.gif
not the 8 pin power connector... sweat.gif
is there any different? hmm.gif
kInOzAwA
post Jan 13 2010, 06:27 PM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

yeah, 8 pin will provide better power transport to your motherboard.
ultimate66
post Jan 13 2010, 06:35 PM

460 posts

p55 and h55, got what difference??
selfdz87
post Jan 13 2010, 06:41 PM

~5Ghz+ Club~
932 posts

@kinozawa
so if i use the 8pin power connector ,i can use the USB adapter again @4Ghz setting??
sorry to many questions asked bro... sweat.gif

@ultimate66
H55 got On board Graphics mate...
which is actually in i5 6xx series and i3 processor...
correct me if im wrong... notworthy.gif
law1777
post Jan 13 2010, 06:42 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

guys im using p55-ud3l mobo from gigabyte

since i5 or i7 has the 'intel turbo boost' feature it will automatically help u to raise the speed. why do we still need to OC our proc?? plz help.. thanks
ultimate66
post Jan 13 2010, 06:44 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(selfdz87 @ Jan 13 2010, 06:41 PM)
@kinozawa
so if i use the 8pin power connector ,i can use the USB adapter again @4Ghz  setting??

@ultimate66
so that means i5 750 + asus p7p55-m is better than i5 750 + msi h55m-e33, is it like this??? hmm.gif
selfdz87
post Jan 13 2010, 06:55 PM

~5Ghz+ Club~
932 posts

if u want to buy i5 750 than asus P7P55-M is the right choice i think...coz it didn't have the integrated graphics like i5 6xx series and i3 processor...
why don't you try the P7P55D bro?? brows.gif brows.gif
kInOzAwA
post Jan 13 2010, 07:06 PM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

QUOTE(selfdz87 @ Jan 13 2010, 06:41 PM)
@kinozawa
so if i use the 8pin power connector ,i can use the USB adapter again @4Ghz  setting??

@ultimate66
it shouldn't be a problem to use a USB adapter if your mobo has enough power. So, change to 8pin power connector first, then lets see if it's get any difference or not. smile.gif
selfdz87
post Jan 13 2010, 07:16 PM

~5Ghz+ Club~
932 posts

QUOTE(kInOzAwA @ Jan 13 2010, 07:06 PM)
it shouldn't be a problem to use a USB adapter if your mobo has enough power. So, change to 8pin power connector first, then lets see if it's get any difference or not.  smile.gif
but i already change the old PSU wif new 750w PSU...
xkn xckup power lg kot?? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
btw i wiill try to change the 8 pin tonight...
hopefully its works... sweat.gif laugh.gif
thanks bro...

ultimate66
post Jan 13 2010, 07:17 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(selfdz87 @ Jan 13 2010, 06:55 PM)
if u want to buy i5 750 than asus P7P55-M is the right choice i think...coz it didn't have the integrated graphics like i5 6xx series and i3 processor...
why don't you try the P7P55D bro?? brows.gif  brows.gif
i already have p7p55-m, i bought this bcoz it is the cheapest asus 1156. i dont oc, dont do any sli/cf.
kInOzAwA
post Jan 13 2010, 07:36 PM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

QUOTE(selfdz87 @ Jan 13 2010, 07:16 PM)
but i already change the old PSU wif new 750w PSU...
xkn xckup power lg kot?? rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
btw i wiill try to change the 8 pin tonight...
hopefully its works... sweat.gif  laugh.gif
thanks bro...
there's nothing related to your new psu ler bro...
change the 8 pin first, lets see it works or not.
Bonchi
post Jan 13 2010, 08:04 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

lol.. no one try gigabyte/DFI? i prefer gigabyte's and DFI's Pheonix AWARD bios over asus's and MSI's AMI bios...
was a huge fan of genie bios tweaker from DFI.. but after gigabyte came out with their bios tweaker... i now prefer gigabyte over DFI coz of their availability smile.gif

anyways.. 8 pin is better coz it will provide better and more stable power flow to your processor (if im not mistaken.. the 24pin is for the mobo and that 4/8 pin is for your processor...) so its better for you if you OC.. in fact i avoid getting those with 4pins nowadays..

66 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:11 PM