56 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

|The Unofficial Thread for iPhone 4 Australia|, 4 - 16GB@$859 & 32GB@$999. 3GS- 8GB@$719

al3p
post Jun 28 2009, 06:23 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jun 28 2009, 06:12 PM)
well if you ask for my own personal opinion (remember it is mine and it is subjected to speculation).

iPhone is a peculiar apple product in such a way, that it doesn't really follow the standard apple protocol.

even before the launch of the applecare in oz, only the american bound iPhones are eligible for the extended warranty.

reason is because, not every countries in the world (which offers the iPhone) has the standalone apple retail store. a quick snoop around the apple website, only australia, canada, china, germany, italy, japan, switzerland, uk and the states have the the standalone apple retail store.

hence, in countries (for example malaysia and singapore), the network provider will essentially handle the warranty issues. where else in australia, even the network provider (off the records) will personally advice you to send your problematic iPhones to the apple store directly, to save time.

this is because, if lets say my iPhone 3G S does pose some issues, and i send it back to optus, it will take optus at least two weeks (alleged) before sending it to apple for inspection.
This is what i get when quick reading the T&C for iPhone

d. This Plan is offered and valid only in Austria, France (excluding Corsica, overseas departments
and territories), Germany, Ireland, Italy, Spain (including Balearic Islands but excluding Canary
Islands, Ceuta, Melilla), Switzerland and the United Kingdom. This Plan is not offered to persons
who have not reached the age of majority. This Plan is not available where prohibited by law.

Australia is not there yet or maybe they forgot to write it. Maybe they will update it with some other countries who will have the ACPP due to the fact that most of the countries will get their iphone in mid August.

and from FAQ for Apple Care

What does “global repair coverage” mean?
If you take your Apple hardware with you when you travel and happen to need repair service, the AppleCare Protection Plan offers global repair coverage. You can either go to an Apple retail store or contact Apple for information on how to obtain service. Service will be limited to the options available in the country where service is requested. Service options, parts availability and response time vary by country. Please see the AppleCare Protection Plan Terms and Conditions for complete details.

hopefully Malaysia will appear in the T&C. finger cross

i will have a read through T&C wether iPhone Apple Care does provide global repair coverage

*Updated*
I gave up trying to justify the warranty coverage of the ACPP for iPhones. Too many words to read, not my cup of tea reading all these T&Cs Guess the easiest way to call AppleStore and get them to clarify. Hehe

This post has been edited by al3p: Jun 28 2009, 06:49 PM
hihihehe
post Jun 28 2009, 07:50 PM

13,784 posts

Apple only lets iPhone 3GS buyers inside store
tinkerbel
post Jun 28 2009, 08:07 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@al3p,
Yeah it makes no sense AU isn't on the list if it's available for sale there *grins*
miniacs
post Jun 29 2009, 12:54 PM

386 posts

Well, I love the speed of the new iphone 3gs, it is fast. opening application is like a breeze. The video capture is good, love the part where u can trim the video on the spot, pics quality wise looks good but i havent compare to my old 2g phone yet.

beside that, i'm planning to buy games from itunes store that incorporate duet function like leaf trombone. to see how does it works since my sis has a set of iphone 3gs now. any other duet able games, please let me know.

the voice control is like hit and miss, sometime spot on, sometime haywire a bit especially on the song function. it is cool function to have but only if there is listing of all the commands that are available.

that's it for now. cheers
tinkerbel
post Jun 29 2009, 12:56 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@miniacs,
I believe the voice control command list available on the Apple website. I'm quite sure I read about it when I was going through the 3G S video.
davidgary73
post Jun 29 2009, 01:00 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Here's the list of Voice Control commands. Dig in: http://www.apple.com/iphone/how-to/#basics.voice-control

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jun 29 2009, 01:01 PM
miniacs
post Jun 29 2009, 01:10 PM

386 posts

@tinkerbell & @davidgary73

THank you very much... I appreciate it.

Cheers
TSnokia2003
post Jun 29 2009, 01:26 PM

5,786 posts

first and second posts of this thread have been updated and revamped.
al3p
post Jun 29 2009, 02:49 PM

108 posts

Hi there just to give you an update on the GST claim things. My friend successfully claim it with the receipt bearing its name. If you are a visitor, you can choose to get it refunded through your credit card or you can opt to transfer it to your Australian bank acc.
tinkerbel
post Jun 29 2009, 02:52 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@al3p,
Er... if ur a visitor, chances are U won't have an Australian bank account tongue.gif But that's besides the point.

Thanks for the information. I hope my aunt is successful in claiming the GST when she comes back 1st Jul!
al3p
post Jun 29 2009, 03:28 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 29 2009, 02:52 PM)
@al3p,
Er... if ur a visitor, chances are U won't have an Australian bank account tongue.gif  But that's besides the point.

Thanks for the information. I hope my aunt is successful in claiming the GST when she comes back 1st Jul!
Sure can claim lol.
Make sure to remind her to bring the item with her (handbag or hand luggage). They need to inspect the item first.(they dont open it tho)
TSnokia2003
post Jun 29 2009, 03:30 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(al3p @ Jun 29 2009, 03:28 PM)
Sure can claim lol.
Make sure to remind her to bring the item with her (handbag or hand luggage). They need to inspect the item first.(they dont open it tho)
not sure about other airports, but Tullamarine has an extra booth before the check in section.

you could present the item to the officer in that said booth, and once satisfactory, he/she will give a stamp on your receipt and then you can check in that item.

payment collection will be done before you actually board your plane!
tinkerbel
post Jun 29 2009, 05:44 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@al3p,
I mean, I hope she remembers but I doubt she's going to forget lah!

@nokia2003,
I suspect Auro managed to get TRS leh! tongue.gif

J_Vansen_S
post Jun 29 2009, 06:49 PM

314 posts

Anyone from GC~?
Just got 2 units off Robina Apple Store yesterday, n they ran outta stock today for buying outright..~ sheesh~
TSnokia2003
post Jun 29 2009, 06:53 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Jun 29 2009, 06:49 PM)
Anyone from GC~?
Just got 2 units off Robina Apple Store yesterday, n they ran outta stock today for buying outright..~ sheesh~
there is still some left in chadstone, i reckon.

as a matter of fact, this chinese couple (who cannot really speak english) bought 5 units outright immediately when i was there.

and when i peeped over the counter, i could still see stacks of them.
izaman
post Jun 30 2009, 03:14 AM

234 posts

guys....i already requested the unlock request from optus. how can i know the phone is already unlock after 10 days? is there any sms or something? sorry for this noob-ish question though. heheeh
al3p
post Jun 30 2009, 04:07 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(izaman @ Jun 30 2009, 03:14 AM)
guys....i already requested the unlock request from optus. how can i know the phone is already unlock after 10 days? is there any sms or something? sorry for this noob-ish question though. heheeh
Im pretty sure you got a message from Optus saying that your phone is unlocked. If not, wait for 5 days and try to restore your iphone and put another simcard and see whether it is working or not. 10 days is basically the approximate time. Some people reported that their iPhone is unlocked as earliest as 2 hrs (emergency request such as travelling oversea etc) up to 7 days.
TSnokia2003
post Jun 30 2009, 08:02 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(al3p @ Jun 30 2009, 04:07 AM)
Im pretty sure you got a message from Optus saying that your phone is unlocked. If not, wait for 5 days and try to restore your iphone and put another simcard and see whether it is working or not. 10 days is basically the approximate time. Some people reported that their iPhone is unlocked as earliest as 2 hrs (emergency request such as travelling oversea etc) up to 7 days.
yeah. it has been reported in the whirlpool forum as well.

as a matter of fact, by the fifth day, if you don't receive any text, i reckon that you can proceed to restore it (this is the essential bit to complete the entire unlocking process)

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 30 2009, 08:02 AM
kira-kun
post Jun 30 2009, 12:45 PM

161 posts

Geez... it has been a while since I have been to Melbourne.

Would love some advice, my bro is currently still studying in Melbourne, where is the best place to get the iphone 3GS?

Doncaster or Chadstone??
hihihehe
post Jun 30 2009, 01:26 PM

13,784 posts

i think any places also same..just depends which 1 is nearest to u

56 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:28 AM