11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v2, Everything you need to know about bass!

jchong
post Sep 26 2009, 09:37 PM

5,989 posts

Yeah, we eagerly await your pictures on Wed!
jchong
post Sep 27 2009, 02:36 PM

5,989 posts

Eh, haven't you seen all the updates and pics? SVS 1st and 2nd shipment has landed here and htkaki is the local dealer.
jchong
post Sep 28 2009, 06:54 PM

5,989 posts

I see the SVS poison is very strong... biggrin.gif
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 10:01 AM

5,989 posts

Actually they can calculate the tax early on (even before touch down). All the info they need is in the airway bill and accompanying invoice, which the local office can receive by email from the sending office.

So ronnt, is the tax calculated ok? Sometimes ketam have their own funny ideas... smile.gif
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 11:52 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Sep 29 2009, 10:58 AM)
Great idea bro.. But my downside now is, i dont have the equipments to calculate the graph for my room... I heard the Velo DD has this feature:P
Velo DD has the equalization function, but cannot generate the graph.
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 12:02 PM

5,989 posts

I checked again and I think you're right. The DD can generate a graph. The sub has a video out jack.
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 03:14 PM

5,989 posts

Here's an example of how the DD graph looks like:

jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 03:45 PM

5,989 posts

That is my understanding.

However, usually the EQ has limited boost (+) so if you have a deep valley it cannot bring it up totally to flat. This is where positioning and bass traps come in.
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 04:16 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(taqies @ Sep 29 2009, 04:08 PM)
Not only about EQ limited boost, but valley can really suck up your amplifier power and sometimes it's not worth it. Not only that, you might be bordering the excursion limit of your driver with that much power.
Yup, that's all true.

So in the end we still need to do proper positioning, room treatment and EQ if we want the best graph.
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 04:39 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Sep 29 2009, 04:10 PM)
Mind explaining how valley can really suck up the amplifier power?
If you have a valley then a boost is needed. Boosting means pushing the sub driver harder and this will require more watts from the amp. It's just like turning up the volume on your sub, except this is specific to particular frequencies where the valley exists.
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 04:42 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(taqies @ Sep 29 2009, 04:25 PM)
If you are really posh, you can even it out with more subwoofers strategically place in your room.
I like that solution! Apart from helping with freq response, also gives more headroom.
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 10:09 PM

5,989 posts

Wah, arrived ahead of schedule.

No need to run Audyssey first. Just fire it up and do a test run as is. Make sure everything is working. Do the fine tuning later.
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 10:41 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Sep 29 2009, 10:16 PM)
ok ok ... good idea tongue.gif will go start up now smile.gif
I suspect you'll be sleeping late tonight... and maybe your neighbours will be cursing you too tongue.gif
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 11:11 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Sep 29 2009, 10:55 PM)
feel like taking mc tomorrow.. laugh.gif
I thought you already applied for leave? smile.gif

I'm sure you can extract even more performance with careful positioning and then with Audyssey. Don't worry now you got all the time ahead of you to fine tune it.
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 11:34 PM

5,989 posts

Thanks for the pics. It's one big sub isn't it? smile.gif

I guess your placement options are rather limited. Nevertheless, congrats again and enjoy!
jchong
post Sep 30 2009, 07:52 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Sep 29 2009, 11:52 PM)
hehe... grounded the amp plate and solved the humming.. thanks guys icon_rolleyes.gif
How did you ground the plate amp?
jchong
post Sep 30 2009, 02:50 PM

5,989 posts

Hey ronn, your place now become bass mecca... all of us want to make pilgrimage there... smile.gif

Added on September 30, 2009, 2:51 pm
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Sep 30 2009, 09:06 AM)
tested kungpow panda tongue.gif

the final 'skadoosh' scene was excellent... it closed my eyes a bit tongue.gif the submersive handled the movie effortlessly at close to reference. The best part, absolutely no boominess rclxms.gif

When you say 'close to reference' you mean the volume on your AVR near to 0 dB?

This post has been edited by jchong: Sep 30 2009, 02:51 PM
jchong
post Sep 30 2009, 03:31 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Sep 30 2009, 02:53 PM)
it was around -10dB on my 875 smile.gif
That would be plenty loud. The 'skidoosh' scene should sound massive at that volume. I only play that around -20 dB volume on my 876 and the bass is palpable.

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 30 2009, 02:54 PM)
I believe he means the sound coming from the sub..His previous subs could not deliver this scene. Very underwhelming even compared to the lowly IkonSub.
You mean the previous Canton sub or the 12Q? For the Canton, yes I imagine it cannot deliver that scene. As for the 12Q (which I also had before) it can part deliver that scene.
jchong
post Sep 30 2009, 03:38 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Sep 30 2009, 03:31 PM)
-9bB after audyssey... i dun know what's wrong but I can't seem to get the trim down to +/-3dB as recommended. The 1st couple of times, the trim was even worse.. -13.5dB. Already turned volume knob on Submersive down quite a lot to get -9dB trim on audyssey.. that's y need bro anfieldude tongue.gif
I imagine the Submersive is very powerful, so even if you turn down the sub volume knob the level is quite strong (hence the Audyssey sub trim is at -9 dB). This factor is quite dependent on each sub.

To me it's not crucial for the sub trim to be within +/- 3 dB. My Rythmik is on -10 dB sub trim.

Added on September 30, 2009, 3:40 pm
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Sep 30 2009, 03:32 PM)
he meant the 12Q... it did deliver.. just didn't dig low enuff as compared to Anfieldude's house.. suspect it's my living room sad.gif too bad can't place sub anywhere else
What sub is anfieldude using?

This post has been edited by jchong: Sep 30 2009, 03:40 PM
jchong
post Sep 30 2009, 03:49 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 30 2009, 03:41 PM)
I suspect its ur house. I have the Galaxy back lets try to get some REW curves done this weekend to check it out!
Oh yeah, would love to see REW curves for the Submersive. If you can, do some curves before and after Audyssey.

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0189sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:38 AM