115 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Travel New Zealand, Attractions, hotels & General

digitalz
post Mar 19 2012, 09:49 AM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

QUOTE(davinci_maggie @ Mar 19 2012, 09:39 AM)
hmm ..so if i take AAX from KL to Sydney, holiday few days & take Jetstars from Aus to Christchurch.  like tat i can minimize the fare?
cos hb give me rm15k budget for 2 weeks. aiya.. if cheapest airticket rm3k for 1. how to cover woh.
When are you going? SIA having promos for KrisFlyer. RM3.4k +/- for CHC flights. Return. Cheaper flight? After transit take Jetstar. It's been confirmed that you don't need a Visa if you are going to transit in Australia. Details here http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/transit/no-visa.htm

As for the RM15k budget, well, basically it'll be enough for 1 person depending on how you are going to use it. 2 weeks. Let's say you'll be using approximately 2 days for flight which leaves you around 12 days there. 1 person, it'll be more or less enough if you are going to do the backpacking style. smile.gif
yujin86
post Mar 19 2012, 08:03 PM

1,740 posts

QUOTE(fallout @ Mar 13 2012, 10:06 PM)
You don't need IDP, NZ accept letter of translation from JPJ.
our license is in english or not? cos got show Malaysia driving license =.=
fallout
post Mar 19 2012, 10:04 PM

Listen!
776 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ Mar 19 2012, 08:03 PM)
our license is in english or not? cos got show Malaysia driving license =.=
Yes it does show, but it doesn't say what vehicle class you are in. The translation letter will list out everything if the police officer requires further information.
Keng
post Mar 20 2012, 04:44 PM

142 posts

Just took the jetstar from akl to chc. not much different to air Asia imo.
angelfmheaven
post Mar 21 2012, 11:56 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Mar 15 2012, 04:50 PM)
Now still early to say. But here's an advice if you don't like transits, fly straight though it might be really costly. SIA = RM5k return based on experience.

If not, you can take AAX to Australia, Jetstar, Air NZ will provide some other cheaper rates for you to fly to NZ. smile.gif There are actually flights like Jetstar from KL but then, the transit time. Hohoho.
But jetstar to nz is way cheaper than MAS rite? it's RM 1+k, but with all the transit, am i right?
Or would it be cheaper if we fly to Australia with AA & transit to NZ via jetstar?
I'm planning to go to NZ dis September...Someone please help me..I need the cheapest way to fly to NZ..
Appreciate your help..
mat sputnik
post Mar 21 2012, 12:11 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(angelfmheaven @ Mar 21 2012, 11:56 AM)
But jetstar to nz is way cheaper than MAS rite? it's RM 1+k, but with all the transit, am i right?
Or would it be cheaper if we fly to Australia with AA & transit to NZ via jetstar?
I'm planning to go to NZ dis September...Someone please help me..I need the cheapest way to fly to NZ..
Appreciate your help..
You have to do your own research on the fares/routes. Low-cost options are:

1) KUL - MEL/SYD/OOL with AirAsia X, then Aus - AKL/CHC with Jetstar/AirNZ/PacificBlue.
2) KUL - SIN with any LCC, then SIN - AKL with Jetstar.

Go the respective websites to find out for yourself on best routes/prices.

===
angelfmheaven
post Mar 21 2012, 12:17 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Mar 21 2012, 12:11 PM)
You have to do your own research on the fares/routes. Low-cost options are:

1) KUL - MEL/SYD/OOL with AirAsia X, then Aus - AKL/CHC with Jetstar/AirNZ/PacificBlue.
2) KUL - SIN with any LCC, then SIN - AKL with Jetstar.

Go the respective websites to find out for yourself on best routes/prices.

===
Thanks Mat...will do that...at least i have some directions...smile.gif
digitalz
post Mar 21 2012, 01:38 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(angelfmheaven @ Mar 21 2012, 12:17 PM)
Thanks Mat...will do that...at least i have some directions...smile.gif
Yeah, like what Mat said. If not, there are still people that take the bus down to SG (save cost according to them) then take Jetstar from there. smile.gif
angelfmheaven
post Mar 21 2012, 02:18 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Mar 21 2012, 01:38 PM)
Yeah, like what Mat said. If not, there are still people that take the bus down to SG (save cost according to them) then take Jetstar from there. smile.gif
but i'm wondering since AA axed flights to NZ, would MAS be doing promotion to promote their flight to NZ?
digitalz
post Mar 21 2012, 02:23 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(angelfmheaven @ Mar 21 2012, 02:18 PM)
but i'm wondering since AA axed flights to NZ, would MAS be doing promotion to promote their flight to NZ?
Mas -> AKL. Well, sometimes the flights are cheap during promotions, RM2.5k for promos? SIA as well, RM3.5k +/- during promos.

There's another way to travel as well actually but it might suit those in East MY more. Fly to Brunei, use Brunei Air.
yiyibrowers
post Mar 21 2012, 06:15 PM

751 posts

Is there any money changer if I bring sgd to exchange at there since it was 1to 1..... At Auckland?
Keng
post Mar 23 2012, 06:11 PM

142 posts

Back from 2 weeks trip to NZ. In brief, places that I went to are

Day 1:
Reach Christchurch 12am, spent the night here till 8am for rental car to open tongue.gif

Day 2:
-Stop at supermarket for groceries before driving to Lake Tekapo (1 night);
-went up to Mt John, had hot chocolate at Astro Cafe, cloudy weather so couldn't see stars

Day 3:
-Drove to Salmon farm & had salmon sashimi.
-Drove at Cromwell for excellent coffee. Superb driving road!
-Stopped at wineyards along the way
-Stay at Queenstown (2 nights), walk around the town, lost to their casino ~_~

Day 4:
-Day trip to Milford Sound self drive, yet another amazing driving roads!
-Came back & went up to skyline by gondola & then luge
-Drove to Glenorchy for LOTR sites, superb view

Day 5:
-Stop by Arrowtown for LOTR site
-Drove to Lake Wanaka via Cardrona. Wanted to drive to 'Race to the sky' (nz version) but it was all gravel road, had to abandon the plan coz could risk the tire. Had nice fish & chips here
-Drove to Fox Glacier (1 night) via Haast Pass (not as superb as what many has claimed)
-Did 1/2 day Fox Glacier track guide

Day 6:
-Walk to the foot hill of Franz Josef, very long walk ~_~
-Drove Hokitika for their famous blue colored gorge, seriously blue
-Drove to Greymouth (1 night)

Day 7:
-Drove to Punakaiki for pancake rock, no blow holes though coz low tide
-Drove to Nelson (1 night)
-wineyard tasting (Waimea's Reisling is excellent!)

Day 8:
-Drove to Picton for ferry
-Arrive at Wellington (1 night), visited Te Papa museum, a must, & its free btw;
-drove up to Mount Victoria for city view; walk around city (cuba street)

Day 9:
-drove to taupo (our longest drive by far, 5 freaking hours). Great view of Mount Doom along the way!
-drove to Huka falls, really nice & strong rapid! Then waited for Aratiatia Rapid dam to open. Then did bungy at Taupo lake
-drove to Rotorua (1 night)

Day 10:
-waitapu thermal wonderland; nice place, well worth money paid imho
-drove to waitomo for foot whistle cave walk. Initially bought trip for black water rafting but my wife got cold feet coz she's afraid of dark. It wasn't a bad choice coz we got a private tour for the cave walk, more time & attention by the excellent & guide who knows his job & cave really well
-drove to Auckland (2 nights)

Day 11:
-ferry to Devonport; walk around etc
-back to auckland city & walk around also

Day 12:
-harbour & viaduct basin
-auckland museum
-fly to christchurch (2 nights)

Day 13:
-bus to Kaikoura
-whale watch; saw 2 sperm whales & a school of more than a hundred of dolphins!
-walk around Christchurch

Day 14:
-walk around Christchurch
-fly back to KL

yeah, i know, a lot of driving. Its a road trip afterall tongue.gif
fallout
post Mar 23 2012, 07:00 PM

Listen!
776 posts

QUOTE(Keng @ Mar 23 2012, 06:11 PM)
Day 6:
-Walk to the foot hill of Franz Josef, very long walk ~_~
-Drove Hokitika for their famous blue colored gorge, seriously blue
-Drove to Greymouth (1 night)

Day 7:
-Drove to Punakaiki for pancake rock, no blow holes though coz low tide
-Drove to Nelson (1 night)
-wineyard tasting (Waimea's Reisling is excellent!)
Not going through Arthurs Pass? You've missed the place I love most in South Island!
munkeyflo
post Mar 23 2012, 08:22 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(angelfmheaven @ Mar 21 2012, 11:56 AM)
Appreciate your help..
MAS/SIA usual price is around RM4k return. There are promotions going on sometimes, so it's best to look out for promotions and check out the prices. Matta fair just passed as well, there were quite a few good deals for flights.
Jetstar is still cheaper than MAS/SIA and the transit in Singapore airport isn't that long either.

If you want to go Aus first then go to NZ. You have to take into consideration other stuff like luggage check in and transit time all that too.
Jetstar will send your luggage directly to Auckland whereas if you transfer from AA to Jetstar you'll have to carry all your luggage out and check in again. Also, sometimes the flight may delay andden it may mess up your schedule.

I took AA to CHC last year, then Air NZ from CHC to AKL. Arrived CHC around midnight, earliest flight to AKL was around 5am. Had a terrible time waiting in the airport for the check in counters to open.

Also, you'll have to apply visa if you plan to fly into Australia first.
Keng
post Mar 24 2012, 02:06 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(fallout @ Mar 23 2012, 07:00 PM)
Not going through Arthurs Pass? You've missed the place I love most in South Island!
I wanted to but there's no way i could do so if i wanted to visit the north west side of south island sad.gif
fallout
post Mar 24 2012, 04:11 PM

Listen!
776 posts

QUOTE(Keng @ Mar 24 2012, 02:06 PM)
I wanted to but there's no way i could do so if i wanted to visit the north west side of south island sad.gif
You can go pass Arthurs Pass to CHC, then go up north through Kaikoura->Blenheim->Picton->North Island

On the way back you can just directly fly from AUK to CHC and back home. Much more time right?
Keng
post Mar 24 2012, 06:24 PM

142 posts

I had to go to Nelson. Yeah, what you've suggested should be better too.

I got the promo deal from aa last time. ok, I'll definitely note this down in case my friends wanna go
fallout
post Mar 24 2012, 10:12 PM

Listen!
776 posts

From Blenheim to Nelson requires 1hour +- only, just the road not that great (or you can try the Kaikoura->Nelson road).

Nelson is one of the best Summer time place. Abel Tasman & Golden Bay in summer is gorgeous!! Pic's Peanut Butter, also a must try!! Makes me wanna go back now...
yiyibrowers
post Mar 25 2012, 12:44 AM

751 posts

Got any recommend stuff to must buy from New Zealand as I will be going at this 28 April... How is the weather? I will be visiting Queentowns... Got any must visit attraction as I not can't accept those activity like bumpy jump, etc.... I will be staying at Auckland for a week plus...
davinci_maggie
post Mar 26 2012, 10:05 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Mar 19 2012, 09:49 AM)
When are you going? SIA having promos for KrisFlyer. RM3.4k +/- for CHC flights. Return. Cheaper flight? After transit take Jetstar. It's been confirmed that you don't need a Visa if you are going to transit in Australia. Details here http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/transit/no-visa.htm

As for the RM15k budget, well, basically it'll be enough for 1 person depending on how you are going to use it. 2 weeks. Let's say you'll be using approximately 2 days for flight which leaves you around 12 days there. 1 person, it'll be more or less enough if you are going to do the backpacking style.  smile.gif
ha? RM15k for 1 person only? mine is rm15k for 2 woh.. gosh..i really underbudget ALOT!

QUOTE(fallout @ Mar 19 2012, 10:04 PM)
Yes it does show, but it doesn't say what vehicle class you are in. The translation letter will list out everything if the police officer requires further information.
where can i get the translation letter from? TQ notworthy.gif

115 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0380sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:45 PM