66 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Battery Drain/Usage on iPhone 2G/3G/3GS/4, What to do? How? Solution?

dokidoki
post Oct 1 2010, 03:53 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(leyley @ Oct 1 2010, 03:00 PM)
Actually those Apps like Battery Doctor & Battery Magic does prolong the battery usage. Just depends how heavy user you are using your phone.
how the apps prolong the battery?
LeChuCk
post Oct 1 2010, 06:28 PM

SQ Aficionado
724 posts

this is mine after almost 2 days of usage..

zester
post Oct 1 2010, 09:53 PM

242 posts

I find the "usage times" are more relevant than standby. I believe it is possible to even get a week from a single charge just plainly leaving it on standby most of the time(did that once with iphone 3g on a sub-line).

Dont get me wrong tho, I do get about 6hrs with careful usage and I consider it an improvement to older iphones and android standards.

However in the event I decide to add in Msn with push just to see how well it holds up againts Bb as a messaging device... It suffers

Intensive gaming is definitely the worst

What I really wish was to use it without having to worry about battery dying on me.

Maybe I am just a real heavy user or perhaps am spoiled by the iPad's excellent battery life. But I am finding the ip4 battery to be a lil on the weak side still Imo.

' or 1=1 --
post Oct 1 2010, 10:05 PM

ayam sadding
1,443 posts

get a battery pack to go with ur phone. should last as long as the ipad i think or somewhere close anyway.
zer016
post Oct 1 2010, 10:10 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(LeChuCk @ Oct 1 2010, 06:28 PM)

2 days usage?
but ur usage + ur stnadby also juz 24 hours jek woh.. hmm.gif
zester
post Oct 1 2010, 10:17 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(' or 1=1 -- @ Oct 1 2010, 10:05 PM)
get a battery pack to go with ur phone. should last as long as the ipad i think or somewhere close anyway.
Worth a thought. Any recommendations? I don't really fancy the kind that comes as a case. Seen an energizer one... Wonder anyone uses it here

Maybe my high usage could be due to it being a new toy... When I start delegating task between both devices, I doubt it will be as bad. Just finished charging before I head out for the night... love the short charge times tho biggrin.gif
PulseAngel
post Oct 1 2010, 10:26 PM

Validating
181 posts

QUOTE(LeChuCk @ Oct 1 2010, 06:28 PM)

2 days, but the total is less than 48 hours.

btw did u turn on push notification / fetch new mail and 3G all the time?

' or 1=1 --
post Oct 1 2010, 10:33 PM

ayam sadding
1,443 posts

QUOTE(zester @ Oct 1 2010, 10:17 PM)
Worth a thought. Any recommendations? I don't really fancy the kind that comes as a case. Seen an energizer one... Wonder anyone uses it here

Maybe my high usage could be due to it being a new toy... When I start delegating task between both devices, I doubt it will be as bad. Just finished charging before I head out for the night... love the short charge times tho biggrin.gif
better to go with the case battery pack. since it stays on all the time so u dont have to lug around another battery that ur gonna need to stick on ur phone and leave it there until ur phone charges back up again.

id suggest going for this one. mophie makes the best battery packs for the iphones. Mophie Juice Pack Air
-Teddy-
post Oct 2 2010, 02:23 PM

meh
1,939 posts

Near 2 hours usage, 7+ hours standby, first half on low signal 3G, second half on Wifi. No gaming, just some Facebook, Twitter, Whatsapp, some surfing, and adding contacts manually.

Now left 64%. Normal?
gurus
post Oct 2 2010, 02:38 PM

1.get up! 2.survive! 3.go back to bed!
1,242 posts

QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Oct 2 2010, 02:23 PM)
Near 2 hours usage, 7+ hours standby, first half on low signal 3G, second half on Wifi. No gaming, just some Facebook, Twitter, Whatsapp, some surfing, and adding contacts manually.

Now left 64%. Normal?
i think its normal...1 hour surfing on 3g = 15-20%, 1 hour surfing on wifi = 10-15%, 7+ hours standby = 5-8%...
u watch movies/clips on FB?
-Teddy-
post Oct 2 2010, 03:41 PM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(gurus @ Oct 2 2010, 02:38 PM)
i think its normal...1 hour surfing on 3g = 15-20%, 1 hour surfing on wifi = 10-15%, 7+ hours standby = 5-8%...
Nop, no video, no music. Only online. Push notification for Facebook and Whatsapp is on though, if that matters. And 3G signal is weak, guess that eats up a little too.
D.Sync
post Oct 2 2010, 04:03 PM

777 posts

When running the 3 We games (with push notification on) by ngmoco:) I realized that it can drain 50% of the battery life even on standby mode over night.

So now I always make sure those apps are closed properly or turn odd my wifi every night.

Wonder is anyone playing such games has similar situation as I did.
ysc
post Oct 2 2010, 04:28 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(gurus @ Oct 2 2010, 02:38 PM)
last night i tested talking on skype (call) for 1 hr... on wifi... drained 9% battery...

All push is off
3g & cellular data also off

This post has been edited by ysc: Oct 2 2010, 04:29 PM
gurus
post Oct 2 2010, 08:18 PM

1.get up! 2.survive! 3.go back to bed!
1,242 posts

QUOTE(ysc @ Oct 2 2010, 04:28 PM)
last night i tested talking on skype (call) for 1 hr... on wifi... drained 9% battery...

All push is off
3g & cellular data also off

1 hour surfing on wifi = 10-15% ---> very close though sweat.gif
maybe because u off the cellular data also rolleyes.gif
ben3232
post Oct 2 2010, 09:19 PM

108 posts

for me my ip4 battery batter then my 3gs thumbup.gif
yoong
post Oct 2 2010, 11:09 PM

234 posts

i find the batt not as good as the 3G or 3Gs.

i drained almost half of the batt by half the day, but surfing regularly using 3G with push notifications on mail, whatsapp, IM+.

is that normal? i find it draining a little too quickly.
' or 1=1 --
post Oct 2 2010, 11:46 PM

ayam sadding
1,443 posts

QUOTE(yoong @ Oct 2 2010, 11:09 PM)
i find the batt not as good as the 3G or 3Gs.

i drained almost half of the batt by half the day, but surfing regularly using 3G with push notifications on mail, whatsapp, IM+.

is that normal? i find it draining a little too quickly.
depends on what ur usage is like and what apps are running in the background while ur using it. and since its malaysia, the temperature its operating in also plays a part as well :3
kylee700
post Oct 3 2010, 03:22 AM

239 posts

i was just wondering...how does you guys iphone 4 last on heavy gaming??
iv'N
post Oct 3 2010, 03:27 AM

657 posts

QUOTE(jc79 @ Oct 2 2010, 09:52 PM)
I found this car charger is great!! rclxm9.gif

where did u get that??
Suk
post Oct 3 2010, 04:22 AM

2,330 posts