Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V29!, The Orange Legion

MemorableStudios
post Aug 17 2009, 12:03 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 16 2009, 11:47 PM)
Seng_Kiat: Er, you wanted to use Manual Power on the F58 in Aperture Priority on the A700, right? So you need to enable PASM in C04 on the F58.

Yes, DRO makes your pictures noisier! This is especially so when there is bright sky and dark subject.

If you shoot ISO200, and the subject is underexposed by 3 stops, then DRO will brighten the subject by 3 stops (which makes it effectively ISO1600.)

The Canon 40D, Nikon D300, and Sony A700 v4 all have the same image quality and noise levels. It's just whether you used DRO/ADL/HTP or not.

You can accurately spot meter by changing your AEL button to Spot Meter AEL Toggle. So in the case of bright sky and dark subject, press the AEL button while aiming at the subject and you will get a properly exposed, clean image (but overexposed sky.)

tot31: Whoa, that is far!

HiroBoroi: I shoot IR handheld unmodified on 50mm F1.4 at ISO6400 in black-and-white. Looks just like IR film.

For the record, there are Alpha bodies out there that have been converted to IR.

achew: Aha! Spotted the feathering artifacts around the dog's left ear.

yuenzhi: Don't worry, ISO400 is alright on any Alpha - it goes a long way into getting a crisp image if you can stop down the aperture to say F6.3.
totally agree on the DRO... i turn it off alltogether... get the actual exposed image that i want...
achew
post Aug 17 2009, 12:08 AM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

achew: Aha! Spotted the feathering artifacts around the dog's left ear.

lol...come on bro..i did that in less than 2min..hahaha..and i hate to mask hairy/fluffy stuff.. cry.gif
Kul | Mo0
post Aug 17 2009, 12:55 AM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

albnok : Possible to use manual power on a200 in Aperture mode?
achew
post Aug 17 2009, 01:09 AM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

i remember sifu said can....but need some secret-code like button pressing =p...so usually im lazy in this case..i'd jst straight away shoot in manual..afterall u can always test out the shutter speed during AP..so change it to manual...use the shutter speed around wad u saw just now..and play around with it...

This post has been edited by achew: Aug 17 2009, 01:13 AM
The Wonder
post Aug 17 2009, 01:10 AM

Bang Bang Club
1,059 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Aug 17 2009, 12:55 AM)
Yes you can. You need to enable the PASM mode in C04 on your F58 flash (go into custom menu by pressing Fn button for 3 seconds).
ahtsong
post Aug 17 2009, 01:26 AM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Aug 17 2009, 12:55 AM)
read the manual...since u so free now...
Kul | Mo0
post Aug 17 2009, 01:34 AM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

Busy DotA-ing le. =p Will try try later. (:
nabelon
post Aug 17 2009, 01:51 AM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

All on a300,18-70 plus F58, except for the last pic.

This post has been edited by nabelon: Aug 17 2009, 02:10 AM
yuenzhi
post Aug 17 2009, 02:26 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(hanafinoor @ Aug 16 2009, 11:03 PM)
hi yuenzhi - i ve been analyzing yr pics - here - suggestions from a noob too -

yr exif for the dog pic as shown - 1/30, f3.5 iso 100

yr exif shows that u r using shutter speed of 1/30, normally at that shutter speed its too slow for non posing animals and humans like children (at least 1/50 above if the object can move), ...yr f also shows 3.5 which can capture more lights but your dof will only able to make smaller parts in focus. In your framing the whole body of the dog comprise at least quarter of the pic. At 3.5 with that distance between you and your dog, not all the body of your dog will be in focus thus only small part will be lens sharp, (in the dog case and distance i would prefer  f5 and above). At your setting a slight shake or movement on the subject part will make yr subject not as sharp as you wish. As your shooting is indoor i think u hv no choice but to illuminate yr subject at that setting. That is how a flash (an external flash is better) comes in handy and you are able to hand held yr camera with faster shutter speed and smaller apperture, or if u dont use a flashgun, you can increase yr iso to brighten yr subject but too high an iso will give you undesirable noise . You can set all yr setting as desired with Manual mode  (I suspect u r using  P mode). A proper setting with the help of flashgun will reduce yr amount of time on editing and give u better overall result.
Just my noob opinion.
thanks for the heads up dude, im still new in this field, just bought my camera last month. looks like i still have a LOT to learn. n yes i do have a flashgun F58AM, which im still clueless over how to use it, flash photography looks really hard but i shall try haha. im currently using P mode as im still not used to using M mode, im such a noob sad.gif

QUOTE(ahtsong @ Aug 16 2009, 11:17 PM)
play with ur lens and find ur sweet spot of ur lens...looking at ur Doggy pig, as what napi said, speed too slow and wide open....

if indoor, try to shoot some object with good lighting... and zoom in...and yes the 16105 are not very much better then kitty, our kitty can be very sharp too...if u know how to use it.

1 more opinion, do feel scare to pump out ur ISO
i see, thanks for the advice

Added on August 17, 2009, 2:31 amdid i mention my dog just gave birth ? drool.gif taken by kit lens btw, SAL 18-70

good night everybody

This post has been edited by yuenzhi: Aug 17 2009, 02:54 AM
Wonka
post Aug 17 2009, 02:56 AM

U n k o ™
1,643 posts

Spams~

Alpha logo

Myself on the mirror

C & c are welcomed.
albnok
post Aug 17 2009, 03:19 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

nabelon: I quite like #2 because it is simple - there's just the singer and the band in the back, in yellow. The angle could've been better though. I like #3's angle!

yuenzhi: That's a good angle, getting down to eye level!
Seng_Kiat
post Aug 17 2009, 07:15 AM

5,580 posts

Seng_Kiat: Er, you wanted to use Manual Power on the F58 in Aperture Priority on the A700, right? So you need to enable PASM in C04 on the F58.

Yes, DRO makes your pictures noisier! This is especially so when there is bright sky and dark subject.

If you shoot ISO200, and the subject is underexposed by 3 stops, then DRO will brighten the subject by 3 stops (which makes it effectively ISO1600.)

The Canon 40D, Nikon D300, and Sony A700 v4 all have the same image quality and noise levels. It's just whether you used DRO/ADL/HTP or not.

You can accurately spot meter by changing your AEL button to Spot Meter AEL Toggle. So in the case of bright sky and dark subject, press the AEL button while aiming at the subject and you will get a properly exposed, clean image (but overexposed sky.)

oh, i got it ... biggrin.gif .. at first I tot flash also have semi auto mode like aperture priority, shutter priority, etc .. biggrin.gif .. tongue.gif ..
HiroBoroi
post Aug 17 2009, 09:08 AM

1,319 posts

HiroBoroi: I shoot IR handheld unmodified on 50mm F1.4 at ISO6400 in black-and-white. Looks just like IR film.

For the record, there are Alpha bodies out there that have been converted to IR.
Oh yeah drool.gif ? I would love to see a link showing pictures of the conversion process of a Sony. Would love to see what the internal stabilization mechanism looks like and how they go about doing it. smile.gif
MechaHerc
post Aug 17 2009, 09:57 AM

アルファ ソニ
1,967 posts

QUOTE(yuenzhi @ Aug 17 2009, 02:26 AM)
thanks for the heads up dude, im still new in this field, just bought my camera last month. looks like i still have a LOT to learn. n yes i do have a flashgun F58AM, which im still clueless over how to use it, flash photography looks really hard but i shall try haha. im currently using P mode as im still not used to using M mode, im such a noob  sad.gif
try to learn A mode 1st bro.. easy to understanding..
Sp00kY
post Aug 17 2009, 10:04 AM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Aug 16 2009, 04:17 PM)
Well I'm in the minority group. I like simple and stupid, back to basics stuff like having a tripod and cable release smile.gif .  If you love to take IR pictures, then an in body stabilization will not be a good thing for conversion of body to IR. shakehead.gif
hmm..are you using sony? What made you chose sony (if u use sony)?
let see the pros and cons having SSS
Pro:
SSS with any lens
Able to shoot with lower shutter speed

Cons:
SSS drains more power (you can switch it off if you dont want it)
x-sync speed will be lowered with SSS on (not sure about the higher end model but IINM, A200 is like that)

For me, its no harm having a "plus" and I can always "minus" the "plus" if i dont like it by switching it off smile.gif

Well, I am just curious....
Braynumb
post Aug 17 2009, 10:43 AM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Aug 17 2009, 01:51 AM)

Mannnn... seeing this picture really makes me want to go home and spend time with my baby girl... hehehe...

some baby sepam while I'm at it... taken last night
#3 Baby Daddy Cranky Combo!

C&C are most welcomed
MemorableStudios
post Aug 17 2009, 10:45 AM

315 posts

oh yeah baby.. getting my A900 today... hoepfully... or A700, worst case scenario... smile.gif
hanafinoor
post Aug 17 2009, 10:47 AM

2,062 posts

QUOTE(yuenzhi @ Aug 17 2009, 03:26 AM)
thanks for the heads up dude, im still new in this field, just bought my camera last month. looks like i still have a LOT to learn. n yes i do have a flashgun F58AM, which im still clueless over how to use it, flash photography looks really hard but i shall try haha. im currently using P mode as im still not used to using M mode, im such a noob  sad.gif

Added on August 17, 2009, 2:31 amdid i mention my dog just gave birth ? drool.gif taken by kit lens btw, SAL 18-70
good night everybody
Nice one - agree with albnok nice angle. Take your time learning the other S A and M modes.

Now your camera setting is 1/250 f3.5 and iso 100.

Now you see a 1/250 shutter speed is able to freeze your puppy and f3.5 is suitable as the puppy body surface is less than 1/4 of the total pic. This can be done as your available light is adequate.

This post has been edited by hanafinoor: Aug 17 2009, 11:32 AM
Seng_Kiat
post Aug 17 2009, 11:26 AM

5,580 posts

guys,

do we have alpha photoshoot studio like nikon has their nikonian academy?

another question is, when will the alpha convention? .. biggrin.gif ..
yuenzhi
post Aug 17 2009, 11:52 AM

182 posts

@albnok and hanafinoor - thanks for the comment laugh.gif

i never knew aperture take a major role in term of image sharpness, i always thought that shutter speed play a more important role in term of producing a sharp image. looks like aperture and shutter speed play an equally important role in order to produce a sharp image. i have one question, if i want to take a landscape picture, my A suppose to be as high as possible ? so that everything will be detailed ?

125 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:20 AM