6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

ASUS k40AB/k50AB: HD 4570 for just RM2K!, Light gaming on the cheap

TSNajmods
post Aug 9 2009, 01:38 AM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

Maybe it works with the latest driver and new Mobility Modder from driverheaven, but I rather live with fixed brightness (although you can set it to whatever you like, and the setting will take shape after you reboot) rather than have to sacrifice some memory on onboard graphics
TSNajmods
post Aug 9 2009, 02:03 AM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Aug 9 2009, 01:49 AM)
how do we set win 7 into vista compatibility? i dont get it..

i cant play vids etc.. and btw.. i heard Fn+F9 diables the touch pad.. but it doesnt work for me.. is there really such thing?
Right click > Properties, there is Compatibility tab inside the properties, after that its all self explanatory

There is BIOS setting that disable the touchpad
TSNajmods
post Aug 9 2009, 02:19 AM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Aug 9 2009, 02:17 AM)
right click where?? sorry i dont get it at all..
LOL, right click at the file you want to run the compatibility obviously
TSNajmods
post Aug 9 2009, 02:33 AM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Aug 9 2009, 02:21 AM)
thanks bro!! running the driver cd now.. hopefully no problem..

Added on August 9, 2009, 2:23 amfor my previous problem.. not being able to run games at all.. could it be due to the stock driver not fully installed?? i just installed the DNA driver..

Added on August 9, 2009, 2:27 amthe driver installation is running.. but.. its weird.. the USB filter is installing non-stop.. the installation dont seem to proceed..
I just install all that I need, I don't install that USB filter thing.

Remove the driver entirely, and run Guru3D Driver Sweeper in safe mode to clean all remaining driver traces
TSNajmods
post Aug 9 2009, 02:44 AM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Aug 9 2009, 02:37 AM)
i have no idea what are all those actually.. so i just installed everything..

the installation seems to be frozen.. i have to close and restart the installation again.. but the previous driver was installed successfully.. so weird..

sorry noob question.. Guru3D driver is a software? cleaning all driver and reinstall?
Oh dear....having 620 posts I thought you have at least some knowledge on computer. The Driver Sweeper is a software (duh) to remove all the remaining traces of prevous driver uninstallation, because there are still some remains in the system, either foler or in registry that may cause problem when install new driver. The sequence is; install driver sweeper, remove graphics (or whatever you want) driver, run in safe mode and clean all the traces of old driver, reboot and install new driver

Read around, Google can lead to a big help and A LOT faster to use than forum, like the compatibility question you asked earlier.
TSNajmods
post Aug 9 2009, 03:10 AM

5,211 posts

The driver that came with the CD have problems with videos and pictures. You can use the DNA or you can download latest Catalyst driver and mod it with Mobility Modder to support the card. Link on the first page
TSNajmods
post Aug 9 2009, 09:58 AM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Aug 9 2009, 03:16 AM)
im having the problem even im using the DNA driver too..

i've tried the catalyst driver without the Mobility Mod.

so if i wanna try the new driver, would it be better to uninstall the current driver first? or just update straight away?
If you don't mod the Catalyst driver it won't install anything at all because its not supported

Uninstall previous driver, restart and install new one
TSNajmods
post Aug 9 2009, 01:52 PM

5,211 posts

Yes DirectX9 have several new ones, it seems like its being updated everytime new games comes out.
TSNajmods
post Aug 9 2009, 11:46 PM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(venom_000 @ Aug 9 2009, 11:30 PM)
errr guys.. my lappy seems to have continuous beeping sound when idle, is there any of you experience the same thing??
What beep? I guessed its just a faint electronic noise or maybe mechanical drive, if that so its normal

I wonder why people are worried with these faint noises, its normal for these thing have noises since it have spinning disks 9harddrive) and other things that makes noises inside, same as PC, no matter how quiet it was there will be a faint noise comes out of the motherboard
TSNajmods
post Aug 10 2009, 11:15 PM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(mihonkenji @ Aug 10 2009, 10:42 PM)
It's normal, 8600M GS is a CLASS 3 GPU whereas HD 4570 is a CLASS 2 GPU.

Pls refer to http://www.notebookcheck.net/Comparison-of...ards.130.0.html
I know that site long before I bought this lappy, if you just to refer to that site it may say so, but on specification itself, this GPU memory is underclocked from 800MHz to 500MHz so it was basically a lot lower bandwidth from 8600M GS
TSNajmods
post Aug 12 2009, 05:56 PM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(karkadeeh @ Aug 12 2009, 05:38 PM)
maybe this can be put on front page. guide to install windows xp

http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?board_...SLanguage=en-us

Thank you for that! I put it on the first page for easier reference smile.gif

I've played some games and tweak around with the detail, it seems that shadows setting are one setting that will bring HD 4570 (or any low end cards) to their knees, For instance, I can barely play CoD2 at 1366x768 at high when enabling shadows, while I can maxed out the detail AND with 2xAA when shadow is disabled! Same storyt for Crysis, but it looks flat unlike CoD where they have pre-rendered shadows

QUOTE(vincent7474 @ Aug 12 2009, 05:55 PM)
dis laptop very ez to get dirty..everyday have to clean up my fingerprint -.- btw .. when i using ac mode , my screen become brighter .. when battery mode become darker .. why so weird one

LOL, you never use laptop before? To reduce power consumption of course, its common sense I thought everyone aware of it

This post has been edited by Najmods: Aug 12 2009, 05:57 PM
TSNajmods
post Aug 12 2009, 06:05 PM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(vincent7474 @ Aug 12 2009, 06:00 PM)
i know is for reduce the power usage .. but which driver do this fuction ?
Its Windows Power Options, if you use Windows 7/Vista that is
TSNajmods
post Aug 13 2009, 09:58 PM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(samliang @ Aug 13 2009, 09:52 PM)
so basically, the laptop will be using up 4gb ram? or just 3.25gb instead of 4gb for 32bit ?
Even if you have 4TB RAM it still limited to 4GB TOTAL RAM period, no matter what system you use, the reason why there is variable 3~GB is because the other components in your PC that have their own memory like gfx card
TSNajmods
post Aug 14 2009, 04:21 AM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(Phantom_KiD @ Aug 14 2009, 01:58 AM)
win7 still got issues with softwares compability... such as antivirus... utilities,n system softwares.... for a while.. juz use vista i think... wait till seven is COMPLETED.. hmm.gif
Have you ever used them before saying so? I've use 7 on ALL the PC I can manage, even my cousin's. Everything works well everywhere I install them, and this is not the leaked RTM bollocks either, just plain RC 7100, everything works like clockwork
TSNajmods
post Aug 14 2009, 04:52 AM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Aug 14 2009, 04:48 AM)
Najmods
little bit help here
i have installed the driver both in PowerExpress mode and dGPU mode
but cause me the same result
u installed in which mode?
I uninstalled in PowerXpress mode (the mode that you have the driver installed before), and then I use Guru3D driver sweeper in safe mode after rebooting to clean all remaining ATi/AMD driver, on the next reboot I go to BIOS and set to dGPU and after that you should be able to use HD 4570
TSNajmods
post Aug 14 2009, 12:28 PM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(Phantom_KiD @ Aug 14 2009, 11:41 AM)
yup...i have tried 3 of them... 6900,7000,n 7100.... i am a symantec antivirus user... try installing symantec to seven, but failed.. if can pun, some component cant compatible or works in seven,im also have changed the compability mode,but oso cant install it...hmmm.. im not juz saying w/o trying...n some softwares manufacture oso claim will wait...n some hardware oso have to wait for official driver to be released....
That only two software you tried, I use Avira and Ad-Aware without problem, and countless other software that works in 7 even with XP driver like Logitech mouse driver
TSNajmods
post Aug 21 2009, 03:00 AM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(ocp1988 @ Aug 21 2009, 01:03 AM)
my k50ab cant return from sleep mode o...even after reinstall ati driver..
using dna driver instead help?
Using Windows 7? Mine also won't woke up after put to sleep, so does few others. This is a known issue with this lappy I think

QUOTE(karkadeeh @ Aug 21 2009, 02:22 AM)
thanks, if i want to reset back to normal, i just close it right?
but. when i press ok, it just closed(idk if its still running or not)
Even if you closed it, the voltage is still applied until you restart. If you forgot about the stock value, there is several profile with stock values, just load other than what you use (usually Profile1)
TSNajmods
post Aug 21 2009, 03:08 PM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(ocp1988 @ Aug 21 2009, 01:31 PM)
Mine using vista ultimate oo..so it is unrelevent to the graphic driver?

Added on August 21, 2009, 1:40 pmDo I need to update my k50ab BIOS?how to do that?
I don't think its related to graphics driver or any sort.

If you don't have problems I suggest you don't update the BIOS. Its noot hard, download the latest BIOS, put it to your thumbdrive and go to BIOS and start EasyFlash
TSNajmods
post Aug 31 2009, 02:55 AM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ Aug 31 2009, 01:57 AM)
okey i fixed the no offect on brightness when using the fn keys,actually its because before this im using dGPU seting.

I changed back to Xpress ATI mode then can use the shortcut key back,weird eh???
Yes its a known issue when dGPU is enabled. Maybe someone should shoot ASUS an email regarding this problem, I'm too lazy to write one
TSNajmods
post Aug 31 2009, 10:29 AM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Aug 31 2009, 08:18 AM)
u ve access into the Asus forum...
...and its easier to send email regarding problem of your components

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0457sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled