Tire discussion thread V1~, come in n discuse about tires~

FerrariST
post Jan 23 2011, 08:02 PM

340 posts

Anyone, hear of Thunderer Tires?

Its from Bridgestone factory, according to the shop owner this tires is much better then hankook v12 and federal 595.

I need more review about this tires.

Thank you
FerrariST
post Jan 23 2011, 11:20 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jan 23 2011, 08:50 PM)
yes... if not u can try Hankook V12 lo... cheap and nice to use...
haha really??? if it's sidewall is hard then handling sure good but lack of comfort.... so it still depends...  remember some one did highlight this tire but forget who already...

*manage to find who... bro yngwie... can you comment on this tires??? how is the wet traction??? compare to your RE001???

comment is almost like extreme tires... not good for daily use coz it wet traction sux... thread life also very short... so only for track day use...

Dear Michael,

Thanks alot for your feedback, i look at the thread design, look pro5, his comment both this model is not as good as it sound. He told me if i really want to go for Hankook and Federal. Go for the Top notch model which can easily additional few hundred RM on top of Hankook V12 & Federal 595.

Now i'm really with the decision making for tires brand rclxub.gif
FerrariST
post Jan 24 2011, 11:19 AM

340 posts

Hi Bro Mic,

He (The Tires shop owner) recommend me to go for Thunderer Mach III instead of average range of Federal 595 or Hankook, im on serious doubt about the usage and rate for Thunderer athough the offer price for Thunderer is quite attractive as compare to Hankook.

Here a list of price breakout i got from tires shop through out Klang only.

Thunderer Mach III - 205/45/17 -RM 275

Federal 595 - 205/45/17 - RM 280
Federal 595 - 215/45/17 - RM 280

Hankook v12 - 205/45/17 - RM 315
Hankook v12 - 215/45/17 - RM 330

Anyway i decided not to go for 17" anymore, i'll get a set of 16" rim instead (do not want to have rubbing issue, while cornering or going over bump).

This post has been edited by FerrariST: Jan 24 2011, 11:20 AM
FerrariST
post Jan 24 2011, 04:41 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jan 24 2011, 12:34 PM)

I did get feed back from the group of people who drove the same model as i am, under normal driving circumstances, you don't usually have to worry about the rubbing issue, however, my ride has already been lowered - (front at 1finger length) by upsizing to 17" the look will definitely look good and handling should slighly improve but ill face rubbing for sure.

If given a chance ill definitely want to have front 16", rear 17" but money is a concern. sweat.gif

Unlike angmo which normally has 3 sets of wheel for their car usage (Set 1. Daily usage,Set 2. Track purpose, Set 3. Tire for winter condition)

for the time being ill go for tires that is suitable for daily usage.

Federal 595 SS (non-evo) 205/45/16 @ RM 250/- biggrin.gif

Best Regards
FerrariST
post Jan 24 2011, 09:47 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jan 24 2011, 06:39 PM)
well your choice... wink.gif you lowered ur ride that is a limitation already so choose a size which will not hit ur fender...
that tire thread looks good but will be noisy... if you don mind u can try... 
So you suggest that i go for Hankook V12 instead for quieter ride? icon_idea.gif

Added on January 24, 2011, 9:54 pm
QUOTE(yngwie @ Jan 24 2011, 07:42 PM)
FerrariST@
i just trashed a set(x4) of thunderer mach 3(deep directional tread) to the max.
to be honest, i did not expect it to perform in such a way that it was just a rung below the gsd3 in wet(match the gsd3 in traction but lose out in grip).
alos, behave well  after 10 minutes of constant driving at average of 190km/h speed which is expected for a zr rating tire except the rubber could be a little soft in high temperature.
only drawback was it's slightly softer sidewall but this can be countered by pumping in a higher psi. so, far it withstand the punishment
quite well.
easily a better buy than the china made kumho ku-36( i sold mine to a friend after using to 2.3k km mileage while
the thunderer is now transferred to my 2nd ride and it's already covered more than 5.8k km mileage) or the more expensive but lousy 522.
michael9413@
i think you mistaken my comment  tongue.gif . i mentioned semi-slick sux in wet and i wasn't referring to thunderer tire at all which is not a semi-slick tire.
so far, this cheap thunderer tire is quite promising. in fact i just transferred the tire to my 2nd ride for further trashing.
was purposely driving at 70km/h during heavy rain in mex highway(after the salak selatan toll to jalan tun razak) the other day and tire did not disappoint.

conclusion ; recommended for those on tight budget but beware of the noise level. ex-gsd3 user should know well  whistling.gif .
Really that good for a new brand? Wow, sadly i had decided to go for Federal 595 SS, will be making my purchase for the tire and new set of rims. However, ill take in consideration the next time.

How bad is the noise level? Is Gsd3 as bad as sime Astar tire?

Sime Astar performance and noise level really doh.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by FerrariST: Jan 24 2011, 09:54 PM
FerrariST
post Jan 24 2011, 10:01 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jan 24 2011, 09:56 PM)

Thanks for the feedback, the listed tire are slightly over my budget, anyway i slightly understand about tire now, thanks to your explanation.
FerrariST
post Jan 25 2011, 12:08 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(Auwen @ Jan 24 2011, 11:21 PM)
very thank u for ur  analysis  notworthy.gif ....i oso consider with this...tayar made me  rclxub.gif ...coz if using 205/50/r16...it might wanna change the rim oso ...original cant fit....
tayar price was increase to much from 15inch to 16 inch...tat why many ppl ask me to consider 17 inch....anywhere...will do some reaserch 1st....

beside this....anyone got using Kumho Ku31??? smile.gif
Refer To yngwie post to me

FerrariST@
i just trashed a set(x4) of thunderer mach 3(deep directional tread) to the max.
to be honest, i did not expect it to perform in such a way that it was just a rung below the gsd3 in wet(match the gsd3 in traction but lose out in grip).
alos, behave well after 10 minutes of constant driving at average of 190km/h speed which is expected for a zr rating tire except the rubber could be a little soft in high temperature.
only drawback was it's slightly softer sidewall but this can be countered by pumping in a higher psi. so, far it withstand the punishment
quite well.
easily a better buy than the china made kumho ku-36( i sold mine to a friend after using to 2.3k km mileage while
the thunderer is now transferred to my 2nd ride and it's already covered more than 5.8k km mileage) or the more expensive but lousy 522.
FerrariST
post Jan 29 2011, 08:44 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(ThE-HunTeD @ Jan 29 2011, 06:37 PM)
Anyone know where i can get hankook v12 or falken 912? other than going to klang.

Checked out tek min n few other recomended ones in sunway n subang, few shops in cheras, they either have no stock or dont carry them.
for Falken 912, i can't guarantee, but V12 Tek Ming do have stock.

But price compare to Klang shocking.gif doh.gif

Added on January 29, 2011, 8:48 pm
QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Jan 28 2011, 10:18 PM)
Changing to new tyres tomorrow morning in Klang.. Any recommendations? I am currently using 205/40/17 Hankook S1 Evo.. Should I change back to S1 Evo? The price has increased compared to last year.. Now RM 300 per tyre compared to RM 275 last year.. sad.gif
What is your budget for new tires? Klang price is definitely competitive, but you have to be hard working to ask around and also bargain with the tire shop owner.

This post has been edited by FerrariST: Jan 29 2011, 08:48 PM

0.0608sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:24 AM