English Clubs Arsenal Street Talk, Post Season Talk

ivanchin99
post Jun 16 2009, 12:25 PM

813 posts

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/ju...player-clearout

A fax has been sent from the Bernabéu that includes the names of the club's Dutch players, as well as the former Manchester United full-back Gabriel Heinze. Robben and Van Nistelrooy are joined by their compatriots Klaas-Jan Huntelaar, Wesley Sneijder, Rafael van der Vaart and Royston Drenthe. The defensive midfielder Mahamadou Diarra and the striker Javier Saviola have also been made available.

Id take huntelaar if ade goes this summer. And sneijder too if we didnt have such a packed midfield cry.gif

This post has been edited by ivanchin99: Jun 16 2009, 12:25 PM
slcroy
post Jun 16 2009, 12:56 PM

166 posts

you have ur point in supporting that football is a global brand and it's a business already. I cant change mindset. I don't write well. tht's why i need to stress and it's long...pls take time to read it as i appreciate ur feedback and i read yours rclxms.gif

Bro, share an absurd scenario with u...worth a laugh man...worth a laugh at ignorance...it happened to me nod.gif

My acquaintance (not a close friend) came to my house one day and i brought him to my room. the moment he entered, he said i am not an Arsenal supporter la...i asked why? he said. no arsenal stuffs man. u call urself a supporter? i do have a few posters though and jersey but in a cupboard...some old newspaper cuttings tha's all. He went on and say...i see in the movie fans room full of football stuff, i see my friends room all full with man utd stuffs...like dat call supporter ma! u r a fake la roy, telling people u fan of arsenal, watch weekend football, i thought u arsenal fan...cheh.

I was angry man...real pissed off...then i say "shallow"...he asked me what does it means? hahaha.

it's sad no? that memorabilia, to some, is the definition of fans. u got the money and the power, u r the greatest football club on earth. if Chelsea or Real gonna win the 4 trophies next season, for the consecutive 5 to ten years...then we can feel the effects of capitalism killing aesthetics in football. By then history will be rewritten...the "neo-fans" and glory hunters will emerge, big big big time. They can't be bothered about other teams with great histories but less trophies.

Well i acknowledged money is the new cool. Power is the new cool, we support something that gives us a fake sense of believes and belongings...we can't do that. we have pride n dignity... even we are weak and powerless.

i am wondering now...how can a person show he's the supporter of a great club? if having nothing to prove to his peers visibly? and to speak up for things that's killing football in silence?

Money and power can glorify and kill football. The rich magnify the glory side for their game and gain and allowing it to have a slow unconscious death...if Real and a few rich clubs gonna dominant football for at least a decade from now. During the early stages, FIFA did spoke of the unhealthy transfer and corporate takeovers. Wht have they actually done? Is this the reason why Platini always single out EPL? their dominance in CL?

i've been thinking...everyone is doing it now...so it's normal. i am resisting football being colonized by the elite...and i have the implication that i am abnormal.

Added on June 16, 2009, 12:59 pm
QUOTE(ivanchin99 @ Jun 16 2009, 12:25 PM)
Id take huntelaar if ade goes this summer. And sneijder too if we didnt have such a packed midfield  cry.gif
i take saviola, diarra and van der vaart...i sell diaby, eboue, adebayor silvestre flex.gif

Added on June 16, 2009, 1:02 pm
QUOTE(Mie @ Jun 16 2009, 10:34 AM)
If we didn't sign anyone but we have an injury free squad for next season, are we gonna win the title or any cup? unsure.gif
got chance i believe if no majors...carling n FA should be fine. i dont wish for more...but these 2 cup is to at least a boost to the young

This post has been edited by slcroy: Jun 16 2009, 01:06 PM
Zan81
post Jun 16 2009, 03:59 PM

82 posts

Roy very emo the past few days eh? tongue.gif

On your rant about football memoribilia, I would agree with you whole heartedly that your "acquaintance" is quite shallow indeed.

If we were 13 years old, I'd say its fair enough if we want to declare our man-love for Fabregas by having a life size poster of him hanging on your wall. But come on la... I'm gonna be turning 30 soon and I'd be damn embarassed if my room was filled with Arsenal stuff. Trust me, the opposite sex will not be impressed!

But anyway... Being a supporter or a fan is more than buying a jersey or scarf (or worst still, buying a cheapo alarm clock from those souvenier shops). To me, its also not about watching every single game or waking up at 2:30am to catch the 3rd round Carling Club.

But I also believe that as fans, we have every right to criticise or question decisions made by the club, of course with proper justification. I mean, there is investment in the form of time and emotion (with Arsenal, there's a lotttt of emotion, ie, heartache). But end of the day, what matters most is that we are loyal to the team and we stick with them through thick and thin.

Oh and there was a heated thread not too long ago on how to define a "glory hunter". You might want to do a search on that if you haven't seen it yet.
TSkimhoong
post Jun 16 2009, 04:45 PM

5,154 posts

slcroy

I understand your intention and I think it's good for all of us (both readers and posters). Continue to write more despite getting less-than-expected feedback because I believe there are ppl appreciate it silently smile.gif

Since your post is kinda long, I'd like to suggest you to organize your post into different sub-topics so that when others reply back, they can do so according to the sub-topics... such as:

Commercialised football

UEFA/FIFA/Blatter/Platini roles and comments

Being a football fans

xxxxxxx

I believe we should have some sort of "format" when posting multiple subtopic discussion smile.gif

BTW, I didn't notice that we should call you Roy laugh.gif

I own you a proper reply cos I cannot do so now as I am still in the office tongue.gif
solstice818
post Jun 16 2009, 05:56 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

CESC: YOU'LL WIN NOTHING WITHOUT RONNIE

Cesc Fabregas has branded Manchester United a one-man team who will struggle without Cristiano Ronaldo.

The Arsenal star says it was all down to Ronaldo that the Premier League crown went to Old Trafford for the past two years.

And Fabregas says he is delighted the Portuguese winger has left for Spain – because United will be nowhere near as strong without him.

Sir Alex Ferguson has led his side to three successive Premier League crowns having assembled what he claims is perhaps his strongest-ever squad.

The likes of Wayne Rooney, Rio Ferdinand, Ryan Giggs and Nemanja Vidic may have starred in the domestic game.

But Fabregas has effectively written off their contribution by insisting that without Ronaldo those titles might not have been collected.

He said: “Ronaldo won the last two leagues on his own.

“He is such a good player and very difficult to stop.

“The truth is it is a big piece of luck for the rest of us that he has gone.

“It will be one problem less for us to deal with next season.

“We had our ups and downs on the pitch but I got on well with him and I am sure he will do big things next season alongside Kaka.”

Two years ago Ronaldo was unstoppable at home and in Europe as he struck 42 goals to inspire United’s Champions League and Premier League double.

An ankle injury meant he missed the start of last season but on his return the winger was just as devastating with a further 25 goals.

But Ferguson will resist suggestions it was Ronaldo and not his entire squad who were responsible for the club maintaining their dominance of the domestic game and going all the way to the Champions League Final again.

What is clear is the sale of the £80m superstar has not only weakened the United squad – it has also galvanised their rivals for top spot.

Arsenal, Liverpool and Chelsea all know that Ferguson will struggle to replace not only the goals but also the overall threat of his main man.

And that has given extra hope to all those rivals that this could be the ideal time to wrestle the title away from Old Trafford.

Fabregas himself is looking forward to leading the Arsenal challenge and is shrugging off talk of a move to Spain.

The Spanish international has been linked with a move to former club Barcelona after going another season without a trophy at the Emirates.

But he insists he does not want to quit the club and instead is determined to captain the Gunners to the Premier League title.

Yet there was still the hint that he would not turn down a move to the Nou Camp should one of his heroes, Pep Guardiola, come in with a bid.

Fabregas said: “I am happy at Arsenal and I want to win titles there. But these things are not necessarily up to me.

“I am happy that we made it to the Champions League semi-finals and in general things went well.

“But we lacked something to reach the finals and in football if you don’t win things then you are not valued.

“I want to win titles with Arsenal but if Guardiola called me it would be different. I would be delighted to go.”

Fabregas even dismissed claims he would not get in the team because of the presence of Xavi Hernandez and Andres Iniesta.

He said: “We have played together for Spain before so there is room for it to work.”

Fabregas is also flattered by interest from Milan.

He said: “It is a source of pride that a club with such a history takes an interest. It is a club that’s interested me since I was very young.”

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/football/view/8...without-Ronnie/

WENGER'S URGED TO SNAP UP YAYA

CESC FABREGAS has urged boss Arsene Wenger to sign Barcelona’s Yaya Toure.

The brother of defender Kolo Toure could be available this summer after contract talks at the Nou Camp broke down.

Yaya, who was linked with a move to Arsenal last season, is one of Barca’s lowest paid outfield stars despite being the hero of their Treble-winning season filling in at centre-half.

And Fabregas said: “We are used to having someone like Patrick Vieira, Gilberto Silva or Mathieu Flamini in the middle of the pitch.

“It is true that without someone like that we have been slightly unbalanced and weakened in such an important position. It is a position that is undervalued but it is so important, especially for teams like ours that attack so much.

“When you have the ball it is so important to have that guarantee that there is someone behind you covering you.”

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/football/view/8...o-snap-up-Yaya/
StarGhazzer
post Jun 16 2009, 06:26 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Id take huntelaar if ade goes this summer. And sneijder too if we didnt have such a packed midfield  cry.gif
I wouldn't mind Huntelaar if Ade goes as well, but with Dudu coming back next season chances are we don't be going for the Dutch striker. Diarra? M or L? biggrin.gif Lassana is a mercenary so probably not. Sneidjer is a player whom I really rate but we've got heaps of creative midfielders already.

QUOTE(Zan81 @ Jun 16 2009, 03:59 PM)
If we were 13 years old, I'd say its fair enough if we want to declare our man-love for Fabregas by having a life size poster of him hanging on your wall. But come on la... I'm gonna be turning 30 soon and I'd be damn embarassed if my room was filled with Arsenal stuff. Trust me, the opposite sex will not be impressed!
Maybe I should keep my 2 Thierry Henry posters in my cupboard instead of my wall, and the 2 Nissans too. Oh yeah, hide all my toys from the display table as well lolol...

Growing old is mandatory, growing up is optional.

And for the articles that solstice posted... see? more proof that the media can easily twist headlines to make the news sound more sensational. Fabs never said MU will not win without Ronaldo, he merely said Ronaldo is a good player. And the calling for Yaya's purchase? More made up shit with some recycled lines from previous days.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 16 2009, 06:27 PM
kaka91
post Jun 16 2009, 06:34 PM

2,228 posts

our supposedly first 6 matches of next season

August:

West Ham United v Arsenal – Aug 15th
Arsenal v Burnley – Aug 22nd
Arsenal v Chelsea – Aug 29th

September:

Bolton Wanderers v Arsenal – Sept 12th
Liverpool v Arsenal – Sept 19th
Arsenal v Manchester City – Sept 26th

source: http://goonertalk.com/2009/06/15/first-ars...ixtures-leaked/

Added on June 16, 2009, 6:40 pmoh by the way, anyone knows who is Thomas Hitzlsperger? apparently arsene is interested..

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport...S&ATTR=Football

This post has been edited by kaka91: Jun 16 2009, 06:40 PM
slcroy
post Jun 16 2009, 06:43 PM

166 posts

Ya i know...i admit me emo bcoz of wht sepp blatter's remarks...and a young 24 yrs old millionaire telling us money is never enough...power is never enough...sigh. And the best part is, the person who is supposed to uphold the justice in football defended it and compare football and the price of that transfer to a million pieces of bread by saying football is food!

i did a search and found more remarks from such respected person to be a statement...bcoz he's the president.

2nd. he said banished football's modern slavery... in the context of CR leavin not abiding his 5 year contract. so wht's the point of contract. he said to strengthen the rule of exploitation of young non-EU football prodigy...no news.

3rd. perez is coming back to helm real madrid as president from calderon...and to boost his popularity, he took in kaka, ronaldo and possibly ribery...slapping them with the price he deem fit. if he can rule for the next 10 yrs...wht's the point of football...tht's my point.

i dig dig dig on cultural dominance, the value of contemporar art...the death of aesthetics...corporate globalisations...so i thought i take a breather...then kena ronaldo saga...rampant rape of everything we like... everyone wants to get away from ugly truth and sit in the bandwagon of cool...

tak emo meh? hahaha

Added on June 16, 2009, 6:44 pm
QUOTE(kimhoong @ Jun 16 2009, 04:45 PM)
slcroy

I understand your intention and I think it's good for all of us (both readers and posters). Continue to write more despite getting less-than-expected feedback because I believe there are ppl appreciate it silently smile.gif

Since your post is kinda long, I'd like to suggest you to organize your post into different sub-topics so that when others reply back, they can do so according to the sub-topics... such as:

Commercialised football

UEFA/FIFA/Blatter/Platini roles and comments

Being a football fans

xxxxxxx
I believe we should have some sort of "format" when posting multiple subtopic discussion smile.gif
BTW, I didn't notice that we should call you Roy laugh.gif

I own you a proper reply cos I cannot do so now as I am still in the office tongue.gif
take ur time man, take ur time. sure.

Added on June 16, 2009, 6:50 pm
QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 16 2009, 06:26 PM)
I wouldn't mind Huntelaar if Ade goes as well, but with Dudu coming back next season chances are we don't be going for the Dutch striker. Diarra? M or L? biggrin.gif Lassana is a mercenary so probably not. Sneidjer is a player whom I really rate but we've got heaps of creative midfielders already.
Maybe I should keep my 2 Thierry Henry posters in my cupboard instead of my wall, and the 2 Nissans too. Oh yeah, hide all my toys from the display table as well lolol...

Growing old is mandatory, growing up is optional.

And for the articles that solstice posted... see? more proof that the media can easily twist headlines to make the news sound more sensational. Fabs never said MU will not win without Ronaldo, he merely said Ronaldo is a good player. And the calling for Yaya's purchase? More made up shit with some recycled lines from previous days.
Ya...but i think wht solstice did was fine...he digs and let out so we can draw our own conclusion...

actually my intention is besides the surface news...we digs more on the policy...the back pictures of all these... so we will all be informed better...be it from the emirates, fifa or uefa... since we all agree football is business we enrich ourselves with better knowledge of football... the money making agenda...

transfer is hot now i know la...mix with the ugly side also can.

This post has been edited by slcroy: Jun 16 2009, 06:50 PM
ivanau88
post Jun 16 2009, 07:01 PM

3,777 posts

take M.Diarra!! another perfect choice after Y.Toure. This could be the golden chance to get experienced players like Van Der Vaart and Sneijder. But we will have have to sell a couple of players to match their wage anyway. With the current UK tax policy, the asking wage will be much more higher

Added on June 16, 2009, 7:04 pm
QUOTE(kaka91 @ Jun 16 2009, 06:34 PM)
our supposedly first 6 matches of next season

August:

West Ham United v Arsenal – Aug 15th
Arsenal v Burnley – Aug 22nd
Arsenal v Chelsea – Aug 29th

September:

Bolton Wanderers v Arsenal – Sept 12th
Liverpool v Arsenal – Sept 19th
Arsenal v Manchester City – Sept 26th

source: http://goonertalk.com/2009/06/15/first-ars...ixtures-leaked/

Added on June 16, 2009, 6:40 pmoh by the way, anyone knows who is Thomas Hitzlsperger? apparently arsene is interested..

I only heard of Hitzlsperger, never really seen him played. He should be ok since he is a German. Big size huh. Always hate to see Ballack bullied the midfield everytime against Chelsea

This post has been edited by ivanau88: Jun 16 2009, 07:04 PM
slcroy
post Jun 16 2009, 07:05 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(ivanau88 @ Jun 16 2009, 07:01 PM)
take M.Diarra!! another perfect choice after Y.Toure. This could be the golden chance to get experienced players like Van Der Vaart and Sneijder. But we will have have to sell a couple of players to match their wage anyway. With the current UK tax policy, the asking wage will be much more higher
Yup, i say take diarra, van der vaart and huntelaar...sell eboue, ade, silvestre, diaby.

huntelaar partner van persie..double dutch lethal...
kaka91
post Jun 16 2009, 07:10 PM

2,228 posts

selling the whole club and buying a whole new starting 11 is not a good idea slcroy... lets not be real madrid. and i think huntelaar will not come. what are the chances? @ivanau.. since hitzlsperger is german, he should be ok? lol... i dunnu where u got that logic from. =)
StarGhazzer
post Jun 16 2009, 07:11 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(kaka91 @ Jun 16 2009, 06:34 PM)

Some German dude who used to play for Villa not too long ago. Neat player, good skill, good shot, but never really hit the heights. We don't need him when he's not good enough for Villa. The Sun is the source, that speaks a lot.

QUOTE(slcroy @ Jun 16 2009, 06:43 PM)
i dig dig dig on cultural dominance, the value of contemporar art...the death of aesthetics...corporate globalisations...so i thought i take a breather...then kena ronaldo saga...rampant rape of everything we like... everyone wants to get away from ugly truth and sit in the bandwagon of cool...

tak emo meh?
hahaha
No offence mate, but seriously isn't that 杞人忧天?
We can't do jack about the commercialisation of sports, nor will it directly affect our daily lives in any manner. We've all got more serious stuff to worry about rather than be concerned about RM's fat wallet. It's not my money they're using anyway. If anything is to be learned from this, learn how RM market their brand in the world... for you guys involved in marketing and commerce, get some tips from Perez biggrin.gif
slcroy
post Jun 16 2009, 07:14 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(kaka91 @ Jun 16 2009, 07:10 PM)
selling the whole club and buying a whole new starting 11 is not a good idea slcroy... lets not be real madrid. and i think huntelaar will not come. what are the chances? @ivanau.. since hitzlsperger is german, he should be ok? lol... i dunnu where u got that logic from. =)
oh no la...it's a global frenzy now...so we need to be in it to be cool...

Added on June 16, 2009, 7:16 pm
QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 16 2009, 07:11 PM)
Some German dude who used to play for Villa not too long ago. Neat player, good skill, good shot, but never really hit the heights. We don't need him when he's not good enough for Villa. The Sun is the source, that speaks a lot.
We can't do jack about the commercialisation of sports, nor will it directly affect our daily lives in any manner. We've all got more serious stuff to worry about rather than be concerned about RM's fat wallet. It's not my money they're using anyway. If anything is to be learned from this, learn how RM market their brand in the world... for you guys involved in marketing and commerce, get some tips from Perez biggrin.gif
wht's the serious stuff to worry about? can elaborate?

wht's the word u put in? i cant see the text...just reformatted pc.

This post has been edited by slcroy: Jun 16 2009, 07:16 PM
kaka91
post Jun 16 2009, 07:18 PM

2,228 posts

QUOTE(slcroy @ Jun 16 2009, 07:14 PM)
oh no la...it's a global frenzy now...so we need to be in it to be cool...
so you think that offloading everyone and buying the likes of huntelaar, sneijder, van der vaat, diarra, and dunno who else, we are going to be a great team? or we should offload everyone to fit in the so call trend? lets sell cesc, dudu, arshavin.. sure to raise enough cash to buy huntelaar and the rest no? cool? rolleyes.gif
slcroy
post Jun 16 2009, 07:25 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 16 2009, 07:11 PM)
it's not directly effect our lives now...i see.

means if the things are effecting us, then only we thing of solutions to react, right? or can i conclude that when we need to go toilet, then onli we build the toilet...

ask u a question...if robbers break in ur house tie u up ransack hurt u...then they flee...do u think u need help?

if u call for help...ur neighbour say..."i got serious stuff to worry about...i wanna learn marketing from perez" and dun wanna help u...how would u feel?

Not Cursing You...this is to everyone ok?

Added on June 16, 2009, 7:26 pm
QUOTE(kaka91 @ Jun 16 2009, 07:18 PM)
so you think that offloading everyone and buying the likes of huntelaar, sneijder, van der vaat, diarra, and dunno who else, we are going to be a great team? or we should offload everyone to fit in the so call trend? lets sell cesc, dudu, arshavin.. sure to raise enough cash to buy huntelaar and the rest no? cool?  rolleyes.gif
cool.

This post has been edited by slcroy: Jun 16 2009, 07:34 PM
kaka91
post Jun 16 2009, 07:29 PM

2,228 posts

QUOTE(slcroy @ Jun 16 2009, 07:25 PM)

means if the things are effecting us, then only we thing of solutions to react, right? or can i conclude that when we need to go toilet, then onli we build the toilet...

ask u a question...if robbers break in ur house tie u up ransack hurt u...then they flee...do u think u need help?

if u call for help...ur neighbour say..."i got serious stuff to worry about...i wanna learn marketing from perez" and dun wanna help u...how would u feel?

cool.
doh.gif clearly my sarcasm doesn't work
slcroy
post Jun 16 2009, 07:30 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(kaka91 @ Jun 16 2009, 07:29 PM)
doh.gif  clearly my sarcasm doesn't work
chill la...i am merely going with the flow la wei... tongue.gif

Added on June 16, 2009, 7:32 pm
QUOTE(slcroy @ Jun 16 2009, 07:25 PM)

Not Cursing You...this is to everyone...ok? i clarify first...

cool.
This post has been edited by slcroy: Jun 16 2009, 07:32 PM
ivanau88
post Jun 16 2009, 08:01 PM

3,777 posts

QUOTE(kaka91 @ Jun 16 2009, 07:10 PM)
Hey, that sounds kinda mean. I think u misunderstood my comment. I mentioned that I had been heard of this german fella for years in the German league. If you happen to see him played in his national team, he was ok. He used to play for Villa.He have those experience we wanted. with his height and the German way he played, I made the ok conclusion for him.More info about this German fella. I still think he is a good addition to the team but not in the 1st 11.
German fella

This post has been edited by ivanau88: Jun 16 2009, 08:02 PM
slcroy
post Jun 16 2009, 08:16 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(ivanau88 @ Jun 16 2009, 08:01 PM)
Hey, that sounds kinda mean. I think u misunderstood my comment. I mentioned that I had been heard of this german fella for years in the German league. If you happen to see him played in his national team, he was ok. He used to play for Villa.He have those experience we wanted. with his height and the German way he played, I made the ok conclusion for him.More info about this German fella. I still think he is a good addition to the team but not in the 1st 11.
German fella
i saw him play for germany b4... he's got good vision and made good forward passes...too bad la he attacker...u ask him come to arsenal means u gonna offload some current attackers...i think she meant that.

she sarcash me la not sarcash u... she also emo already...

bocz of my emo...everyone emo...haiz.
kaka91
post Jun 16 2009, 09:44 PM

2,228 posts

sorry ivanau, if i sounded mean.. i just ment that u said that since he is german, he should be ok, it just felt like u were classifying all germans as ok. if u didnt mean that, then i apologise

125 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0477sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:16 AM