1,866 posts

next seasons no ronaldo, EPL gonna be interesting edi

slcroy
post Jun 15 2009, 03:25 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(joe405 @ Jun 15 2009, 02:57 PM)
Slowly...just slowly the average value of famous players have soared at least by 10million now...it could be more.

hahaha...loads of crap. Tell me now fellow gooners...wht is the real point of having FIFA or UEFA??

Things that should be done to football, like the sanction of exploitation of young footballers to the basic fairness of rule in football to the implementation for better emergency aspect of stadiums, fans and players...they dun really see to it

Things to do with money, power and status...they go all out for it...Sexist thing like "bring sexiness to football" calling the female soccer to dress in tighter outfit...they do it...for wht? to attract people...why? money.

This madness is not healthy and instead of doing something, they give a go ahead. Is this kinda trade back by someone even more powerful that can threaten their popularity and presidency for the future??

Mr. Blatter, Oh Mr. Blatter

Mr. Blatter and his Quotes
joe405
post Jun 15 2009, 05:17 PM

239 posts

Cesc Fabregas Urges Arsenal To Sign Combative Midfielder
The Spain international wants a tough-tackling partner in the Gunners' midfield to replace the void left by the departures of Patrick Vieira, Mathieu Flamini and Gilberto Silva...

Cesc Fabregas is requesting that Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger invests in a defensive midfielder during the close-season.

The Gunners have endured four seasons without a trophy and the flamboyant Spain international believes that the way to end that spell is by filling a void left by departures in recent years.

"We are accustomed to playing alongside the likes of Patrick Vieira, [Mathieu] Flamini and Gilberto Silva," Fabregas is quoted as saying by The Sun.

"Last season we were weak in this position which is so important, especially for teams like us.

"When we attack, it is vital to know someone is behind you to win the ball back."

The 22-year-old has seen speculation linking him with a return to Barcelona this summer, whose youth team he was part of before joining the Gunners as a 16-year-old in 2003.

Fabregas has admitted that he would be delighted to receive a call from Blaugrana head coach Pep Guardiola. Though he insists he is happy to stay at Arsenal, he has hinted that silverware is the key to his stay in north London.

"If you do not win titles then you cannot be happy," Fabregas remarked.

"Losing the semi-finals of the Champions League and the FA Cup meant we fell short and lacked that little bit extra.

"I'm happy at Arsenal but four years without success for a player who wants titles is a lot."

Source: Goal.com/en
StarGhazzer
post Jun 15 2009, 06:32 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(slcroy @ Jun 15 2009, 03:03 PM)

Football is a sport, and sport is a commercialised industry. Look at NBA, look at F1, money talks the loudest in all of them. But like football, the richest team doesn't necessarily win and that's the beauty of it.

I agree that UEFA and FIFA are nothing more than organisations that talk louder than actual actions. Kinda like FIA actually, where teams can easily protest and withdraw from competitions to ruin the sport. The thing about football is that the comments made by the bigshots in UEFA and FIFA are often contradictory, if not hypocritical.

Michel Platini for some reason loves to take shots at Arsene and Arsenal, yet never really take any action about bigger teams tapping up players in an illegal way. To a certain extent, our team's policy of "poaching" youngsters is somewhat ethically wrong, but at the same time we do have our own academy which trains up English youngsters. Not forgetting the fact that other European teams have been snatching up kids all along without much dissent from the governing bodies, eg Barca with Messi. So why single out our team?

I feel appalled at the money RM paid for their 2 new players, yet at the same time I am not particularly surprised. As long as there are teams willing to pay these prices, there will be teams willing to sell. If some other team eg Barca came in 100M pounds for Fabregas, would you not consider it? Maybe the idea of a budget cap would surface some time or another, but again like F1, the big teams in the sport will make noise. G14 may now be defunct, but if all of the big teams forfeit the Champions League, imagine how awkward it could be.

QUOTE(joe405 @ Jun 15 2009, 05:17 PM)

The tabloids, with their misleading title, often make things sound worse than it seems.

We sure do need someone to win the ball back, but Fabs should realise that Denilson was our no1 tackler and interceptor in midfield last season. If anything, he himself needs to bear some responsibility as his performance during the first half of the season before he became captain was abysmal by his own high standards.

As usual, every summer we will be seeing crap about Fabregas leaving for Barca yada yada... He is focused on Spain and Arsenal and that's all that matters regardless of his Catalunyan roots. There's no 100% loyalty in football these days; it's understandable for a player to leave if some other team decides to pay stupidly high wages, while for the team it's understandable to accept an offer if the quoted price is stupidly sky high.
kaka91
post Jun 15 2009, 06:42 PM

2,228 posts

at this moment,to me the one player who, when says he is staying, really means he is staying, is cesc. i just feel like he really is not going to go anywhere unless we again dont win anything. coz he really isn't ours, sometimes i feel that. he isn't like bergy, or tony adams. but right now, i'll have him. =)
slcroy
post Jun 15 2009, 06:57 PM

166 posts

Tabloids? wht tabloids? u mean the title "what the fark is happening?"

If u ask me will i sell cesc for 100mil? i wont sell him. if before, i will ignorantly agree even for 50mil...now? hell no. two reason. 1st. is to show at least in the transfer market, i dun wanna inflate his price and not sparking a trend of big money move. 2nd. is to let cesc know that he's a player for arsenal. not slave or commodity.

and guess wht? 3rd. i may be given ultimatum and then sacked...if my boss is cruel enough to not acknowledge my intention...

3 questions for the fans (as posted in the other threads)

why:

1. Devil fans have to spent rm98 and not RM50 to see their MU heroes? All are millionaires. repay grattitude to the third world fans cannot?

2. Arsene Wenger come in a quiet manner... when is the last time Arsenal visited us?

3. Liverpool...sigh...go thailand, then sgpore...eh, malaysia dun wanna come...why? our fans here more than sgpore my fren...another country just for a 2 days and to say thanks...cannot?

This post has been edited by slcroy: Jun 15 2009, 06:57 PM
rickrick
post Jun 15 2009, 07:38 PM

Perth please be good to my business !!
505 posts

"I'm happy at Arsenal but four years without success for a player who wants titles is a lot."
If arsenal no silverware next season we know what will happen, fabregas byebye, rvp byebye..
kaka91
post Jun 15 2009, 07:41 PM

2,228 posts

i can add on to that.. rosicky byebye, dudu byebye, arshavin byebye... arsene byebye
StarGhazzer
post Jun 15 2009, 09:39 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(slcroy @ Jun 15 2009, 06:57 PM)
why:
1. Devil fans have to spent rm98 and not RM50 to see their MU heroes? All are millionaires. repay grattitude to the third world fans cannot?

2. Arsene Wenger come in a quiet manner... when is the last time Arsenal visited us?

3. Liverpool...sigh...go thailand, then sgpore...eh, malaysia dun wanna come...why? our fans here more than sgpore my fren...another country just for a 2 days and to say thanks...cannot?
1. It's MU fans' problem, not ours tongue.gif

2. 1999 or 2000 I think, but Arsene doesn't really do world wide tours like other teams do. For the past seasons it's always been training -> Barnet -> Austria tour -> Emirates Cup +/- Ajax Tournament. It's good enough for me. I'd love to see Arsenal come to M'sia, no doubt, but I'd rather let the players have a good rest and a proper pre-season training instead of flying everywhere in the world for show.

3. Tell that to Liverpool's owners lol... Liverpool has been to Thailand before, so maybe the reception and revenue there is lucrative and good enough for them. Singapore, maybe they think it'll be easier for people to go watch them in SG. tongue.gif

QUOTE(kaka91 @ Jun 15 2009, 06:42 PM)
coz he really isn't ours, sometimes i feel that. he isn't like bergy, or tony adams. but right now, i'll have him. =)
He was never ours to begin with, from day 1 it was already certain that he and his family bleed Barcalona. And it was already made clear that he will return to Spain, probably Barca one day; let's hope that by the time he does we'll have his successor ready.

Tony Adams was the original Mr Arsenal of our recent history, our Maldini if you like.
kaka91
post Jun 15 2009, 09:47 PM

2,228 posts

no, i ment ours as in, feels like ours. like, bergy was not ours to begin with, but after 11 years, u feel like he belongs to us, u neo? i feel that way with clichy too, someone u can rely on to stay when things get bad.. but not really with cesc. i love him, but i dont think he will stay forever, coz i dont feel like he truly belongs to arsenel. its like, we are renting him or something, if u get what i mean
jim18992
post Jun 15 2009, 09:58 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(kaka91 @ Jun 15 2009, 09:47 PM)
no, i ment ours as in, feels like ours. like, bergy was not ours to begin with, but after 11 years, u feel like he belongs to us, u neo? i feel that way with clichy too, someone u can rely on to stay when things get bad.. but not really with cesc. i love him, but i dont think he will stay forever, coz i dont feel like he truly belongs to arsenel. its like, we are renting him or something, if u get what i mean
Tht true, although I love to denied it, and dont think about it, but it true tht Fabregas will one day mostly return to Barca, unless Barca dont want him, then he will be stuck in Arsenal for a long long long long long time laugh.gif
kaka91
post Jun 15 2009, 10:03 PM

2,228 posts

speaking abt clichy... biggrin.gif

Clichy not keen on Real move

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11670_5381973,00.html

slcroy
post Jun 15 2009, 10:41 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 15 2009, 09:39 PM)
1. It's MU fans' problem, not ours tongue.gif

2. 1999 or 2000 I think, but Arsene doesn't really do world wide tours like other teams do. For the past seasons it's always been training -> Barnet -> Austria tour -> Emirates Cup +/- Ajax Tournament. It's good enough for me. I'd love to see Arsenal come to M'sia, no doubt, but I'd rather let the players have a good rest and a proper pre-season training instead of flying everywhere in the world for show.

3. Tell that to Liverpool's owners lol... Liverpool has been to Thailand before, so maybe the reception and revenue there is lucrative and good enough for them. Singapore, maybe they think it'll be easier for people to go watch them in SG. tongue.gif
He was never ours to begin with, from day 1 it was already certain that he and his family bleed Barcalona. And it was already made clear that he will return to Spain, probably Barca one day; let's hope that by the time he does we'll have his successor ready.

Tony Adams was the original Mr Arsenal of our recent history, our Maldini if you like.
Hit me come on... get better facts to support why u say those things...let me know what i am missing.

I erased the harsh things i've said...so forget about it. it's plain stupidity from me...sorry man.

convince me the argue point of why things r going so absurd...

Liberate football from consumerism.

Sepp Blatter defends Ronaldo's transfer

ronaldo supports blatter outburst

Blatter and Ronaldo threaten to further alienate fans

This post has been edited by slcroy: Jun 16 2009, 02:09 AM
kaka91
post Jun 15 2009, 10:51 PM

2,228 posts

bitter bitter... whats ur problem anyway? tired of supporting ur club?
slcroy
post Jun 16 2009, 01:33 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(kaka91 @ Jun 15 2009, 10:51 PM)
no no... not tired at all...I just want u guys here to sit back and think wht's going on... if u cannot beat em dun join them as yet. support our club with conviction...think bout ways to have discussion of the current capitalization trend sipping into this sport. forget about golf n F1...it's not our game bcoz those were expensive sports...and certainly we don't want it to be in football...

engage in discussion on the deeper things tht's infecting football...the intellectual aspect that enrich us...with the right and honest views. find facts...find out why things r happening...try to share and educate the young supporters of what's going on in this sports...we have so much more to talk bout in football. dun worry about voicing strong views.

Liberate football from consumerism. Make our forum here more than posting transfer news and views...we are also pundits and i am sure many here have better view points than the established pundits...write ur own views for others to share...ur thoughts...

Starghazzer, Solstice818 (kop crossover), u, Kaka91, Kim Hoong (frontrunner) Toshio, and many more frequent posters....great english...write write write...dig dig dig deep and share with us positive n negative stuffs.

come on... u guys can do it. we know it's unhealthy of big transfer move...we know football ain't food... we respect women's rights in not dressing sexily in football to garner more followers...we dont need that. arsene dun spend big absurd cash...he got shot with reyes and jeffers...he realised. why? coz Arsene knows...but i dont agree his ways of poaching young players. i admit. say it.

Even if i am a gooner...we have to agree sometimes clubs also did the not-so-good things...write it out. share it. coz we dunno wht's going on...if u know let us know. dun brush it aside coz its arsenal. share it.

know the good side and bad side of football so we can analyze...then we conclude. then we can make better judgment.

Added on June 16, 2009, 2:05 am
QUOTE(kaka91 @ Jun 15 2009, 10:51 PM)
eh, why r u officially pissed off with real madrid?

This post has been edited by slcroy: Jun 16 2009, 02:05 AM
tkh_1001
post Jun 16 2009, 03:05 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(joe405 @ Jun 15 2009, 05:17 PM)
The Spain international wants a tough-tackling partner in the Gunners' midfield to replace the void left by the departures of Patrick Vieira, Mathieu Flamini and Gilberto Silva...

Cesc Fabregas is requesting that Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger invests in a defensive midfielder during the close-season.

The Gunners have endured four seasons without a trophy and the flamboyant Spain international believes that the way to end that spell is by filling a void left by departures in recent years.

"We are accustomed to playing alongside the likes of Patrick Vieira, [Mathieu] Flamini and Gilberto Silva," Fabregas is quoted as saying by The Sun.

"Last season we were weak in this position which is so important, especially for teams like us.

"When we attack, it is vital to know someone is behind you to win the ball back."

The 22-year-old has seen speculation linking him with a return to Barcelona this summer, whose youth team he was part of before joining the Gunners as a 16-year-old in 2003.

Fabregas has admitted that he would be delighted to receive a call from Blaugrana head coach Pep Guardiola. Though he insists he is happy to stay at Arsenal, he has hinted that silverware is the key to his stay in north London.

"If you do not win titles then you cannot be happy," Fabregas remarked.

"Losing the semi-finals of the Champions League and the FA Cup meant we fell short and lacked that little bit extra.

can wish for stephen appiah? lol
slcroy
post Jun 16 2009, 03:13 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Jun 16 2009, 03:05 AM)
worth a try tongue.gif
StarGhazzer
post Jun 16 2009, 08:34 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(slcroy @ Jun 15 2009, 10:41 PM)
Hit me come on... get better facts to support why u say those things...let me know what i am missing.

I erased the harsh things i've said...so forget about it. it's plain stupidity from me...sorry man.

convince me the argue point of why things r going so absurd...

Liberate football from consumerism.

Sepp Blatter defends Ronaldo's transfer

ronaldo supports blatter outburst

Blatter and Ronaldo threaten to further alienate fans
Hit you for what? tongue.gif The past things are already forgotten, don't brood on it.

I'm merely replying to the questions that you asked, and to be honest for those MU and Liverpool ones it's better left for their respective fans to answer. I'm not particularly interested nor knowledgeable enough to answer for their teams. And we all know Blatter (and Platini) has never really spoken anything worth listening, so why bother?

On why Arsenal doesn't come to M'sia for tours, well I've already answered that. Who knows, Gazi might want to come to Asia in the future? There has been rumours about Arsenal going to US for a tour due to Gazi and Stanny's influence in the States, but I believe if Arsene says no it won't come to fruition. At the moment I'm pretty happy with our pre-season games. Barnett gives us a chance to see some kids in action, the Austria tour gives us opportunities to try different players and formations, while the Emirates Cup gives the team some exposure to other big European clubs. Some people may say this season's Emirates Cup lack big names as we've got Inter, Juve, and RM in the past, but Alt Madrid/PSG/Rangers aren't exactly pushovers either.

As for football and consumerism, like I said football together with any other popular sport in the world is already commercialised. Even before Roman's arrival, other European teams have been spending crazily all along. Look at how much Juve paid for Buffon, a goalkeeper. RM spent crazy money for 2 consecutive seasons on both Figo and then Zidane. Bayern has been bullying Bundesliga by buying other teams' best players, starting from Ballack then Klose then Podolski etc. The big teams are able to do so because they manage to recoup the expenses by getting huge income from fans (shirts, merchandise, matchday tickets etc). Just look at how many people bought RM shirt with BECKHAM23 on the back. Expect huge sales of RONALDO(no.) too next season, with KAKA(no.) as well.

Roman and Man City's Arab owners only added fuel to fire, but to be honest who is to stop them from doing so?
Our team probably doesn't have that much of a fanbase nor attraction to suck in those kind of money. We may get there one day, we may not; but at the moment we're able to balance our budget to prevent our debts from snowballing.

Again, it's not healthy for big teams to spend an absurd amount of money; and we have seen how improper spending and management has crippled Leeds and now Newcastle. Our way of poaching youngsters may not be ethically correct, but it's the only way we can continue to punch above our weight. As mentioned before, we're not the first team to do so hence no point for the authorities and media to aim their bullets at us.

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Jun 16 2009, 03:05 AM)
Why even bother with him?
No team has signed him up yet due to fitness reasons, and you gotta think something fishy is going on with his legs.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 16 2009, 08:46 AM
joe405
post Jun 16 2009, 09:24 AM

239 posts

Theo Walcott Acts As An Inspiration For Arsenal Youth Star Jack Wilshere
Wilshere claims that Walcott has helped him during his rookie season...

Auxerre Forward Ireneusz Jelen Reveals Arsenal Admiration
The Poland international has revealed his dream would be to play for the Gunners...

Arsenal's Gael Clichy Rejects Real Madrid Rumours
The France international left-back says he's flattered to be linked with los Merengues, but insists he has no intention of leaving the Gunners...

I'll Go To Spain, But Not Right Now - Arsenal Skipper Fabregas
Cesc has pledged his immediate future to the Gunners but reaffirmed that he would like to play in Spain later in his career.

Mie
post Jun 16 2009, 10:34 AM

GOONER
1,718 posts

If we didn't sign anyone but we have an injury free squad for next season, are we gonna win the title or any cup? unsure.gif

125 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0594sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:07 AM