18 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

^_^ Cat Lovers Version 5 ^_^, Fabulous Cats & People

CutiePie69
post Oct 29 2010, 01:04 PM

QUOTE(AXMONZA @ Oct 29 2010, 01:24 PM)
Excuse me, i think you got your facts wrong when you stated Orijen (catfood) contains wild boar meat.
You can check the ingredient list from this link:
http://www.orijen.ca/orijen/products/catki...ngredients.aspx
There are NO wild boar meat included. Most probably you got mixed up with orijen's 'regional red' dogfood which does include pork & wild boar meat.
Anyway, ALL catfood are not 'Halal' for human consumption as the animals used are not slaughter following islamic rites (sembelih etc.). LOL.

Added on October 29, 2010, 12:45 pm

Sorry, but i juz have to give my 2 cents here;

It's commonly prescribed among petfood dietician, vets, etc that catfood categorised as 'super premium' only applies to 'GRAIN-FREE CATFOOD' such as Evo, Acana, Orijen and very few others. RC does have grains included in it's ingredient, so it's NOT considered 'super premium food' but still considered 'premium catfood' like Blackwood, Iams, Science Plan etc but still good for cats.
Juz my 2 cents
Hi thre Axmonza,

Please refer to this link. I won't simply quote saying that Orien contains pork :-

dari website champion petfoods:

http://www.orijen.ca/orijen/about/

We are an award-winning, family-owned and operated Canadian pet food maker with a tradition of innovation & quality spanning more than a quarter century. We use fresh regional ingredients to produce Biologically Appropriate foods that promote the peak health of dogs & cats.

Put simply, we use fresh regional ingredients to produce Biologically Appropriate foods that promote the peak health of dogs & cats.

We're Different
We sell only what we make ourselves. All of our foods are produced in our own award-winning factory here in Alberta, Canada.

Our fresh regional ingredients include free-run chicken, turkey & ducks, whole Grade A eggs, free range wild boar, bison and heritage pork, grass-fed lamb, and a variety of wild-caught freshwater & saltwater fish—all farmed or fished within our region, passed ‘fit for human consumption’ and delivered FRESH TO OUR DOOR. Each & every day!

1. Our focus is on ingredients that are sustainably farmed or fished WITHIN OUR REGION – by people we know & trust, and delivered to us FRESH (never frozen) each day (click here to learn more)
2. Our award-winning dog and cat foods are based on our ‘Biologically Appropriate’ nutritional philosophy (click here to learn more)

But perhaps what sets us furthest apart is our true commitment to and passion for dogs & cats. It is with our own cherished dogs & cats in mind that we produce ACANA and ORIJEN pet foods — a food to nourish your dog or cat as Nature intended.

In the ingredients listing for the cats, it was mentioned that 6 types of fresh meat is used as well. How can we confirm that NO BOAR or PORK meat was used when it clearly states above that

"Our fresh regional ingredients include free-run chicken, turkey & ducks, whole Grade A eggs, free range wild boar, bison and heritage pork, grass-fed lamb, and a variety of wild-caught freshwater & saltwater fish—all farmed or fished within our region, passed ‘fit for human consumption’ and delivered FRESH TO OUR DOOR. Each & every day!"

"Anyway, ALL catfood are not 'Halal' for human consumption as the animals used are not slaughter following islamic rites (sembelih etc.). LOL."

Err.... based on the above statement, I don't any wise humans would consume cat or dog food tongue.gif However, some Muslims are particular about what they feed to their beloved pets as they follow the procedures of their religon and that is why the subject of food containing non halal items was brought up. But if you are not the fussy type... then by all means go ahead and feed your pets with what you like. I am not directing but merely informing.

Just my two cents.

This post has been edited by CutiePie69: Oct 29 2010, 01:43 PM
CutiePie69
post Oct 29 2010, 01:44 PM

QUOTE(mecharojak @ Oct 29 2010, 02:29 PM)
I didn't know cats can have religious needs  whistling.gif
Its not the cats that have religious needs my friend but more to the owners of the pets. smile.gif
CutiePie69
post Oct 29 2010, 05:23 PM

QUOTE(mecharojak @ Oct 29 2010, 06:07 PM)
How to samak all ringgit notes you received from unknown sources?

Practically why not use a scoop for the kibbles?
There is a reason why there is a clause : "Pet food only, Not for human consumption".
Most of the pet food ingredients do not meet human food quality standards and therefore sold to petfood manufacturers.
Then its benefit of doubt hmm.gif

Yes, you can use a scoop for the kibbles but let's say if the cat accidentally poos outside the litter box and not inside then you will need to 'samak' the house and it will be inconvenient for the pet owner.

Different people have different views so I would leave it as it is..... whistling.gif
CutiePie69
post Oct 29 2010, 05:52 PM

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Oct 29 2010, 06:43 PM)
haha well this is interesting issue...

to my opinion its all depends on the owner's sensitivity toward the 'non halal' ingredients and how they see their cat in your daily life. I mean there's no way of telling if other brands are halal or not, coz in the 'real' terms, chicken or meat that is not 'sembelih' properly in the muslim way is also not considered halal, so hard to tell ma...

hmm Luna is sneezing too...i hope he will recover from the diarhea n flu asap...i'm very worried of him.
Yes, I do agree with you in a way.... thats why we have the benefit of doubt when using these products.
If we know that the pet food contains non halal items then we will stop but if the manufacturer does not state it, then its the user's benefit of doubt.

Well... its not wrong for animals to consume animals that is not slaughtered the 'muslim way'. This rule only applies to humans and not animals my friend smile.gif

CutiePie69
post Oct 30 2010, 07:42 PM

QUOTE(blasto @ Oct 30 2010, 06:15 PM)
Hi cutiepie69...
Thanks again,  biggrin.gif  im a newbie about cats..
opps i ingat small cat afraid big cat..  laugh.gif
at this moment, getting cheap fish from market for cat.
still hunting for the mash with magnet ...
i think cat now hate jiran, coz jiran try feeding cat, but cat ignore them.
Hi mecharojak... 
Thanks advise...  biggrin.gif
i'll google & learn more about sandbox, where can i buy the sand,
scratching pad & cat toys like furry ball ? im also planning to diy the cabinet you suggested.
many thanks guys ...  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hi Blasto...

No worries... that is why we are here.
To share our stories and experiences.
Why don't you feed your cat with kibbles instead of fish?
Its not that you cannot feed them fish but by feeding your cat with kibbles all the required nutrients and vitamins are specially formulated in the kibble therefore your cat or kitten will get all the required nutrients and vitamin in just one kibble.
Also feeding your cat with kibbles is so much more easier than having to cook the fish everyday.
You don't need to find the wire mesh with magnet.
Go to the hardware store and look for those plastic wire mesh.
Then buy some plastic tie (sorry I don't know what you call them)
The plastic tie can tie the plastic mesh to the grill.
I will try to take a picture of mine and show it to you.

You can buy sand from the pet store as well as the cat accessories.
Actually you can D.I.Y. too.
For a ball just crunch up a newspaper into a ball and cellotape all around it and tadaaaa you have a ball he..he....
Then for the scratch pad... find a piece of wood and then go to the hardware shop again and look for 'tali sisal' i think and then wrap the rope around the wood and tadaa.... you have a scratch pad. You can google and fine lots of D.I.Y. toys for your cats. You will save lots of $$$$$$.

Here is a link that might help you....

http://forums.petfinder.my/showthread.php?t=664&page=13

Happy D.I.Y! thumbup.gif
CutiePie69
post Nov 1 2010, 07:52 PM

QUOTE(cipan @ Nov 1 2010, 08:48 PM)
Hye guys,

I have a serious questions want to ask..
i recently bought a cat from a "lyn cat breeder"..
this is the situation..We COD beside a road.
So the kitten seems scared..i was told she is not used to outdoor and maybe many cars..The first day..the cat was scare and tends to hide behind every corner or dark spaces..so i thought it was normal for the frst day..but dis behavior continues till dis day (bought on 25th October/ last week)..
But on saturday i decided to give her a bath and gave to a fren which is  a pet free house (xcpt for Ts)..but that fren told me the behavior still persist..I wanted to refund but not entertain..so dun wan to care bout that person anymore..and want to ask u guys for help..

She keeps on her defensve mode everytime i come near her cage..and tends to hide a lot..any tips..im not gonna reveal the seller..as i dun wan to spoil her reputation and her previous buyer said her kitten was great..so thats what she told me..so please help..hehe..thx n peace smile.gif
Hi there Cipan,

Its normal for a cat to be scared when they are in a new environment.
Moreove a little kitten who misses its mum.
Maybe the kitten has little contact with humans and that is why it is always seem to be afraid.
Give it some time as it wont happen overnight.
I have had cats that is hostile with humans for more than a month.
You need to spend more time stroking it, talking to it and making sure that it is not stressed.
Give and shower it with lots and lots of tender loving care and I am sure that it will overcome its stress.

CutiePie69
post Nov 1 2010, 08:31 PM

QUOTE(cipan @ Nov 1 2010, 09:03 PM)
this kitten is actually 4 months..^.^..
i was told that the kitten is tame.. to b exact tamest among all in the batch..she sleeps with my fren at night..but of cuz not in the bed..she runs into a dark corner..so is it better to cage her at night or let her be?
thx smile.gif
Kittens at 4 months are still attached to their mum although they are at a curious age.
Dont cage her that will frighten her more.
Let her roam the house and get used to the surroundings and smell.
When I first took in a cat, it hid under the cupboard and will not come out if there is anyone outside.
When we are asleep only then it will come out and eat.
Now.. he is the most super duper manja cat thumbup.gif
You need to be patient with your cat.
Like I said, spend more time with it and shower it with lots of love.
Play with it and then watch it become your best friend biggrin.gif
CutiePie69
post Nov 3 2010, 09:02 AM

QUOTE(faiz92 @ Nov 3 2010, 02:29 AM)
Guys, need to ask, what type of cat is this?

Both of cats suddenly came into my girlfriend's house. She got too many cats already.  blush.gif
The first picture is an American Curl and the second one looks like a marble patterned cat but not sure of its breed.
Lucky GF tongue.gif
CutiePie69
post Nov 3 2010, 04:36 PM

QUOTE(Dr Jan Itor @ Nov 3 2010, 04:16 PM)
Hi guys, just wondering is it normal for my cat to be such a lazy ass? It sleeps in my room the whole day and only comes out when it wants food or gets up when it wants to manja.

The only time its active is when cockroaches are around. (loves to play and ultimately kill them)

Cat is 12 years old btw.
Hello there Dr. Jan Itor,

Yes, its perfectly normal for a cat to be a lazy ass tongue.gif
Especially since your cat is already 12 years old.
In human age your cat is considered 65 years old.
You can expect an old man to be active he.he... tongue.gif

Added on November 3, 2010, 4:40 pm
QUOTE(rastablank @ Nov 3 2010, 02:45 PM)
Aaaaaaaaa, my cat is exactly like yours, the garang type, how can I make him a bit more tame? Whenever we rub@stroking@patting he'll bite my finger and raise his claws, but not always, and he's not that manja type that follow you around and rubbing to your legs for attention. Unlike his sister is the exact opposite, a very manja that irritates me sometimes when I'm busy. Two types of different personality even though they comes from the same parents~  sweat.gif
Dear Rastablank,

Hope this will help you.

How do I stop my kitten biting and scratching me?

Biting and scratching usually occurs as a result of the owner’s actions. Some owners find it nearly impossible to resist wrestling with a tiny, playful kitten, They will wrestle the kitten with their hand letting the kitten bite and scratch them. This might be cute when the kitten is little but as it grows and the kitten's strength increases it can become very painful and the kitten will often draw blood.

This behaviour is quite normal for a kitten
To stop your kitten biting and scratching you can try the following tactics.

A kitten craves your attention and wants to play with you but you should try diverting his attention away from your body parts by having a soft toy (or selection of toys) of about his own size handy. Shake the toy or move it in an enticing manner. Encourage your kitten to wrestle with the toy that you are holding.

Withdraw play if things get really rough and the kitten begins to bite or scratch you. Just as a kitten learns from his siblings and mother he will also learn from you. If he bites or scratches and becomes overly aggressive you simply end the game. Tell him in a stern voice 'NO' and with a loud clap of your hands walk away from the situation and ignore him.

If the kitten catches you unaware and latches on to your arm or leg you might not have a toy at the ready for diversion. Try not to move too much, (this can be difficult when you are in acute agony) because if you do, this will give him the impression you are participating in the game and it may incite him further. As gently as possible disengage the kittens teeth or claws from your body. Then tell him NO, scold him and walk away. Make it clear to the kitten that you will not be a party to these rough-house games.

You can grab your kitten by the scruff of the neck and hold him down briefly and growl at him if he gets too rough but sometimes this can backfire on you. Your kitten may interpret this action as a cue to become more aggressive because he thinks you are joining in the game.

Don't allow your kitten to play roughly with you if you want to discourage biting and scratching. Be consistent and don't give your kitten mixed messages. Don't allow aggressive behavior one day and then the next day punish him for it. You need to get the message across to your kitten that this behavior is not acceptable every time he gets rough. Be very firm and make it clear to him that drawing your blood is not the type of play you wish to engage in. You need to use a stern voice with a loud 'NO' and a clap of your hands if possible. (That is if he hasn't got his teeth and claws wrapped around them)

Use techniques such as squirting the kitten with water from a spray bottle only as a last resort if nothing else works. This is a harsh a punishment for a little kitten. Loud clapping and a loud NO should be enough.

This post has been edited by CutiePie69: Nov 3 2010, 04:40 PM
CutiePie69
post Nov 5 2010, 08:51 PM

QUOTE(mois @ Nov 5 2010, 08:46 PM)
how to bath the cat? use warm water? then use hair dryer?
What I do is :-

First of all take a cloth and wet it.
Wipe and clean the ears.
Then wash the face.
After that, I will put my cat inside a small cage and wet the body with warm water.
Then I take it out of the cage and shampoo it neck down as I have already washed the face.
After shampooing again I will put the cat inside the cage so that it will not run when i pour water on it and also not scratch me tongue.gif
Then I wash away all the shampoo.
After which, I take a towel and towel it dry until semi dry.
Then blow it with my my 3 in one vacum (blower, wet and dry)
It takes me only 10 minutes to dry my cat.
If not I will dry my cat in the sun (if there is sun la... he..he...)
And tadaaaa..... finish.
CutiePie69
post Nov 7 2010, 09:36 AM

QUOTE(evil_educator @ Nov 7 2010, 12:09 AM)
Woopee! Today we adopted another Ragdoll, her name is COCO. Welcome to the family COCO! Here is a picture of both together. More pics and videos at Milo Fanclub at my signature!

OMG so BEAUTIFUL!
Did you get her from a breeder?
CutiePie69
post Nov 7 2010, 06:48 PM

QUOTE(evil_educator @ Nov 7 2010, 07:30 PM)
i got milo from a breeder. Coco was bought my uncle. After a year of having Coco, his wife can't stand the cats fur so he gave it to me for free!

Both Milo and coco are from the same litter! But since they were apart for a year plus, now that they are together again, they seem to be fighting with each other. Milo wants to say hi but Coco seems very stressed. Today Coco is settling down better. But she is still hostile towards Milo.

Both of them at 4 months. Currently Coco is in a 3 tier cage, where by Milo is outside admiring her. Any tips on how to handle two cats in a household? hehe.
Oic.... You are very lucky!
They are beautiful.
Well it will take sometime for them to get used to each other.
Give them a week and after that they will be fine.
Its normal for a new cat to be hostile when introduced to a new home with a new cat even if they are from the same litter.
Their smell is different now and that is why they are not used to each other.
Just be patient.
What you are doing now is good meaning putting coco in a cage and milo outside.
At least they can smell and see each other within a barrier.
CutiePie69
post Nov 9 2010, 11:42 AM

QUOTE(nazo @ Nov 9 2010, 12:06 PM)
This is a very nice thread. Lots of useful information about taking care of cats.
I adopted two 4 months old female kittens from my friend recently. Previously my friend have been giving them Whiskas. So, I feed them the same thing after bringing them home. After reading throught this thread a little, I wonder how`s the quality of Whiskas? Is the brand ok?
Welcome Nazo....
Congratulations on your recent adoption.
I am sure that you will have lots of fun with your new found friend.

Frankly speaking, Whiskas is the lower range of food and is low on nutrients and high in salt.
Not good for your cats.
You should be feeding your kitten super premium or premium kitten food to ensure that it is getting all the vitamins and nutrients to grow up into a beautiful and healthy cat.

CutiePie69
post Nov 9 2010, 04:28 PM

QUOTE(faizmost @ Nov 9 2010, 05:02 PM)
Hi wanna share my new pet in house "Nami"

Adopt last week n cost : Free  tongue.gif

hi guys heard from somewhere that blackwood pallet is very good n can reduce smell of cats poo..

is it true?

or should i go for other good brand cat food?

anybody want to invite me to join your bulk purchase?  icon_rolleyes.gif
Wow.... a marbled pattern kitty.
You are so lucky to have her!
So beautiful.

I am feeding BW to all my cats and yes... definitely poo is less smelly and nicely formed.
Also cat / kitten will shed less fur and become fat and cuddly he.he...
You can join our pool at petfinder.com.my if you want to order.
Order starts from 15th to 30th or 31st of each month.
And pickup of food is on every 1st Saturday of the following month.
For your information, BW Adult per kg is RM9.20 and BW Kitten per kg is RM12.50.
I also have cat litter for sale.

CutiePie69
post Nov 9 2010, 05:37 PM

QUOTE(faizmost @ Nov 9 2010, 06:15 PM)
i live at jb...but in dec i go to KL...can i pay it to you so that you kept it for me n then later i'll pick up at ur place?
can i?

yah im so lucky to  have her hehe smile.gif
She looks like a la a la bengal or American Shorthair he.he...
Ooo I have a customer from JB too.
She usually buys in bulk.
Adult 24 kg RM220 and Kitten 24 kg RM300.00
No problem.
Just inform me how many kgs you want.

This post has been edited by CutiePie69: Nov 9 2010, 05:44 PM
CutiePie69
post Nov 9 2010, 08:38 PM

QUOTE(faizmost @ Nov 9 2010, 06:48 PM)
im not expert but nami is bengal+dlh ....according to qian hu employee...sounds true

coz nami got long hair
Nami's coat looks semi long hair.
Maybe she is still small and that is why her fur does not seem long.
If you want her fur to be nice go and buy fish oil, brewster yeast or Kitzyme.
Either one will do.
This will help her coat to grow longer and look more healthier.
I highly recommend fish oil as its high in Omega 3 and 6.
And dont forget to feed her with premium food e.g. RC baby cat, Iams kitten or Blackwood kitten.

CutiePie69
post Nov 10 2010, 02:54 PM

QUOTE(cat2008 @ Nov 10 2010, 02:30 PM)
hi fish oil what's the dose for cats?

btw, any cat lover who know's how to handle kittens wt sore eyes? took to the vet yesterday, he managed to open their eyes, but today some are closing already
Usually when you buy from the pet shop it will indicate on the bottle or the packaging for the correct dosage for your cat.

To clean your cats eye, please wet a facial cotton with water.
Then press excess water out from the cotton and then slowly wipe the cats eyes.
Slowly pull open the eyes and rub inside too.
After doing that use another fresh cotton wool for the other eye.
Do not use the same cotton wool for the other eye.
After cleaning, put some eye ointment on the sore eyes.

Did your vet give you any eye ointment for your cats eye?
CutiePie69
post Nov 10 2010, 04:08 PM

QUOTE(cat2008 @ Nov 10 2010, 04:59 PM)
yup, vet gave some oitment to apply on the eyes, earlier was using nicol eye drop but didint work..jus feel pitiful coz when pull open the eyes they start meowing n kicking.thanks 4 the reply
Usually eye ointment works more faster than eye drops.
Eye drops you will need to put once in every two to three hours.
If you are working then it will be difficult.
If eye ointment you will need to put only twice a day.
Yes, I know what you mean.
I feel scared too as I don't want to hurt them when I pry open their eyes but its for their own good.
That's why use a wet cotton wool to clean and once the eye area is wet its easy to pull open the eyes.
You are most welcome.
CutiePie69
post Nov 12 2010, 12:14 PM

QUOTE(aPiso @ Nov 12 2010, 01:06 PM)
Can i ask...is there any breeder for munchkin cat?
Yes, there is.... Pusakarimba cattery.
Currently I have 3 Munckin kittens available.
I will be putting them up for adoption once they reach three months of age.
They are semi-long hair.
Very cute.
Two are standard muchkin and one is a non standard munchkin. biggrin.gif
CutiePie69
post Nov 13 2010, 01:00 AM

QUOTE(cat2008 @ Nov 12 2010, 07:45 PM)
hi ,my kiten has become very sick, right now not moving n eating anythung. hav given her anibiotics and flu med (finish course) but nothing working so far...anyone knows wat med can giv? vets r closed alredi...(am located in sg petani)
So sorry to hear that.
Was the medication given previously from the Vet?
Never administer your own medication without consultation from the Vet.
There is nothing you can do tonight.
Bring her to the vet early tomorrow morning.
Good Luck.
Hope your kitty will get well soon.

18 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0673sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:13 AM