129 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here

tr|n|ty
post Oct 30 2009, 05:57 PM

kuukuukuu
787 posts

neekun,

tough call.. normally i get bored of my stuff pretty fast, that means i would be satisfied if it can last at least 2 years as i will consider to give away after that .. i just worried macbook will have so much problems that it couldnt survive within that period.

one more question, i still could purchase acpp before the 1yr warranty expire right? in case it already gives me a lot of problem in the first year >.<
chizzu
post Oct 30 2009, 06:01 PM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

yes. you can purchase ACPP anytime while your mac still in the first year of warranty smile.gif
kimurastanley
post Oct 30 2009, 06:19 PM

Freak
1,580 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Oct 30 2009, 05:17 PM)
it wont fit. the shape is very different
oh, ic
any speck for the new design macbook??
i only see the old design.
Kernkraft400
post Oct 30 2009, 06:56 PM

Master Chief
2,977 posts

I love speck but they havent release casings for the new MBPs yet, which is

sort of troublesome sad.gif I am relying and hoping my Macbook wont scratch.

Added on October 30, 2009, 6:58 pmI mean, iinm, dvlz, it would fit, but it the casing would cover up the earphone input.

This post has been edited by Kernkraft400: Oct 30 2009, 06:58 PM
kimurastanley
post Oct 30 2009, 07:12 PM

Freak
1,580 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Oct 30 2009, 06:56 PM)

Added on October 30, 2009, 6:58 pmI mean, iinm, dvlz, it would fit, but it the casing would cover up the earphone input.
i now really be careful with my macbook cos the bottom will scratch like hell if not taken care properly
I hope there will be new protector coming out soon
dvlzplayground
post Oct 30 2009, 09:12 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Oct 30 2009, 06:56 PM)

yeap. for the 15" is fine though...it just covers the kensington slot
terencetoo
post Oct 31 2009, 04:28 PM

3,246 posts

hey guys i have a question here regarding Airport...

Do u get disconnection often or slow connection after awhile?

My scenario is:

Using linksys wireless N modem... starting the connection speed is fast...when idle too long (overnight/restart) my Airport will not connect the router automatically...where i need to manually insert password and the most of the time the message from Airport shown " invalid password"

I tried keying the same password and out of 4/10 times only manage to get the wireless up but the speed is slow....

However, i try to figure it out could it be router settings...but it seems everything is straight forward for the router...disable Mac Filter/ WPA password.....nothing else already....

Pls enlighten me if i need to tweak the Network utilities? Internet speed is not a prob ( i have another PC connected with LAN with the same router =new router= where my speed is good)

Ping wireless 80% packet loss.....
kingdomanga
post Oct 31 2009, 04:42 PM

327 posts

i open photoshop CS4 and my exhaust show on istast pro is more than 3000.....
normal or not.....
can someone tell me?
davidmak
post Oct 31 2009, 05:15 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Oct 31 2009, 04:28 PM)
hey guys i have a question here regarding Airport...

Do u get disconnection often or slow connection after awhile?

My scenario is:

Using linksys wireless N modem... starting the connection speed is fast...when idle too long (overnight/restart) my Airport will not connect the router automatically...where i need to manually insert password and the most of the time the message from Airport shown " invalid password" 

I tried keying the same password and out of 4/10 times only manage to get the wireless up but the speed is slow....

However, i try to figure it out could it be router settings...but it seems everything is straight forward for the router...disable Mac Filter/ WPA password.....nothing else already....

Pls enlighten me if i need to tweak the Network utilities? Internet speed is not a prob ( i have another PC connected with LAN with the same router =new router= where my speed is good)

Ping wireless 80% packet loss.....
It happened to me before after extended duration of use. At one time it just loses connection and wouldn't auto-detect. I had to disable AirPort and enable it again for it to work again. Not sure if my router is the cause of the problem. But then the problem didn't come back so I didn't pursue.

QUOTE(kingdomanga @ Oct 31 2009, 04:42 PM)
i open photoshop CS4 and my exhaust show on istast pro is more than 3000.....
normal or not.....
can someone tell me?
Its normal. In fact CS4 uses your GPU for acceleration on some special purpose task, so I'm not surprise the overall temperature increases and cause the fan to spin faster.
kingdomanga
post Oct 31 2009, 08:02 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Oct 31 2009, 06:15 PM)

Its normal. In fact CS4 uses your GPU for acceleration on some special purpose task, so I'm not surprise the overall temperature increases and cause the fan to spin faster.
oh like that ah.
i thought no matter what software u open, as long as it not high ram game then it should e less than 3000
then what tempature will cause noise fan sound, did u know?

and Thank for answer biggrin.gif
terencetoo
post Oct 31 2009, 10:04 PM

3,246 posts

indeed long usage, i wont not get auto connect from Airport..
funny...nvm i will benchmark again see how it goes...
davidmak
post Oct 31 2009, 11:28 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(kingdomanga @ Oct 31 2009, 08:02 PM)
oh like that ah.
i thought no matter what software u open, as long as it not high ram game then it should e less than 3000
then what tempature will cause noise fan sound, did u know?

and Thank for answer biggrin.gif
I'm not sure but all I know is that different models will have their fans react differently to thermal generation. You shouldn't be concern. I'm sure its perfectly normal and it doesn't shorten the lifespan of the fan because it spins faster. It is suppose to spin faster to increase ventilation and rate of dissipation.

defectivelasagna
post Nov 2 2009, 08:45 AM

304 posts

What do you guys think of the Speck clear plastic hard shell? good?
davidmak
post Nov 2 2009, 03:44 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(defectivelasagna @ Nov 2 2009, 08:45 AM)
What do you guys think of the Speck clear plastic hard shell? good?
I think it is nice. I prefer the Satin one as its not easy to scratch. Another similar one would be Incipio Feather.
defectivelasagna
post Nov 2 2009, 04:20 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Nov 2 2009, 03:44 PM)
I think it is nice. I prefer the Satin one as its not easy to scratch. Another similar one would be Incipio Feather.
The reason that i'm eyeing for the said product is because it is 'clear', i don't know any other skins that are completely see thru.

edit: does the speck satin fit the late 2009 macbook white?

This post has been edited by defectivelasagna: Nov 2 2009, 05:07 PM
davidmak
post Nov 2 2009, 10:49 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(defectivelasagna @ Nov 2 2009, 04:20 PM)
The reason that i'm eyeing for the said product is because it is 'clear', i don't know any other skins that are completely see thru.

edit: does the speck satin fit the late 2009 macbook white?
You mean the new unibody plastic whites? Nope, I don't think so. But they will release one in due time. If you want a really clear one, then Speck SeeThrough is for you. The Satin and Incipio Feather is only translucent and matte finish.
jind86
post Nov 4 2009, 08:27 PM

1,507 posts

computer noob here.. my macbook pro has been kinda slow recently.. how exactly do i check whether my RAM is sufficient or not?
nokia2003
post Nov 4 2009, 08:34 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(jind86 @ Nov 4 2009, 08:27 PM)
computer noob here.. my macbook pro has been kinda slow recently.. how exactly do i check whether my RAM is sufficient or not?
oh ni macam... you mesti perform defragmentation to speed up your MBP

try downloading those widgets that will inform of your real time usage?
davidmak
post Nov 4 2009, 10:20 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

If wanna do defragmentation then can try out iDefrag. But it is not freeware, the shareware can only defrag a few hundred MB. If you don't wanna buy it, there are countless other utilities. To do a full defrag on the main partition (where the OS resides) you need to defrag it offline. Either through a bootCD or via a cloned partition of the main partition.

What I did was to use Carbon Copy Cleaner to clone my main partition to an external drive. Then set SL to boot from that external drive. Once booted up, start the application and perform a full defrag. Shaved a few more seconds from my boot time (average). By the way, we don't need to perform defragmentation regularly because the HFS+ (mac os file system) has built-in defragmentation prevention by keeping files together. However it doesn't optimize free space. So when your drive is almost full, you may have degraded performance or when your free space is too fragmented.
dvlzplayground
post Nov 5 2009, 01:30 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(jind86 @ Nov 4 2009, 08:27 PM)
go to Applications > Utilities > Activity Monitor, and click on the System Memory tab. try to keep an eye on the green section...it shows you how much free memory do you have.

i wanna ask something about what are you referring to as 'slow', because ur problem may be ur hard drive. i suggest you try these things:

1. copy and paste huge files (maybe 10gb) around ur hard disk (meaning not from/to external). if it's slow, most likely hard drive problem
2. plug in two USB devices, and copy a file (the bigger the better) from one to another. if ur hard drive got problem, this shud not be slow.
3. when system hang, can you still move the cursor? if yes, likely its the hard drive. normally (from my experience) when not enough RAM, you cant do anything at all
4. have you been experiencing any kernel panics? where you get a black screen and a warning. if yes, more likely bad RAM
5. launch the applications that u normally use (safari, itunes, anything). then launch something heavy (photoshop, games). take note on how long it takes to launch, whether its normal or unusually slow. now quit the heavy app and launch it again. if it still launches slow, u dont have enough RAM. if it launches quickly, but very slow during the initial launch, bad hard drive.

anyway, try to have around 30% of ur hard drive free. the less free space it has, the slower the performance. a simple reason is because OSX is using that free space to kinda help the RAM a bit (virtual memory), so the more free space, the bigger the virtual memory, the better the performance. another more technical reason is about how the hard drive doesnt need to search for the whole disk to look for data...only searching the part it knows you have stuff on.

129 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0331sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:33 AM