Tire discussion thread V1~, come in n discuse about tires~

yngwie
post Jan 24 2011, 07:42 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

FerrariST@
i just trashed a set(x4) of thunderer mach 3(deep directional tread) to the max.
to be honest, i did not expect it to perform in such a way that it was just a rung below the gsd3 in wet(match the gsd3 in traction but lose out in grip).
alos, behave well after 10 minutes of constant driving at average of 190km/h speed which is expected for a zr rating tire except the rubber could be a little soft in high temperature.
only drawback was it's slightly softer sidewall but this can be countered by pumping in a higher psi. so, far it withstand the punishment
quite well.
easily a better buy than the china made kumho ku-36( i sold mine to a friend after using to 2.3k km mileage while
the thunderer is now transferred to my 2nd ride and it's already covered more than 5.8k km mileage) or the more expensive but lousy 522.

michael9413@
i think you mistaken my comment tongue.gif . i mentioned semi-slick sux in wet and i wasn't referring to thunderer tire at all which is not a semi-slick tire.
so far, this cheap thunderer tire is quite promising. in fact i just transferred the tire to my 2nd ride for further trashing.
was purposely driving at 70km/h during heavy rain in mex highway(after the salak selatan toll to jalan tun razak) the other day and tire did not disappoint.

conclusion ; recommended for those on tight budget but beware of the noise level. ex-gsd3 user should know well whistling.gif .

e_k1117
post Jan 24 2011, 07:45 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jan 24 2011, 08:23 AM)
well for me the list is
1.Goodyear F1 Asy
2.Hankook V12
3.Toyo CT01/C1S
4.N8000 (give it a try coz ppl say cheap and nice comparable with 912)
5.Falken 912

tire price has been hike up end of last year...

yaya... dunno it will go down or not... but should be imposible.... sad.gif
btw,
just wondering har.. can change 2 front 1st.... then only decide whether the tyre is suitable or not... laugh.gif maybe change 2pcs og V12 1st.. if feels good then only chnage the 2 rear one...
haha.... anyone try before? or one shot change all 4pcs...

FerrariST
post Jan 24 2011, 09:47 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jan 24 2011, 06:39 PM)
well your choice... wink.gif you lowered ur ride that is a limitation already so choose a size which will not hit ur fender...
that tire thread looks good but will be noisy... if you don mind u can try... 
So you suggest that i go for Hankook V12 instead for quieter ride? icon_idea.gif

Added on January 24, 2011, 9:54 pm
QUOTE(yngwie @ Jan 24 2011, 07:42 PM)
FerrariST@
i just trashed a set(x4) of thunderer mach 3(deep directional tread) to the max.
to be honest, i did not expect it to perform in such a way that it was just a rung below the gsd3 in wet(match the gsd3 in traction but lose out in grip).
alos, behave well  after 10 minutes of constant driving at average of 190km/h speed which is expected for a zr rating tire except the rubber could be a little soft in high temperature.
only drawback was it's slightly softer sidewall but this can be countered by pumping in a higher psi. so, far it withstand the punishment
quite well.
easily a better buy than the china made kumho ku-36( i sold mine to a friend after using to 2.3k km mileage while
the thunderer is now transferred to my 2nd ride and it's already covered more than 5.8k km mileage) or the more expensive but lousy 522.
michael9413@
i think you mistaken my comment  tongue.gif . i mentioned semi-slick sux in wet and i wasn't referring to thunderer tire at all which is not a semi-slick tire.
so far, this cheap thunderer tire is quite promising. in fact i just transferred the tire to my 2nd ride for further trashing.
was purposely driving at 70km/h during heavy rain in mex highway(after the salak selatan toll to jalan tun razak) the other day and tire did not disappoint.

conclusion ; recommended for those on tight budget but beware of the noise level. ex-gsd3 user should know well  whistling.gif .
Really that good for a new brand? Wow, sadly i had decided to go for Federal 595 SS, will be making my purchase for the tire and new set of rims. However, ill take in consideration the next time.

How bad is the noise level? Is Gsd3 as bad as sime Astar tire?

Sime Astar performance and noise level really doh.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by FerrariST: Jan 24 2011, 09:54 PM
michael9413
post Jan 24 2011, 09:56 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

no... those directional tires will not be quiet though... V12 is a good in terms of noise but it will couldn't compare with RE001, PS3 and some others Asymmetric tires... ur 595 SS looks like will be more noisy than V12, because of it's thread design...

if you want a quiet drive then skip those Directional tires...
is your choice at the end...
FerrariST
post Jan 24 2011, 10:01 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jan 24 2011, 09:56 PM)

Thanks for the feedback, the listed tire are slightly over my budget, anyway i slightly understand about tire now, thanks to your explanation.
michael9413
post Jan 24 2011, 10:04 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

budget is important but in the end it still your satisfaction level after you get the tires... smile.gif
remember to tire is the only contact to the ground about 1 palm size, so it is around 4 palm size of contact patch for your car to the ground only...
so choose wisely and do not save a lil to risk your life... smile.gif
Auwen
post Jan 24 2011, 11:21 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jan 24 2011, 02:21 PM)
195/55 R15 u can get nice tires with better comfort at cheaper price too...
205/50 R16 is wider in also make ur stance wider also...
195/55 R15
Pros :
More Comfort
Cheaper Tires (below RM300 u can get good performance tire)
better FC (compare to 205/45 R16 or 205/50 R15, of course might be a lil more compare to 185/55 R16)
better acceleration (compare to 205/45 R16 or 205/50 R15, of course might be a lil slower if u compare to 185/55 R16)

Cons :
Handling poorer (still depends what tire you are using)
the gap of the fender with ur wheels might look bigger (but in the fact it just maintaining)
205/45 R16 or 205/50 R16
Pros :
Better handling (still depends what tire you are using)
the gap looks smaller between ur wheels and the fender... (but in the fact it just maintaining)

Cons :
Expensive (above RM300 only can get good performance tires)
lack of comfort (as we all knows that Honda car's suspension is on the hard side)
increase of FC (compare to 195/55 R15 or ur original size)
slower acceleration also...

there is a few key points that will affect your handling and comfort too... it depends on the tire's sidewall properties...
regards on $$$ it depends on individual,
195/55 R15 u can get Hankook V12 Evo ~RM200, PS3 ~RM260, RE001 ~RM260, Federal 595 Evo ~RM260...
205/50 R16 u only get PS3 ~RM450, RE001 ~RM400, Federal 595 Evo ~RM340, Hankook V12 Evo (205/45 R16) ~RM300...

so it depend on individual... smile.gif what you want and willing to spend...
very thank u for ur analysis notworthy.gif ....i oso consider with this...tayar made me rclxub.gif ...coz if using 205/50/r16...it might wanna change the rim oso ...original cant fit....
tayar price was increase to much from 15inch to 16 inch...tat why many ppl ask me to consider 17 inch....anywhere...will do some reaserch 1st....

beside this....anyone got using Kumho Ku31??? smile.gif

FerrariST
post Jan 25 2011, 12:08 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(Auwen @ Jan 24 2011, 11:21 PM)
very thank u for ur  analysis  notworthy.gif ....i oso consider with this...tayar made me  rclxub.gif ...coz if using 205/50/r16...it might wanna change the rim oso ...original cant fit....
tayar price was increase to much from 15inch to 16 inch...tat why many ppl ask me to consider 17 inch....anywhere...will do some reaserch 1st....

Refer To yngwie post to me

FerrariST@
alos, behave well after 10 minutes of constant driving at average of 190km/h speed which is expected for a zr rating tire except the rubber could be a little soft in high temperature.
quite well.
michael9413
post Jan 25 2011, 07:44 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(Auwen @ Jan 24 2011, 11:21 PM)
very thank u for ur  analysis  notworthy.gif ....i oso consider with this...tayar made me  rclxub.gif ...coz if using 205/50/r16...it might wanna change the rim oso ...original cant fit....

that one u need to find... not much ppl selling it though the price should be around RM300 for that size...

QUOTE(FerrariST @ Jan 25 2011, 12:08 AM)
Refer To yngwie post to me

FerrariST@
quite well.
that is different la... KU-36 and 31

KU36 is Kumho Ecsta XS (Extreme tires- not good for daily driving as it maximize dry grip while wet grip is poor)

KU31 is Kumho Ecsta SPT (UHP tires- for all kind of condition, decent dry and wet grip...

my fren used this ESPT b4 on his Kenari (165/55 R14) duno where he found it... it is not as good as PP2 but quite decent in overall performance... it's value is about RM30~40 cheaper than Michelin PP2 that time too... means u buy 4 pcs Michelin PP2 u get 5 pcs Kumho ESPT

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jan 25 2011, 08:21 AM
michael9413
post Jan 25 2011, 08:21 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

BTW you all can try to contact SG side whether they know any one in Klang Valley carrying the brand or not...

SG Branch Info from Kumho Tires Website

SINGAPORE BRANCH
22 MALACCA STREET 07-01 A,
ROYALBROTHERS BUILDING,
SINGAPORE 048980
TEL : 65-6536-3852
FAX : 65-6536-3875
E-MAIL : youngkim@kumhotire.com

i manage to google Typepac do sell this model...Tyrepac website for KU31

Tyrepac Malaysia Sdn. Bhd.
No.9, Jalan 201, Off Jalan Tandang
Petaling Jaya,Selangor, 46050
Tel: 03 7783 9309 Fax: 03 7785 9668

Available Tyres By Size:-

165/55 R14 RM150.00

195/50 R15 RM175.00
195/55 R15 RM190.00

195/50 R16 RM230.00
205/45 R16 RM243.00
205/55 R16 RM268.00
215/55 R16 RM335.00
225/55 R16 RM357.00
225/60 R16 RM380.00
235/60 R16 RM355.00

205/40 R17 RM286.00
215/45 R17 RM292.00
215/50 R17 RM355.00
225/45 R17 RM392.00
225/50 R17 RM418.00
Master C
post Jan 25 2011, 12:15 PM

22 posts

Guys/ girls, I need suggestions for brand new tyres.

Tyre at the moment: 205/55/16 Goodyear Excellence
Driving styles: mostly city driving, traffic jam, highways

Requirements:
1. Less than RM350
2. Silent
3. Good for everyday driving cause i'm not a speed demon (never exceed 200kmh)
4. Good during rainy days

I was thinking of getting Goodyear Assurance since it's cheaper than Excellence. Anybody can compared between these two?

or can you guys give me recommendations on what kind of model that is good for my driving style?

This post has been edited by Master C: Jan 25 2011, 01:41 PM
michael9413
post Jan 25 2011, 01:29 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

maybe you can find Toyo CT01 or C1S... both is nice... should be below RM400 too
Master C
post Jan 25 2011, 01:42 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jan 25 2011, 01:29 PM)
maybe you can find Toyo CT01 or C1S... both is nice... should be below RM400 too
I just change my requirement. Budget is less than RM350
michael9413
post Jan 25 2011, 02:33 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

try Nexen N8000 then... or even Continental CPC2...
N8000 should be around RM300 only and CPC should be just below RM350

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jan 25 2011, 02:34 PM
Master C
post Jan 25 2011, 03:19 PM

22 posts

205/55/16
Damn, GR90 is about 480 per piece. AR10 is about RM325. Anybody tried Ecopia yet?

Tyre dealer ask me to check on this:
Hankook V12 - RM310 and Bridgestone AR10

My benchmark is Goodyear Excellence

Added on January 25, 2011, 3:26 pm
QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jan 25 2011, 02:33 PM)
try Nexen N8000 then... or even Continental CPC2...
N8000 should be around RM300 only and CPC should be just below RM350
Thanks, I'll check on that

This post has been edited by Master C: Jan 25 2011, 03:29 PM
michael9413
post Jan 25 2011, 05:29 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(Master C @ Jan 25 2011, 03:19 PM)
205/55/16
Damn, GR90 is about 480 per piece. AR10 is about RM325. Anybody tried Ecopia yet?

Tyre dealer ask me to check on this:
Hankook V12 - RM310 and Bridgestone AR10

My benchmark is Goodyear Excellence

Added on January 25, 2011, 3:26 pm
Thanks, I'll check on that
bro V12 is out coz it is not quiet at all... it thread is directional and it is Higher Range of tires while the once that u are using is more towards middle range and comfort...
V12 is in your list if you don mind the quiet... that is a hard individual preference to get... means my type of quiet might not be ur type...

Ecopia is new so hardly you can find user now... maybe you can give it a try... AR10 is worst than what you are using now so not recommended...

Btw you requirement:-

Requirements:
1. Less than RM350 - u still can get good tires above RM300 no worries...
2. Silent - remember never get Directional threaded tires if you want this...
3. Good for everyday driving cause i'm not a speed demon (never exceed 200kmh) - so all the tires is good for 110km/h but no faster... u might feel ok bu once you start to test it's grip in the corner then you will feel it lose traction already... performance tires of course has better grip but a lil more expensive...
4. Good during rainy days - only higher range of performance tires is better in wet traction... so you want quiet and comfort is a lil hard to get nice nice wet traction tires... maybe CPC2 can fulfill you needs...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jan 25 2011, 05:33 PM
e_k1117
post Jan 25 2011, 06:15 PM

276 posts

just call some tyre shop around Kulim and SP, most of the shop did not have stock for the GY F1 Asym laugh.gif rclxub.gif
have to order from KL... not much demand.....
only 1 shop offered RM410/pcs for the F1 Asym(not sure made in china or Thailand-how to difff?) and 390/pcs for F1 GSD..... and have to wait 2 days for the tyres to arrive.... hmm.gif
now my dilemma would be... rm1600 for 4 GY F1 17", or change back to stock RIM and use the 205/55/R16 which i think should be around that budget also...
btw, roughly how much trade in price for my 20% left PP2 har? laugh.gif
does any1 here what is noise/comfort improvement level for 50% thread F1 Asym compare to my current 20% PP2. (benchmarking)

FD1 pair with [17"GY F1 Asym] vs pair with stock [16" PS3] hmm.gif hmm.gif
what is the % diff of comfortableness(less bumpy)&silent compare to 20% PP2 for both configuration above...
if have >50% improvement then will definitely maintain 17" back....
kindly advice.thanks ya.

wondering all the fd2 user can stand with the bumpy/noisy ride coz their stock alr with 17" RIm... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by e_k1117: Jan 25 2011, 07:39 PM
yngwie
post Jan 25 2011, 07:05 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

FerrariST@
performance is good considering its cheap price. much better than sime astar300 but noise level is about the same with gsd3.
id86
post Jan 25 2011, 07:24 PM

GG
1,052 posts

any recommendation for me?

looking for 195/50 or 55/15 tires.

Spec prefer:
-thread can last quiet long
-reduce aquaplane
-grip in dry or wet
-not so noisy

thanx
michael9413
post Jan 25 2011, 08:31 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(e_k1117 @ Jan 25 2011, 06:15 PM)
just call some tyre shop around Kulim and SP, most of the shop did not have stock for the GY F1 Asym  laugh.gif  rclxub.gif
have to order from KL... not much demand.....
only 1 shop offered RM410/pcs for the F1 Asym(not sure made in china or Thailand-how to difff?) and 390/pcs for F1 GSD..... and have to wait 2 days for the tyres to arrive....  hmm.gif
now my dilemma would be... rm1600 for 4 GY F1 17", or change back to stock RIM and use the 205/55/R16 which i think should be around that budget also...
btw, roughly how much trade in price for my 20% left PP2 har? laugh.gif
does any1 here what is noise/comfort improvement level for 50% thread F1 Asym compare to my current 20% PP2. (benchmarking)

FD1 pair with [17"GY F1 Asym] vs pair with stock [16" PS3] hmm.gif  hmm.gif
what is the % diff of comfortableness(less bumpy)&silent compare to 20% PP2 for both configuration above...
if have >50% improvement then will definitely maintain 17" back....
kindly advice.thanks ya.

wondering all the fd2 user can stand with the bumpy/noisy ride coz their stock alr with 17" RIm...  laugh.gif
well change to more comfort tires will solve it la... C1S, Primacy LC for comfort... or V12, PS3, F1 Asy performance range but the tire size wall is not really hard so it might compensate a lil comfort...

frankly, if you really concern about the comfort then 16" in your choice go for PS3 or V12... but there goes another concern but incoming another where the handling will not be as good as 17" (fitted the same tire)...

if you say PP2 is harsh i understand is just the sidewall is a lil hard to accept, PS3 will be better... it improves the comfort from PP2 and of course the grip too... then here comes another V12 where it is softest between the F1 Asy, PS3 or even PP2, the sidewall flex more during hard cornering but it's grip is never disappointed too... is just you will felt a lil slower response when during high speed maneuver, compare with PP2... i tested with PP2 to V12 b4 so i know even i'm on 195/55 R15 only...
if you wanna maintain your 17" i think V12 is your safest bet... it is below RM350 about RM100/tire cheaper than PS3, although it's performance is like 90%+ overall what u get from PS3 but it is worth the value leh... 4 PS3 vs 5 V12 almost same price leh...

your choice...

QUOTE(id86 @ Jan 25 2011, 07:24 PM)
any recommendation for me?

looking for 195/50 or 55/15 tires.

Spec prefer:
-thread can last quiet long
-reduce aquaplane
-grip in dry or wet
-not so noisy

thanx
i think you can try PS3 or RE001... cost you around RM230~280 for 50 or 55 series... you cannot achieve all 4 especially u mention the grip in dry and wet, as most performance tires will not last over 40k... but that is still depends on your drive style... if you don want much noise then skip directional tires coz it tends to make more noise than Asymmetric/Symmetric tires...

126 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:42 PM