Tire discussion thread V1~, come in n discuse about tires~
Nov 18 2009, 01:44 PM
6,986 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: E-Poh.../Pen-Nang.../Pee-Jay/S.Jaye |
A drive for smooth driving, PP2 for better handling... of course Kenari cannot Corner too fast also...
Nov 19 2009, 09:56 AM
that size hard la... maybe u can try to find... tell us what choice do you have then we give you comments...
Nov 20 2009, 10:49 AM
ya la... maybe u can change to bigger size for more choice...
Nov 21 2009, 09:52 AM
195/50 R15... C drive not bad... for daily drive... if you want to have more comfort... i think u can upgrade it to 195/55 R15 with Falken 912...
195/55 R15 u have Falken 912, Yokohama C drive & S drive, Michelin Primacy LC & PP2, Toyo DRB & T1R, Federal 595 Evo, Hankook V12, Bridgestone RE030 & RE001 quite a numbers... |
Nov 25 2009, 09:52 AM
Falken 912 for more comfort but lose a bit on traction... A Drive R1 is directional tires will give you more gripping but a bit noisy...
Dec 14 2009, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(jolipoli81 @ Dec 9 2009, 04:44 AM) simple quick question, i'm changing from 15 to 17 soon, what are the most suitable 215/45/R17 tyre for normal daily driving? sorry 17" is not for daily driving... stick to your 15" that is the advice if you wan to use it for daily use only... a few tyres that i've come across is hankok V12 and Micheline Premacy LC and PP2 17" what u will get??? better grip and handling but Harsher ride, FC go up and also cost of the tires will be more... if you look for comfort tires then Primacy LC is ur choice as PP2 will be more towards handling side... |
Dec 22 2009, 05:07 PM
CC1 ok la... try Primacy LC
Dec 23 2009, 04:53 PM
QUOTE(McRyan @ Dec 23 2009, 09:25 AM) how bout normal Bridgestone ? turanza is the cheapest rite? comfy n quiet? 912 is suitable for normal use means not too aggressive... if you wan comfort + performance + quiet then only 1 that you can try out is Toyo C1S or GY F1 Assy... but as i know C1S come smallest is 16" and F1 Assy is 17" only... but michael said tat falken 912 is not bad wo, not bad in terms of wat? for your size 912 is consider all rounder but not up to UHP categories... FYI performance tires never been quiet la... if you can take a lil Directional thread humming try Hankook V12... that is a good tire... FYI also, lasting tire will not give you that grip that u want... that is a nature... UHP tires wear rate is around 180~280, while passenger tires can be better like 300 and above... the figure is the higher the better... QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Dec 23 2009, 12:13 PM) are you thinking b4 u tell ppl C1S got in 195/55 R15 size... i have not heard C1S come in that size... if yes i would like to try it out already*C1S do have 15" but only available on 195/65R15 91V 205/65R15 94V 215/65R15 96V wat i copy from Toyo Japan... 195/55 R15 is either Toyo DRB or T1R... This post has been edited by michael9413: Dec 23 2009, 05:09 PM |
Dec 24 2009, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(McRyan @ Dec 23 2009, 07:38 PM) hankook v12 comfy n quiet? better den LC ? how bout bridgestone? that is threadwear standard reading from manufacturers... it is indicated at the side wall... u guys seldom mention bridgestone here "UHP tires wear rate is around 180~280, while passenger tires can be better like 300 and above... the figure is the higher the better" 180~280 is wat? wat figure ? TQ you have traction also which start from B to highest AA... B is the lowest and AA is the best traction tire... if you always drive in Highway suggested to use traction AA... it give you good amount of grip/traction in dry/wet... QUOTE(McRyan @ Dec 23 2009, 08:27 PM) tat means LC is the most expensive one la? rm100/piece? rm400 for 4 then, wow well for 195/55 R15 i know wht is the approx price coz i'm using it... hehe...Falken 912 RM170, Hankook V12 RM180, Primacy LC RM200, Michelin PP2 RM235, Yokohama C Drive RM190, Yokohama S Drive RM260, Toyo T1R RM260, Bridgestone RE001 RM280...i have to go for hankook v12 then since its the cheapest yet comfy tires lol how bout long last? which wan better ? you can see the price different up to RM100/pc... but the selection is still up to the user, what is ur budget and requirement... Hankook V12 is not the cheapest and comfy tire Falken 912 is... but if you don mind directional tires & it's noise V12 is the best choice... it give you good amount of grip in Wet and Dry but Hydroplaning is not up to my expectation (reference of PP2 coz i used 3 set already)... so my next target might be T1R or C1S if happen they have in my size which JP also not producing... so i'm dreaming QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Dec 23 2009, 08:42 PM) as i been said... if toyo C1S got 195/55 R15 i will not end up in directional tires Hankook V12 already... QUOTE(kakashi... @ Dec 23 2009, 10:48 PM) using yokohama c-drive, changed in May, but now the thread seems like less than 40%, not to mention sidewall almost habis.... well it depends how you drive my gf's Iswara is PG already clocked 10k but tire still nice... that car has been used in KL for almost 1 yr... now back to penang...travel less than 10,000kmh izzit normal kah? |
Dec 24 2009, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(McRyan @ Dec 24 2009, 09:21 AM) how bout Bridgestone GR80? its turanza or potenza ? can last 70k km ? will it lost its comfy after 45k? that is Turanza if not mistaken... well Ryan, tire which last will not give you that grip vs the tire that has short thread life... toyo tire can last how long ? it is up to you to choose but Toyo certainly is not long lasting... what ALeUNe said is correct tires life OTR is only 2~3 years max... and 5 yrs from the manufacturing date... coz the compound will change properties during that time... so it is personal choice to choose what ever that we want... i'll go for Traction AA tires with Threadwear index/rating of 240 and above... that should last you about 30~40k km and again i wanna make things clear here is it depends how you drive it and the road condition... Cheers |
Dec 24 2009, 09:48 AM
QUOTE(vexus @ Dec 15 2009, 10:24 PM) if my car using 195/55/r15 yes that is still ok but not further... can i change it to 195/60/r15 ??? will it affect the car handling & safety? QUOTE(Coconut @ Dec 17 2009, 02:18 PM) yes there us a wide range but you need to survey a few shops to avoid harsh decision making... QUOTE(d3sign3r @ Dec 18 2009, 06:36 PM) 195/55/15 - Hankook Ventus V12 Evo - RM180 [December 2009] [Yu Leck - Rawang] that is a nice price for Eve 595 & RE001... what is the Manufacturing date??? it is very cheap indeed... 195/55/15 - Federal 595 Evo - RM205 [December 2009] [Yu Leck - Rawang] 195/55/15 - Michelin PP2 - RM230 [December 2009] [Yu Leck - Rawang] 195/55/15 - Bridgestone Potenza RE001 - RM225 [December 2009] [Yu Leck - Rawang] QUOTE(ddv_nk @ Dec 20 2009, 02:34 AM) hi everyone, may i get some recommendations on a set of R15 tyres? things that i am looking for are the price, durability, comfort + quiet and grip as well. smtg between RM150 to RM180. as long as it can last me about 2 years with minimum driving and occasional long distance. Grip wise, it has to be safe when probably the thread left is about 50-60%. looking for a shop recommendation in klang valley or seremban. one more thing i'd like the tyres to have is the lips (if that is what it is called that will help reduce the chances of the rims from hitting the curbs, meaning tyres will kinda protect the rims) and i dont mind paying a little extra if the tyre has this extra feature. appologies if my request here is ridiculous. please feel free to educate me on issues that i am wrong or dont know. more than happy to learn. many thanks in advance. that price range you can ops for Falken 915... but do you mind to tell us about the size... 195/55 R15 or 185/55 R15 or 195/60 R15??? or others??? so that we can give you more precise comments... QUOTE(GEFORCEXTREME @ Dec 20 2009, 06:48 PM) I'm using Suzuki Swift original rims. Looking for 185/60/15 or 195/55/15 or 195/50/15, either one of those size, as long as they fit. coz it is ok... try Hankook V12 about RM180 (including balancing and valves also) it is like a hot cake now... using it 195/55 R15 replacing my fav Michelin PP2... it's performance is similar like PP2 but cheaper about RM40/tire... so save some there... but the hydroplaning is not as good as PP2 lo... others no comment... u can try this coz u don mind a lil noise... as it is directional tire so the noise will be a lil louder... My priorities are comfort and grip. I don't mind noise as my exhaust noise will surely overide them, lol. My location is Cheras Leisure Mall area, please recommend me good tyres under budget of RM 180 and shop. Thanks. QUOTE(leepast @ Dec 23 2009, 02:59 PM) hi all, you can change to 185/60 or 185/65 both R14 also... about Rm160~170 kua... try Michelin Xm1 for that if you wan comfort... it is basically quiet and comfort tire but not for performance... but if you wanna have a lil performance try Falken 912, but the feedback is the thread life is not that lasting if you sapu all the corners daily (aggressive driving)i'm planning to change my 2 front tyre (2 year old Myvi) as the 2 front tyre nearly "botak" already. I think standard/stock one is 175 / 65 R14 right? Any reccomended shop in penang area (mainland) or kedah area? and what is the current price for it per piece? Thanks in advance. QUOTE(rompers @ Dec 23 2009, 07:41 PM) Anyone knows the latest price for these tyres in Klang Valley/KL: for that size i fully recommend you to take Hankook V12 lo... 195/55/R15 Bridgestone MY01 and Pirelli P7 195/50/R15 Bridgestone MY01 and Pirelli P7 I'd really appreciate if someone could provide the latest price (year-end 2009) of those tyres above and the location to obtain them within the Klang Valley area. Thanking you in advance! QUOTE(arrow @ Dec 24 2009, 01:25 AM) a bit high... try to nego more... where is ur location???This post has been edited by michael9413: Dec 24 2009, 09:51 AM |
Dec 24 2009, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(McRyan @ Dec 24 2009, 09:41 AM) ok ok lo... Turanza means for passanger tire... potenza is performance tire... so performance tire usually is not as comfort as passanger tire as you know it is design and also the compound that they use is meant for better handling and traction...but like Michelin bridgestone tires is not that cheap lo... the value vs performance is not that good... This post has been edited by michael9413: Dec 24 2009, 09:52 AM |
Dec 24 2009, 10:09 AM
if not mistaken no... sorry... ur choice for cheap and performance will be Hankook V12 if you don mind it is a bit noisy coz it is directional thread... the grip that it give you is good vs Falken 912...
u can try Yokohama C Drive also not bad at all it is similar cat with Michelin Primacy LC... actually if you wan quiet and comfort Michelin LC is a good choice... around RM200 for your size *Price list for 195/55/R15 BF goodrich g-force sport - RM 195 (penang, BW)including allignment + valve +install only. Bridgestone RE001 - RM280 @ Hin Leong, Klang (June 2009) Tyre only Bridgestone ????? turanza- RM190@Art Car Auto, OKR Batu 5 (Aug 09) Bal + install only Bridgestone ????? My01 - RM230@Art Car Auto, OKR Batu 5 (Aug 09) Bal + install only Continental CC1 RM 175 Tmn Sentosa Klang Dunlop D01 - rm170 @ meru, klang . incl alignment + balancing Falken ZIEX-912- RM180@Falken Shop, Puchong Jaya (Aug 09). Balance, Align, Valve all FOC. Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 - RM215@ Hin Leong, Klang (February 09) inclusive balancing + installation. GoodYear Assurance -RM 175 (Penang, BW ) including allignment + valve +install only. Goodyear Duraplus - RM189.00 @ Bayu Perdana (near Bukit Tinggi,Klang) Hankook V12 RM190@Tyre Town, USJ 19/4A Aug 09). Balance, Align, Valve all FOC. Kumho ku31 -RM185@W.F. Auto, OKR Batu 5 (Aug 09). Kumho Ecsta spt - RM175@ Kedai Tayar Perak, 9Oct09) balance & Installation foc Michelin Pilot Preceda 2 - RM220/pc x 4 @ Hock Li, Klang (Aug 09) install + balancing Michelin Primacy LC - RM 210 @ Maystrorm, Subang (26.09.09). Balance & Align FOC. No CC surcharge. Michelin XM1 - RM210 @ Hin Leong, Klang (Aug 09) Pirelli P6 - RM210 @ Tyre Shop next to Khalel N.Kandar Bukit Jambul, Penang Toyo Proxes T1R - RM275 @ Hin Leong, Klang (February 09) inclusive balancing + installation. Yokohama AD07 Advan Neova - RM255 @ Ban Hooi, Klang (February 09) inclusive balancing + installation. yokohama ad08 - RM480 @ banhooi klang. (price is all balancing+alignment inclusive) dec09 Yokohama A drive- RM 180-Tmn Sentosa klang Yokohama C drive- RM 190-Tmn Sentosa klang Yokohama S Drive - RM260 @ Jooi Seng, Klang (April 2009) inclusive balancing + installation *** sorry have woh... but u have to find lo... the best choice is Michelin Primacy LC, Yokohama C Drive, Falken 912 for comfort... for performance Hankook V12 for value of money... if not PP2 also not coz... u can try to look for Federal 595 Evo also... it is around RM220 if not mistaken... Cheers This post has been edited by michael9413: Dec 24 2009, 10:17 AM |
Dec 24 2009, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(blackburn89 @ Dec 24 2009, 10:20 AM) er... same comment with Ryan... skip it... better take Falken if you want...QUOTE(McRyan @ Dec 24 2009, 10:22 AM) just now u told leepast tat xm1 is a comfy tires too? yes Comfy... but reminder to you that all comfy passenger tire will not perform well in wet condition...i thk i will go for LC since just 20bucks/piece diff wf V12, michelin can last longer lol Xm1 is entry level with Primacy LC is premium passenger if you want better performance tire better try Hankook V12 but i thing only is the noise that it generate due to the thread is directional type... |
Dec 24 2009, 12:08 PM
haha... for that size 195/55 R15 is not hard but out of stock... hehe... over hype... coz u can save over RM100 (4 pcs) compare to others UHP...
so a lot ppl buying it... but i don think i'll get another set coz the Hydroplaning is not up to my expectation... might try Toyo... |
Dec 24 2009, 01:00 PM
XM1 soft and comfy but it is entry level only...
LC new tires so far not much ppl feedback on the life... but it should be longer than XM1... please look at their thread wear rating/index at the site... the higher the long it last... |
Dec 28 2009, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(Oly @ Dec 24 2009, 10:45 PM) bro is over expensive i duno whether really the tire price already increase or not but during May at that size it was only RM200 in Klang... taht time i'm still in dilemma of Hankook V12 (195) and Michelin PP2 (195 or 185) (all XXX/55 R15) for my Vios... new manufactured tire is good but don let those guys con u to get those... for me any tire which manufactured within 9 mths ~ 1 yr at the time that u buy is ok... 6 mths is bonus, 3 mths hot from the oven is good bonus... but all tire will have it OTR life of 2~3 yrs... but a 6 mths tire vs 3 mths should not have a big difference in pricing like tat... sorry to say*** Latest Price from AW Forum... 185/55 R15 Michellin PP2-RM220@W.F. Auto, OKR Batu 5 (Aug 09). 195/55 R15 Michelin Pilot Preceda 2 - RM255 @ Hup Yew, Balik Pulau, Penang(July 09) inclusive Alignment + Balancing Michelin Pilot Preceda 2 - RM220/pc x 4 @ Hock Li, Klang (Aug 09) install + balancing Michellin PP2-RM240@W.F. Auto, OKR Batu 5 (Aug 09). Michellin PP2-RM245 including allignment + valve +install only michelin pp2 - RM225 @ banhooi klang. (price is all balancing+alignment inclusive) dec09 it should not have a huge different with the Ban Hooi Klang kua... when i survey, difference of Klang and PJ price is like RM30/tires only, not up to RM50/tire This post has been edited by michael9413: Dec 28 2009, 11:13 AM |
Jan 4 2010, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(mchw08 @ Dec 28 2009, 04:49 PM) Hi all, new in here.. just some q and advise .. U can try PP2 for premium preformance or Falken 912... GY tires i will never get again except GY F1 Assy Im going to change all 4 car tire of mine for 1st time soon... so, what are the prices of tires nowadays and where can i go in PJ to have it done. am currently using on all 4 185/60R14 GoodYear Eagle GA Stick to the same brand or try other brand? Price ? Location of workshop? Many thanks QUOTE(e-jump @ Jan 3 2010, 11:44 PM) noted.. im planning to switch both, and the good 1 piece might end up in garage sale zone lol. u need to change it instantly... don drive it any more... 205/50 R15 is quite hard to find... Im interested with square profile tires with rim lip protector. Aside from GoorYear, what other options do I have? Currently im thinking of GY RevSpec2, Hankook v12/rs2, Yoko C/Sdrive 195/55 profile go for PP2 and or GY GDS3 you will never get wrong... but please tell us what you want Ride Comfort, Noise and Handling??? which one is 1,2 and 3... Hankook V12 is more towards comfort with performance, PP2 is more towards handling and performance, GSD3 is more on grip and performance... i already give 195/55 R15 tires review on last 2 weeks please search for the post u will read more about my experience on Michelin PP2 vs Hankook V12... and for those that wanna recommend D-01 and My-01 please don recommend ppl this tire especially for them who wanna have spirited drive... user of that 2 tire can throw away as it is not that performance as what u see on the thread pattern... @rompers, Throw tat tire away... please again please don buy that tire if you always drive at high speed... it's traction is only rated at B which is sucks... i can easily but a way better tires for RM200... cheers... |
Jan 4 2010, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(kobe10 @ Jan 3 2010, 11:48 PM) Go for PP2 la....Good quality tyres...Haih.. you try step the brake during 100 and make ur car slide..PP2 vs other tyre..see who stop first..hahaha... the bengkak there if you take out the rim, u will find a lot of rubber already burst inside ur tyre wall.. happens to me.. 2 new tyre after i change it for 2 weeks..really no luck as tests shows PP2 is not at no 1 at braking distance... but Hankook V12 is... but there is some advantage on where the hydroplaning is still consider best of the class, but Hankook cannot match them... but V12 give you a better grip in the corners... so user choice to choose... |
Jan 4 2010, 01:36 PM
yes... it is normal u have the left front wear faster than ur right front... you need to do rotation if you notice that...
| Change to: | 0.0234sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:11 PM |