AS1M, ASM, ASW, ASB V2, PNB fund

soul2soul
post Oct 6 2010, 12:34 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 6 2010, 11:47 AM)

Did you invested in AS1M?
Yea I did, because I have very low risk appetite.
tanch78
post Oct 6 2010, 01:15 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 6 2010, 12:01 PM)
MGM, thank you. As you can see, there is NO misrepresentation from PNB. It's just us which misinterpreted.

BUT --->>> I will be more careful of PNB from now on, why ? I must say that's a neat trick (if it's a trick) by extending the number of months and then giving out more sen per unit against the higher number of months.

I am sure many who are rushing to invest now will really be surprised next year WHEN THEIR DIVIDENDS FALL SHORT AGAINST "6.38%". And I am sure many would have been caught, still, it's better than FD.

Hopefully, no more legal tricks again from now on.
My bad... I am the one who misinterpreted the dividend!!! sad.gif

However, I don't think everyone aware of this... I know the dividend rate is higher than FD.. but it is kind of wrong to conclude that the divident paid is better than other PNB product like ASM and ASW2020....
kmarc
post Oct 6 2010, 01:29 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

The calculation of income distribution this year will be based on the average monthly minimum balance held throughout the financial year beginning 5 August 2009 until 30 September 2010.

I'm confused on how the dividend is calculated. Say I bought 10k in Jan, 10k in Feb and 10k in July 2010. How to calculate the dividend? hmm.gif
MGM
post Oct 6 2010, 02:05 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Oct 6 2010, 01:29 PM)
I'm confused on how the dividend is calculated. Say I bought 10k in Jan, 10k in Feb and 10k in July 2010. How to calculate the dividend?  hmm.gif
If u bought on 1st day of the month eg. 1/1/10 (9-month investment) u get dividend of
RM10000*6.38*9/13.87 = RM413.99

If u bought on 2nd day to last day of the month eg. 2/1/10 (8-month investment) u get dividend of
RM10000*6.38*8/13.87 = RM367.99

It is best to buy or sell on the 1st day of the month and never close your account (leave some amount) as you are entitled to any dividend (on prorata basis) on the next financial closing for funds redeemed. However if u close the account u wont get this dividend.

Added on October 6, 2010, 2:37 pm
QUOTE(soul2soul @ Oct 6 2010, 12:34 PM)
Yea I did, because I have very low risk appetite.
Already in retirement?

This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 6 2010, 02:37 PM
soul2soul
post Oct 6 2010, 02:55 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 6 2010, 02:05 PM)

Already in retirement?
Not yet. Any recommendation? I put inside FD and PNB funds only....
kmarc
post Oct 6 2010, 04:30 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 6 2010, 02:05 PM)
If u bought on 1st day of the month eg. 1/1/10 (9-month investment) u get dividend of
RM10000*6.38*9/13.87 = RM413.99

If u bought on 2nd day to last day of the month eg. 2/1/10 (8-month investment) u get dividend of
RM10000*6.38*8/13.87 = RM367.99

It is best to buy or sell on the 1st day of the month and never close your account (leave some amount) as you are entitled to any dividend (on prorata basis) on the next financial closing for funds redeemed. However if u close the account u wont get this dividend.
I see. Thx for the info. The 6.38% is so misleading!!! Now I know...... doh.gif
MGM
post Oct 6 2010, 04:52 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Oct 6 2010, 02:55 PM)
Not yet. Any recommendation? I put inside FD and PNB funds only....
Do not dare to recommend lah, lest you accuse me of being a mutual fund agent

HA HA got you!!!!

Due to the initial negative perception and the bad take up rate of AS1M, I manage to dump in all my matured FD into it, which I deduced should be a better investment than FD. So far so good. Dare not touch other investment due to the uncertainty in the world economy. Waiting to channel my ASNB funds into equity in the right time. Currently KLSE is on the high side. Hope that the ASNB funds are safe as I am putting all my eggs in the same basket.

This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 6 2010, 05:41 PM
soul2soul
post Oct 6 2010, 05:38 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 6 2010, 04:52 PM)
Do not dare to recommend lah, lest you accuse me of being a mutual fund
HA HA got you!!!!

Due to the initial negative perception and the bad take up rate of AS1M, I manage to dump in all my matured FD into it, which I deduced should be a better investment than FD. So far so good. Dare not touch other investment due to the uncertainty in the world economy. Waiting to channel my ASNB funds into equity in the right time. Currently KLSE is on the high side. Hope that the ASNB funds are safe as I am putting all my eggs in the same basket.
yea me too.

gark
post Oct 6 2010, 05:43 PM

12,534 posts

Hmm the annual report for AS1M is still not out yet? I can't seem to find it anywhere is the ASNB website. I am interested to know their actual performance for 2010, see if they can beat the benchmark. The financial statements would be nice to read to, to check how are they deploying the funds. laugh.gif
smartinvestor01
post Oct 6 2010, 09:17 PM

Saving and Investing for Retirement (The SIR Concept)
1,423 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Oct 6 2010, 05:38 PM)
yea me too.
Me three...

The equities are going wild.. Look very dangerous.. Hm.. better to be in the low risk profile..

Fear that if incurred any loss in the other investments, it represents an opportunity costs.. nod.gif
Hansel
post Oct 6 2010, 09:50 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Oct 6 2010, 10:17 PM)
Me three...

The equities are going wild.. Look very dangerous.. Hm.. better to be in the low risk profile..

Fear that if incurred any loss in the other investments, it represents an opportunity costs..  nod.gif
Guys, if the counters you are holding are Blue Chips, and the index you are playing is already at 75% to the high before the Global Financial Crisis, then it is time to stay out of the market. The higher your stock climbs, the bigger your margin of safety, and of course, the more your profit.

Do not chase a runaway counter. If it falls, it will be very painful.
Libra
post Oct 8 2010, 01:35 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 6 2010, 09:50 PM)
Guys, if the counters you are holding are Blue Chips, and the index you are playing is already at 75% to the high before the Global Financial Crisis, then it is time to stay out of the market. The higher your stock climbs, the bigger your margin of safety, and of course, the more your profit.

Do not chase a runaway counter. If it falls, it will be very painful.
You are right to a certain extent. KLCI at over 1400 IS heavy upside. It's ready for some tumbling. But who knows how high it will go? I wish I know. But the best expert still aims way off the mark when the day is done. That was what everyone thought when US's DowJones reached 9000 mark. But it went on and on until the Subprime brings the house down to earth. I think from now on, we just have to keep TWO sharp eyes on the market, of all you know we may not tumble for the next few years! We MAY on the other hand. Whatever it may be, still the best is to keep your focus on the market and be prepared.

cheahcw2003
post Oct 8 2010, 05:10 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Oct 6 2010, 05:43 PM)
Hmm the annual report for AS1M is still not out yet? I can't seem to find it anywhere is the ASNB website. I am interested to know their actual performance for 2010, see if they can beat the benchmark.  The financial statements would be nice to read to, to check how are they deploying the funds. laugh.gif
Report usually ready after 3 mths
zeist
post Oct 9 2010, 03:03 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

I just received my ASW2020 book from my mom. Registered somewhere in 1997 under my name. According to her, she says that it is not easy to just dump in money, have to wait for stock availability. True?

I'm now deciding whether should I transfer 80% of my savings to ASW2020 (6.5%) or FD (3.85%, family member working at some bank).

I'm quite new to ASW2020, so I would like to know will there be any risks for this investment? The interest rate is about 30% more compared to FD, which is why I'm more keen on this.

Please advise.
SUSMNet
post Oct 9 2010, 03:50 PM

11,954 posts

u need to wait ppl sell only can buy.

i gv 20k to bank staff to help me direct in when gt ppl sell.
zeist
post Oct 9 2010, 05:13 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Oct 9 2010, 03:50 PM)
u need to wait ppl sell only can buy.

i gv 20k to bank staff to help me direct in when gt ppl sell.
What's the procedure like? Just go to Maybank, hand them amount of money and collect a slip?

SUSMNet
post Oct 9 2010, 05:37 PM

11,954 posts

now no1 1 to sell it

even u hv $$,also canot buy it.

tht y i gv the bank ppl cash,so incase he check the system got ppl sell,he can direct buy for me
zeist
post Oct 9 2010, 05:41 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Ok!

I think I'm going for FD first.

Is it safe to give them RM20K in cash just like that? Or it is someone that you are close with?
SUSMNet
post Oct 9 2010, 05:45 PM

11,954 posts

Safe long time already know him.

If lucky 1 month can get 1k unit
zeist
post Oct 9 2010, 05:54 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts