post Oct 26 2009, 10:28 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Oct 24 2009, 12:56 PM)
AD08 is here
195/50/r15 costs RM4xx
yes and that is crazy... expensive...

QUOTE(heng84 @ Oct 25 2009, 09:06 PM)
hello bro and sis, wanna change tire soon... currently using sports contact 1 ... ok ok but noisy..
after helping my mom change primacy lc on her ride.. definitely love it.

can anyone tell me the ride confort and noise between michelling pp2 and ziex ze912 ??  i know handling michelling gonna be much better.. but i wanna know about the comfort and noise if michellin is a little noiser and harsher then i wouldnt mind.. if its alot of difference then i think ill stick to my decision on  going for the ziex
and also anyone can recommend me those tire that provide good comfort and noise oso good for ocassional harsh driving thanks beside those two.
if you wanna compare PP2 with 912... sorry to say but i have not used 912 b4 coz that is performance level not UHP...
comfort - 912
handling - PP2
Grips - PP2
Quiet - 912
912 sure more comfort as it aim is performance comfort... not like PP2 where is focus more on its handling.. if about handling then PP2 beats 912... because of it's harder sidewall it give you harsher ride but better handling... grips for PP2 in Wet and Dry also will be better than 912 again... PP2 hydroplaning/aquaplaning is one of the best in it's class... but in terms of quietness i still choose 912 coz PP2 will get a lil noisier when it thread wears after 60%...
2 of the tire is in total different categories...
u need better comments and recommendation please give us ur car model, tire size also... then choose... priority... Noise, Handling, Grip, Comfort... 1~4 rank it... there is nothing to perfect but just u can to compromise a bit on certain area...
u can try Hankook V12 if you are using some sizes as it give you similar performance like PP2 but noisier, a lil more toward comfort and the last cheaper...

michael9413
post Oct 26 2009, 10:37 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(fazron80 @ Oct 26 2009, 10:28 AM)
How much i can get hankook v12 or michelin primacy?. Is michelin primacy lc cost more than PP2.
Another tire I'm interested in is conti sport-contact. Anyone knows the market price now. Currently on standard tyres silverstone kruizer ns500. Time to change since more than 40K using the standard tires. Tyre size is 195-55-R15
try Hankook V12... as it's performance is comparable with PP2 but the only down side it is a lil noisier than PP2...
its comfort also better than PP2, in return PP2 will be superior in Hydroplaning and also Handling... for Primacy LC, i would say if you driving style is a lil aggressive then it is not suitable for you... this tire is for those luxury saloon which will be driven by non-aggressive driver... as it is soft (comfort) and quiet...
so if you wanna switch from ur current tire i think Hankook V12 evo is ok for you... smile.gif
michael9413
post Oct 26 2009, 11:54 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Oct 26 2009, 10:46 AM)
Guys...

How does all this 3 tires do, in GRIP, WET and STEERING RESPONSE

Size
215/45R17

Toyo T1R vs Yokohama S-Drive vs Michelin PP2
well PP2 did fairly well is all expect... but for that size y don u try out GY F1 Assy which is a lil better than all of these???
Toyo T1R have a softer compound... PP2 have a harder side all and it has 1 of the best aquaplaning/hydroplaning in the class...
S Drive is also did fairly good in every expect... so all this 3 tires really depend on ur preference... T1R and S Drive is directional thread hence it will be noisier than PP2... for a lil comfort GY F1 Assy and Toyo T1R is the choice... but T1R got ppl complaint that it is comfort but the thread life is short... S Drive ppl complaint is noisy that ll what i heard of... but that is your drive??? which is ur priority??? I presume Traction is the most important... choose urself Handing, Noise, Comfort???

QUOTE(fazron80 @ Oct 26 2009, 10:49 AM)
I'm hunting for tires. Good reviews on v12 PP2. Taking those tires into consideration. Anyone can comment on michelin primacy. Also what about conti premium contact and sportcontact. Anyone can give review on them?
look a the top i have answered ur question...
michael9413
post Oct 26 2009, 12:20 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well what is ur ride... V12 or PP2 is your choice... smile.gif
in order to give you a more accurate info we need to know ur ride...
coz if ur ride have stiff or hard suspension system... then PP2 might be out of the list... coz it has harder side wall

try to look for Ban Hooi Klang i think they do have stock... call up Teik Ming Sunway to ask also... smile.gif

This post has been edited by michael9413: Oct 26 2009, 12:21 PM
michael9413
post Oct 26 2009, 01:28 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Oct 26 2009, 12:23 PM)
hows dunlop D01???...i see quite alot people using it... smile.gif ...and even my friends just changed their tires also dunlop d01...
it sucks.... smile.gif ppl duno about oothers or wanna cheap stuff go for that...

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Oct 26 2009, 12:25 PM)
After using this Federal 595 EVO for about 3 weeks and have drove about 2k plus km
Noise level is high 7/10
Tire side wall stiff 6/10
Dry grip 7.5/10
Wet grip 6/10
Rubber wear 5/10

Dry grip tire very easy to reach optium temperature and dont need to push to warm up it... after reach working temp it will grip very well if you know how to take cornering line in high speed the tire dont make noise, for Understeer in some corner rarely happen in medium & high speed but if entering corner at high speed to a slow speed corner it do understeer due to cornering & braking at the same time 

Wet road i just push in strait line ... grip is well to cut alot water, Cornering i dint push much as our normal road got oil on the road surface so it will be make it more slippery so GUYS dont push your luck till the edge some time.
yea most of the ppl say it is good... smile.gif ur ride pls... smile.gif

QUOTE(fazron80 @ Oct 26 2009, 12:35 PM)
my car is gen2 2008. Current suspension all is standard.

Tek ming sunway quite popular. Their price can match klang?
about there but of course klang price is better but u need to go there lo...

QUOTE(heng84 @ Oct 26 2009, 01:13 PM)
thanks michael for great information and quick feed back. .  well now my satria neo tyre going bald soon, tyre stock 195/50/r16 still undecided whether wanna stick to stock profile or go 205/50 or 205/45 series haha.. does the extra width provide a little more comfort?  im not really looking for UHP tyres cos i oredi have falken rt-615 on my weekend ride. this satria is used for daily run and sometimes need to go to construction site. so i need some comfort . my priority 1st is comfort and noise then only performance then only thread wear rating.  but since u said the car will get a little noisier when reaching 60% then i think i will stick to 912, but do you know these both tyre thread wear rating at?

Added on October 26, 2009, 1:16 pm
use 205/50 for u if u wan comfort... Falken 912 will be nice... smile.gif
or PP2 is 240 or 280 can't really remember...912 haven use b4 so duno..
michael9413
post Oct 26 2009, 02:04 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

MY01... almost similar with 912 but 912 is is towards comfort...
if you are looking for good and cheap UHP tires... Hankook V12 is the one... i'm using 1 now... 195/55 R15 on my '05 Vios... nice balance of comfort and performance... smile.gif
if not mistaken MY-01 and D-01 traction's rating is only A only... whereas PP2, S Drive, V12, T1R, and few others UHP tires is AA is a step better than those 2 commonly used...
michael9413
post Oct 26 2009, 05:24 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well Hankook is not Hancock... haha...
Hankook V12 is a good all rounder if you wan a bit comfort + performance... and it is cheap RM190 for 195/55 R15 fitted on my Vios more than 6 months...
Federal is ok also but depends what you want... for you, the ride might be a lil harsh... depends...
what is ur priorities... Handling, Ride comfort??? choose 1... then u need to consider about noise also... smile.gif

btw u pump 255??? about 34 PSI only??? my Vios i'm using 35~36 PSI in front already with my Hankook V12...
the ride is still accceptable for my side... if you cannot give up the ride comfort then better u skip those semi slick tires...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Oct 26 2009, 05:25 PM
michael9413
post Oct 27 2009, 12:21 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Oct 26 2009, 08:12 PM)
@michael9413@
i finally got hold of the v12 on my friend's car. the overall performance is up to my expectation  thumbup.gif
slightly more comfortable than c.drive.

btw, from my experience, sime astar 300 perform slightly better than d-01 in wet  tongue.gif
yea it is quite amazing for me at first coz the comfort is there but the grip for corners is quite well also...

QUOTE(Oly @ Oct 27 2009, 01:03 AM)
michael:u using 34 psi?...im using 32 front and rear 30 oni...im using 2.0 turbo engine woo...
well it depends on individual preference... my Hankook V12 is a lil comfort but i can give pump the pressure a bit higher to obtain the handling that i prefer... but in over all it is a bit more comfort than PP2 and its just perform like it also except the hydroplaning PP2 still hold the upper hand... smile.gif for noise i'm still yet to determine as my hankook V12 still not reach 50% yet...

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Oct 27 2009, 06:29 AM)
Oly & michael9413

here is my car setup, basically i was doing 2 testing Tire & suspension

After that follow speed limit ...that is Day 2 testing
good review... this tire is in my mind also when i wanna do my next change... smile.gif
actually u can try out Hankook V12 also... not bad it gives u comfort while it got most of the performance of PP2...
u better becareful in Karak... not that good to drive that fast although i drive that fast there b4 but careful... smile.gif
My SEG and Vios i did that b4... but not now lo... after hear so many horror stories i think better be safe than regret...
will try my old toy if i have the chance... but still i will say safety 1st...

QUOTE(fazron80 @ Oct 27 2009, 07:39 AM)
Yoko a drive size 195/55//15 can get around 185-200.  Quite tempting price for me since I'm looking for a good set of tires below 200 a piece. Although if the tyres not good then there's no point.

Yoko S drive that size close to 300. Too expensive for me.
yea S Drive is a lil expensive... try Michelin PP2 it cost less than RM240 if not mistaken... A drive is not good for you if you wan handling... if you wanna take A Drive u better try Falken 912 which has good review also... try to look around for Hankook V12 it is around A drive's price but it's performance is much better... smile.gif it give you comfort while it's performance is comparable with Michelin PP2 and Yokohama S Drive also... smile.gif

This post has been edited by michael9413: Oct 27 2009, 12:23 PM
michael9413
post Oct 27 2009, 01:26 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

yes do not buy the tire cos of thread... if u r like that then u never will touch PP2... but it is quite good although the wet handling could be better... otherwise it is a good tire...
because it is asymmetric pattern... not aggressive looking...
michael9413
post Oct 27 2009, 01:49 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Oct 27 2009, 01:41 PM)
a.drive is an entry level tyre from yokohama. comfort level is on par with ze912 / pp2 but it wasn't designed for spirited driving.
sux in fast corner.
195/60/r15 of c.drive is available around 200 bucks too. more grip in corner but ride is firmer than a.drive.
then again, we can never have the comfort and performance at the same time... either one have to be compromised by the suspension setup  tongue.gif
sorry u cannot compare comfort level of 912 n A drive to PP2...
PP2 is more towards handling tire... it has harder side wall than even C Drive how can u say it is comfort as 912 or A drive???
michael9413
post Oct 27 2009, 04:32 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(feralee @ Oct 27 2009, 02:41 PM)
michael9413 - u using V12 now?

how is the noise level?
this tire from thailand?
not from Thailand la... Korean Tire made in Korea... Directional thread what do you expect... but still ok ok for my lo...
compare to PP2 it is still noisier... but S Drive much more noisier than V12 if not mistaken...

QUOTE(cheeann @ Oct 27 2009, 02:43 PM)
guess he neva use PP2 like u do lo~  rolleyes.gif
well bro how can u compare a entry level tire to UHP... sweat.gif the softness of A drive is like Primacy LC... for comfort...
PP2 if you say comfort... then i duno y ppl who drives honda complaint about... FYI got a few reviews from ppl who use PP2 in their CT or Civic... 1 word "harsh" ride...

QUOTE(Oly @ Oct 27 2009, 04:10 PM)
pp2 is entry level oni...same under re001,t1r,s drive maaa...
are you sure ar... the test done by Opel S drive falls behind Hankook V12 evo and Michelin PE2 (PP2 thread but different tire compound) RE001 not to mention but it is darn expensive, but not as expensive as AD08... T1R thread life also very short...

Bro Gouki, ya it is not that good in wet cornering but dry it still do what ever it takes... and also it is Asymmetric tires not directional and it is more quiet compare to a lot of UHP tires... thumbup.gif
i know tat nothing comes with all but for me at least V12 noise is still bearable but it have good amount of grip... i did not dare to try others UHP tires which a AW forumer told me to forget about others as i look for UHP with quiet drive... PP2 give me quiet until about 40% left... Hankook V12 used about 6 months already still bearable... now Federal 595 Evo and also Toyo T1R i'm quite interested but not sure about their noise level, but i expect T1R to be quite quiet also coz it has soft compound also...
michael9413
post Oct 27 2009, 10:57 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

haha got info... no la... talk a lot with gang... i'm from USJ... have a gang who like tire and grooming... we are having TT every month... smile.gif

Bro CheeAnn... i know, all PP series tire will not have soft side wall... PP or PP2 same cos i used both b4
michael9413
post Oct 27 2009, 11:10 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

yea but u can skip both if you wan comfort... am i correct???
some feedbacks is when u put it with Honda CT and Civic the ppl behind will have buttock massage... the ride is harsh...
michael9413
post Oct 28 2009, 08:21 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well as i said becareful lo... there sometimes suddenly got jam one... u know what happen in front lo...
michael9413
post Oct 28 2009, 08:36 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

yea u r correct and also sometimes ppl take over ur lane during corner... careful and pls remind urself dafety 1st and ur beloved ones...
michael9413
post Oct 28 2009, 10:38 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well have not try Federal... but Hankook V12 has soft compound and also soft side wall still ok lo...
almost like PP2 with 34 PSI but still more comfort...
my Vios all stock... smile.gif

if you want harder side wall tires you can consider S Drive also but it is a lil noisy la... RE001??? 15" for AD08 already RM400 16" around RM500 kua... at that price i duno whether i wanna try or not... next might be Federal.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by michael9413: Oct 28 2009, 10:40 AM
michael9413
post Oct 28 2009, 11:14 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Oct 28 2009, 11:05 AM)
noted. thanks.
currently on s.drive 205/55/r15 rear. as expected from directional thread....it's not just a lil noisy but damn noisy  tongue.gif  tlr and re001 wasn't in my mind.  wanna try other brand. looking around for avid hs4 but to not avail.
since i prefer directional thread at the rear.  next up could be federal.
if you scare noisy try Hankook V12 lo... coz it can be consider as quiet for a directional tire... if not i'll straight away change back to PP2 when i notice that lo... coz i need to change just bcos my SEG's PP2 finish already... i realise that Hankook V12 wear and tear quite ok... since it did not have really visible higher wear rate at the shoulder compare to the middle... PP2 i have to really take good care of it... coz if you miss it... the shoulder will wear much faster...
michael9413
post Oct 28 2009, 02:44 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

@bizzy,
S drive is still ok ok but if you are aggressive freak and u don mind wet grip pls go for semi-slick...

@xshiro,
if you really read thru the forum i have review it countless time to other members... tired already talking... please search around...
i'd used 3 set of PP series which 2 of them PP2... then currently on Hankook V12 changed on May '09... all 195/55 R15 size...

PP2 is more towards high speed handling (harder side wall), a lil quieter than V12 and hydroplaning is best in it's class...
but u get harsh ride if you have already a sport suspension (not suitable for ppl driving Honda's) for me Vios still ok, Wet cornering may understeer sometimes

V12 offer you better comfort (softer side wall) and also wet cornering...
but u have a slower steering response about 0.5 sec when u are driving around 100km/h and it is noisier than PP2

just a summary pls look back for my post on more details...

@vios2002,
how mcuh is the 595 evo??? i'm using 195/55 R15... what is the previous tire u had used b4??? how does it fair with it?
michael9413
post Oct 28 2009, 05:58 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

then u should try out Hankook V12... oh u are looking for that... hmmm not sure though some of the size they seldom have stock..
i duno now i wan some one who use V12 and 595 Evo to compare for me...
coz V12 is comfort and it's performance comparable with some others... and it's noise still bearable and some one did told me it can be consider as quiet for directional tires... what is ur drive... hmmm maybe we can have TT and test the tire...
BTW V12 only cost me RM180 at Klang without any trade in as the old PP2 will be fitted to my SEG... smile.gif
michael9413
post Oct 29 2009, 12:00 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

nah no need i only do high speed at some stretch then can feel already... wet grips still need to test during wet condition...

26 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0634sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:16 PM