iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!
kEazYc
Aug 17 2010, 12:45 AM
QUOTE(chuasm @ Aug 16 2010, 08:59 PM) Dear ALL, i'm currently using iPhone 3gs on celcom network and intending to upgrade to iPhone 4. Is is true that celcom 3g cannot support iPhone 4 because of the micro SIM required on iPhone 4? It does support, just that you have to cut your sim card in to the micro-sim size.
chuasm
Aug 17 2010, 01:38 PM
i don't mean to ask about micro sim. but what i mean is, would celcom 3g data network be able to work on iphone 4? i heard there's problem to celcom 3g data setting issue not compatible with iphone 4. correct?
putratr
Aug 17 2010, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(chuasm @ Aug 17 2010, 01:38 PM) i don't mean to ask about micro sim. but what i mean is, would celcom 3g data network be able to work on iphone 4? i heard there's problem to celcom 3g data setting issue not compatible with iphone 4. correct? I'm currently using iphone 4 with celcom line 3g unlimited rm68 ... no problem for me ...
chuasm
Aug 17 2010, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(putratr @ Aug 17 2010, 04:57 PM) I'm currently using iphone 4 with celcom line 3g unlimited rm68 ... no problem for me ... wow! thanks a lot for the reply putratr
kEazYc
Aug 17 2010, 06:29 PM
QUOTE(chuasm @ Aug 17 2010, 01:38 PM) i don't mean to ask about micro sim. but what i mean is, would celcom 3g data network be able to work on iphone 4? i heard there's problem to celcom 3g data setting issue not compatible with iphone 4. correct?Bolded part, incorrect. If it's not working for your phone, just go to the customer service counter and ask them to reset your sim card settings will do, if they know you're using iphone 4, and telling you that celcom still don't have support iphone 4, you don't have time listen to them, just laugh at them will do.
chuasm
Aug 17 2010, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(kEazYc @ Aug 17 2010, 06:29 PM) Bolded part, incorrect. If it's not working for your phone, just go to the customer service counter and ask them to reset your sim card settings will do, if they know you're using iphone 4, and telling you that celcom still don't have support iphone 4, you don't have time listen to them, just laugh at them will do.  LOL i will definitely laugh at them if it will work! anyway, thanks alot for all who responded my post. very helpful of all. i shall first trim my sim to micro sim and try out celcom 3g data. Cheers!
boblp
Aug 18 2010, 12:02 AM
Im using a Celcom 3G prepaid.. tried using once.. before using it.. i check da balance.. around RM2.42
after i load lowyat forum page via safari.. just one page.. RM 2.00 already deducted.. hahahaha..
better subscribe the daily package or weekly
gorjesMe
Aug 20 2010, 06:29 AM
im not sure if here's the right place to ask. Ive just upgraded my 3gs to os4 and all of sudden my Camera/Safari/Utube widgets gone!
so i did restore again and it used default iphone settings. the widgets cme back but all my contacts/data/photos missing. luckily ive sync my contacts to Y! addbook before that.
but yeah does anyone facing same problem when upgrading to os4?
i didnt jailbreak. its standard with maxis plan.
yuvanesh
Aug 20 2010, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(gorjesMe @ Aug 20 2010, 06:29 AM) im not sure if here's the right place to ask. Ive just upgraded my 3gs to os4 and all of sudden my Camera/Safari/Utube widgets gone! so i did restore again and it used default iphone settings. the widgets cme back but all my contacts/data/photos missing. luckily ive sync my contacts to Y! addbook before that. but yeah does anyone facing same problem when upgrading to os4? i didnt jailbreak. its standard with maxis plan. well since its already there try restoring your previous setting and so on...sometimes..it is because OS updated is incomplete with disturbance or lag..
Servantforever
Aug 21 2010, 08:02 AM

3.1.3 firmware is better I reckon. Since using OS 4 my Iphone lags sometimes but it never happened with the previous OS.
mynewuser
Aug 21 2010, 08:37 AM
QUOTE(putratr @ Aug 17 2010, 04:57 PM) I'm currently using iphone 4 with celcom line 3g unlimited rm68 ... no problem for me ... Mean you use iphone for internet access only. No voice call.
izzi_guy
Aug 21 2010, 05:28 PM
bro..i oso got prob almost the same like him..but im a bit different..
im using prepaid for my iphone..and definitely im not using for internet too much.. the problem is..each times i topup, the carrier will deduct rm 2 if i topup rm 5 to test my theory is right or wrong.. i havnt knowing about it.. is it a the carrier problem or my phone problem??? i meant the setting itself... please help me...
MR.Shiney
Aug 21 2010, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(izzi_guy @ Aug 21 2010, 05:28 PM) bro..i oso got prob almost the same like him..but im a bit different.. im using prepaid for my iphone..and definitely im not using for internet too much.. the problem is..each times i topup, the carrier will deduct rm 2 if i topup rm 5 to test my theory is right or wrong.. i havnt knowing about it.. is it a the carrier problem or my phone problem??? i meant the setting itself... please help me... Common problem for iPhone prepaid user, your phone will try and fetch data even when the phone is on standby. Alternatively, go download data toggle ( SBSettings ) from Cydia and turn it off that way, and turn it back on when needed. BUT, there are still chances it will still fetch some data, and will deduct your prepaid. The only way to get rid of it is to subscribe to an actual data plan, I uses Maxis Mobile Internet prepaid bi-weekly with 100mb for only 18 bucks. I'd rather spend that 18 bucks than losing them all together
laksamanahangtuah
Aug 21 2010, 05:34 PM

yeah me too... using 2G, try topup RM5, after few hours check balance -> RM1.77... haha... didnt make any call/sms..
izzi_guy
Aug 21 2010, 05:42 PM
anybody..can you guys put the steps in detail to turn off or something to fix the prob.. it would be helpful to me and oso other friends.. mr shiney please help..
MR.Shiney
Aug 21 2010, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(izzi_guy @ Aug 21 2010, 05:42 PM) anybody..can you guys put the steps in detail to turn off or something to fix the prob.. it would be helpful to me and oso other friends.. mr shiney please help..  I have the methods, but there are still high chances it will still fetch data. I have tried using this method a few months ago, and it worked. No credit deduction are made but lately it seems to not work anymore. My last option is to just apply for data plan. Try googling or youtube search to solve it, I did mine last time. I know that in iOS4 already included a toggle to disable data connection. But for those who cant upgrade to iOS stuck at 3.12/3 you need to jailbreak your iPhone. Then go to Cydia/Rock. Search for "SBSettings" this will add a toggle integrated with your Springboard to toggle anything on and off. Then go search for "DATA TOGGLE" for SBSettings. This will add a Data toggle for you to turn it off. I'm using this method right now and it will still deduct my prepaid randomly, turn off Notifications and Locations. Alternatively there are method of changing the data IP to a fake one, you have to visit some site on your iPhone. I forgot the url. But there are still people saying it doesnt work, but work for others. I'm sure if you have to money to own an iPhone, why not you just apply for those prepaid internet. Save the hassles, you'll can use internet anywhere you go and still keep your credit safe This post has been edited by MR.Shiney: Aug 21 2010, 05:56 PM
izzi_guy
Aug 22 2010, 02:02 AM
QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Aug 21 2010, 05:53 PM)  I have the methods, but there are still high chances it will still fetch data. I have tried using this method a few months ago, and it worked. No credit deduction are made but lately it seems to not work anymore. My last option is to just apply for data plan. Try googling or youtube search to solve it, I did mine last time. I know that in iOS4 already included a toggle to disable data connection. But for those who cant upgrade to iOS stuck at 3.12/3 you need to jailbreak your iPhone. Then go to Cydia/Rock. Search for "SBSettings" this will add a toggle integrated with your Springboard to toggle anything on and off. Then go search for "DATA TOGGLE" for SBSettings. This will add a Data toggle for you to turn it off. I'm using this method right now and it will still deduct my prepaid randomly, turn off Notifications and Locations. Alternatively there are method of changing the data IP to a fake one, you have to visit some site on your iPhone. I forgot the url. But there are still people saying it doesnt work, but work for others. I'm sure if you have to money to own an iPhone, why not you just apply for those prepaid internet. Save the hassles, you'll can use internet anywhere you go and still keep your credit safe  hehehe..thanks bro for the tips..i got my own reason to use prepaid rather than postpaid..sometimes it doesnt really reliable..thats why i want to stick first with prepaid..but i`ll move to postpaid later..hehe..tqvm dude...
SUSwilsonjay
Aug 23 2010, 08:27 PM
y is my celcom bill so high???? i only make calls and msgs and not that often also...whereas internet i use wifi..but y is my bill so high?? the bill keeps on increasing for no reason..iv already turn off everything..
inachi
Aug 23 2010, 08:30 PM
do u have internet plan on ur iphone? if no, mayb you are connected to 3g when there's no wifi around u. Try to check the usage.
dvlzplayground
Aug 23 2010, 08:30 PM
^ does your 'everything' includes disabling cellular data?
when asking for help, better dun say stuff like "i turn everything off" or "i did everything"...it's not helpful at all. better specify what u did