Samsung Jet

TStechmostwanted
post Nov 2 2009, 03:36 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ Nov 2 2009, 02:11 PM)
nonono, the XEII2 firmware is for s8000 since it's a europe firmware...

s8000 = europe
s8003 = asia

they're both the same hardware, so u can use the XEII2 for S8000 on your asian s8003 wink.gif
know i can flash to XEII2, but thats the europe version and lacks chinese support. im looking for S8003 II2 firmware which some forumners state that it was better than IG2 which i currently have now.

This post has been edited by techmostwanted: Nov 2 2009, 03:37 PM
ryuzaki_L
post Nov 2 2009, 04:09 PM

800 posts

QUOTE(techmostwanted @ Nov 2 2009, 03:36 PM)
know i can flash to XEII2, but thats the europe version and lacks chinese support. im looking for S8003 II2 firmware which some forumners state that it was better than IG2 which i currently have now.
i am not sure whether dxii2 is better than dxig2,but it definitely better than dxif7. dxif7 can't use the etiquette pause and speaker call,and dun have easy java.other than that i dun see difference between dxif7 and dxii2.
TStechmostwanted
post Nov 2 2009, 04:11 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(ryuzaki_L @ Nov 2 2009, 04:09 PM)
i am not sure whether dxii2 is better than dxig2,but it definitely better than dxif7. dxif7 can't use the etiquette pause and speaker call,and dun have easy java.other than that i dun see difference between dxif7 and dxii2.

do you have dxii2 firmware? care to upload and post the link here? many thnxxxx.. notworthy.gif
ryuzaki_L
post Nov 2 2009, 05:22 PM

800 posts

QUOTE(techmostwanted @ Nov 2 2009, 04:11 PM)
do you have dxii2 firmware? care to upload and post the link here? many thnxxxx..  notworthy.gif
i am using dxii2 firmware but i got it from samsung service centre in kl...so i can't give u any link for dxii2.sorry
littlediana
post Nov 2 2009, 06:48 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 1 2009, 05:53 PM)
Menu > Settings > Phone Settings > PC Connections
=) thanks alot ... no wonder mass storage does not work ... sweat.gif blush.gif
littlediana
post Nov 2 2009, 06:49 PM

498 posts

one more question

how to check firmware?
cybpsych
post Nov 2 2009, 07:48 PM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(littlediana @ Nov 2 2009, 06:49 PM)
one more question

how to check firmware?

*#1234#
dahool00
post Nov 3 2009, 05:21 PM

162 posts

will it void warranty after f/w updgrade and is it straight fwd to do it?

redblaque
post Nov 3 2009, 06:07 PM

57 posts

it will void warranty if u flash to europe version bcos then it'll be S8000, not S8003. if Asian version, i think u still can hide it.

it is straightforward, just don't panic when things get funny. just follow the guide no matter what.. all will be okay. goodluck!

TStechmostwanted
post Nov 3 2009, 11:13 PM

515 posts

wanna ask, i got over 1000 songs in my Jet. I wanted to create playlist so that i can browse the songs easier. Is there anyway that i can create the playlist from my PC and transfer to my Jet?
dahool00
post Nov 4 2009, 08:19 AM

162 posts

1. anyone knows what are the numbers to press to go inside technical mode - ie. to test h/w functionalities?

2. how much is a jet now? some says as low as RM1500 smile.gif

3. how's the camera? i bought nokia 5800 - camera was crap! also bought samsung omnia - camera was crap too. sold both phone and got SE C905 - perfect

but now looking at jet smile.gif

Added on November 4, 2009, 8:44 amsorry more Qs and maybe have been answered.

if i go buy a phone now, I should key in *1234# to check f/w version.

1. what to see it's for Asia and not an AP phone - from Russia or Ukraine:)
2. is there an official samsung website to d/load new f/w instead of darkforest
3. what is the latest f/w no. for asia

thks

This post has been edited by dahool00: Nov 4 2009, 08:44 AM
TStechmostwanted
post Nov 4 2009, 11:59 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(dahool00 @ Nov 4 2009, 08:19 AM)
1. anyone knows what are the numbers to press to go inside technical mode - ie. to test h/w functionalities?

3. how's the camera? i bought nokia 5800 - camera was crap! also bought samsung omnia - camera was crap too. sold both phone and got SE C905 - perfect

but now looking at jet smile.gif

Added on November 4, 2009, 8:44 amsorry more Qs and maybe have been answered.

if i go buy a phone now, I should key in *1234# to check f/w version.

thks
i bought brightstar unit lower than rm1450 biggrin.gif . very hard to find the back cover with red stripes, all new batch comes with all black cover(without red stripes). i lucky to find one with red stripes biggrin.gif.

im not sure about 5800 camera, but overall 5800 sux as it's ugly; physically and the UI as well. but for Jet, the camera quality is at least better than average from my opinion.

darkforest got one topic which teaches u how to read firmware codes for Jet, but the easiest to identify a russia/ukraine vs asia phone is by its firmware. all S8003 are asia firmware.

* there is one shop in SG wang selling re-con/2nd hand unit but claimed it was new and original. the shop is at first floor, beware.

This post has been edited by techmostwanted: Nov 4 2009, 12:01 PM
devil1503
post Nov 4 2009, 01:41 PM

hi guys, i'm a new user for samsung jet, can i know where to download free games for my new moblie???

thanks in advance.
ryuzaki_L
post Nov 4 2009, 02:52 PM

800 posts

QUOTE(techmostwanted @ Nov 4 2009, 11:59 AM)
i bought brightstar unit lower than rm1450  biggrin.gif . very hard to find the back cover with red stripes, all new batch comes with all black cover(without red stripes). i lucky to find one with red stripes biggrin.gif.

im not sure about 5800 camera, but overall 5800 sux as it's ugly; physically and the UI as well. but for Jet, the camera quality is at least better than average from my opinion.

darkforest got one topic which teaches u how to read firmware codes for Jet, but the easiest to identify a russia/ukraine vs asia phone is by its firmware. all S8003 are asia firmware.

* there is one shop in SG wang selling re-con/2nd hand unit but claimed it was new and original. the shop is at first floor, beware.
wow the price drops that much....where did u buy it?

QUOTE(devil1503 @ Nov 4 2009, 01:41 PM)
hi guys, i'm a new user for samsung jet, can i know where to download free games for my new moblie???

thanks in advance.
there is a thread in dark forest group forum has games...u can have a look .the thread names is "Post Your Resized And Modded Jet Games And Apps."

redblaque
post Nov 4 2009, 05:51 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(dahool00 @ Nov 4 2009, 08:19 AM)

--

thks
1. jet is now around rm1400-rm1600, depends on the shop, freebies. i think the price didn't go down that fast.
2. the pics look nice on the AMOLED screen, but when viewed on a computer the picture gets a B+. (for me lah)
3. i don't think there's an AP? but just make sure the fw is S8003 for Asian.
4. the NPS has an updater, but it doesn't update ur phone to the latest fw. (not with mine) u either have to go to the service center or update the fw ur own.. but flashing the fw is really easy! just be careful..
5. the latest for asia is DXII2, but have not been shared on the net yet.

QUOTE(techmostwanted @ Nov 4 2009, 11:59 AM)
i bought brightstar unit lower than rm1450  biggrin.gif . very hard to find the back cover with red stripes, all new batch comes with all black cover(without red stripes). i lucky to find one with red stripes biggrin.gif.

nowadays no more stripes? wahhh i'm oso lucky to have the stripes then.. it's really classy~
The best thing about samsung jet is it's really slim and it gets a lot of attention.. laugh.gif

TStechmostwanted
post Nov 4 2009, 05:56 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(redblaque @ Nov 4 2009, 05:51 PM)
1. jet is now around rm1400-rm1600, depends on the shop, freebies. i think the price didn't go down that fast.
2. the pics look nice on the AMOLED screen, but when viewed on a computer the picture gets a B+. (for me lah)
3. i don't think there's an AP? but just make sure the fw is S8003 for Asian.
4. the NPS has an updater, but it doesn't update ur phone to the latest fw. (not with mine) u either have to go to the service center or update the fw ur own.. but flashing the fw is really easy! just be careful..
5. the latest for asia is DXII2, but have not been shared on the net yet.
nowadays no more stripes? wahhh i'm oso lucky to have the stripes then.. it's really classy~
The best thing about samsung jet is it's really slim and it gets a lot of attention..  laugh.gif
according to my survey, here are some of the shop owners told me:

-only FMG unit got stripes, all brightstar dont have
-units coming in since last week of October doesnt have stripes anymore.

*FMG one are pricier.
zheilwane
post Nov 4 2009, 10:05 PM

4,184 posts

where can i get dictionary?
halimismail
post Nov 4 2009, 10:19 PM

26 posts

To proper test the Jet functionality, simple press *#0*#. sensors, vga cam, 5MP cam, touch sensitivity, etc available for testing. you can even lite on the mega flash of the camera. i used it frequently as a torchlight.

Regarding the DXII2 asian firmware, it is rumoured to be as same as DXIG2, not close to the extremely new XEII2. but, again we'll lose Asian language support, and time zone +8 will be located to somewhere Russia, not usual Beijing/Kuala Lumpur/Singapore.

Dictionary, u can simply find on getjar.com as it do support java application on Jet.

Update firmware via NPS is highly not recommended as NPS is not yet stable an under Beta test. If u eager for firms, just flash and make sure to follow the instructions in DarkForest forum.

additional info, darkforest is built by those who are working with Samsung Mobile and all info provides by them i.e. forum moderator as well as senior forumers are correct.

For my Jet, flashing chronologies:
S8003DXIF8 (original) > S8000XEIG1 > S8003DXIG2 > S8000XEIG2 > S8000XEII2.
i got early on July and quite pricey. but i manage to get 16GB SDCard, and some many freebies.
I even surf online to buy flipcase for my Jet at RM15 only. i tried to find the flipcase everywhere, but can't find. last option ebay..

TStechmostwanted
post Nov 5 2009, 11:59 AM

515 posts

i find that jet's touch screen is not as sensitive compared to others phone at the same price range. i mean compared to others resistive touch(not capacitive) like htc touch2. htc touch2 has better responsiveness in the touch screen.
ryuzaki_L
post Nov 5 2009, 12:56 PM

800 posts

QUOTE(techmostwanted @ Nov 5 2009, 11:59 AM)
i find that jet's touch screen is not as sensitive compared to others phone at the same price range. i mean compared to others resistive touch(not capacitive) like htc touch2. htc touch2 has better responsiveness in the touch screen.
not sure abt htc touch2 but i feel jet's touch screen is better than nokia 5800 and htc diamond.

44 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:28 AM