Battery Drain/Usage on iPhone 2G/3G/3GS/4, What to do? How? Solution?
tetsu
Sep 30 2010, 04:59 PM
Charged my i4 till 100% before going to sleep last night, but only 92% left this morning after 6-8 hours in standby.
Played some games+ 3Ginternet for barely 3.5 hours(15-16 hours standby) and my battery's down to 15%.
location services off, brightness 50%, push notification on(for whatsapp only), black/dark wallpaper, always cleared my "multitask" bar, WIFI + 3G on.
I hope I'm wrong but I think my battery's faulty.
This post has been edited by tetsu: Sep 30 2010, 05:00 PM
nonameNo
Sep 30 2010, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(tetsu @ Sep 30 2010, 04:59 PM) Charged my i4 till 100% before going to sleep last night, but only 92% left this morning after 6-8 hours in standby. Played some games+ 3Ginternet for barely 3.5 hours(15-16 hours standby) and my battery's down to 15%. location services off, brightness 50%, push notification on(for whatsapp only), black/dark wallpaper, always cleared my "multitask" bar, WIFI + 3G on. I hope I'm wrong but I think my battery's faulty. wifi + 3G on is the main thing which drain up your battery power. turn it off will save your battery... coz most of the thing you said, already reduce the battery consumption except the WIFI + 3G part.
davidmak
Sep 30 2010, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(nonameNo @ Sep 30 2010, 05:07 PM) wifi + 3G on is the main thing which drain up your battery power. turn it off will save your battery... coz most of the thing you said, already reduce the battery consumption except the WIFI + 3G part. I believe we should use WiFi whenever it is available. 3G radio power consumption is typically high. You can see it go down 1% almost every 2-3 minutes when you are surfing.
dannywonglh
Sep 30 2010, 08:48 PM

want to share with you about the battery life of my iPhone 4, below is my phone setting - iOS4.1 - 3G & wifi disabled - Location service disabled - light usage and it gave me an impressive nearly 3 full days of battery life Attached thumbnail(s)
cschun86
Sep 30 2010, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(objectifyme @ Sep 30 2010, 01:56 PM) What do you do with your phone, dude? Mine lasts an average of 6 hours and above with internet usage, Google maps, 3G, music, games, etc.  Heavy gamer  Added on September 30, 2010, 9:16 pmQUOTE(tetsu @ Sep 30 2010, 04:59 PM) Charged my i4 till 100% before going to sleep last night, but only 92% left this morning after 6-8 hours in standby. Played some games+ 3Ginternet for barely 3.5 hours(15-16 hours standby) and my battery's down to 15%. location services off, brightness 50%, push notification on(for whatsapp only), black/dark wallpaper, always cleared my "multitask" bar, WIFI + 3G on. I hope I'm wrong but I think my battery's faulty. Thats normal for your usuage. Push Notification + Wifi + 3G = battery drainer This post has been edited by cschun86: Sep 30 2010, 09:16 PM
deepan84
Sep 30 2010, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(dannywonglh @ Sep 30 2010, 08:48 PM) want to share with you about the battery life of my iPhone 4, below is my phone setting - iOS4.1 - 3G & wifi disabled - Location service disabled - light usage and it gave me an impressive nearly 3 full days of battery life gosh dun u ever play games/sms/do anythn wit d fone? ive never even passed the 24hr mark before, unless i put it in my drawer without using it at all.
sneakerlogist
Sep 30 2010, 09:23 PM

so some sets hot some not hot..
maybe its the way we hold it i guess, some hands are warmer than others. i might be wrong also..i use wifi browse not as hot as using 3G.
one thing i noticed is the new OS the battery drains faster.
nimrod323
Sep 30 2010, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(sneakerlogist @ Sep 30 2010, 09:23 PM) so some sets hot some not hot.. maybe its the way we hold it i guess, some hands are warmer than others. i might be wrong also..i use wifi browse not as hot as using 3G. one thing i noticed is the new OS the battery drains faster. Ermm not really, im running on iOS 4.0.2 i charged my battery on tuesday night, it was fully charged around 11.30,put it to standby mode, unlocked the screen as i woke up around 6.45 on wednesday morning, at this point my Wifi,Location Services,Bluetooth,Edge,3G and Push Notification was still off, around 10am my battery was at around 95% with some smses and calls going on, activated Wifi and surfed a lil bit and left the wifi on till 4pm, battery was at 79%, turned off wifi and left edge on till night and played some games around 11pm, battery stood at 64%, didnt charge it and woke up at 10 am the battery was at 63% that was this morning,i only charged the phone around 1pm because i was heading to KL, EDGE was on and before i charged the phone battery was at 55%. So all in all my battery decreased half in the span of 1 day and 13 hours, not bad at all, if i did not charge it might have lasted me at least 2 days.
Christopher7
Sep 30 2010, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(sneakerlogist @ Sep 30 2010, 10:23 PM) so some sets hot some not hot.. maybe its the way we hold it i guess, some hands are warmer than others. i might be wrong also..i use wifi browse not as hot as using 3G. one thing i noticed is the new OS the battery drains faster.
I dont think so My iphone 4 on 4.1 can last at least for 1.5 day - 3 days
pspfan
Sep 30 2010, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(rstusa @ Sep 30 2010, 12:07 PM) I facing one problem, thought to switch off the power to save up the battery when sleeping time. But I set the alarm on, it won't work if i switch off the phone, not like nokia. leave it on.. juts put in to flight mode.. will save lotsa power and all your alarms will still sound..
Joey87
Sep 30 2010, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(deepan84 @ Sep 30 2010, 09:17 PM) gosh dun u ever play games/sms/do anythn wit d fone? ive never even passed the 24hr mark before, unless i put it in my drawer without using it at all. Mine.. - iOS 4.1 - 3G and cellular data disabled - Wifi always on (i have wifi network at home) - Usual SMSes and Calls - Light gaming Last me about 2 days++
ysc
Sep 30 2010, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Sep 30 2010, 09:44 PM) I dont think so My iphone 4 on 4.1 can last at least for 1.5 day - 3 days minimal usage or what?
Christopher7
Sep 30 2010, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(ysc @ Sep 30 2010, 10:52 PM) On WiFi whenever im at home Mostly sms and surfing less calling
Feliex
Sep 30 2010, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(objectifyme @ Sep 30 2010, 12:04 PM) I think I might have experienced this last night—but I'm not sure if I charged it to full (with the plug icon). I'll try again later and let you know the results. Are you still experiencing problems? 2day morning i no face this problem already, but i gt use Battery Doctor Pro since i buy the phone
mywii
Sep 30 2010, 10:02 PM

one more thing I found out from apple site on how to save power. Double click on home button and you will see the bottom row with icon that is still running. Press and hold on one icon until the (-) sign come out. tap on the sign to close the program... one more thing I found out from apple site on how to save power. Double click on home button and you will see the bottom row with icon that is still running. Press and hold on one icon until the (-) sign come out. tap on the sign to close the program... Moderators Note: DO NOT DOUBLE POST !!!!!!!!!!![/B]
fuiyo
Sep 30 2010, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(sneakerlogist @ Sep 30 2010, 09:23 PM) so some sets hot some not hot.. maybe its the way we hold it i guess, some hands are warmer than others. i might be wrong also..i use wifi browse not as hot as using 3G. one thing i noticed is the new OS the battery drains faster. My battery is much better on my iPhone 4 compared to 3GS. As Apple had claimed, 40% better
mythofillusion
Oct 1 2010, 01:04 PM
is battery app like Battery Doctor, Battery Magic and etc good to have?
i know this app recorded your usage and do full cycle charge if drop below 20% ...
if i just use it up till my phone run out of battery then charge back, that consider full cycle charge?
yupio
Oct 1 2010, 02:15 PM
Guys, personally I think, there's no need to be very concerned about battery drain / usage. It comes with 1 to 2 yrs warranty.
Generally, for low usage iP4 can last well for 2 days.
For moderate usage, it'll last u 1 day. For heavy usage, few hours n u need to recharge.
Considered some improvement over 3GS.
Being Li-ion battery and also recommendation of not leaving the battery too low b4 charging......you should charge your iP4 daily b4 going to bed, and remove the charger when u wake up. Doing so is sufficient nuff care given to the iP4.
Should enjoy the phone n its functions n apps etc. rather than focussing on the battery bar or Usage screen.
crayzee
Oct 1 2010, 02:34 PM
Here is mine: -min usage (sms, some light surfing, ibook) -3G disabled -location service ON
This post has been edited by crayzee: Oct 1 2010, 02:35 PM
leyley
Oct 1 2010, 03:00 PM
Actually those Apps like Battery Doctor & Battery Magic does prolong the battery usage. Just depends how heavy user you are using your phone.