6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Panasonic Plasma G10 vs S10, To NeoPDP or Not?

aiz1j
post Jun 20 2009, 01:25 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 19 2009, 07:11 PM)
There is plenty of Full HD 42" LCD in the market now for a liitle more than RM3k.  So do you think a lot of consumers will not think that the 42S is overprice?
Never in history, Full HD plasma is so affordable. Previously the price difference btwn fullHD plasma and HD plasma was more than RM10k. Now with S10, fullHD plasma is within reach, like a dream come true. Do you think these people will let this opportunity go away?. Unlike fullHD LCD which has always been within reach, pricewise - logically nothing special.
lightning69
post Jun 20 2009, 01:35 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(aiz1j @ Jun 20 2009, 01:25 AM)
Never in history, Full HD plasma is so affordable. Previously the price difference btwn fullHD plasma and HD plasma was more than RM10k. Now with S10, fullHD plasma is within reach, like a dream come true. Do you think these people will let this opportunity go away?. Unlike fullHD LCD which has always been within reach, pricewise - logically nothing special.
I guess it won't be wrong to say never has been a Full HD LCD so affordable in history...its only half the price of the Full HD plasma! In the end the consumer will decide whether Rm3000 is cheaper or Rm6000 is cheaper.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Jun 20 2009, 01:39 AM
g88
post Jun 20 2009, 02:23 AM

1,631 posts

Anyone compare G10 vs Kuro ?
michaeltan1943
post Jun 20 2009, 07:59 AM

1,024 posts

actually, the price of the S here is cheaper than even US. And US has the cheapest plasma prices in the world.
WereWolf84
post Jun 20 2009, 08:19 AM

984 posts

Anyone know whether P42G10 hv display at Best Denki or not? coz I'm planning to go to hv an audition on this new plasma
TSLone*Wolf
post Jun 20 2009, 05:44 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jun 20 2009, 02:23 AM)
Anyone compare G10 vs Kuro ?
Kuro wins, hands down. BTW, can we narrow down this thread to G10 (NeoPDP) vs S10, pls? Thanks.

Added on June 20, 2009, 5:47 pm
QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Jun 20 2009, 08:19 AM)
Anyone know whether P42G10 hv display at Best Denki or not? coz I'm planning to go to hv an audition on this new plasma
Pls do let us know if you happen to see the G10 in action! Particularly whether the NeoPDP makes a RM2K difference or not over the S10 smile.gif

This post has been edited by Lone*Wolf: Jun 20 2009, 05:47 PM
daryl.k
post Jun 23 2009, 06:19 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Jun 19 2009, 07:19 PM)
A direct answer, thank you.  May I know why?  Due to the price difference?  Or the improvements over the older (cheaper) panel is insignificant?
quite simply the price...if one is keen & concern bout the 'improvements & differences, then dun matter what price la, 20k also can...

for me, if can get 90% of features at RM3.5k, its not worth the extra RM1.5k for the remaining 10% cos i'm a noob...i dun think it'll make much difference to my eyes whether its NEO PDP or THX cert display..as long as my BD movies plays fine...done!

unless of course all the banks has run out of compartments for my cash...then no problems icon_idea.gif
HaVoC
post Jun 24 2009, 04:41 PM

.:Steam Cutter:.
1,192 posts

Can someone that has actually seen the G10 and compare the 2 panels comment? yawn.gif
TSLone*Wolf
post Jun 25 2009, 02:08 PM

1,442 posts

Yeah, I am a bit surprised that most dealers have not displayed the G10 yet, though it has been delivered early last week.

BUT, I am sure the LYN dealers here have gotten the models already, seeing that they are selling it now in the Trade Zone. So any of them care to compare and comment hmm.gif
sailou
post Jun 25 2009, 03:46 PM

617 posts

Probably the dealers are skeptical of the sales because of the price. Maybe this will alarmed the Panasonic into reducing their price for G10. I've actually seen a 42G10 in Jusco Alpha Angle once during the roadshow. It puzzles me why they don't display the model after the roadshow.

Maybe someone can check out Jusco in 1U which frequently does a Panasonic roadshow.
tennis_ball
post Jun 25 2009, 05:18 PM

35 posts

in the future, it will be more affordable. so what's your point?

it ain't like stock, which can go up. wink.gif
TSLone*Wolf
post Jun 25 2009, 08:01 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ Jun 25 2009, 03:46 PM)
Probably the dealers are skeptical of the sales because of the price. Maybe this will alarmed the Panasonic into reducing their price for G10. I've actually seen a 42G10 in Jusco Alpha Angle once during the roadshow. It puzzles me why they don't display the model after the roadshow.

Maybe someone can check out Jusco in 1U which frequently does a Panasonic roadshow.
However....

If the PQ difference the NeoPDP makes is much greater than the price difference, then dealers should sing about it, so to arouse interest and ultimately increasing sales of the G10?

Or maybe not much to say about it ??? ... sweat.gif
WereWolf84
post Jun 25 2009, 09:48 PM

984 posts

Maybe PQ & SQ of P42G10 is not much diference from P42S10 but price is much much higher...so hmm.gif
michaeltan1943
post Jun 26 2009, 12:57 AM

1,024 posts

it is definitely doomed to have very low sales for people would be wondering...why buy double the price for slight improvement in PQ that might not even be physically visible to the human eye.
putih
post Jun 26 2009, 03:12 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 26 2009, 12:57 AM)
it is definitely doomed to have very low sales for people would be wondering...why buy double the price for slight improvement in PQ that might not even be physically visible to the human eye.
May be a bit off topic. I think the latest generations of Panasonic plasma is really bad in PQ. The earlier models for example 800 and 850 was quite competing to Pioneer Kuro (well not close but there's a fight there), but the latest gen i.e. S and X series, especially S, are really bad IMHO. I checked them out last weekend because they were hotly discussed here and elsewhere, but was shocked to see the black level was really bad ... it was really grey and contrast level dropped crazily. I'm not starting a flame for S owners, but why panasonic sacrifice so much to lower the price? icon_question.gif Even optoma HD65 projector on 80 inch screen produces better black level. LOL...... To be honest, due to the terrible black level and highly reflective double layer glass screen, I would easily move to the LCD camp. But I will save money hard to buy Kuro KRP500A because the picture is soooooo beautiful wub.gif . Dreaming....
WereWolf84
post Jun 26 2009, 08:22 AM

984 posts

Anyone already have an audition for the P42G10? Mind to share your reviews here?
John Tan
post Jun 26 2009, 04:17 PM

Anyone see the unit display in Penang Island yet?

I am looking forwards to see the unit. Look at the US review so good and so good..

The problem i found now is that the unit did not comes with any BluRay player, or some purchase with purchase plan.

Add to the message ya, once have the news where to see the display unit..

tennis_ball
post Jun 26 2009, 04:24 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(putih @ Jun 26 2009, 03:12 AM)
May be a bit off topic. I think the latest generations of Panasonic plasma is really bad in PQ. The earlier models for example 800 and 850 was quite competing to Pioneer Kuro (well not close but there's a fight there), but the latest gen i.e. S and X series, especially S, are really bad IMHO. I checked them out last weekend because they were hotly discussed here and elsewhere, but was shocked to see the black level was really bad ... it was really grey and contrast level dropped crazily. I'm not starting a flame for S owners, but why panasonic sacrifice so much to lower the price?  icon_question.gif  Even optoma HD65 projector on 80 inch screen produces better black level. LOL......  To be honest, due to the terrible black level and highly reflective double layer glass screen, I would easily move to the LCD camp. But I will save money hard to buy Kuro KRP500A because the picture is soooooo beautiful  wub.gif . Dreaming....
most reviews online said otherwise.

and the G10 in US with THX is a lot improved over the PY800 and even better than the reference Kuro in some aspects.

u know, the PY800 design with the silver bar at bottom is really ugly, in aesthetics department.

This post has been edited by tennis_ball: Jun 26 2009, 04:24 PM
xrossf1re
post Jun 26 2009, 04:31 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(putih @ Jun 26 2009, 03:12 AM)
May be a bit off topic. I think the latest generations of Panasonic plasma is really bad in PQ. The earlier models for example 800 and 850 was quite competing to Pioneer Kuro (well not close but there's a fight there), but the latest gen i.e. S and X series, especially S, are really bad IMHO. I checked them out last weekend because they were hotly discussed here and elsewhere, but was shocked to see the black level was really bad ... it was really grey and contrast level dropped crazily. I'm not starting a flame for S owners, but why panasonic sacrifice so much to lower the price?  icon_question.gif  Even optoma HD65 projector on 80 inch screen produces better black level. LOL......  To be honest, due to the terrible black level and highly reflective double layer glass screen, I would easily move to the LCD camp. But I will save money hard to buy Kuro KRP500A because the picture is soooooo beautiful  wub.gif . Dreaming....
Now you're being ridiculous. S-X series are catered for low end market. You're comparing 2k-3k plasma with 6k-8k PY800 and PY850 is ridiculous. You pay for what you get. You espect to pay proton saga price to get the performance of a BMW? And I have seen my friend's HD65 projector, the black level cannot beat even Panasonic C10 plasma. There must be something wrong with your eyes. shakehead.gif S10 black level is very good for the price. It is nearly as good a PY800. I think either your shop you went screwed up the settings, or you need to get your eyes checked by optometrist - complimentary from me.
azbro
post Jun 26 2009, 06:21 PM

4,403 posts

hmm..i have a old Plasma PV70...I think it super great watching HD movies on it especially with 1080p input from a media player..pictures are so clear and sharp and the color is brilliant..

I wonder am I missing a lot with the new panels and engine?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0216sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:59 PM