Aug 16 2009, 03:24 PM
33 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KL |
How do you think about this phone compare to LG ARENA?
Aug 16 2009, 04:40 PM
515 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Aug 16 2009, 08:27 PM
800 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
i have been following forums of lg arena and jet,and i guess u guys have seen and heard all their highlights. so i will try to summarise their flaws that i remember form these 2 phones.
1.WALLPAPER LG arena does not able to change the home screen wallpaper although it has a high reso screen(such a waste) 2.MUSIC PLAYER LG arena does not remember the last track play...i.e. it will start from the 1st track when u quit music player. LG arena load music files slow when u have load of music file Samsung jet cannot search music file 3.BROWSER LG arena pinching zooming is very slow compare to jet's one fingered zoom LG browser's rendering speed is very slow certain firmware in LG arena cannot watch youtube video via wifi 4.SMS Jet don't have sms threading(forumers said that LG has it,but never seen any video showing it) 5.VIDEO PLAYER LG arena only can play 720X480 in mp4 and 3gp where as jet can support most of the video format. other than stated above,so far both of them don't have gps navigation that does not need internet connection and both photo browsing is slow. The price of LG is cheaper and has built in 8gb whereas jet is about rm100 more expensive and with only 2gb. hope it helps... PS:i never owned both of this phone,points above are summary of other forums and this forums that i remember. |
Aug 16 2009, 08:36 PM
1,604 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Seremban |
I believe most of the Jet's flaws are fixable on the software side.
The OS could be optimised further to lessen the sluggishness of the UI. Also the usability of the GPS feature. From what I see, the Jet has all the hardware but needs the software side to mature more to bring out its potential. This post has been edited by faidz85: Aug 16 2009, 08:38 PM |
Aug 16 2009, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(faidz85 @ Aug 16 2009, 08:36 PM) I believe most of the Jet's flaws are fixable on the software side. haha...hopefully samsung gonna release a newer firmware for s8003 although s8000 firmware is already available to update.The OS could be optimised further to lessen the sluggishness of the UI. Also the usability of the GPS feature. From what I see, the Jet has all the hardware but needs the software side to mature more to bring out its potential. |
Aug 16 2009, 09:35 PM
Hope so too. Currently, only their software downs are preventing me from getting it.
Aug 16 2009, 09:42 PM
990 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
just get a jet today. but very sad finding on the web, no application for it.,, is this so call iphone killer ?
so sad it is not window mobile... very sad. bough it at RM 1599 with 2GB card, bough it at klang parade. Added on August 16, 2009, 9:45 pmbut i think, 800mhz and 512mb ram and 1.5gb uses space is good tobe RM 1599 but no application update.. nothing to do...so boring.. no challenging at all. and who say no lag, when loading a lot graphic on the web page, u try touch moving the page, then that is lag lag lag.. This post has been edited by maxtor1: Aug 16 2009, 09:45 PM |
Aug 16 2009, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(maxtor1 @ Aug 16 2009, 09:42 PM) just get a jet today. but very sad finding on the web, no application for it.,, is this so call iphone killer ? yea rm1599 is a good price dude...whether it is an iphone killer,depends on which aspect u are looking at.. so sad it is not window mobile... very sad. bough it at RM 1599 with 2GB card, bough it at klang parade. Added on August 16, 2009, 9:45 pmbut i think, 800mhz and 512mb ram and 1.5gb uses space is good tobe RM 1599 but no application update.. nothing to do...so boring.. no challenging at all. and who say no lag, when loading a lot graphic on the web page, u try touch moving the page, then that is lag lag lag.. btw..they have their own app store which i assume u already have searched and some source said that they will have app for win mo,symbian and java(which i assume java means its own OS). http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_appstore_w...y-news-1045.php This post has been edited by ryuzaki_L: Aug 16 2009, 10:35 PM |
Aug 16 2009, 10:36 PM
569 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(maxtor1 @ Aug 16 2009, 09:42 PM) just get a jet today. but very sad finding on the web, no application for it.,, is this so call iphone killer ? i didnt find any lag when surfing web EXCEPT when surfing Youtube..so sad it is not window mobile... very sad. bough it at RM 1599 with 2GB card, bough it at klang parade. Added on August 16, 2009, 9:45 pmbut i think, 800mhz and 512mb ram and 1.5gb uses space is good tobe RM 1599 but no application update.. nothing to do...so boring.. no challenging at all. and who say no lag, when loading a lot graphic on the web page, u try touch moving the page, then that is lag lag lag.. yup bro, no application, but java application that perfectly functioning with jet is SNAPTU and MORANGE.. EBUDDY is a bit slow.. |
Aug 17 2009, 12:00 AM
can jet open adobe file and MS words?can it copy images from website to memory card?
Aug 17 2009, 01:19 AM
QUOTE(maxtor1 @ Aug 16 2009, 09:42 PM) just get a jet today. but very sad finding on the web, no application for it.,, is this so call iphone killer ? RM1599? Are u buying AP or original? BTW, Jet doesnt have that massive RAM. We dont know the exact amount of ram, but it doesnt have 512MB for sure.so sad it is not window mobile... very sad. bough it at RM 1599 with 2GB card, bough it at klang parade. Added on August 16, 2009, 9:45 pmbut i think, 800mhz and 512mb ram and 1.5gb uses space is good tobe RM 1599 but no application update.. nothing to do...so boring.. no challenging at all. and who say no lag, when loading a lot graphic on the web page, u try touch moving the page, then that is lag lag lag.. Added on August 17, 2009, 1:34 am QUOTE(ryuzaki_L @ Aug 16 2009, 08:27 PM) other than stated above,so far both of them don't have gps navigation that does not need internet connection and both photo browsing is slow. The price of LG is cheaper and has built in 8gb whereas jet is about rm100 more expensive and with only 2gb. hope it helps... PS:i never owned both of this phone,points above are summary of other forums and this forums that i remember. This post has been edited by techmostwanted: Aug 17 2009, 01:34 AM |
Aug 17 2009, 08:34 AM
60 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 16 2009, 09:07 AM) i don't usually change mobile phones unless i have to. Hi,Jet *gave* me a reason to do so. When i thought of buying Jet, iPhone 3GS was just launched. I hate the plans, and the only way to get one is via the Hotlink plan @ RM2,490 per unit. i almost shelled out the money to get one, but held off. I've looked at Samsung Jet few days earlier. It's price was around RM1,700-1,800; still much lower than iPhone (and also difficult to get one with installment payment). Jet has the following *practical* advantange over iPhone:- 1) Size (dimension) is great. Palm-friendlier than iPhone whcih is too wide for my liking (and put in my jeans too). 2) AMOLED screen is top notch. iPhone looses this. Jet has this *wow* factor. 3) Thickness (thinness) is equivalent to iPhone's (rough estimate lah). 4) USB charging ports & Windows/PC data connection. Software wise, it's ok though. of course JEt doesn't have those crazy apps from iPhone, but Jet is still functional and usable. I uses more 3G Internet with Jet, therefore standalone apps are not my priority. Very simple explaination. Not to details and techical. Easy to understand for people like me (average person)..hehehe |
Aug 17 2009, 10:34 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
65,272 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
step 1: read reviews on the features
step 2: go and see/touch/smell/lick/pamper the actual funcitonal unit step 3: compare with alternatives (e.g. LG Arena) step 4: budget allocation / price comparison / payment mode (cash or cc or cc installment) step 5: after purchase, repeat & loop step 2 only. step 6: when u got bored / new phone is out / got money oredi, repeat from step 1 again This post has been edited by cybpsych: Aug 17 2009, 10:35 AM |
Aug 17 2009, 04:29 PM
A detailed, local Malaysian review of Samsung Jet.
Part 1: http://mytechnews.info/b/2009/08/review-sa...jet-part-1.html Part 2: http://mytechnews.info/b/2009/08/review-sa...jet-part-2.html Part 3: http://mytechnews.info/b/2009/08/review-sa...jet-part-3.html This post has been edited by cybpsych: Aug 18 2009, 04:24 PM |
Aug 17 2009, 05:15 PM
569 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
Good news for touchwiz users..
latest news regarding Samsung TouchWiz...samsung today open up the TouchWiz development site..yayy!!! link : http://innovator.samsungmobile.com/bbs/tec...messageId=39718 |
Aug 17 2009, 05:25 PM
finally!
let the widgets to flow!!!! |
Aug 17 2009, 05:57 PM
Cool!
Let's see some serious development going! I hope the OS will get some major improvements! |
Aug 17 2009, 06:53 PM
Aug 17 2009, 07:25 PM