44 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Samsung Jet

Assclown
post Aug 14 2009, 04:49 PM

649 posts

There are a few drawbacks on this phone and I'm starting to think of getting rid of it unless there's a possibility that Samsung will fix it.

Drawbacks:
1. No fully functional GPS
2. No SMS threading
3. Only able to store 500 sms only.
4. Unable to search for particular song in media player. (Have to scroll manually. If you have 1000+ songs and would like to go to a song starting with "Y", good luck.)

ryuzaki_L
post Aug 14 2009, 05:29 PM

800 posts

QUOTE(Assclown @ Aug 14 2009, 04:49 PM)
There are a few drawbacks on this phone and I'm starting to think of getting rid of it unless there's a possibility that Samsung will fix it.

Drawbacks:
2. No SMS threading
4. Unable to search for particular song in media player. (Have to scroll manually. If you have 1000+ songs and would like to go to a song starting with "Y", good luck.)
the music player don't have search function? sad.gif
Assclown
post Aug 14 2009, 05:56 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(ryuzaki_L @ Aug 14 2009, 05:29 PM)
the music player don't have search function? sad.gif
unfortunately no. You would at least expect a phone at that price to have a basic function such as search but no........
I don't know what Samsung is thinking, they should at least incorporate the search feature like the one used for searching
contacts into the music player. (searching for contacts can be done by the side bar - searching by Alphabets or even
search a particular contact by inputting the name in)
aawcy
post Aug 14 2009, 09:41 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(Assclown @ Aug 14 2009, 05:56 PM)
unfortunately no. You would at least expect a phone at that price to have a basic function such as search but no........
I don't know what Samsung is thinking, they should at least incorporate the search feature like the one used for searching
contacts into the music player. (searching for contacts can be done by the side bar - searching by Alphabets or even
search a particular contact by inputting the name in)
\

any MSN messenger ICON? or must we sign in from MSN web mobile?
Assclown
post Aug 14 2009, 10:10 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(aawcy @ Aug 14 2009, 09:41 PM)
\

any MSN messenger ICON? or must we sign in from MSN web mobile?
there's not a single messenger program. You would have to use a web-based messenger.
ryuzaki_L
post Aug 14 2009, 10:24 PM

800 posts

just wondering can this phone use micro sd class 6?
when using earphone,the sound quality is more bass or high treble?
can jet open MS office documents?

This post has been edited by ryuzaki_L: Aug 14 2009, 10:31 PM
Assclown
post Aug 14 2009, 10:33 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(ryuzaki_L @ Aug 14 2009, 10:24 PM)
just wondering can this phone use micro sd class 6?
when using earphone,the sound quality is more bass or high treble?
can jet open MS office documents?
not sure bout the micro sd class 6, but the sound quality is superb, just a nice mix of bass and treble.

You can also choose from different equalizer settings to get higher bass or treble.
faidz85
post Aug 14 2009, 11:23 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

I read somewhere in LYN about the possibility of Jet to be upgraded to WinMo.

Is it true? Or was it my imagination? @@

If its true, will there be any significant improvement to the UI and such? I tried both iPhone 3Gs and Jet today and found out that Jet isn't as smooth as the iPhone.

This post has been edited by faidz85: Aug 14 2009, 11:26 PM
Assclown
post Aug 14 2009, 11:49 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Aug 14 2009, 11:23 PM)
I read somewhere in LYN about the possibility of Jet to be upgraded to WinMo.

Is it true? Or was it my imagination? @@

If its true, will there be any significant improvement to the UI and such? I tried both iPhone 3Gs and Jet today and found out that Jet isn't as smooth as the iPhone.
haha, I don't think so man. It could probably be introduced in later models but no upgrade for now.
faidz85
post Aug 14 2009, 11:52 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

Cause theoretically it can run on WinMo since Omnia II also runs on WinMo right? I'm still too new in this. I might be wrong.

But I really believe someone said it can be upgraded to winmo ahaha.
Assclown
post Aug 15 2009, 12:07 AM

649 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Aug 14 2009, 11:52 PM)
Cause theoretically it can run on WinMo since Omnia II also runs on WinMo right? I'm still too new in this. I might be wrong.

But I really believe someone said it can be upgraded to winmo ahaha.
Yes theoretically it can but I don't think Samsung will go through much trouble to work on that. Because after all, they are trying to
sell their Omnia 2 as well. If Jet has WinMo, it would make it similar to Omnia2 in every aspect except for the slight size difference and
the screen view.
TStechmostwanted
post Aug 15 2009, 12:57 AM

515 posts

Drawbacks:
2. No SMS threading
hmm..hope samsung will fixed at least half of the problems here in new firmware. Im still considering between Jet and ARena where both have almost similiar functions at almost same price.
ssmuhd84
post Aug 15 2009, 02:18 AM

60 posts

Drawbacks:
2. No SMS threading
Can u please explain further on the point no.2 (No SMS threading)..

So if JET having drawback..should we said Nokia 5800 Express is better?
TStechmostwanted
post Aug 15 2009, 03:09 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(ssmuhd84 @ Aug 15 2009, 02:18 AM)

actually, each phones got its drawbacks, just a matter of the overall package only. like the Jet, it was overall very nice,just some minor drawbacks here n there.
cybpsych
post Aug 15 2009, 07:48 AM

---------------------
65,266 posts

agree with that! smile.gif

i bought Jet becoz of the gorgeous screen & look-n-feel biggrin.gif

my friends even thought i got iPhone! ahhaa

seriously, Jet's dimension is much more palm-friendlier than iPhone (quite wide to grab with ur fingers stretching across)
Assclown
post Aug 15 2009, 09:41 AM

649 posts

QUOTE(ssmuhd84 @ Aug 15 2009, 02:18 AM)

SMS threading is messenger-like chatting, means that the sms are categorized according to contact.
if you select a contact, you can see all the messages between you and the person as opposed to the
normal way of just being able to see incoming messages and sent messages in a separate screen.

I wouldn't say Nokia 5800 is better. Jet is better in these aspects:

1. Camera (Very clear pictures)
2. Music player (the music produced is just awesome when listening using earphones)
3. The screen. (The screen is just superb and clear)
4. Processing speed. (the Jet has a 800mhz processor and carries out tasks in a breeze. Not much lag)
cybpsych
post Aug 15 2009, 09:44 AM

---------------------
65,266 posts

and it's freaky thin too (compared to normal bar phones, even thinner than my Nokia 5320 XM)

sweet. i can't say anything less about it biggrin.gif worth every penny (ermm cents).
TStechmostwanted
post Aug 15 2009, 02:07 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 15 2009, 09:44 AM)
and it's freaky thin too (compared to normal bar phones, even thinner than my Nokia 5320 XM)

sweet. i can't say anything less about it biggrin.gif worth every penny (ermm cents).
But I still look forward for Samsung engineers to improve the firmware, if everything goes well, expect me to join this Jet club end of this year biggrin.gif. There is a discussion and feature request in facebook , have a look and join to contribute.

http://www.facebook.com/SamsungJet

This post has been edited by techmostwanted: Aug 15 2009, 02:09 PM
ssmuhd84
post Aug 16 2009, 01:38 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 15 2009, 09:44 AM)

Look like u have all the latest gadjet with u right now..hehehe
So far how the preformance of your JET if compared with Nokia 5320? Which is more frendly?

Added on August 16, 2009, 1:40 am
QUOTE(techmostwanted @ Aug 15 2009, 02:07 PM)
But I still look forward for Samsung engineers to improve the firmware, if everything goes well, expect me to join this Jet club end of this year biggrin.gif. There is a discussion and feature request in facebook , have a look and join to contribute.

http://www.facebook.com/SamsungJet
I`m also going to join the JET Club.. drool.gif
But still hope the JET price will more reasonable to get it whistling.gif

This post has been edited by ssmuhd84: Aug 16 2009, 01:40 AM
cybpsych
post Aug 16 2009, 09:07 AM

---------------------
65,266 posts

QUOTE(ssmuhd84 @ Aug 16 2009, 01:38 AM)
Look like u have all the latest gadjet with u right now..hehehe
So far how the preformance of your JET if compared with Nokia 5320? Which is more frendly?

i don't usually change mobile phones unless i have to. smile.gif

Jet *gave* me a reason to do so.

When i thought of buying Jet, iPhone 3GS was just launched. I hate the plans, and the only way to get one is via the Hotlink plan @ RM2,490 per unit.

i almost shelled out the money to get one, but held off. I've looked at Samsung Jet few days earlier. It's price was around RM1,700-1,800; still much lower than iPhone (and also difficult to get one with installment payment).

Jet has the following *practical* advantange over iPhone:-

1) Size (dimension) is great. Palm-friendlier than iPhone whcih is too wide for my liking (and put in my jeans too).
2) AMOLED screen is top notch. iPhone looses this. Jet has this *wow* factor.
3) Thickness (thinness) is equivalent to iPhone's (rough estimate lah).
4) USB charging ports & Windows/PC data connection.

Software wise, it's ok though. of course JEt doesn't have those crazy apps from iPhone, but Jet is still functional and usable. I uses more 3G Internet with Jet, therefore standalone apps are not my priority.

44 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:50 AM