Gen-X
post Jul 5 2009, 08:31 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jul 5 2009, 12:39 AM)
Hi, i want to get a credit card mainly for petrol..so i want to get as high rebate as possible..please advise..
if the primary credit card is Citibank Gold Credit Card, so the supplementary card will be Citibank Gold Credit Card also? or can we choose other card like Shell Citibank Credit Card?
SCB JustOne or DA MC do give rebates for all petrol stations up to 5% or certain days. If you really want rebate for petrol, pump at Esso where every 1000 smiles point (RM1 = 1 smiles point) you get RM15 petrol or 1.5% rebate on top of whatever CC you use.

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 5 2009, 04:24 AM)
My gold card from HLB has been upgraded to VISA Platinum a few days ago with given a RM30k credit limit. My annual income is just slightly over the 60k mark.

The terms of the card is free for life for primary and one sub card. Terms is just swipe 2 time per month. The card look nice with the eagle logo situated at the back of the card instead at the front for gold and classic cards which I previously had from the same bank. It has a rainbow color hologram on the entire card, and the background color is dark silver. The PLATINUM wording is medium in size at the top left hand corner.

I feel happy because I finally achieved the dream of owning a PLATINUM card. My question is, do you think it is fame and fortune to own such a card with this credit limit and such given terms? Besides they are all plastic cards.

Anyone of you got the same terms for your PLATINUM card?
Congrats on your upgrade as it show HLB values your business. As for fame as fortune, the Plat card to you may be your personal achievement but seriously besides you, no one cares about Plat card nowadays, its "shiok sendiri" tongue.gif

As for your credit limit of RM30K, I am sure HLB will increase it further in the future, however ask yourself, do you really need that credit limit now based in your present income. Must advise you not to fall into HLB marketing where they CS will call you and say that they offering you personal loan at attrative rates amounting to up or more than your credit limit.

HLB have been waiving my AF for years so don't really care about the swiping 2 times per month.

If you see the posts here, most people going for rebates and discount instead of what type of card and that applies to me too going for "downgrade".

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 5 2009, 08:37 AM
Gen-X
post Jul 5 2009, 08:59 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 5 2009, 08:45 AM)
I guess the game in life is like that, it falls into stages, achievements and hierarchy in the society. Thats why we have levels in organizations, types of examinations (1st class honors, 2nd upper, 2nd lower degrees and etc). For example a piece of degree is just a plain paper with some scriblings on it but wht matters is the core value of the contents of that paper.

Thanks for your view on my thread.
Welcome, i was replying to your post and FYI this is not your thread! You did start another thread with the same post but it is going to be closed soon by the mod tongue.gif

Don't want to be rude, you are going off topic (OT) with your post above i.e. what you mentioned got nothing to do with CC. But since you are new here it is understandable.
Gen-X
post Jul 5 2009, 06:57 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Fala @ Jul 5 2009, 03:30 PM)
Just observing and wanted to point out something. For the guy who mentioned "Why is HLB giving you 30k limit Plat when your annual income is 60k". I was laughing at this statement dude! Annual income does not represents a person's "value". He might have few hundred k's sitting in FD or other assets which you can't see on the "surface" Only the banks knows how much your risk and worth. You might be earning 100k per annum but if you have no assets/savings = it equals to 0. smile.gif
To me what tinkerbel mentioned was not incorrect because zazaza2009 mentioned that his/her income was just above RM60K (please note income does not mean salary, it can be from royalties, rental, dividens, etc) and did not elaborate further;moreover, getting a Plat was like such a big thing to her/him (i.e. sign up as LYN member this morning to tell us he/she had obtained a Plat card).

zazara2009 also failed to mentioned in her/his earlier post about her/her business relationship with HLB, and like I mentioned HLB valued his/her business and thus not surprising upgraded his/her CC to Platinum which is simply a marketing strategy to keep her/his CC account as most of us here knows that HLB CC benefits are just so so.

Moreover if one got RM200-300K or more in FD with a bank, the bank would have issued a Plat CC to her/him long ago.

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 5 2009, 06:02 PM)
Finally I met someone who understand the thing I am trying to say. Bravo......to FALA
Huh...what was the thing you were trying to say? Other people have gold card with CL higher compared to yours, so what does this mean?

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 5 2009, 05:53 PM)
Common, wake up la, 2 times only la, not 200 times per month. Furthermore the swipe is in ANY amount, be it rm50 per swipe for my MyVi or RM80 for my VIOS.
Once again what does you owing 2 compact cars have to do with CC?

What I can tell you is that you getting nothing with HLB CC for pumping petrol. Better you go apply a non Plat card that gives you 2% to 5% rebate for petrol.

Added on July 5, 2009, 7:01 pm
QUOTE(darenong @ Jul 5 2009, 06:55 PM)
with all the info in these threads .... im officially confused ! blink.gif  haha

can anyone advise which bank offers debit card which "works well" with pay pal and ebay ? particularly for buying n selling using ebay and paypal ? reading from the threads im sure AMBank is a BIG NO - as their customer service is like a busy mamak stall ... im looking into Standard Chartered and Hong Leong bank ??? hmm.gif

Not interested in using credit card thou  whistling.gif  .... as it's very very troublesome when u wanna get out of trouble with a troubled-credit card ? lolx sorry if that is confusing ...  blush.gif

ur advise is highly appreciated ..  notworthy.gif

xoxo lol  biggrin.gif  icon_question.gif  rclxub.gif
go to thread below for debit card

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/457588

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 5 2009, 07:01 PM
Gen-X
post Jul 6 2009, 01:47 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jul 6 2009, 10:37 AM)
no also..now I'm looking at UOB one card and petronas maybankard.. biggrin.gif
it is good to take? hmm.gif
UOB one cards only gives you rebate at BHP petrol if not mistaken. Yes, you can consider MBB Petronas card.

Like I mentioned, you can consider Direct Access or Standard Chatered Bank Just One where they give rebate for ALL petrol stations.

Another option is Public Bank Day2Day Debit card where they have 1% rebate for groceries and petrol.

QUOTE(fylon @ Jul 6 2009, 10:42 AM)
Hi guys, just another quick question from me. laugh.gif Anyways, guys is it by place a minimum amout of FD (eg. 5k) on bank and one can be eligible for applying credit card? Asking this question is be cause of one my fren (which is only having RM900/month salary but she place RM5k FD in MBB and the bank offer her Petronas CC. It just happened like month ago.
yah, somebank allows you to pledge you FD for CC limit even if you do not qualify for minimum income. Can't really remeber but I think HLB smartlink account allow you to do so
Gen-X
post Jul 6 2009, 07:21 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hiiragizawa @ Jul 6 2009, 02:11 PM)
I've seen plenty of these in this thread but I do not see it on the website itself.

http://www.directaccess.com.my/index.php?c...ard&ac=9&tpt=da
David83 did post the link last week, see post 365 in this thread. DA MC gets rebate at all petrol stations and DA Visa gets rebates at Giant and Tesco. For your easy reference, click on link below provided by David83:

http://www.directaccess.com.my/pdf/Visa%20...uper%20Card.pdf

QUOTE(boonsin23 @ Jul 6 2009, 01:57 PM)
Bro i think at current stage, SCB Just1 card Cash Rebates are only available @ Petronas, Esso and Mobil. In addition, they are working with other petro operators to offer more benefits. I received the broacher says that oh.
winner have confirmed that SCB JustOne do get rebates at Shell but in the counter and best of all he has come out with a way to inform the counter to press CR by sticking a note there rclxms.gif
Gen-X
post Jul 6 2009, 10:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Jul 6 2009, 10:38 PM)
The 5X reward thing is for limited period or it's for good? Wanna know it better B4 apply. Thank.
As of date, it is for good but then again we never know in the future.
Gen-X
post Jul 7 2009, 08:40 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Part of article in The Star Today

"Citibank, which has over a million cardholders, is currently one of the local market leaders in the card segment with a market share of almost 20%.

According to RAM Ratings, Citibank, Maybank and CIMB Bank were ranked first, second and third respectively in terms of the amount of credit card receivables as at Sept 30, 2008.

Credit card receivables are outstanding loans.

Citibank’s credit card receivables amounted to RM4.4bil, followed by Maybank’s RM3.32bil and CIMB Bank’s RM2.57bil in that period
."

Gen-X
post Jul 9 2009, 09:04 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(creed @ Jul 9 2009, 08:28 AM)
Thanks for the head-up, but its back in 2008 and moreover i already settled the payment, what could I do now?  sad.gif
I am surprised that you were not given increase CL as you claimed you have been paying in full. How about you asking for upgrade to HLB Plat since you qualify for SCB Plat. Another option, write an email to HLB and let them know your dissapointment.

SCB is quite stringent, apply with other banks. Next time you go 1U and Midvalley, stop by the many credit card booths and apply for all, sure you get 1 card. If you have FD with a particular bank, try apply CC with that bank and state the account number their your easy reference.
Gen-X
post Jul 9 2009, 07:47 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(mc2009 @ Jul 9 2009, 12:21 PM)
Do you know which bank offer the best balance transfer rate?
As posted by winner at post 679, CIMB offer 0% interest for 6 months with 1.5% upfront handling fees. This is for new account only.

Public bank also offer competitive rates for BT.

6 months 1.5% upfront (same as CIMB)
12 months 2.5% upfront
24 months 5% upfront

click on my signature for info other Balance Transfer.
Gen-X
post Jul 10 2009, 11:21 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(*devilelle* @ Jul 10 2009, 10:07 AM)
A friend of mine told me that, nowadays if you don have any loan in any bank, you are not entitle to get a credit card??? i asked her where she got the info, she said is from one of her friend that work in bank...

Where got such ruling that need loan with any bank to get CC.

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 10 2009, 10:36 AM)
I was in your position once, i.e., I only hold 1 card and that was Amex. But I gave it up when Dell computer do not accept Amex and this is ridiculous. A top US computer company not accepting an American card?

Dell do accept Amex accept that it does not have installments plan and quite slow for it to get approved.
Gen-X
post Jul 11 2009, 09:25 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Jul 11 2009, 08:48 AM)
Looking for another backup CC coz my HSBC gonna 1 year, only use once biggrin.gif

Primary use CIMB hehe
since you got CIMB, can you also apply for Direct Access? By the way, do you get petrol rebate with CIMB card?

You still can keep you HSBC as backup, some people said need to swipe 6 times to get AF waiver, me on the other hand was told by CS got to swipe 12 times. So just call CS and confirm your case and then swipe the required number of times and then keep in wallet as back up.

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 11 2009, 09:11 AM)
I use Miau Bank normally as it convenient to pay bill. How HSBC?
For people like you who likes to go shopping tongue.gif HSBC good if you shop at Midvalley.
Gen-X
post Jul 14 2009, 08:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(brutus @ Jul 14 2009, 07:00 PM)
anyone of you heard gold cc having credit limit of >RM30K?
well my non gold card RHB EVO CL >30K. Years ago my UOB and HLB before upgrade to Plat also >RM30K. My AMEX Gold CC now also >RM30K (initially gave me RM20K).
Gen-X
post Jul 16 2009, 01:05 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(changjie83 @ Jul 15 2009, 10:59 PM)
thanks. ok i wait patiently first, at the mean time i actually apply a card using my directorship. its 2nd week....i haven't receive any call yet.
I would think the most important thing to qualify for CC is that you can proof the income requirement and got no bad financial records.

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 01:01 AM)
@vin_ann,
Er.. maybe the bonus points are calculated later?!  Damn... if I cancelled my card, then my 8x bonus points on my Amex mai wasted la hor?! sad.gif

yah 8X rewards points only be calculated after promotion period. When is your AF due?
Gen-X
post Jul 16 2009, 01:49 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 01:22 AM)
@Gen-X,
Unfortunately, it's due 23rd July 2009 !!!
Any chance of AF being waived? Did you asked if you downgrade to Gold will you still get the 8X MR?
Gen-X
post Jul 16 2009, 07:47 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 16 2009, 05:34 PM)
somehow, when im pay interbank, i feel uneasy... i only will know the result 2 days later whether i have transfer / pay to other bank account correctly or not.

while for the same bank, from saving account pay to credit card account, it's immediate effect, even i pay 1 day late for Public bank, they did not charges me late payment.
As of 1st July, banks are to give 3 days grace period for payment.

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jul 16 2009, 07:27 PM)
Hello,
Should I call the bank to let them know that I already sign up auto payment by using my credit card at Digi center?
Thank you.
You don't need to call the bank.
Gen-X
post Jul 16 2009, 09:22 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(taxpayer @ Jul 16 2009, 09:00 PM)
yeah i've heard that SCB has issued platinum cards to people with annual income of 70k ish. That's why i cant be bothered using their cards. No exclusivity. Do you know anyone who have applied for that card in malaysia?
every bank is competing among each other to get customers, won't be surprise in 5 years time, people with less than RM100K PA income will also qualify for Infinite. just like Plat where annual income had to be >RM100 when it was first introduced.

If you read the earlier posts, many people here have Infinite and there is even a photos of cards. The only really exclusive card here so far where none of the other LYN members have is vampbreak's AMEX Centurion Card.
Gen-X
post Jul 16 2009, 10:09 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Michael_G @ Jul 16 2009, 09:44 PM)
AHHHHHHHHHHH.. I'm back again.!! guess what??? i got rejected apply younique.. @.@ how come??? last week i went to apply and today letter arrived.. sad.gif
Wah, very efficient one week already get letter. Call them and ask and maybe you'll get an answer. Like winner mentioned, go apply for other cards. Or if you bank with HLB, they do issue card with one of their accounts (smartlink or something like that).
Gen-X
post Jul 17 2009, 06:05 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 17 2009, 03:07 PM)
It doesn't matter whether you are too young or not, the bank will give you approval so long as you meet the income eligibility. Good luck! tongue.gif
yah, age is not an issue as long as you can proof the income requirement.

QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 17 2009, 03:27 PM)
Minimum age set at BNM is 21 for basic card application.
Supp card IIRC is 18.
Yes supp card holder needs to be 18 years old and above for CC.

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 17 2009, 02:08 PM)
CL is important
MR/TP is even more important
Paying your bill in full is super important !!
Color of Card however (unless it's black )...ermm..50-50  laugh.gif

But the point is = Only spend money, if you have money...  tongue.gif
Just to add, benefits and offers that comes along with the card is most important.
Gen-X
post Jul 18 2009, 12:16 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Michael_G @ Jul 17 2009, 11:17 PM)
hurm CIMB DA. the requirement abit the high le. LOL
some more im not degree holder le. @.@ i think i know why alliance bank reject me. cause i told the lady im diploma holder only.. @.@ but im actually in advance diploma does it make any different? tongue.gif
UOB Vox and UOB one card i cant find the requirements in the net le. what u think bout these 2 cards?
and also citibank shell card and cimb petronas?
Bro, just apply any CC, sure one will accept and after 1 year, if you have good records i.e. no late payments, you will find that you can easily can other cards.
Gen-X
post Jul 18 2009, 10:50 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Just saw ad in The Star for DA, promotion period 18 May to 18 Aug

Spend >20K Free MEndoza Back Pack
Spend >40K Free Olympus FE45 DC
Spend >60K Free SE F305
Spend >80K Free Toshiba 19" LCD
Spend >100K Free Dell Mini 10

Above guaranteed free gife unlike HSBC and Citi need to sms and limited.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0659sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:25 PM