The Official Subwoofer Thread v2, Everything you need to know about bass!
jchong
Aug 24 2009, 03:49 PM
I would pick the Submersive based on all the incredible reviews it has received. For sure it will be exclusive in Malaysia, you'll probably be the 1st to own one locally. Now, if only you can get Mark Seaton to service you since he's busy enough with US orders. Another strong contender is the Hsu ULS-15 DualDrive, i.e. 2 units of the ULS-15. This has also got very good reviews and with 2 subs you can position them to even out the bass in your large room. Also quite exclusive locally. QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 24 2009, 03:06 PM) JL Audio Fathom, Mark Seaton Submersive, Velodyne DD-15?
jchong
Aug 24 2009, 05:16 PM
Indeed, we seem to have progressed a lot in the last 6 months. Nowadays a lot of the non-mainstream brands get mentioned. I suppose I could also suggest that xrossf1re get 3x Rythmik F15, which would easily fit his budget. But I'm also happy that he try others then we get more diversity and chance to listen to other subs  Just saw this pro review of the Rythmik F12SE: http://www.enjoythemusic.com/magazine/equi...thmik_f12se.htm
jchong
Aug 25 2009, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(mys_terious @ Aug 25 2009, 07:38 PM) yes.. normally i read comments like 'another level above 13ultra' hehe.. Yeah, example like this one: I've just upgraded from an Ultra and here are my un-EQ'd impressions FWIW. I have a DSP-30, but haven't entered any filters yet--I've been getting the kids ready for back-to-school, so the SubMersive has been lonely for a few days.
My immediate analysis is that the SubMersive has much better "punch" and "attack" in the mid-bass, while also extending lower in the teens hz and below as well (as for the lows, it just has a fathomless kind of depth to it at any volume level). Also, the SubMersive has a very clean, surprisingly transparent feel to it--meaning that in places where the Ultra had made a footprint on the scene (or added some heaviness to the music), the SubMersive is kind of stealthy. I don't know how to describe it, but it seems that the SubMersive is simply truer to the source without adding any attention to itself--very pleasing, but a little different to get used to! Don't misunderstand, the SubMersive isn't some "pretty" sub that behaves itself. Frankly, it is pretty scary when the SubMersive makes the transition from stealth to attack mode when the scene calls for it. The power and headroom seem limitless.
The Ultra pounded my fanny and sofa in the 20hz range very well, but muddied things up higher. The Ultra didn't have the chest and neck kick, nor that funky room-pressurization-hard-to-breath kind of power that the SubMersive does. Ironhide flip from Transformers and plane roll-over from Flight of the Phoenix are really amazing. The Ultra was impressive on those scenes for sheer power and butt-shaking, but the SubMersive adds nuances to the effects that make it more believable, not just loud.
Also, a big problem for me was that the Ultra would make some very unruly noises on scenes when it was hitting its limits. I've written elsewhere about this. I've happily run through all of those personal LFE torture/idiosyncrasies with the SubMersive and found it eats them all up without a bad sound! No localization, no "farts," "chuffs," or mechanical noises that even the very best ported subs can give off.Of course the Submersive is about 25% more expensive than the PB13 Ultra...
jchong
Aug 25 2009, 08:47 PM
No lah, I was just quoting another person's post in the Seaton forum.
Submersive is a dream for the far future...
jchong
Aug 28 2009, 04:40 PM
Not everyone. Only several people I think.
jchong
Aug 28 2009, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Aug 28 2009, 10:58 PM) taukeh reix does it make a difference? honestly speaking?  I would say it makes a difference. I did my own poor man's version and it made a difference. Less boomy bass, tighter.
jchong
Aug 30 2009, 01:38 PM
jchong
Aug 31 2009, 11:06 PM
Let's see what the damage is tomorrow...
jchong
Sep 1 2009, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 1 2009, 03:59 PM) actually I was wondering why everyone went for velo say 1years ago when purchasing sub, instead of svs in the first place ar? no one promote kau kau? cos I see many velo owners feel "inadequate" now..  1 year ago people in this forum weren't so aware of subs not sold locally. Or perhaps were worried about warranty/support issues. Now there is more awareness and in the case of SVS we have local representation.
jchong
Sep 3 2009, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(xrossf1re @ Sep 3 2009, 03:14 PM) lol... whatever makes you feel better bro. Is there anyway to get this F113? bro jchong if you are reading this, you seems to know a lot of 'kan tau'.i can go up to 16k no prob. F113 has a dealer in Amcorp Mall I think. If I had your budget I would go for the Submersive.
jchong
Sep 3 2009, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Sep 3 2009, 03:31 PM) 2 distributors for JL Audios in M'sia... one of them is AV Synergy in PJ. U can call the office at 03-79551228 or call Mr Kuan at 012-3310223... Price is short of 14k for F113 (13.5" driver, 2500 watts). Damn good sub for this size & looks great with piano gloss black. No stock now, 3wks upon order I heard. Can only dream of this sub  Hah, soon you won't have to dream of any other sub anymore
jchong
Sep 3 2009, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(xrossf1re @ Sep 3 2009, 04:55 PM) but how to get submersive... i heard that there is a waiting list?i also hope to get one soon so later can do a shootout with svs.  You have to email Mark Seaton direct to order. Email: SeatonSound@comcast.net Wait list will depend on what finish you want, so best to email him to discuss. Even if there is a wait I think it is about 3 weeks.
jchong
Sep 6 2009, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 6 2009, 03:12 PM) elemental design twin 18inch then..  cheap cheap USD2.5k only.. It is a reasonable value sub, but only the size turns people off. That thing is like a friggin' mini-fridge!
jchong
Sep 6 2009, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 6 2009, 01:13 PM) U nid to calibrate wif an spl mtr - reference lvl means 80db on tis mtr. FYI it corresponds to -12 on my 7002 dial.. I always thought reference level was 75 dB. Above you said 80 dB. I'm starting to get confused... Then I read this thread: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1091463 which indicates reference is 85 dB
jchong
Sep 6 2009, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(taqies @ Sep 6 2009, 08:03 PM) depends on the test tones lorrr..if test tones THX then 75db, if Dolby Reference 85db..if use internal test tones, then 75 db, if use avia disc then 85db Too bad they can't standardised it, now it's either -20dBFS or -30dBFS.
jchong
Sep 7 2009, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Sep 6 2009, 10:04 PM) oh... so the funny noise/test tones each speakers make during audyssey calibration are reference level volumes?? ic now..  The noises during Audyssey setup are different, it's like a 20-20k Hz sweep tone. For calibration the AVR uses pink noise.
jchong
Sep 7 2009, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 7 2009, 12:05 PM) I am actually a bit worried of SVS 13-Ultra ripping through my ceiling  when I lay my hands on it. I have been reading the 13-Ultra thread in avsforum. Its sheer visceral bass is jaw dropping. The PC12-Plus is already 'menacing' for my room  This reminds me of what someone once said in AVS: "the sub outperforms the room"  Time to do more room treatment or get a bigger house and room
jchong
Sep 7 2009, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 7 2009, 03:56 PM) Yeah, one of my concern as my room size is puny for 13-Ultra. A bigger room is needed but that's the future plan  Anyway, I do not watch movie at deafening level. Many things to be done. For now, all focus is on the shop. A 'spacious' semi-D (abt 40 x 80) over here would easily set you back by about RM360-RM600K depending on location (Non-elite area). So, it will takes me a lot of light years to actually own one and to build a near-to-perfect HT room (room in room)  Unless, ar188 is kind enough to chip in  *cabut* So why get a 13 Ultra now? Wait until you sort out the room... by that time maybe got new and better Ultra version out? Looks like Seremban semi-d prices are similar to Ipoh.
jchong
Sep 7 2009, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Sep 7 2009, 04:21 PM) Bro jchong, you are from Ipoh? I am Ipoh kia too taukeh can afford easily la  Yup. There are lots of Ipoh mali in Klang Valley. But those that still are in Ipoh are few, like me and moomoos.
jchong
Sep 7 2009, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 7 2009, 04:23 PM) Out go the PC12-Plus, and Yamaha 1800. AVR 4310, AS-EQ1 and PB13-Ultra will make its way in. Very nice. U still need the AS-EQ1 for just one sub? I think the Audyssey within the 4310 can do a big chunk of the EQ correction (although of course probably not as much as the AS-EQ1, maybe 70%?). Added on September 7, 2009, 4:30 pmQUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Sep 7 2009, 04:27 PM) Tentatively I ll get mine on 18th...hopefully Getting the 4310 also on 18th? Added on September 7, 2009, 4:31 pmQUOTE(mys_terious @ Sep 7 2009, 04:28 PM) bro care to share how big is your room.. I think htkaki's room is 10'x20' IIRC. This post has been edited by jchong: Sep 7 2009, 04:31 PM