Samsung Jet

redblaque
post Sep 25 2009, 06:42 PM

57 posts

interesting comments and reviews.. am considering the JET too, but one thing to ask..

how is the battery life? i'm curious~ my first 3G phone is really bad at battery life :\

usually i make on average 6-7 calls in a day and SMS quite a lot and ocassionaly use the web when i'm away from my comp. i don't play music from my hp..
redblaque
post Sep 27 2009, 01:06 PM

57 posts

so any of you have other problems with the Jet? the screen and the cover is made of plastic izzit.. u think it's durable or not? at least for 4-5 drops in a span of a year or two.. hehe

i think the Jet is suitable for those who want a simple phone but with good spec.. it's more than enuff for the avg user. nice nice ^^,

redblaque
post Sep 27 2009, 08:47 PM

57 posts

yayy got my Samsung Jet rclxms.gif
bought it at RM1660 (wisma saberkas kch) with 1.5gb int memory + 4gb ext memory. FMG warranty..
the original firmware is S8003DXIG2.. asian firmware, Maxis branded..

still exploring the phone.. will try to flash it later~

overall so far, it's a good phone.. may not be as 'cool' as capacitive touchscreens, but the phone is pretty fast and it's great in terms of functions~ worth it. icon_rolleyes.gif

thank u all for the helpful infos u posted here..
redblaque
post Sep 28 2009, 05:37 PM

57 posts

[WTA]
if i get the Jet flashed at the service center, they flash it with asian firmware or can we choose? sorry, never had any samsungs before.. sweat.gif

redblaque
post Sep 29 2009, 04:34 PM

57 posts

zephyr, that price is acceptable enough. maybe you can try to nego with seller a bit.. thumbup.gif

current price range of samsung jet rm1500-1888(ori RRP)

redblaque
post Sep 29 2009, 05:02 PM

57 posts

the authorised distributor of Samsung is FMG and Brighstar.. and all are original, no AP. i asked so many sellers already.. they say the same thing so i believe them now. heheh

unless u see the brand on the phone say SUMSANG or SAMSENG then confirm la not ori.. keke

when i bought the phone i asked so many questions, but the seller usually don't know much abt the technical things, just the basic2 stuff only. they say if more technical better ask ppl at samsung service center lorr.. cehh

mind telling the rm1600 package includes?

i bought mine at rm1660 with a 2gb int memory & 4gb ext memory (east M'sia).. most seller won't let me go further than that.. i tried to bargained with an 8gb mem card! boo~

redblaque
post Oct 3 2009, 01:13 AM

57 posts

yea.. a turn off! sweat.gif but i see that coming. i knew phones that aren't on Symbian or WM won't have much apps.. but for average person who's used to SE/LG/simple Nokia phones will appreciate the beauty of the device.. it is a fast touchscreen phone, beats the speed of Omnia for some reason. had it for over a week now- never lags on me, never had major glitch. for an average user, this phone is the best BASIC touchscreen phone with SPECS similar to a smartphone ie. 3G, 5MP camera, Wifi, bluetooth. basic stuff, but a bit pricey for now..

pls dont expect much on Samsung Jet~ it's not a smartphone afterall.. sweat.gif

i predict the price of the Jet will go slightly cheaper at a faster rate compared to the other Samsungs run on Symbian/WM. but the tech specs are still considered as upper mid-range, so maybe the price won't go below rm1000 for at least til Q1 2010. just my opinion..

So if anybody is getting one, you can hold a bit for the price to drop, but i can assure you won't regret getting one. if you can afford it now, just get it if you need a new phone. don't expect you can install apps like you can on a Symbian/WM phone~ if u're too lazy to explore the world of Symbian/WM phones, the Jet is the one for u.. hehehe. i'm thinking that the Jet is most suitable for the ladies bcos of its slim figure and fits perfectly in my hands when i'm using it.. biggrin.gif

again, since you can run JAVA apps on the Jet, you can technically install anything JAVA-based on it. there are many JAVA apps out there~

redblaque
post Oct 4 2009, 08:08 PM

57 posts

i've tested the Jet, so far i only experience 1-2 buttons that are really stubborn.. i've to pin point with a stylus for it to respond. i think this can be fixed with a software upgrade. otherwise, 'touching' the Jet is no problem at all.

internet slow is not the phone's fault, rather something to do with the service provider. i have tested the Jet with my wi-fi at home, pages load quite fast. youtube loads okay, but takes a while for the video to play.

sometimes while browsing u got to zoom in (press anywhere for 1-2 secs > scroll up) so that u can really 'click' on the links (by touching with ur finger). if u don't zoom in, sometimes there's no respond.. maybe because the finger is too big, so the phone thought u're clicking elsewhere.. heheh. the 'touch' interface of the Jet relies on the pressure of your finger rather than heat. if the Jet is the only means for u to browse the web, it is better to use a stylus..

This post has been edited by redblaque: Oct 4 2009, 08:12 PM
redblaque
post Oct 25 2009, 06:18 PM

57 posts

@MrBratz: when you receive a msg/miss call, the alert/event widget will appear. it has options View and Exit. To View, just do a double-tap (like you do double click on a mouse).. first tap is like selecting the widget, second tap is like giving out the command to open the message.

pls dont ask me why it is that way.. cuz i dont know.. lol

@ryuzaki_L : the round button works for me. when a call comes, try pressing the button for 1-2 secs..

redblaque
post Oct 25 2009, 08:23 PM

57 posts

sorry, yes pressing 1-2 seconds (or longer) cancels the call.. but still, my handsfree works when i press the round button. at first i pressed lightly it didnt work too.. try putting a little more pressure, but don't press too long until u accidentally cancel the call.. try it try it ^^

my firmware is XEII2.. flashed from the original DXIG2.
redblaque
post Oct 27 2009, 06:25 PM

57 posts

Samsung firmwares can be found at the Darkforest forum. there's also a guide on how-to. http://darkforestgroup.com/forum/index.php

XEII2 is not an official release for Asia.. it is for EU. Phone is noticeably better and it's smoother to use Navigation softwares. but there is no Asian language support. i cant read Chinese, so i'm ok with it wink.gif

be careful at flashing your phone..

@ajay67 : the battery life is just slightly better.. not much change tho. mine lasts about 3 days till from full bars to full discharge, with 4-5 calls a day (duration ~10 mins per call), SMS 30-40 msgs a day, 3G occasionally and WiFi for 1-2 hrs, take picture 10-15 pics.

This post has been edited by redblaque: Oct 27 2009, 06:35 PM
redblaque
post Oct 27 2009, 07:55 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(techmostwanted @ Oct 27 2009, 07:08 PM)
what the.... sleep.gif , and ppl still complaining of Jet's battery life could be better. This kind of battery life is more than average. and it's very good from my opinion.
it depends on the settings u put on the phone also.. i set the phone sounds to 0.. only calls & text have audible alerts. and my txt ringtone is at vol 5, call at vol 2 cuz i dont want to wake up everyone in the office. and dont forget brightness settings. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kelvin1989 @ Oct 27 2009, 07:22 PM)
ya, darkforest, i visited the page before, and the xeII provided there was incompatible with s8003 i think, it was only compatible with s8000
no.. you got it wrong. on Asian firmwares i.e. DXIG2, it is S8003. if you flash the phone with XEII2, it will become S8000. it's basically the same.. just different on the Europe/Asian version. flashing a phone is like formatting your comp, but still the same operating system.

I purchased a S8003, but now I have S8000. as long as the firmware is for Jet, then it will definitely be compatible.. rclxms.gif
redblaque
post Oct 27 2009, 08:29 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(EdwinTan @ Oct 27 2009, 08:12 PM)
Hi all, I'm new to this samsung jet. I want to ask why I cannot play the youtube with this phone? Is it something to do with the firmware? My firmware is DXIF8.
if you play video from youtube, it will use its own video player to play the vid and buffers it from there. (won't play like embedded vids u see in ur computer tenet browser).

in my previous firmware (DXIG2, newer than DXIF8) i do not have that difficulty tho it was slow opening the video but still playable. on XEII2, things have improved. but sadly, youtube videos still don't look really good to me.. maybe bcuz youtube automatically detects the phone internet browser (called Dolfin Browser) and switches to m.youtube.com.. so the vids come out as LQ. but that is understandable..
redblaque
post Nov 3 2009, 06:07 PM

57 posts

it will void warranty if u flash to europe version bcos then it'll be S8000, not S8003. if Asian version, i think u still can hide it.

it is straightforward, just don't panic when things get funny. just follow the guide no matter what.. all will be okay. goodluck!

redblaque
post Nov 4 2009, 05:51 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(dahool00 @ Nov 4 2009, 08:19 AM)
1. anyone knows what are the numbers to press to go inside technical mode - ie. to test h/w functionalities?

2. how much is a jet now? some says as low as RM1500 smile.gif

3. how's the camera? i bought nokia 5800 - camera was crap! also bought samsung omnia - camera was crap too. sold both phone and got SE C905 - perfect

--
1. what to see it's for Asia and not an AP phone - from Russia or Ukraine:)
2. is there an official samsung website to d/load new f/w instead of darkforest
3. what is the latest f/w no. for asia

thks
1. jet is now around rm1400-rm1600, depends on the shop, freebies. i think the price didn't go down that fast.
2. the pics look nice on the AMOLED screen, but when viewed on a computer the picture gets a B+. (for me lah)
3. i don't think there's an AP? but just make sure the fw is S8003 for Asian.
4. the NPS has an updater, but it doesn't update ur phone to the latest fw. (not with mine) u either have to go to the service center or update the fw ur own.. but flashing the fw is really easy! just be careful..
5. the latest for asia is DXII2, but have not been shared on the net yet.

QUOTE(techmostwanted @ Nov 4 2009, 11:59 AM)
i bought brightstar unit lower than rm1450  biggrin.gif . very hard to find the back cover with red stripes, all new batch comes with all black cover(without red stripes). i lucky to find one with red stripes biggrin.gif.

nowadays no more stripes? wahhh i'm oso lucky to have the stripes then.. it's really classy~
The best thing about samsung jet is it's really slim and it gets a lot of attention.. laugh.gif

redblaque
post Nov 5 2009, 10:41 PM

57 posts

some Korean artists are spotted using Samsung Jet! Lee Hyori, Yuri of SNSD, UEE of Afterschool and actor GeunSuk of the drama You're Beautiful. here's some vids as proof.. nod.gif

UEE Afterschool using Samsung Jet (look at around 5:40)

GeunSuk calling Tiffany (SNSD) using Samsung Jet

Yuri (SNSD) taking pics of the baby in Hello Baby with Samsung Jet at 4:32

in Korea they have white, pink and black for Samsung Jet with a slightly bigger screen. the speaker at the back are aligned with the camera, not centered. in Korea, Samsung mobiles are called Anycall. i was so excited to spot the phone when i saw the vids.. hehe. biggrin.gif

redblaque
post Nov 6 2009, 05:59 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(littlediana @ Nov 6 2009, 12:06 AM)
my phone firmware S8003DXIG2  is it new enuf?
DXIG2 is Asian firmware. now Asian firmwares have upgraded to DXII2. If you want to experience your phone like it's really something new, try flashing to XEII2.. but XEII2 is for European market, it has no support for Chinese!

QUOTE(EdwinTan @ Nov 6 2009, 12:38 AM)
How to install jar file to jet? I try to download application via m.getjar but it always complaint the memory is full. I view the shared memory it still got 487,984K available.  rclxub.gif  Some application complaining invalid certificate:S I tried to download the jar file in desktop but donno how to install it to the phone. Any idea? How u guys do it?
uprading your firmware may solve your problem bcos mine previously had the same problem (on DXIG2).
redblaque
post Nov 7 2009, 11:10 AM

57 posts

i second the two comments above.. and Windows Mobile is vulnerable to viruses so u need to be careful or install an antivirus on your phone. AV programs can slow down anything.. tongue.gif Usually propriety OS are usually not easily infected by viruses..

if u want simple, go for Jet. if u want lots of stuff u don't even know whether u'll be using it or not, go for Omnia 2. Omnia 2 is also a good phone IMO.. i just can't afford it biggrin.gif

redblaque
post Nov 9 2009, 09:58 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(techmostwanted @ Nov 8 2009, 08:46 PM)
one thing i found out about Jet is that it has no more than 32mb of ram. possibly even less (16mb or 8mb).

why?

Jet cant open more than 3 heavy applications. LBS, java game, and music player was not possible.

Jet lag when browsing photos, media and videos.

heavy transition effect causes severe lag, thats why Samsung removes it. i mean, the different kind of transition effect which only found on ancient jet firmware.

same thing happens to LG arena which has 8mb of ram.
i don't have any lagging after i flashed to XEII2 and heavy applications are okay.. BUT sometimes when i try to preview pics from the camera screen, it says memory full. hmm hmm.gif

QUOTE(ryuzaki_L @ Nov 8 2009, 09:38 PM)
hi..may i know what version of NPS are you using?i can't seem to get my s8003 detected by NPC.
are u sure you set the phone right? try settings>phone settings>PC connections

QUOTE(wakakaka @ Nov 9 2009, 05:20 PM)
jet can use as modem for laptop?
yes.. but i haven't tried. as far as i know, u can use the phone as a modem thru the options in the software (NPS).

redblaque
post Nov 9 2009, 10:05 PM

57 posts

of course Samsung Jet is still available.. it is relatively new in Malaysia.

Jet is run on Samsung's proprietary OS called Touchwiz 2.0. it is exclusive to Samsung phones.

another difference is that Jet has a fast processor, which makes the touchscreen impressively responsive. typing an SMS is like typing on a normal keypad.. for me!

other than that, i do not know the difference between Omnia apart from the screen size, OS, speed. i have not played nor have bothered to read into details about Omnia.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by redblaque: Nov 9 2009, 10:07 PM

0.0293sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:22 AM