11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v2, Everything you need to know about bass!

jchong
post Sep 30 2009, 04:11 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 30 2009, 03:55 PM)
I believe that a lot of people confuse good clean bass as lacking compared to boomy bass. Therein lies the misconception. I also believe that many people moving from a inaccurate bass environment to a properly calibrated bass environment are going to be saying "Eh where's the bass?".

Yes, quite true. Especially if many of the peaks are flattened then they will wonder what happened. smile.gif

Thankfully in going from the 12Q to the Rythmik I didn't perceive any loss of bass. Quite the opposite, the bass is now more articulate and while it is cleaner, I don't detect any loss. If anything, there is more bass since the Rythmik extends much deeper in room compared to the 12Q.

One way to compromise that is to run the lower frequencies slightly hotter (3-5dB). Typically, this is called a house curve. This will enable u to feel the bass extension from the lower frequencies thus improving ur perception. But the lower frequencies shd still be flat and they shd not linger in ur room too long.

How would you run just the lower frequencies hotter? I suppose an eq device is needed? I still need to read up on this house curve thing.
jchong
post Sep 30 2009, 06:09 PM

5,989 posts

Ha-ha, you truly deserve to be called the Chief Poisoner.

With your SVS dealership I think you managed to do the most amount of damage to the forummers' wallets. biggrin.gif
jchong
post Oct 1 2009, 04:08 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 24 2009, 09:26 AM)
Good. Can you try to increase loudness and play the testtone at 20hz? I want to see how loud can this sub go. If you can reach 105db, then at USD 1k + 25% tax (less than RM 5k) is a good buy.
I found out that the F15 max clean output at 20Hz (per CEA-2010 standard @ 1m) is about 103 dB.
jchong
post Oct 2 2009, 06:36 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Oct 2 2009, 05:09 PM)
JL Audio Gotham

Spotted in the signature of a fellow lowyat.net forumer sweat.gif
Really? Who?
jchong
post Oct 5 2009, 10:06 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Oct 5 2009, 09:50 AM)
Rick from A&L told me he has one customer who bought the velo spl with voltage set at 120V without anyone knowledge
hooked up to the power plug and got a big bang once switched on  sweat.gif
So serious ah? I thought only the plate amp would be fried.
jchong
post Oct 5 2009, 10:17 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 5 2009, 10:10 AM)
the shop should have set the 230V b4 shipping to customers sweat.gif
Yup a responsible vendor ought to do that.

Obviously Mark set ronn's Submersive to 230V before hand... otherwise we can hear ronn crying cry.gif from here once he turned on. Same with my Rythmik, it was already set to 230V when it arrived. I made sure to check before plugging it in smile.gif
jchong
post Oct 5 2009, 06:41 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Oct 5 2009, 06:25 PM)
Add ED, Epik, Danleys & we should be almost there brows.gif
Yeah, I wonder who will be the first to get one of these...
jchong
post Oct 6 2009, 12:13 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Oct 6 2009, 11:41 AM)
already very happy with my LFE liao whistling.gif
We want you to be very, very, very happy smile.gif
jchong
post Oct 6 2009, 12:22 PM

5,989 posts

You're not one who needs help with finances... biggrin.gif
jchong
post Oct 6 2009, 04:36 PM

5,989 posts

Wah, look at how the SVS owners list has grown! Congrats to the owners and to htkaki. rclxms.gif
jchong
post Oct 6 2009, 05:08 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Oct 6 2009, 05:02 PM)
wonder can pay ht a visit to checkup his setup
Yes, you can visit his place to demo... it's in Seremban.
jchong
post Oct 6 2009, 05:17 PM

5,989 posts

No need to have big demo room. Best is try to approximate room size that most customers would have. I think about +/- 200 sq ft is ok.
jchong
post Oct 7 2009, 04:59 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 7 2009, 03:52 PM)
AS-EQ1 now only $749 if buy direct from SVS
Add $90 for shipping = $839 x 3.53 = RM2,961 if no tax brows.gif
The $90 shipping is to MY?

Key statement is: if no tax. biggrin.gif
jchong
post Oct 9 2009, 01:37 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 9 2009, 09:38 AM)
Something new on "tightness" & "Flabby" view....what's your take?

http://www.axiomaudio.com/tightbass.html

Assuming competently designed subwoofers (not white van “one-note subs”), I believe that all such impressions of "tight" or "flabby" bass are almost entirely the product of crossover points, room placement, listener location and room standing waves and room modes -- plus the listener's active imagination.

I would agree with the bold part and I think those points contribute a lot to tightness, boominess and flabbiness.

However, there is one other factor not mentioned in Axiom's article and this directly relates to the sub, not the room or cross over points or placement. It's about the sub's group delay. I don't fully understand the subject but here's an article about it: http://www.adireaudio.com/Files/GroupDelay.pdf

See also these 2 threads:

http://www.avforums.com/forums/subwoofers-...ofer-types.html
http://www.avforums.com/forums/subwoofers-...asurements.html

Some relevant excerpts from there:

The qualities are exactly the same, because accurate reproduction of the original signal is required for satisfying reproduction of both program types; All subs should offer low distortion, high dynamic headroom, wide bandwidth (at both frequency extremes) and finally, low group delay which is basically a smooth phase response. Nail all of those and you have an 'uber' sub.

However, perfection costs and so, inevitably, one or more of those performance boxes may go un-ticked, especially once a 'domestic' size restriction is added to the equation.

The movie compromise will typically favour low frequency grunt and big dynamics and worry less about upper frequency cleanliness and low group delay. The movie sub will tend to be a large ported box, with a large driver and with a fair bit of power on tap.

Music will tend to miss the last half octave less and typically isn't played at the same volume as movies, so hides a lack power in a more flattering way. It also really needs clean upper bass to blend with the main speakers and the snappy timing delivered by a low group delay. The music sub will tend to be a smaller sealed box, sporting a moderately sized driver and moderate power.

The best sub is probably a very large sealed sub with a large driver(s) and oodles of power. They exist and they are expensive.

--------------------

The measured response of a subwoofer's phase is it's Group Delay and for all the things some so called 'musical' subs do wrong, they almost universally have a low group delay, or at least as importantly, they have a very smoothly changing Group Delay.

Unfortunately, this is not a trait the SVS PB12/plus has. It has a steeply rising group delay that actually exceeds 1 cycle (360deg!) of phase beneath 25Hz. If that wont make your kick drums sound like they're lagging, I don't know what will. You know where to look to see the evidence.

In the 'One Sub v Two' thread, the PB12/U bested my humble Monolith in all film related qualities, but with music, it singularly failed to rock my boat, for exactly this reason - it just didn't have the rhythmic drive. The PB13/U is a significant step forward in this regard and I don't think it's a coincidence that it has a very flat response and a low smoothly rising group delay, particularly in the universally preferred 15Hz tune.

jchong
post Oct 9 2009, 06:18 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 9 2009, 06:06 PM)
keke...saya taklak kena....actually PC12+ is more than enough for my room as seldom listen to LOUD insane volume.....
Say, do you have spl meter to test how loud you're listening now?
jchong
post Oct 11 2009, 06:28 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Oct 11 2009, 06:22 PM)
Hi, i need to ask something maybe a little out topic for your guys. Well i have a small woffer and my floor is wood, how to reduce the base so that down stairs can't really go that loud.
Easiest is simply turn down the volume. smile.gif

Otherwise buying something like the Subdude might help.
jchong
post Oct 11 2009, 06:32 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Oct 11 2009, 11:44 AM)
During very low scenes, my bedroom door rattles like mad! Any tips on how to reduce this? icon_question.gif
Try cushioning your door with those little foam pads (you can buy in Home Fix, Ace, or other hardware store). Stick it on the door frame and it might help absorb the vibrations.

Or you can turn down the sub volume smile.gif
jchong
post Oct 11 2009, 07:55 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(gnsumas @ Oct 11 2009, 06:35 PM)
Remove the door brows.gif

Subs>privacy  cool.gif
If his is a dedicated room, then removing the door removes the seal also. Means sub has to work harder to pressurise the room because there is an opening now.

Added on October 11, 2009, 7:58 pm
QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Oct 11 2009, 07:25 PM)
So i would like to know whats a Subdude... biggrin.gif
Google is your good friend... try searching for Subdude

This post has been edited by jchong: Oct 11 2009, 07:58 PM
jchong
post Oct 12 2009, 12:40 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Oct 12 2009, 11:59 AM)
No prob bro, ur more than welcome to my home to test the diff.. I can say, the diff was quite huge, to my suprise....
Wah, glad to know the EQ1 is so effective!

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 12 2009, 11:50 AM)
However, still need to get down to the dB issue. I suspect it could be due to the limited room size for the monstrous setup. Even trim to the lowest, still reading a crazy >80dB.
This is testing using the EQ1 test tone or the Onkyo's test tone? I believe hitting 75dB using the Onkyo test tone is possible right?

Maybe the EQ1 test tone is a -20dB signal instead of -30dB like in the Onkyo? Just speculating...

Added on October 12, 2009, 12:41 pm
QUOTE(mys_terious @ Oct 12 2009, 12:02 PM)
the 876 mic can be used with 875 receiver or not?
I read somewhere that they are not interchangeable...

This post has been edited by jchong: Oct 12 2009, 12:41 PM
jchong
post Oct 12 2009, 02:03 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Oct 12 2009, 01:57 PM)
I'm still curious to find out about my rear surr speakers when the test tone is being sent to it; the flapping sound..

I wonder if its becaue of my Dali's ribbon tweeter or the driver is faulty..
Flapping sound? Doesn't seem normal... I'm also curious what it could be. Happens on both rear speakers? Or just 1 of them?

11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0215sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:21 AM