79 Pages « < 73 74 75 76 77 > » Bottom

Movies Horror Movies, Discussing and Sharing Frights!!

ThalaFan
post May 8 2020, 04:44 PM

Double post

This post has been edited by ThalaFan: May 8 2020, 04:45 PM
TSMov_freak
post May 9 2020, 02:10 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Changeling (1980)

This is NOT the one with Angelina Jolie...

I have not watched or heard of this before... until I had watched the movie.

One scene reminded be of a snippet of dialogue I remember hearing from my eldest brother about an R rated movie he watched, and then I remembered, oh this was the movie he watched...

This movie is... rare...

It has George C. Scott as the leading man.

It is a Canadian production (see, rare).

Even with a very old school approach to the way the movie was made, it foundation (the story) is actually quite good.

It is about a haunted house.

The reason George C. Scott ended up staying at the house is quite gruesome.

The premised for the house being haunted (infanticide), is even more gruesome. And all because of a subject matter that is very familiar with politicians, good old greed.

I love the house set.

I love the music "composed" by the role played by George C. Scott and it turned out to be the music from the music box.

The ending as a little uneventful, and since Hollywood loves to do remake, I actually would not mind if James Wan or Leigh Whannell redo this and make the ending better.

My Two Sen.
TSMov_freak
post May 10 2020, 01:57 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Society (1989)

In ALL fairness, this movie is NOT for everyone

It is OUTRIGHT... WEIRD!!!!!!

Supposedly this movie was finished in 1989 and was never release to the general public until 1992 (rating issue perhaps).

I had never watching it in the 90s (initial release) and had only watched it is the past few days.

Now this movie is 80s to the MAX

The clothing.

The hairstyle.

The... plot line.

The protagonist is William "Bill" Whitney (played by Billy Warlock) has it all.

He is young, good looking, popular in high school (he is running for school president) but Bill has an issue.

He feels... "alienated" from his family.

So he seek consultation from a therapist, who informs him that the feeling is all, in his own perception.

So he goes on with his life until his sister's ex boyfriend who had been stalking his sister, since their break up, played to Billy a recording of his sister and they parents doing... the unmentionable...

Billy investigates and...

And in the end we see... "the shunting".

I am NOT even going to attempt to describe it to you.

Let's just say that once you see it, you cannot possible unsee it...

So, to cap up, the antagonist in this movie... is upper society???

Again, I warn you, this movie is NOT for everyone

You have been warn kiddies. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: May 10 2020, 02:01 PM
ThalaFan
post May 10 2020, 06:51 PM

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ May 10 2020, 01:57 PM)
Society (1989)

In ALL fairness, this movie is NOT for everyone

It is OUTRIGHT... WEIRD!!!!!!

Supposedly this movie was finished in 1989 and was never release to the general public until 1992 (rating issue perhaps).

I had never watching it in the 90s (initial release) and had only watched it is the past few days.

Now this movie is 80s to the MAX

The clothing.

The hairstyle.

The... plot line.

The protagonist is William "Bill" Whitney (played by Billy Warlock) has it all.

He is young, good looking, popular in high school (he is running for school president) but Bill has an issue.

He feels... "alienated" from his family.

So he seek consultation from a therapist, who informs him that the feeling is all, in his own perception.

So he goes on with his life until his sister's ex boyfriend who had been stalking his sister, since their break up, played to Billy a recording of his sister and they parents doing... the unmentionable...

Billy investigates and...

And in the end we see... "the shunting".

I am NOT even going to attempt to describe it to you.

Let's just say that once you see it, you cannot possible unsee it...

So, to cap up, the antagonist in this movie... is upper society???

Again, I warn you, this movie is NOT for everyone

You  have been warn kiddies. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

My Two Sen
Wow...the way u described it is very intriguing. Definitely gonna catch it by tomorrow
TSMov_freak
post May 10 2020, 08:01 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(ThalaFan @ May 10 2020, 06:51 PM)
Wow...the way u described it is very intriguing. Definitely gonna catch it by tomorrow
You've been warned kiddie.... YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!! laugh.gif
ThalaFan
post May 10 2020, 09:40 PM

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ May 10 2020, 08:01 PM)
You've been warned kiddie.... YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!! laugh.gif
As long as it's not overhyped, under-delivered film wokey then. Or are u referring to it's brutality?
TSMov_freak
post May 10 2020, 10:03 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(ThalaFan @ May 10 2020, 09:40 PM)
As long as it's not overhyped, under-delivered film wokey then. Or are u referring to it's brutality?
....Weirdness... And I have seen pretty weird stuff before this... And have to add, I did not hype this in ANY way... laugh.gif
ThalaFan
post May 11 2020, 10:55 AM

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ May 10 2020, 10:03 PM)
....Weirdness... And I have seen pretty weird stuff before this... And have to add, I did not hype this in ANY way... laugh.gif
Wow...wokey then. Thx bro. Petang ni gonna catch it for sure
TSMov_freak
post May 13 2020, 09:57 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Ghost Story (1981)

Another 1980s horror movie I had missed during the 80s.

And it turns out it is another R rated one.

What attracted me about this movie is to see what kinda movie Fred Astaire and Douglas Fairbanks Jr. later in their respective career.

The pacing of this movie is a little old school

It is a slow burner. Although this happen, they are almost pedestrian, the viewer does not get engage...

And also and editing is a little confusing at times.

Then third act happened and everything picks up!

Part of the confusion for me is Craig Wasson plays two characters, namely Don / David Wanderley.

One twin died in the beginning and the other twin had to go back to their home town for the funeral. Guess who is the under achieve amongst the two...

This movie also has a very young Alice Krige (Queen Borg anyone) who does not seem to age...

What happened to her is criminal.

So, in conclusion the movie started slow, almost uneventful and have to add, when things unveil, everything clicks into place, and just like that, I like the ending.

My Two Sen.
guarayakha
post May 15 2020, 10:41 PM

Looks like a expanded retelling of the old Ju-On: The Curse 1 &2? Pls do not suck....

TSMov_freak
post May 21 2020, 09:58 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Cursed Films (2020)

Please goto Curse Films (Andrewtst Write Up)

My thanks to Andrewtst for drawing my attention to this documentary 5 episode series,

Episode 1 - The Exorcist
Episode 2 - The Omen
Episode 3 - Poltergeist
Episode 4 - The Crow
Episode 5 - Twilight Zone: The Movie

I found the quite interesting actually

They actually track down people involved with the movie and interview them and also to discussed is there is an validity to a cursed on that particular movie.

Watch it if you can find it

Cheers
TSMov_freak
post May 22 2020, 11:31 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Darkness Falls (2003)

MCO does strange things to people.

I have been spring cleaning and I came across this title in my DVD collection.

And thought to myself, why did I buy this movie?

So I gave it a twirl, and found myself mildly entertained.

Before I talk about the movie let me just talk about

Tooth Fairy

In Northern Europe, there was a tradition of tand-fé or tooth fee, which was paid when a child lost their first tooth. This tradition is recorded in writings as early as the Eddas (c. 1200), which are the earliest written record of Norse and Northern European traditions.

The reward left varies by country, the family's economic status, amounts the child's peers report receiving and other factors. A 2013 survey by Visa Inc. found that American children receive $3.70 per tooth on average. According to the same survey, only 3% of children find a dollar or less and 8% find a five-dollar bill or more under their pillow.

During the Middle Ages, other superstitions arose surrounding children's teeth. In England, for example, children were instructed to burn their baby teeth in order to save the child from hardship in the afterlife. Children who did not consign their baby teeth to the fire would spend eternity searching for them in the afterlife. The Vikings, it is said, paid children for their teeth. In the Norse culture, children's teeth and other articles belonging to children were said to bring good luck in battle, and Scandinavian warriors hung children's teeth on a string around their necks. Fear of witches was another reason to bury or burn teeth. In medieval Europe, it was thought that if a witch were to get hold of one's teeth, it could lead to them having total power over them.

(Excerpt from Wikipedia)

Why am I talking about the tooth fairy

Well the last sentence above, it the basis of the movie.

The antagonist in the movie, is, yup the tooth fairy and you fight it with.... light! laugh.gif

It is obvious that they producers and director did try to make a concerted effort to make the movie good.

No big names are attached to h=this movie.

Some part of it does work, and have to add the end product is just not very memorable.

Also I just found out that that lead actor O.D.ed in 2007. Ironic because in the movie, he is heavily medicated because of his diagnose night terrors...

So, something you can watch when you have nothing else to do.

My Two Sen
sweet_pez
post May 22 2020, 10:24 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ May 21 2020, 09:58 PM)
Cursed Films (2020)

Please goto Curse Films (Andrewtst Write Up)

My thanks to Andrewtst for drawing my attention to this documentary 5 episode series,

Episode 1 - The Exorcist
Episode 2 - The Omen
Episode 3 - Poltergeist
Episode 4 - The Crow
Episode 5 - Twilight Zone: The Movie

I found the quite interesting actually

They actually track down people involved with the movie and interview them and also to discussed is there is an validity to a cursed on that particular movie.

Watch it if you can find it

Cheers
The title itself caught my attention. Okay something to watch next week!!!
waghyu
post May 22 2020, 10:28 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 27 2009, 07:41 PM)
Hi People

I am starting s forum to discuss horror movies.

Please share what you like or don't

I'm starting of with a list (not in any particular order) of "horror" movie which I personally like and a short description of why

Eye, The (見鬼) 2002
One of the more original horror story, and from Asia

Mr. Vampire (殭屍先生) 1985
Ah this really brings back memories. I've bought this is SO many formats, it is NOT funny. Interesting that the director was SO over budget, they at the end he had to BEG for more money from the company boss (Sumo Hung). It cost 8 million HK dollars to make, and that was UNHEARD of then. The director's uncle were actually a taoist priest, and the movie were base on an accumulation of stories his uncle told him when he was young!

Nang Nak 1999
There were scenes in this movie, that still gives me goose pimples...

An American Werewolf in London 1981
Ah, the good old 80s. Was a shock when it first came out. Also inspired Michael Jackson's (may he rest in peace) Thriller MTV. And launch John Landis career as a director. Be warn, a little racy...

Cujo 1983
Ah. Again a rare Stephen King adaption I like (another is Needful Things, which I started a forum which nobody added to!!). Very well filmed movie. After this movie, the "kid" went on to star in a sitcom called Who's the Boss. Have to say, the kid stole the show.

Diary of the Dead 2007
Nice to know how people reacted in the first few hours of George A Romero's zombie story.

Dracula 2000
I don't know why I like this. I just do. Maybe how in a round about way it linked to the bible... hmmm

Final Destination
And the fourth one coming out soon would probably introduce new audience to this series. Still like the first one best.

Thir13en Ghosts 2001
Robert Zemecski and Joe Silver, reintroduce old horror movie in new light. They were suppose to make one every year but had stop after Gothika... Like the little stories they created for each ghost.

Fright Night 1996
A silly like vampire movie, which I like

From Dusk Till Dawn 1996
This is actually two movies, first part VERY Quentin Tarantino and the second Robert Rodriguez. Too bad the two had a fall out after Grindhouse movie.

From Hell 2001
Johnny Depp in another dark tale. Interesting how he started his career in Nightmare on Elm Street! A modern take on Jack the Ripper.

House on Haunted Hill 1999
The first of the supposed many from Robert Zemecski and Joe Silver collaboration. Well executed.

The Howling 1981
1981 was the year of the wolf. This year produce two excellent werewolf movie. This and An American Werewolf in London.

Joy Ride 2001
Creepy truck driver... Nuff said

Jeepers Creepers 2001
Now you know why Justin Long is in Drag Me to Hell, he was good in this one as well

Land of the Dead 2005
George A. Romero return to the Zombie genre. Horray!

Needful Things 1993
I like this movie about Satan. but apparently no one else apart from me had watched it. Watched and like it I suppose

Poltergeist 1982
A Steven "wunderkind" Spielberg dipped his toe into the horror genre

The Shining 1980
Brings new meaning to the term, Honey! I'm home!! "Redrum, REDRUM!!"

Slither 2006
I was horrified and rolled on the floor laughing as the same time. REALLY!!

Sleepy Hollow 1999
Tim Burton and Johnny Depp. What else does one has to say? Still think that his Jack Sparrow character is a hypebole if his Ichabod Crane character!! tongue.gif

Stir of Echoes 1999
To bad in came in the wake of The Six Sense....

Wrong Turn 2003
One of the last few things Stan Winston worked on. I miss that guy...

Vampires 1998
Really good vampire movie. Trust me on this

There you have it ladies and gentlemen

Feel free to write
Conjuring one, real story real interview in UK.
6so
post May 24 2020, 08:27 AM

135 posts

Coming from the maker of Goodnight Mommy, rest assured this is not your shallow Hollywood brain-dead type of variety. It's the methodical slow burn of event changes and how you know the foregone disaster ending gonna be. You are just trapped in the situation and can't escape the impending doom. That's what makes this psychology thriller above the others. It doesn't sugar coat with stupid horror cliché but laying out all the chess pieces for you to see. Riley Keough is this generation of Parker Posey, the powerhouse indie queen. Her acting elevated this thriller couple of notches. Like Goodnight Mommy, it's the kids that you have to be weary of...
TSMov_freak
post Jun 1 2020, 10:13 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Wretched (2019)

Directors: Brett Pierce, Drew T. Pierce

Stars: John-Paul Howard, Piper Curda, Jamison Jones

Synopsis

A defiant teenage boy, struggling with his parent's imminent divorce, faces off with a thousand year-old witch, who is living beneath the skin of and posing as the woman next door.

(Excerpt from imdb)

This is another direct to V.O.D. movie.

This is a low budget horror movie.

I think the McGuffin they use, is good.

I just don't think the delivery of the movie is... engaging.

Probably did not relate to any of the characters in the movie...

I rate this movie, fair, a 2.5 out of 5.

My Two Sen
TSMov_freak
post Jun 1 2020, 10:26 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Black Christmas (2019)

Director: Sophia Takal

Stars: Imogen Poots, Aleyse Shannon, Lily Donoghue

Synopsis

A group of female students are stalked by a stranger during their Christmas break. That is until the young sorority pledges discover that the killer is part of an underground college conspiracy.

(Excerpt from imdb)
[QUOTE]

Strike 2

Not having any luck with horror yesterday...

Watched two "Dead on Arrival" (pardon my pun) horror in a row.

There is a movement in Hollywood amidst the Harvey Weinstein and Jeffrey Epstein scandal, of removing "toxic masculinity" from American movies, and this is THE product?

I am flabbergasted.

I am all for equality.

The emphasis here is equality

Not one dominating the other.

This is just BAD.

And by Blumhouse nevertheless...

The "cherry" on top is this is a remake, and I have not watched the original.

I may watch it and try to pin point what exactly makes a movie "toxic masculinity".

I give this a 1.5 out of 5

My Two Sen
TSMov_freak
post Jun 1 2020, 10:43 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Haunting (1999)

Director: Jan de Bont

Stars: Liam Neeson, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Owen Wilson, Lili Taylor

Synopsis

When Eleanor, Theo, and Luke decide to take part in a sleep study at a huge mansion they get more than they bargained for when Dr. Marrow tells them of the house's ghostly past.

(Excerpt from Imdb)

I have a hard time getting a good copy of this.

Not everyone would enjoy this.

This is a remake of a 1960 movie (same title).

Also a follow up of Jan de Bont success streak in Hollywood (Speed (1994), Twister (1996))

Right off the bat, the production value of this movie is off the chart.

The haunted house set is amazing!!!!

I do not know what is it about movies from this period, the color is so vivid and beautiful

That's the the irony about the movie, the movie is beautifully shot about this horrible, horrible haunted house...

Granted the director is better know as a director of photography.

Everyone in the movie brought their best, and at the end of the movie... unfortunately, the movie comes acrossed a little... flat.

In the original movie, it forces the viewer to decide if the house is haunted, or things occurs as a series of unfortunate events.

Here there is no doubt that it is haunted.

The director made Speed 2 before this.

And fater this movie, with both movie getting ripped apart by the critics, the director never directed another movie...

My Two Sen.
minerspool
post Jun 11 2020, 05:01 PM

Top 3 from me, all of them released in 2020!

1. Becky - A teenager's weekend at a lake house with her father takes a turn for the worse when a group of convicts wreaks havoc on their lives.
Totally enjoyed this one!

2. The Invisible Man -When Cecilia's abusive ex takes his own life and leaves her his fortune, she suspects his death was a hoax. As a series of coincidences turn lethal, Cecilia works to prove that she is being hunted by someone nobody can see.
It is a good movie and worth the watch!

3. Brahms: The Boy II - After a family moves into the Heelshire Mansion, their young son soon makes friends with a life-like doll called Brahms.
Low budget but great.

This post has been edited by minerspool: Jul 12 2020, 07:06 PM
yo_yo
post Jun 16 2020, 10:42 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(minerspool @ Jun 11 2020, 05:01 PM)
Top 3 from me, all of them released in 2020! 

1. Becky - A teenager's weekend at a lake house with her father takes a turn for the worse when a group of convicts wreaks havoc on their lives.
Totally enjoyed this one!

2. The Invisible Man -When Cecilia's abusive ex takes his own life and leaves her his fortune, she suspects his death was a hoax. As a series of coincidences turn lethal, Cecilia works to prove that she is being hunted by someone nobody can see.
It is a good movie and worth the watch!

3. Brahms: The Boy II - After a family moves into the Heelshire Mansion, their young son soon makes friends with a life-like doll called Brahms.
Low budget but great.
2 and 3 sounds good to me! too bad i missed no 2 in the cinema.

79 Pages « < 73 74 75 76 77 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:29 AM