126 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

The Bright Side V2, Night! Lights! Action!

z-b-i
post Sep 11 2009, 10:30 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Sep 11 2009, 10:05 PM)
hahaha...  innocent.gif
let's not start a LED vs Incan war here... else we will have 2 different threads like cpf >>> "The Bright Side V2 - LED" and ""The Bright Side V2 - Incandescent"  rclxub.gif
the MagLites posted above is not a recommendation, just wanna to share that such options are available should one wanted to explore the path... and not forgetting that customs are always available if one is bold enough to take the challenge flex.gif
Of course, I didn't mean to start a war here whistling.gif

It's always good to have the option, whether incan or LED.

Just out of curiosity, what's the price of Mag Mini or Mag 3C/2D? Is there any LED Mag on sale in any store here?

RookieDaddy
post Sep 11 2009, 10:48 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(z-b-i @ Sep 11 2009, 10:30 PM)
Just out of curiosity, what's the price of Mag Mini or Mag 3C/2D?  Is there any LED Mag on sale in any store here?
my-o-my... talk about coincident! I asked Philightsophy the same question last night.
Jusco Mid-Valley have some, but freaking expensive, Ace Hardware Mid-Valley and Ikano Power Centre have some too, cheaper than Jusco but still high. HomeFix in 1 Utama has some too.
Price range from RM79-RM149 for MagMini and RM169-RM369 for C/D sized. One LYN member started a MagLite sales thread some time back 2007/2008? More reasonably priced but still can't beat price online. doh.gif

This post has been edited by RookieDaddy: Sep 11 2009, 10:49 PM
z-b-i
post Sep 11 2009, 11:03 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Sep 11 2009, 10:48 PM)
my-o-my... talk about coincident! I asked Philightsophy the same question last night.
Jusco Mid-Valley have some, but freaking expensive, Ace Hardware Mid-Valley and Ikano Power Centre have some too, cheaper than Jusco but still high.

More reasonably priced but still can't beat price online.  doh.gif
What's the best way to import flashlight, ebay or CPFMP? Sorry for this sort of question, I just returned to Malaysia.

RookieDaddy
post Sep 11 2009, 11:15 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(z-b-i @ Sep 11 2009, 11:03 PM)
What's the best way to import flashlight, ebay or CPFMP?
my search shows that ebay has better value... but YMMV. try a search in "The Bright Side" V1, refnulf and nexro has posted some good information on importing flashlights into the country. biggrin.gif
susuman
post Sep 11 2009, 11:41 PM

Hi, to get good quality but affordable flashlight, try Dealextreme. I got my Xenon incans from them, it is a decent flashlight, but uses Philips Xenon Bulb 20W, it draw about 3.5A from the battery, and throw like crazy. Though the buld only rated at 600lm, due to the warm tint, the colour rendition makes it perfect like in the jungle, you can see things easily in the dark. In my test, it has better vision than my P7 rated at 900lm.

The Xenon flashlight I bought is this http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.10855
I did not buy the common Ultrafire, because it only has 500lm, and the Conqueror has a 600lm Philips bulb, plus can you choose to use either 1 18650 or 2. Oh, not protected li-ion, it is too powerful for protected batteries. And it is really small, just about 8.31 in in length.

Have a nice trip.

This post has been edited by susuman: Sep 11 2009, 11:44 PM
z-b-i
post Sep 11 2009, 11:54 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(susuman @ Sep 11 2009, 11:41 PM)

The Xenon flashlight I bought is this http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.10855
I did not buy the common Ultrafire, because it only has 500lm, and the Conqueror has a 600lm Philips bulb, plus can you choose to use either 1 18650 or 2. Oh, not protected li-ion, it is too powerful for protected batteries. And it is really small, just about 8.31 in in length.

Have a nice trip.
That sounds interesting. Any idea about run times and does it get hot very quickly?
alqa
post Sep 12 2009, 01:10 AM

346 posts

okay something a bit off topic.. but may be invaluable for your pocket rockets.. I am currently in possession of a shipment of these military grade 550 paracords, in OD green and black; and a couple type of cordlocs and cord ends/zipper tabs. anyone interested?

z-b-i
post Sep 12 2009, 01:17 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(alqa @ Sep 12 2009, 01:10 AM)
anyone interested?

any info about price, delivery?

This post has been edited by z-b-i: Sep 12 2009, 01:17 AM
pseudoblue
post Sep 12 2009, 04:10 AM

So many responses, cool smile.gif

QUOTE(Philightsophy @ Sep 11 2009, 08:21 PM)
Hi pseudoblue,
The EagleTac M2 models includes a clicky switch which enables users to cut off parasitic drain. The newer M2S has halved the parasitic drain when the light is in standby. By the way, the parasitic drain is quite minor for the lights listed and I doubt it would affect the runtimes that much if you are hiking for 3-4 days. Either way, one should always bring along spare batteries and lights.
*Edited because the Jetbeam model shown is the RRT-1, not M1X. My mistake  tongue.gif
Thanks for the update Philightsophy. Regarding the parasitic drain, I just mentioned for the new user knowledge. But you are right that it won't affect the runtime much. You don't carry M1X? I'll be checking out ur links..

QUOTE(z-b-i @ Sep 11 2009, 08:47 PM)
I personally recommend few of 2AA flashlights from Fenix/Quark/etc, with warm tint if he prefers and that should be sufficient.  Normally, people who are into outdoor activities are very particular about weight...
Just to mentioned models for Friedricetheman, they are Fenix LD20, Quark AA^2. They touch 90 lumens on high and 170++ on turbo. AA batts should be easier to manage I guess. But neutral white only available for Quark AA^2 at the moment. Come to think of it, the cool white on the LD20 also not bad right, I think it can still manage well in foggy situations.

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Sep 11 2009, 10:48 PM)
Jusco Mid-Valley have some, but freaking expensive, Ace Hardware Mid-Valley and Ikano Power Centre have some too, cheaper than Jusco but still high. HomeFix in 1 Utama has some too. Price range from RM79-RM149 for MagMini and RM169-RM369 for C/D sized
Just to add, IOI Mall new wing Ace Hardware seems to have a bigger flashlight section. They carry lots of Maglites Incan and LEDs. They have a couple pelicans, rayovacs and streamlights. But personally I feel they are still behind time. Not looking at Fenix, EagleTac for example. Brands like Coleman, Rayovac, Energizer, has upgraded their LEDs and have applicable lights and lantern that people can actually use.

Hi, to get good quality but affordable flashlight, try Dealextreme.
Lots of CPF members get stuff from Dealextreme too, and I remember susuman said 1 week delivery to Malaysia thumbup.gif

susuman
post Sep 12 2009, 10:52 AM

QUOTE(z-b-i @ Sep 11 2009, 11:54 PM)
That sounds interesting.  Any idea about run times and does it get hot very quickly?
I did not have chance to test the run time, but there are some claim it has about 45min on 2x18650 (2400mAH), which is mathematically right, because it draw more than 3A, so it need 2x18650 3000mAH batteries to last for 1 hour.

If you want to have longer run time and bulb life, take out the extension tube, so use 1x18650 and dimmer. It will last longer. I just did a test, it draw 2.3A from the battery in this configuration. So it last 1 hour for 1 battery, total of 2x18650 will get you 2 hour burn time.
(And yes, it can be configure to use 1x18650, and : 2xRCR123 or 2xCR123A in this short body)
Btw, 2xRCR123 is not recommended, because the battery heat up too fast in 3A and short burn time
one more thing, the AW protected I don't think can work. It required unprotected li-ion cell ! (Oh, you are right, I don't have any protected cell either)

Heat up, yes, pretty quick. But it is manageable, not so hot to the touch. Anyway, so far the best thrower I have, better than all my LED , even the SSC P7. It is good in outdoor/jungle/misty.

Have fun. Oh yeah, like Bro pseudoblue said, it take less than a week to reach here, typical air mail is 4-5 days from HK to your door, exclude holiday. But the ordering and packing sometimes take 1 week + rclxub.gif
(They don't keep all goods in stock, they backorder sometimes, and it takes 2-5 days, and packing take another 2-3 days recently)

Can pay using paypal, and you can cancel the order anytime before they pack it, then you get a refund. Since shipping is free, you can order each item in separated order, so it will ship what ever goods available. Any order over USD$15 will be registered airmail (recommended for safer and speedier post in malaysia)

Bro pseudoblue, the battery deal in Dealextreme is really good deal (haha, so many deal), charger also fairly cheap. Just make sure read the review and forum before order, to choose which is best. Oh, let me know b4 you order, I can double confirm for you, because some photo and spec are not so correct.

Having flashlighing!
thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by susuman: Sep 12 2009, 10:53 AM
old newspaper
post Sep 12 2009, 01:32 PM

if it ain't broke, don't fix it !
1,245 posts

speaking of purchasing from dealextreme, i still have about 5 pending shipment from them.....so far i have no issue at all and has been buying from them since a year ago d...

tips : i always use their Drop Shipment and Gift Service (Removes DX logo from package) and it cost mere $0.01 !!!

alga : how much are you going to selling those military grade 550 paracords? ok, no trade related talk here, please pm me for further details ya !

pseudoblue
post Sep 12 2009, 06:23 PM

QUOTE(susuman @ Sep 12 2009, 10:52 AM)
Bro pseudoblue, the battery deal in Dealextreme is really good deal (haha, so many deal), charger also fairly cheap. Just make sure read the review and forum before order, to choose which is best. Oh, let me know b4 you order, I can double confirm for you, because some photo and spec are not so correct.
Cool, I'll keep this in mind thanks biggrin.gif

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Sep 12 2009, 01:32 PM)
speaking of purchasing from dealextreme, i still have about 5 pending shipment from them.....
If it's flashlights, what did you buy? brows.gif

old newspaper
post Sep 12 2009, 08:04 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Sep 12 2009, 06:23 PM)
If it's flashlights, what did you buy? brows.gif
not all flashlight...some other stuff like cell batteries, rechargable AAA, AA, and some cree r2 emitter for modding purposes.....

as for flashlight, i bought this;

MTE SSC P7 C-Bin 900-Lumen 8-Mode LED Flashlight (1*18650)
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.13060, after reading some review here, http://www.detailingbliss.com/forum/f75/pr...-p7-c-8701.html brows.gif it's more a flood than throw but from the review it's really got my attention....

and some other stainless steel AAA/AA flashlight....i'm a fan of those small light [ i means really small light ] especially made from stainless steel or titanium....

i bought some light from goinggear.com too [ of course with cpf discount coupon drool.gif ] , namely titanium Thrunite, titanium VersaTi [ useless light...lol], and stainless steel iTP upgraded light....

but out of all this, my favorite is still those Lummi Raw & Wee......argggh the waiting period is killing me now !!! and not to mention Quark Titanium AA drool.gif

This post has been edited by old newspaper: Sep 12 2009, 08:06 PM
pseudoblue
post Sep 12 2009, 10:21 PM

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ May 20 2009, 09:33 PM)
i wanna try soldering it back, but i can't seem to get the driver pcb out from the pill sweat.gif

u want it ar?

during the flashlight gathering, if i manage to go, i might bring it along, see what u can do to it lol...

anyway, short and crappy video with the P100A2, some simple introduction and overnight waterproof test lol...

swim with confidence  tongue.gif  laugh.gif
thumbup.gif never knew u did a vid. I'm like going thru V1 bit by bit.. zzzzz

Added on September 12, 2009, 10:30 pm
QUOTE(old newspaper @ Sep 12 2009, 08:04 PM)
MTE SSC P7 C-Bin 900-Lumen 8-Mode LED Flashlight (1*18650)
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.13060, after reading some review here, http://www.detailingbliss.com/forum/f75/pr...-p7-c-8701.html  brows.gif  it's more a flood than throw but from the review it's really got my attention....

and some other stainless steel AAA/AA flashlight....i'm a fan of those small light [ i means really small light ] especially made from stainless steel or titanium....

i bought some light from goinggear.com too [ of course with cpf discount coupon  drool.gif ] , namely titanium Thrunite, titanium VersaTi [ useless light...lol], and stainless steel iTP upgraded light....

but out of all this, my favorite is still those Lummi Raw & Wee......argggh the waiting period is killing me now !!! and not to mention Quark Titanium AA  drool.gif
Wow! u ordered Quark Ti's too darn.. U know 4sevens is coming out with their AAA soon, since you're a little light fan, David promised it's gonna be something cutting-edge. If you haven't known, i've just add to your waiting burden.

I like to see your Cree R2 mod end result if you can post pics, feel free to post about the process too biggrin.gif

Let us know what you think of the MTE SSC P7 when u get it thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Sep 12 2009, 10:30 PM
jwyj
post Sep 13 2009, 08:43 AM

H
1,006 posts

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Sep 10 2009, 12:15 PM)
Seraph will comes as a complete flashlight, either LED or Xenon. I'm going for Xenon and the parts are interchangeable with Surefire's. I'm gonna use it as a host for D26 (P60-type) drop-in. The advantage is it supports 18xxx size rechargeable and comes complete with 2 switches -- clicky and twisty. I believe Philightsophy will bring in a few configurations.  thumbup.gif

I will wait for his to arrived, then I decide. But I think for high current applications, better use twisty switches. I'm now searching for twisty flashlight.

Added on September 13, 2009, 8:44 am

Have a nice trip.

This is a nice twisty light, you received already?

This post has been edited by jwyj: Sep 13 2009, 08:44 AM
sniper69
post Sep 13 2009, 12:50 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

yesterday play paintball at night... i got a chance to test out my M2XC4 and this Olight M20 Warrior Premium (different class...) and too bad, haven't bring my other Tiablo A10-G. errrr... damn, i like it so much instead of firing people, i just flash and give away enemy position (i'm a decoy by the way... doh.gif laugh.gif)
susuman
post Sep 13 2009, 04:14 PM

QUOTE(jwyj @ Sep 13 2009, 08:43 AM)
This is a nice twisty light, you received already?
Yes, I received it already. The order took about 2 weeks, 1 week for the stocking and packing and another week for the airmail (due to the holiday on last monday).

It is bright, though it is hard to compare with a LED (say SSC P7), some says it is the Xenon brighter, some says it is the 900lm P7 brighter, it is really depend of individual (Tested in my office). But when in the jungle at night, the Xenon seems has a upper hand. The Xenon yellowish colour rendition really good in the dark.

The light is actually quite small, it is easy to hold in the hand.
friedricetheman
post Sep 13 2009, 10:24 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Zen|th @ Sep 11 2009, 02:03 PM)
If you plan to use your light in foggy and misty areas, it's better to get an incan. But then again, incans only have an hour's runtime.

It would be kinda expensive to maintain but more appropriate for foggy areas.

Unless a neutral white LED may be a type to cinsider... Better runtime... I have nevver tried a neutral white in misty environments so i don really know... haha

I have tried my G2 in Genting and the beam just cuts through the mist!! Cool.. Whereas the beam of my G2L dispersed instantly
I'll look into incan. Many thanks. smile.gif I'm planning to use the torchlight mostly for morning hikes so might get a bit misty in the jungles. smile.gif
MMORPGHunter
post Sep 13 2009, 10:35 PM

Are those flashlights special for?

Camping

No electricity

Etc.?
old newspaper
post Sep 13 2009, 10:54 PM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Sep 12 2009, 10:21 PM)
thumbup.gif never knew u did a vid. I'm like going thru V1 bit by bit.. zzzzz

Added on September 12, 2009, 10:30 pmWow! u ordered Quark Ti's too darn.. U know 4sevens is coming out with their AAA soon, since you're a little light fan, David promised it's gonna be something cutting-edge. If you haven't known, i've just add to your waiting burden.

I like to see your Cree R2 mod end result if you can post pics, feel free to post about the process too biggrin.gif

Let us know what you think of the MTE SSC P7 when u get it  thumbup.gif
yeah, i'm aware of the unofficial upcoming Quark AAA....my paypal is always on standby. biggrin.gif

anyone heard of this brand, Lumens Factory? nothing much info on the web / CPF.....

i'm planning to get these,

Lumens Factory Seraph SP-6 LED 3 Mode

with

Seraph P7 M Series Turbo Head, High Output SSC P7 LED, D Bin (Max Output 950 Lumens)

please enlighten me.....

126 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:07 PM