126 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

The Bright Side V2, Night! Lights! Action!

pseudoblue
post Sep 10 2009, 06:51 PM

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Sep 10 2009, 06:37 PM)
Here's my 2¢. I don't own any but played with some. Surefires are something you can trust. They have the most complete line of lights and accessories. Probably one of the best warranty. Some lights are truly awesome and out of this world. But the price also reflects the build and engineering that has gone into them. Also, they are somewhat less versatile.

You know, i kinda prefer the various UI that these brands (fenix, 4sevens, etc) offer over surefire icon_rolleyes.gif
Allow me to correct you.
... 4Sevens...

Ah yes.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Sep 10 2009, 06:54 PM
damonlbs
post Sep 10 2009, 07:05 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Sep 10 2009, 05:50 PM)
yay! just got back my replacement head from philightsophy ystd rclxm9.gif
did u ask for the new warm white led for ur replacement P100A2 head whistling.gif

wink.gif
Philightsophy
post Sep 10 2009, 07:44 PM

Opps, here's the picture of the broken P100A2 head.
The broken area is where the thread is, the "neck" of the light.
The moral of the story is: If you are angry at a person, throw the light at him, not to the floor biggrin.gif

Lazyboy
post Sep 10 2009, 08:05 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Sep 10 2009, 01:10 PM)
Hi and greeting to all my fellow lowyat.net forumers! I usually troll around the wii and xbox sections, didn't know that there is a Torchlight collectors post in lowyat.net too. Hehe.. I recently just bought another torchlight from Pelican. This time a Trekker light so I can go hiking in FRIM this weekend with my wife. smile.gif It's black colour. My other ones are a Nemo and a Sabrelight which I use for Diving. No problems with either (so far), except that the Sabrelight was flooded during one of my dive trips. smile.gif But I got it replaced by one of the Pelican distributors here in Malaysia and they were nice enough to inform me that the Sabrelight is not meant for diving (bought mine from hobby sports but they were kind enough to help me get replacement parts even though I didn't buy the Sabrelight from them).  thumbup.gif

I think they are located in Jalan Klang Lama. They web address is http://www.peli.com.my. I can't remember the phone number of their showroom from the top of my head but I think it's on their website somewhere. I called them up and spoke to a girl name Angeline. She was really friendly. She said will help with the replacement of parts even though I didn't buy it from them. I felt bad so last Tuesday, I went back over there and bought a Trekker light and a 1500EMS case to keep my Ipod, PSP and handphone dry while I dive from them. smile.gif Great customer service. Highly recommended!  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Btw, what do you guys think of the Surefire lights? Is it any good? What is the price range I'm looking at? Is it more expensive than Pelican lights? I saw some at the Curve the other day...
I own multiple Surefires (8 of them and two more coming) and I would second what polkiuj states below. I also own 2 Fenix lights, 3 Jetbeams, 1 Olight and 1 Nitecore with a Tiablo coming as well. I never regret spending on Surefires. thumbup.gif

Here's my 2¢. I don't own any but played with some. Surefires are something you can trust. They have the most complete line of lights and accessories. Probably one of the best warranty. Some lights are truly awesome and out of this world. But the price also reflects the build and engineering that has gone into them. Also, they are somewhat less versatile.
strinq
post Sep 10 2009, 11:28 PM

PhD in Philosophy of Head Damages
602 posts

But take note, surefires are also NOT dive lights.
Some of them have unfortunately consistent bad tailswitches that leak.
Can't recall the name of some divelights but i'm sure a quick google will net u quite a few that's made specifically to withstand deep dives.

The pain of waiting for the Ti quarks is killing me...

z-b-i
post Sep 10 2009, 11:36 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Sep 10 2009, 11:28 PM)
But take note, surefires are also NOT dive lights.
Some of them have unfortunately consistent bad tailswitches that leak.
Can't recall the name of some divelights but i'm sure a quick google will net u quite a few that's made specifically to withstand deep dives.

The pain of waiting for the Ti quarks is killing me...
Some dive lights that are on top of my head are Underwater Kinetics, or if you have the money Barbolight.

I'm also waiting for the Ti Quark, which would be my first light this year as I haven't been buying any new light lately. But < $100 for a Ti light is just irresistable.
pseudoblue
post Sep 11 2009, 12:09 AM

Found some discussions for Dive lights from CPF. Pelican, wolf-eyes mentioned and one guy recommending Intova dive lights with a Cree LED which he has been using for a year. Well if Friedricetheman still looking for dive lights unsure.gif

Added on September 11, 2009, 12:21 amHey btw, once all the Quark Ti arrives and distributed, want to have a Gathering?... Or earlier also can.

Would like to checkout some range of lights you guys have, and been playing around, modded and NEW ones. Would be cool to just chat and chill. I'm sure it'll benefit everyone and nothing's like real life BEAMSHOTS laugh.gif

I'm just suggesting and it'll would be awesome if a gathering like this can happen again. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Sep 11 2009, 12:21 AM
polkiuj
post Sep 11 2009, 10:52 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Sep 10 2009, 06:51 PM)
You know, i kinda prefer the various UI that these brands (fenix, 4sevens, etc) offer over surefire  icon_rolleyes.gif

Ah yes..  blush.gif
Most Surefire light's UI are simple and bombproof. E.g 6P, L1, etc. If your life depends on it and you are in the middle of a do or die mission, you don't wanna cycle thru modes. Then again, most of us are just normal folks. =D

QUOTE(Philightsophy @ Sep 10 2009, 07:44 PM)
Opps, here's the picture of the broken P100A2 head.
The broken area is where the thread is, the "neck" of the light.
The moral of the story is: If you are angry at a person, throw the light at him, not to the floor  biggrin.gif

I thought the moral is not to throw your light. xD

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Sep 11 2009, 12:09 AM)
Found some discussions for Dive lights from CPF. Pelican, wolf-eyes mentioned and one guy recommending Intova dive lights with a Cree LED which he has been using for a year. Well if Friedricetheman still looking for dive lights  unsure.gif

Added on September 11, 2009, 12:21 amHey btw, once all the Quark Ti arrives and distributed, want to have a Gathering?... Or earlier also can.

Would like to checkout some range of lights you guys have, and been playing around, modded and NEW ones. Would be cool to just chat and chill. I'm sure it'll benefit everyone and nothing's like real life BEAMSHOTS laugh.gif

I'm just suggesting and it'll would be awesome if a gathering like this can happen again. icon_idea.gif
I'm dying too. xD You can organize one. =D We're mostly waiting for Philightsophy and Refnulf to get well. =)

friedricetheman
post Sep 11 2009, 11:40 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

Is there any Surefire lights which are reliable in terms of mid to high lumens and long burn time. I'm actually going to use it for a trip to the Taman Negara in Pahang. I'm looking at around 12 hours burn time so I think I might need a high intensity LED bulb. My Pelican Nemo has only 85 lumens, so not very good in misty and foggy enviroments. Any suggestions?
Zen|th
post Sep 11 2009, 02:03 PM

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Sep 10 2009, 08:40 PM)
Is there any Surefire lights which are reliable in terms of mid to high lumens and long burn time. I'm actually going to use it for a trip to the Taman Negara in Pahang. I'm looking at around 12 hours burn time so I think I might need a high intensity LED bulb. My Pelican Nemo has only 85 lumens, so not very good in misty and foggy enviroments. Any suggestions?
If you plan to use your light in foggy and misty areas, it's better to get an incan. But then again, incans only have an hour's runtime.

It would be kinda expensive to maintain but more appropriate for foggy areas.

Unless a neutral white LED may be a type to cinsider... Better runtime... I have nevver tried a neutral white in misty environments so i don really know... haha

I have tried my G2 in Genting and the beam just cuts through the mist!! Cool.. Whereas the beam of my G2L dispersed instantly
RookieDaddy
post Sep 11 2009, 03:22 PM

160 posts

+1 on incan! flex.gif

My 0.02 lumens:
- An LED lantern for chores - you can easily get 1 from GW2U
- An incan (Xenon) for scouting - Surefire G2/6P/G3/9P, available from Ace Hardware, if moola is no issue, go for M6! drool.gif
- A Fenix TK40 (GW2U) or EagleTac M2XC4 Neutral (Philightsophy) or JetBeam M1X (nexro) for that extra coolness (or to show-off), longer runtime and signaling sweat.gif
- Keep your Nemo as backup

remember...
One is none.
Two is one.
Three is key.
Four is more.
brows.gif
eow1973
post Sep 11 2009, 03:35 PM

Hi. Hope everyone's having a great time with their lights. Here're some of my lights when I'm not working and go night-cycling with the family
For my little girl

The wife's folding bike

And on my 13-year old MTB.

Philightsophy, how about getting Eagletac to make a bike mount for the M2X series. By the way, my T20C2 which lost the emitter dome is still alive and well after 2 weeks of constant use.

pseudoblue
post Sep 11 2009, 04:30 PM

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Sep 11 2009, 11:40 AM)

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Sep 11 2009, 03:22 PM)
An incan (Xenon) for scouting - Surefire G2/6P/G3/9P, available from Ace Hardware, if moola is no issue,  go for M6!  drool.gif
- A Fenix TK40 (GW2U) or EagleTac M2XC4 Neutral (Philightsophy) or JetBeam M1X (nexro) for that extra coolness (or to show-off), longer runtime and signaling  sweat.gif

Suggestion:

For the price of the M6 from Ace Hardware (RM2k+??). You can get the EagleTac M2XC4 Neutral White (from Philightsophy) and get the JetBeam M1X (from Nexro). Those two lights reach 600-700 lumens max. You'll need lights that have different modes to preserve runtime. M2XC4 and M1X (with extender) runs on 2x 18650 batteries each. The neutral white on the Eagletac might be easier to see in fog/rain. The Jetbeam M1X has a cooler tint but it also has a tighter beam and it's a thrower light. You don't get as much of the beam bouncing through the fog compared with the Fenix TK40 (I have TK40 btw, loving it, it's more of a flood light, good thrower too). The user interface and handling for the M2XC4 and M1X will be a little confusing for a newbie handling such high powered lights! You'll get used to it.

Next, buy Ultrafire Li-ON charger Model WF-139 and 8x (or more) AW18650 Li-ON protected batteries from Gadgetworld2u, or whoever has. If you're gonna use more than 200+ lumens constantly, you'll need spare batteries.

To calculate your runtime configuration and how often you are using it in between your 12 hours required period, I suggest some research:
Jetbeam M1X review
EagleTac M2XC4 Cool White review (But get the neutral white)
Info from EagleTac website. See under specifications for runtimes and neutral white lumens.

Some additional info I feel people should know about their lights: Jetbeam M1X has no parisitic drain! But the EagleTac M2XC4 has a small amount in little miliamps.
Info here

Sorry if it's too much info and I don't know about surefire lights sad.gif If you are new to Lithium ION batteries, I have info on that too! Care and maintenance. biggrin.gif
damonlbs
post Sep 11 2009, 05:16 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(eow1973 @ Sep 11 2009, 03:35 PM)
Hi.  Hope everyone's having a great time with their lights.  Here're some of my lights when I'm not working and go night-cycling with the family
And on my 13-year old MTB.

Philightsophy, how about getting Eagletac to make a bike mount for the M2X series.  By the way, my T20C2 which lost the emitter dome is still alive and well after 2 weeks of constant use.
where to get those bike mounts?
eow1973
post Sep 11 2009, 06:40 PM

QUOTE(damonlbs @ Sep 11 2009, 05:16 PM)
where to get those bike mounts?
The one holding the Streamlight TL-3 made by joining two bicycle reflector mounts (sold in Tesco - two reflectors per pack) after removing the reflectors. The others are from Dealextreme.
Chieftat
post Sep 11 2009, 07:56 PM

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Sep 11 2009, 11:40 AM)
Hi friedricetheman, is your trip to taman negara the regular tour trip or hard core trip ? 12 hours burn time is very long and i don't think any incan light can last that long.
I would go for a high intensity LED running on AAs as the workhorse and incan for backup. Batteries should be your bigger concern. You might want to look into headlight to keep your hands free for kepping mossies out of your face rolleyes.gif

If your trip is the regular tour trip, your Nemo should do fine. unless you're using this as an excuse to get new lights whistling.gif , then TK40 would be a sweet light to get
Philightsophy
post Sep 11 2009, 08:21 PM

Hi eow1973,
That is a good suggestion to ET. I have other ideas for them to ponder too biggrin.gif

Hi pseudoblue,
The EagleTac M2 models includes a clicky switch which enables users to cut off parasitic drain. The newer M2S has halved the parasitic drain when the light is in standby.
By the way, the parasitic drain is quite minor for the lights listed and I doubt it would affect the runtimes that much if you are hiking for 3-4 days. Either way, one should always bring along spare batteries and lights.

*Edited because the Jetbeam model shown is the RRT-1, not M1X. My mistake tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Philightsophy: Sep 11 2009, 09:36 PM
RookieDaddy
post Sep 11 2009, 08:39 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(Chieftat @ Sep 11 2009, 07:56 PM)
12 hours burn time is very long and i don't think any incan light can last that long.
errr... actually there are... check out the MagLite 4D, 5D and 6D, and some Pelican's bigger brother. brows.gif

z-b-i
post Sep 11 2009, 08:47 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Sep 11 2009, 08:39 PM)
errr... actually there are... check out the MagLite 4D, 5D and 6D, and some Pelican's bigger brother.  brows.gif

With incan light, there's bulb fragility to worry about. Of course, this depends on the nature of the outdoor activities.

And I'm not sure how serious is he into this flashlight world, i.e should he buy some non-regular batteries and a charger or should he stick with AA/C/D batteries.

I personally recommend few of 2AA flashlights from Fenix/Quark/etc, with warm tint if he prefers and that should be sufficient. Normally, people who are into outdoor activities are very particular about weight, so no 6D or any other big light.

RookieDaddy
post Sep 11 2009, 10:05 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(z-b-i @ Sep 11 2009, 08:47 PM)
With incan light, there's bulb fragility to worry about. Of course, this depends on the nature of the outdoor activities.
hahaha... innocent.gif
let's not start a LED vs Incan war here... else we will have 2 different threads like cpf >>> "The Bright Side V2 - LED" and ""The Bright Side V2 - Incandescent" rclxub.gif
the MagLites posted above is not a recommendation, just wanna to share that such options are available should one wanted to explore the path... and not forgetting that customs are always available if one is bold enough to take the challenge flex.gif
I think friedricetheman already has more or less an idea that a "high intensity LED" will work for him, the incan is just our recommendation of an alternative "misty and foggy environment" navigation tool as we found that incan works better in such environment. laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by RookieDaddy: Sep 11 2009, 10:09 PM

126 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:59 AM