QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Apr 10 2012, 06:29 PM)
drive if you love driving.. both offer fantastic views.. driving can stop anytime and enjoy the view oh i miss NZ so much
Travel New Zealand, Attractions, hotels & General
Apr 18 2012, 10:27 PM
122 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Apr 27 2012, 10:20 AM
36 posts Joined: May 2010 |
ive visited south island NZ in 2009.. was there for 32 days..managed to explore the whole south island..rented a toyota estima and travelled the whole south island. it was fun and unforgettable exprience. most beautiful lakes are lake hawea, wanaka and tekapo..queensland is pretty nice too with the shotoverjet . in wanaka you can expreinces flying a plane guided by pilot instructor for only NZ$199 per session.
Added on April 27, 2012, 10:21 amive visited south island NZ in 2009.. was there for 32 days..managed to explore the whole south island..rented a toyota estima and travelled the whole south island. it was fun and unforgettable exprience. most beautiful lakes are lake hawea, wanaka and tekapo..queensland is pretty nice too with the shotoverjet . in wanaka you can expreinces flying a plane guided by pilot instructor for only NZ$199 per session This post has been edited by apmahira: Apr 27 2012, 10:21 AM |
May 1 2012, 05:01 PM
751 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Currently in North Island. The weather here are quite cold than Cameron Highland but same as Taiwan's winter time. Good people here and good food here
May 13 2012, 11:38 PM
0 posts Joined: May 2012 |
mind to share what's the good food there? might go if it sounds tempting ;p
May 14 2012, 06:49 PM
1 posts Joined: May 2012 |
QUOTE(hunter2329 @ May 13 2012, 11:38 PM) well,u must try fergburger in queenstown,the size is tripled than the normal size of a burger,i could continuosly eat it for few days. Patagonia chocolate near the lake is well know for its ice-cream and chocolate drink.Fish and chips is the most common food in new zealand,i recommend u tried the one in Kaikoura,the town of whale-watching |
May 14 2012, 06:59 PM
22 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(nee85 @ May 14 2012, 06:49 PM) well,u must try fergburger in queenstown,the size is tripled than the normal size of a burger,i could continuosly eat it for few days. Patagonia chocolate near the lake is well know for its ice-cream and chocolate drink. yep, fergburger is good. I like sweet bambi and the cod father. Other than that, hells pizza is good as well. Also, lunch/dinner buffet on top of the mountain. It includes a return cable car trip so quite worth it..Fish and chips is the most common food in new zealand,i recommend u tried the one in Kaikoura,the town of whale-watching |
May 16 2012, 04:53 PM
i never tried the local cook but i did went to the backyard at the northcote.. these meat are very delicious and the lamb chop.. nice to eat...
May 16 2012, 09:44 PM
1 posts Joined: May 2012 |
supermarket in new zealand got many cheap and tasty food,snack..go to pak n save there to grab cadbury chocolate,cookies time's cookies and bluebird potato chips...
May 17 2012, 09:11 AM
176 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(Keng @ Mar 30 2012, 02:08 PM) I spent the night at the airport sharing the floor with like another 20-30s other LOL. Bus don't serve after midnight & taxi is hell expensive. Yup, YHA is closed liao. I stayed at Dorset Backpacker, great location, clean & reasonably priced but the sound insulation between rooms is horrible. you can spend 2 hundred bucks stay at sudima hotel just 5 mins from the airport, so that next day you wouldn't get so tired.If I can do it again, I would fly into Auckland, then make my way down south before fly out from Christchurch. |
May 17 2012, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(nee85 @ May 16 2012, 10:44 PM) supermarket in new zealand got many cheap and tasty food,snack..go to pak n save there to grab cadbury chocolate,cookies time's cookies and bluebird potato chips... Yes pak n save but if u wanted something more delicious then head to New World... But recently I discover that for chocolate and honey, all supermarket are same price when they doing offer.... |
May 17 2012, 04:45 PM
9 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(youngman28 @ Apr 8 2012, 05:26 PM) Hi, how r u? hi youngman, Do u able to get the ticket to CHC before AAX halve the operation end of May 2012. Added on April 8, 2012, 6:12 pm Sorry dip back old post. Currently busy to finalise my hotel booking and prepare some Itinerary for SI 10D8N tour end of April 12. Plan to stay at YHA, but found that they do charge almost 90% amount of the adult fees for kid >5 year old, and some even charge a fee for kid> 2 year old. Any advise how to overcome it? Shall i look for others choice instead of YHA only? Have search through the Groupon.co.nz, counter a offer from Heritage Height Holiday Apartment (In QT). It a packages offer to 4 person for a 2 bed apartment for 2 nite(NZ295), and can do own cooking, but the cons is you need fully paid when you place yrs booking. Any NZ traveller have stay over this hotel ?, it that realiable and worth for stay?, btw, they do charge extra for kid >2 year old, NZ10, kid >5 year old, extra charge NZ40. My Itinerary, Chc-l/tekapo(1N)-Mt Cook-QT(3N)-MS -T Anau(1N) -Wanaka(1N) -Hasst Pass -F/Glaciar -FJ/Glaciar-Greymouth(1N)- A/Pass- Springfield(1N)-Akoira Initially was plan to cover Dunedin, but hear that nothing much to see. Any comment of my travel plan? Added on April 8, 2012, 6:49 pm Hi, How r u? me same as yrs family will travel SI on 27th-7th May. Have you doing yrs accomodation already?, any reccomendation for hostel/hotel which allow kid stay in without extra charge? Added on April 8, 2012, 7:54 pm My group will be stay @QT for 3 nite from 30/4-2nd May, hope will meet u they?. If you lack of kaki, can joint my group too, but all uncles and aunties might not suit you, we more on nice scenery and not into any extreme sport, btw our group fr KL. not really, my son is 4 yrs old but he's is being charged at kids rate, i managed to get YHA Hostels @ Oamaru, Dunedin & Te Anau. Its triple charing but they still charge around rm50-60 for my son, no such thing s foc for kids.....XBase hostels dnt charge my son the xtras but the per nite charges covers all i suppose...quite pricey...for me... |
May 17 2012, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(smarties1609 @ May 17 2012, 05:45 PM) hi youngman, Actually normally they will charge for kids also... I rent a townhouse and it can fit for 6peoples but i still get charge after 2 people... not really, my son is 4 yrs old but he's is being charged at kids rate, i managed to get YHA Hostels @ Oamaru, Dunedin & Te Anau. Its triple charing but they still charge around rm50-60 for my son, no such thing s foc for kids.....XBase hostels dnt charge my son the xtras but the per nite charges covers all i suppose...quite pricey...for me... |
May 20 2012, 11:44 PM
175 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ May 17 2012, 10:47 AM) Yes pak n save but if u wanted something more delicious then head to New World... But recently I discover that for chocolate and honey, all supermarket are same price when they doing offer.... Sorry, came back 2-3 week, never check this thread.Well, i found that Countdown in CHC have more choice and generally a bit cheaper compare to Pak N Save, my groups member sapu alot of 3 litre pack red wine they. Concerning the food they, if you want cheaper , try to register on Grabone.nz.co, they got some offer everyday, if the time and place suit yours plan joyney, just grab it. normally can get 50% discount on menu, but read the term and condition carefully before place yrs booking. For summary for my trip, for 11D9N for south Island , i spent above Rm6k for 2 adult and 2 kids (excluded airfare, with some sovernior and value buy fr NZ only) The most beautiful place to visit- Glenochy for LOTR site The best and value for money food -Fergburger in QT The boring/less scenery road travel - fr Hasst to Greymouth This post has been edited by youngman28: May 20 2012, 11:46 PM |
May 21 2012, 09:33 AM
6 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
Hello!! Friends. Need some help with my trip to NZ March 2013 with my hubby. So many things to do but so little time. Kindly help me with my itinerary. Below are my initial itinerary:
Day 01 Depart from KLIA to Auckland by MAS Day 02 Arrive Auckland at midnite and overnite at the hotel nearby Auckland airport. Early morning depart from Auckland to CHC. Sightseeing in CHC. What to see and recommended to see?? Day 03 CHC/Tekapo/Mt Cook Day 04 Mt Cook/Omaru with stop at Twizel Day 05 Omaru to Dunedin Day 06 In Dunedin Day 07 Dunedin to Te Anau Day 08 Te Anau/Miford Sound/Te Anau Day 09 Te Anau Queenstown Day 10 In Queenstown Day 11 Queenstown/Wanaka/CHC Day 12 CHC/Auckland by plane. Rest and free and easy in Auckland Day 13 Auckland/Rotorua with stop at Matamata Day 14 Rotorua to Auckland Day 15 Auckland back to KUL (our flight depart from CHC at 0135am. We will book 1 nite stay in CHC until our departure to the airport) I wanted to go Fox Glacier/Franz Josef but it looks very far from where we want to go. How do I turn around my itinerary?? We will rent a car throughout our trip in NZ. Just want to chk if any farm stay in NZ?? I mean I want to stay in the farm experience fruits picking/plucking and sheep herding. |
May 21 2012, 09:50 AM
3,615 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(Listiani @ May 21 2012, 09:33 AM) I wanted to go Fox Glacier/Franz Josef but it looks very far from where we want to go. How do I turn around my itinerary?? We will rent a car throughout our trip in NZ. The glaciers are amazing, but I guess if you're driving/hiking up to Mt Cook you get a feel for it there. I think someone else may have to chime in here as well.Just want to chk if any farm stay in NZ?? I mean I want to stay in the farm experience fruits picking/plucking and sheep herding. There's Walter Peak's farm at Queenstown, very nice demo of sheep herding, shearing and animals there. No fruit stuff though. I liked it, it's a half day visit. If there's anything I'd say that you're spending way too much time on the road. Queenstown to CHC for example is almost a whole day drive and it's tiring since the roads are regular kampung roads, not highways. |
May 21 2012, 10:00 AM
6 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
I think I want to fly from Queenstown to Auckland instead of return to CHC.
BTW,any animals to see along the way on our journey?? My husband love animals. Penguin, seal or others? QUOTE(tishaban @ May 21 2012, 09:50 AM) The glaciers are amazing, but I guess if you're driving/hiking up to Mt Cook you get a feel for it there. I think someone else may have to chime in here as well. There's Walter Peak's farm at Queenstown, very nice demo of sheep herding, shearing and animals there. No fruit stuff though. I liked it, it's a half day visit. If there's anything I'd say that you're spending way too much time on the road. Queenstown to CHC for example is almost a whole day drive and it's tiring since the roads are regular kampung roads, not highways. |
May 21 2012, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(Listiani @ May 21 2012, 11:00 AM) I think I want to fly from Queenstown to Auckland instead of return to CHC. U will see seal or dolphin. u had to go Milford Sound only manage to see it... As for whale is at CHC... If penguin then it must be winter season, i remember i read their brochure is stated is on JuneBTW,any animals to see along the way on our journey?? My husband love animals. Penguin, seal or others? Added on May 21, 2012, 11:11 am QUOTE(youngman28 @ May 21 2012, 12:44 AM) Sorry, came back 2-3 week, never check this thread. Hi,Well, i found that Countdown in CHC have more choice and generally a bit cheaper compare to Pak N Save, my groups member sapu alot of 3 litre pack red wine they. Concerning the food they, if you want cheaper , try to register on Grabone.nz.co, they got some offer everyday, if the time and place suit yours plan joyney, just grab it. normally can get 50% discount on menu, but read the term and condition carefully before place yrs booking. For summary for my trip, for 11D9N for south Island , i spent above Rm6k for 2 adult and 2 kids (excluded airfare, with some sovernior and value buy fr NZ only) The most beautiful place to visit- Glenochy for LOTR site The best and value for money food -Fergburger in QT The boring/less scenery road travel - fr Hasst to Greymouth Thanks for the info.. At auckland, it seem like all same price as long as the item are on sales... I actually spent RM7200 for 2adult which include flight from AUK-QT-AUK, apartment at QT, souvenir, value buy from NZ) Agreed with you for the most visit places. Also the Lake Hayes very beautiful... This post has been edited by yiyibrowers: May 21 2012, 11:11 AM |
May 21 2012, 12:04 PM
60 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Came back from my 14-Day trip to south island last week. A memorable one indeed.
Activities are Helihike at Franz Josef, Skydive at Wanaka, Bungy at Kuwarau Bridge, winery tour, ship cruise to farm tour, cable car at Queentown, swim with dolphin at Akaroa. Tiring but satisfying! To buy honey, royal jelly, lanolin products and volcano mud products, there's a shop in Christchurch, at 279A Greers Road, which is a lot cheaper than others. Something like 20% cheaper for some products! It's a small grocery shop owned by Taiwanese. |
May 21 2012, 04:37 PM
May 21 2012, 09:46 PM
776 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Ah, too bad no more AAX to go CHC... need to waste more money flying to south. I suggest skipping if can... not much to see there anyway. Focus on Queenstown->Milford Sound->Central Otago (for Wine!)->Dunedin->Oamaru-> and maybe... Kaikoura? You can do whale watching & seal swimming, and eat crab fish there too! (if cannot, at least go Akaroa) Penguins will come ashore all year long, not only winter, at Oamaru and Dunedin. Do research more about them from website (time they walk back to colony) if you want to take a look. Official/I-SITE do provide the times when you arrive there. |
| Change to: | 0.1268sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:43 AM |