Tire discussion thread V1~, come in n discuse about tires~
michael9413
Jan 22 2010, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(kobe10 @ Jan 21 2010, 10:22 PM) Just need some advice yeah.. I am getting my CPS waja soon. I plan to change my rim and tyre..i dont like that rim and the Good year NCT5.. 15 or 16 inch better for a fast driver with noob skill?PP2 too exp..4XX per tyre... any advice please.. well for 15" tire you still can get a good tire at RM200~300 but if you wanna change to 16" i think u need to rethink about that... it cost u at least RM300~400 for 1 tire... ur choice man... there is another phrase, when u change to 16" y not 17" then??? it's tire is almost similar in price... haha... QUOTE(yokatasan @ Jan 22 2010, 10:12 AM) hey i got ques to ask here is it possible that changing to ultra low profile tires without sacrifice comfortable of the car? yes as bro yngwie said u have to choose... it is depends on ur car suspension setup also... low profile tires with hard suspension setup = harsh ride... but good handling high profile tires with soft suspension setup = boat ride... but comfort u have to mix and match what u want... if you have dugong u can change to low profile tires so u can get better handling... if you have CT better don so stupid things as honda suspension setup is not that soft at all...
LanEvo7
Jan 22 2010, 09:42 PM
quick question to all sifus here
is there such thing as Hankook Ventus V12 and Hankook Ventus V12 Evo ? or basically they're referring to the same thing ?
Same goes for Federal 595 and Federal 595 Evo
If it's 2 different tyres, wat r the differences? Pls dun flame me, still new in tyres n their website is nothing but full of marketing crap
michael9413
Jan 22 2010, 09:55 PM
federal got a few 595, 595 Evo and 595 Asymetric... i saw that in a shop... forget how many kind they have already... V12 only got 1 only!!! refer to Kai Shen website for info...
LanEvo7
Jan 22 2010, 10:25 PM
Then the price list for 215/45 latest one on Jan 13 (copied from AW) how come got 2 types ? QUOTE 215/45/R17 Yokohama S-Drive - RM390 Hup Shun Sunway (Dec 2008) Falken ZIEX-912 (THAI) - RM300 @ Ban Hooi, Klang (Dec 2008 Falken ZIEX-912 - RM 320 Euro Zone Dataran Sunway (April09) Falken Azenis ST115 - RM360 Stamford Tyre, Shah Alam (Dec 2008) Nankang NSII Ultra Sport - RM198 @ Kedai Papan, Klang (Dec 2008) Hankook V12 - RM317 Tek Ming, Sunway (Apr 2009) (with trade in of your old tyres) Hankook V12 - RM310.00 @Teoh Brothers Bayu Perdana (Bukit Tinggi) Dunlop Revspec - RM 330 Tek Ming, Sunway (Apr 2009) (with trade in of your old tyres) Goodyear F1 asymmetry- RM425 inclusive rubber valve, balancing, alignment and Credit card charges, Quicksave 9/4/09 Goodyear revspec RS02(Japan)- RM 368 Quicksave (April)- other charges not included GY Semi Slick RS Sport - RM330 (05/09) - ED tyres S.Alam Continental SC1 - RM 255 Euro Zone Dataran Sunway (April09) Falken Ze 522 - RM 240 Euro Zone Dataran Sunway (April09) Goodyear F1 asymmetry- RM370 inclusive rubber valve, balancing, alignment@ Goodyear, JLN Tiong hua, kluang, johor April 09 Toyo C1S - RM430 (May09) ,Ed tyres S.Alam Treadwear 300,AA,A Michelin Primacy LC - RM450per piece (free alignment + balancing) - July 09 Federal 595 Evo (taiwan) (240,AA,A) RM320 @ Apex Tyre Sunway Dec 2009 Bridgestone Re-001 (japan) RM420 @ Apex Tyre Sunway Dec 2009 Hankook Ventus V12 Evo (korea) RM330 @ Tek Ming Sunway Dec 2009 Goodyear F1 GSD-3 (thai) RM350 @ Tek Ming Dec 2009 Goodyear F1 Asy (china) RM385 @ Pusat Tayar Klang, Kota Kemuning Dec 2009 Goodyear F1 Asy (china) RM380 @ Ban Hooi Klang Dec 2009 Goodyear F1 Asy (china) RM330 @ Apex Sunway Dec 2009 -- not really sure, he said he can give that price, hehe.. So r they referring to the same thing or not? just double confirming ..
michael9413
Jan 22 2010, 10:26 PM
same la... i'm using it now... since may 09...
LanEvo7
Jan 22 2010, 10:29 PM
okok .. clear then .. hehe gonna change da fronts tomorrow .. it's either this or Federal .. let's see
This post has been edited by LanEvo7: Jan 22 2010, 10:29 PM
mazda626
Jan 23 2010, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jan 19 2010, 04:51 PM) ............Kumho Ecsta SPT also have 205/50 R16...... Bro, is this the FORTE currently used rite ? .....
mikeair
Jan 23 2010, 12:20 PM
LanEvo7, so u change to federal ? plz review
vexus
Jan 23 2010, 02:59 PM
hey yokohama C drive and falken ziex 912
which one is better for comfort and long lasting.
Intrigue
Jan 23 2010, 05:08 PM
just to check with u guys...
my current tyre Michelin MXV8 wear is around the second stroke of E from a 20cent coin above the safety mark at the tyre thread.
Is it still driveable or need to change?
michael9413
Jan 23 2010, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(vexus @ Jan 23 2010, 02:59 PM) hey yokohama C drive and falken ziex 912 which one is better for comfort and long lasting. er... i think 912 is good but i heard C Drive not bad also... Long lasting change to Duraplus la... 100k km... QUOTE(Intrigue @ Jan 23 2010, 05:08 PM) just to check with u guys... my current tyre Michelin MXV8 wear is around the second stroke of E from a 20cent coin above the safety mark at the tyre thread. Is it still driveable or need to change? well er... it is recommended to change at 2mm... or the safety ridge... a horizontal block across ur linear thread...
LanEvo7
Jan 24 2010, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(mikeair @ Jan 23 2010, 12:20 PM) LanEvo7, so u change to federal ? plz review nope dude, I had to settle for Hankook Ventus V8 RS instead.
yngwie
Jan 24 2010, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jan 23 2010, 08:38 PM) er... i think 912 is good but i heard C Drive not bad also... Long lasting change to Duraplus la... 100k km... well er... it is recommended to change at 2mm... or the safety ridge... a horizontal block across ur linear thread... you are right! 912 is more comfortable and quiet compare to c.drive. tested both. c.drive offer more fun in winding road though. duraplus last longer but the capability in emergency braking sux..
McRyan
Jan 24 2010, 10:26 PM
guys, need advice i got my vios j last week n i have bought vios G rim+tires which was made on week50 of 2007, still have 95% thread my Question is will the tires get harder n become not good as its 3 years old jor? or i shld stick wf my new J rim besi 1st, after few years aldy baru i tukar new tires wf the G spec rim ?
michael9413
Jan 25 2010, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(McRyan @ Jan 24 2010, 10:26 PM) guys, need advice i got my vios j last week n i have bought vios G rim+tires which was made on week50 of 2007, still have 95% thread my Question is will the tires get harder n become not good as its 3 years old jor? or i shld stick wf my new J rim besi 1st, after few years aldy baru i tukar new tires wf the G spec rim ? well i can use it as long as it don have any minor crack... and it is only 2yo++ already... so u can use it until middle of the year but careful on the Ori tires as it is not that good also... if you wanna change suggested to change toe 195/55 R15 to get a bit lower in the profile and wider thread... try Michelin PP2 i trust that will fit Dugong well...
william68
Jan 25 2010, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(yokatasan @ Jan 22 2010, 10:12 AM) hey i got ques to ask here is it possible that changing to ultra low profile tires without sacrifice comfortable of the car? It is possible to a certain extend but it will not be 100% similar to the OEM comfort. And it come at some cost too. This is categorized under suspension, chassis and wheel tuning.
leftist
Jan 25 2010, 09:55 AM
plan to change my noisy maxxis 195/55/r15 tyre to yoko A drive..its for my wife's myvi..is there a better tyre than yoko??...i prefer a comfort,quiet & gud braking on wet..at least can tahan 40k km b4 botak..my max budget rm200 per tyre
michael9413
Jan 25 2010, 10:03 AM
i think Hankook V12 suits u but there is a down side which it is directional and a lil noisy than A Drive... or u can try Falken 912 which is comfort and nice...
raptar_eric
Jan 25 2010, 10:05 AM
hankook v12 is good, i'm using it now, i speed at around 120 on rainy days, still quite good braking... however, abit hard to find edi, cos teck ming @ sunway no longer distributing hankook anymore =( any other tyres which are on par with hankook v12, with around the same pricing? recommend plz sifus
michael9413
Jan 25 2010, 10:32 AM
no la... V12 is very cheap indeed compare to my previous PP2... u cannot get anything like that already... but PP2 will surely top V12 on the Hydroplaning  i had done 140km/h raining cats and dog on the way from S.Petani (Kedah) back to Penang Island... V12 i had experience some hydroplaning already (around 20~30% used) at Klang Valley areas...  the comfortness, traction V12 tops PP2 but not much but handling at high speed PP2 tops V12... actually this 2 tires is like opposite character... Comfort, High Grip in Corners (dry/wet), Braking distance (dry/wet) V12 tops it... Quietness, Handling in Highspeed, Hydroplaninng Wet PP2 tops it... so is like what you want... i will choose back PP2 anytime... but V12 is a alternative choice for me... BTW what size are you using... i assume u are using similar as mine 195/55 R15 by the budget that u set...