33 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Discussion Glory Hunter, How you'd define one?

Duke Red
post Jan 11 2011, 11:46 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(CityBluePrint @ Jan 11 2011, 04:36 AM)
As far as I'm concern you are a Chelsea fan & a BM fan to boot. Does that make you a plastic fan? Definitely you are not! The most important thing is you are a knowledgable football fan.

Don't let others browbeat you into submission about that.

I suspect those that questioned you with their inane posts have an axe to grind.
Look we can't even agree on the definition of glory hunters and there are even  folks here who don't even understand the meaning of BANDWAGON. shakehead.gif
FORZA CITY!
As strong as your words are, keep in mind that it is but merely your opinion and everyone has given theirs. I'm sure he appreciates your support but do realise that sometimes, and just sometimes, when the world conspires against you, that you can be wrong. In any case, it's your opinion and I'm sure everyone acknowledges it, even if we don't agree.
air_mood
post Jan 11 2011, 02:13 PM

Randy Marsh, Guitar Queer-O
4,150 posts

keh keh keh...

Looks like someone is trying to find allies ehh??

Desperate much??

Forza City?? keh keh keh...

By the way, doing alright there Duke?? Long time no discuss2 ehh?

This post has been edited by air_mood: Jan 11 2011, 02:23 PM
damnself
post Jan 11 2011, 11:31 PM

244 posts

Ape kejadah?

No comment.

Glory glory barcelona!
nanamiwashio
post Jan 12 2011, 02:56 AM

112 posts

bila nak tutup tered ni?

taken from urbandictionary

characteristics of glory hunters.....

1. will often choose a big club which is guaranteed of years at the top bracket of clubs
2. have no connection to the club

3. foreign to the country and city of the club
4. will overuse club mottos (which makes it more evident)
5. never been to many games (if not any)
6. will never go many games ever
7. will use the excuse of geography to not go to games

8. have limited merchandise before the successful years (most likely none)
9. does not know the history, chants or culture of the club
10. always in the armchair during matchdays
11. uses the talk of tactics and transfers to compensate for the lack of all round knowledge of the club (history and culture of the clubs, attendance of games, lack of knowledge or care factor about the direction of the club off field etc.)
12. will not be effected by football tragedies as much as locals
13. will often be the most biased towards to compensate for the glory hunter status
14. will show more hate for other clubs to compensate for their glory hunter status
15. have a club in their own country, don't have the guts to support them
16. will never talk about the years before the club started to become successful
17. at games (if attended) will be the quiet ones who never chant or make a noise

Hi, my name is Coconut Baron. I am from USA. Never been to any games, only have 5 jerseys, only supported after 1999 and think i am a true manchester united supporter. I never miss a game on tv and always on the internet a minute after fulltime. I live too far away to attend any matches. I guess that doesn't matter. Glory, Glory, Man Utd.

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?...=Glory%20Hunter
liez
post Jan 12 2011, 04:36 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(nanamiwashio @ Jan 12 2011, 02:56 AM)
bila nak tutup tered ni?

taken from urbandictionary

characteristics of glory hunters.....

Hi, my name is Coconut Baron. I am from USA. Never been to any games, only have 5 jerseys, only supported after 1999 and think i am a true manchester united supporter. I never miss a game on tv and always on the internet a minute after fulltime. I live too far away to attend any matches. I guess that doesn't matter. Glory, Glory, Man Utd.

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?...=Glory%20Hunter
this is not applicable to oversea fans lar.

This post has been edited by liez: Jan 12 2011, 04:37 AM
MrFay
post Jan 12 2011, 08:48 AM

223 posts

You all talk like football is a second religion
Like glory hunters n munafik
Haha,kiddin..lol
tongue.gif
aressandro10
post Jan 12 2011, 09:48 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Jan 12 2011, 04:36 AM)
this is not applicable to oversea fans lar.
on the contrary, that explicitly referring to oversea fans biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Jan 12 2011, 10:29 AM
ayanami_tard
post Jan 12 2011, 10:23 AM

40 posts

because everyone appreciate great clubs playing great football
aressandro10
post Jan 12 2011, 10:49 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(MrFay @ Jan 12 2011, 08:48 AM)
You all talk like football is a second religion
Like glory hunters n munafik
Haha,kiddin..lol
tongue.gif
thats what i have been saying all along. If you support any foreign club because they play 'great football'.. just go on and do it and except that you are a 'gloryhunter'. Whats so hard with that tongue.gif ..

its not like you are killing anyone. Speeding or downloading pirate MP3s are much worse according to the law yet its acceptable for us to accept that we do it. so just accept that you practice glory-hunting and get on with it...

the first step to address a problem is to break down your veil of denial and accept that 'you have the problem'.

So altogether now. " Saya gloryhunter, saya ok". Say it.. wink.gif

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Jan 12 2011, 10:50 AM
nanamiwashio
post Jan 12 2011, 05:56 PM

112 posts

ini bukan american idol lah..
apa yang susah sgt nak terima.

ini bukan dunia hiburan lah
apa yang susah sgt nak terima.

this is football. true football fans support their own local team.

i watch Chelsea Milan & Real to 'fill up'my passion. nothing more than that.
i wont buy RM 250 oversized ADIDAS chelsea jersey for the sake of prooving i'm true to them.

CityBluePrint
post Jan 12 2011, 06:41 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Jan 12 2011, 10:49 AM)
thats what i have been saying all along. If you support any foreign club because they play 'great football'.. just go on and do it and except that you are a 'gloryhunter'. Whats so hard with that tongue.gif ..

its not like you are killing anyone. Speeding or downloading pirate MP3s are much worse according to the law yet its acceptable for us to accept that we do it. so just accept that you practice glory-hunting and get on with it...

the first step to address a problem is to break down your veil of denial and accept that 'you have the problem'.

So altogether now. " Saya gloryhunter, saya ok". Say it.. wink.gif
I'll start!

Saya GLORYHUNTER rclxm9.gif

Supporting a club with AMBITION. whistling.gif

I'm not a BANDWAGON JUMPER. cry.gif

Sorry so say s'times I speed (not more than 10% over speed limit)
I don't download pirate media for my 'halcyon' days of 'collecting' or duplicating copies are over .

I am a football cognoscenti of beautiful football ala Barca-RM super classico.

It makes sense since 2010 FIFA team comprise of Barca & RM players mainly. No?

aressandro10
post Jan 12 2011, 06:53 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(CityBluePrint @ Jan 12 2011, 06:41 PM)
I'll start!

Saya GLORYHUNTER  rclxm9.gif

Supporting a club with AMBITION.  whistling.gif
I'm not a BANDWAGON JUMPER. cry.gif
Sorry so say s'times I speed (not more than 10% over speed limit)
I don't download pirate media for my 'halcyon' days of 'collecting' or duplicating copies  are over .

I am a football cognoscenti of beautiful football ala  Barca-RM super classico.

It makes sense since 2010 FIFA team comprise of Barca & RM players mainly. No?
thats whats i talking about..... rclxms.gif
sickx
post Jan 24 2011, 03:47 PM

:)
1,232 posts

^thanks for clarifying that laugh.gif
CityBluePrint
post Jan 24 2011, 09:21 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 24 2011, 03:41 PM)
COUNT ME IN BRO'S!!! tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

IM a proud Glory hunter honestly .. because i watch Arsenal, Ac Milan  Real Madrid..really fancy all of them and i have all their jerseys at home.I even have France Argentina Italy German and England original jerseys.. .. i just dont like Fulham or blackburn jersy bcos they cant win titles.I think Nike and Adidas have to be blame for making so nice jerseys but lucky they never restrict it as for LOYAL fans only hahaha!!!

I'm pity to 'loyal fan's actually bcos they can only watch the team on TV while i supported my state team and go to stadium and give my full support both financial and moral.Just wat the original Man U,Arsenal Chelsea fans do at the stadium every week.

Loud and proud Glory hunter fans i am!
Another football fan! thumbup.gif
Duke Red
post Jan 25 2011, 12:14 PM

6,112 posts

Don't be daft. Being loyal to one team doesn't mean you can't watch other teams play. It doesn't mean that you cannot appreciate good football. We don't see the world in black and white like less evolved species do, so just because someone loves on club, it doesn't also mean he only watches one club, or owns one jersey. The argument is against fans to support more than one club even if they are rivals. e.g how can one support Man Utd and Liverpool at the same time?
-Nos-
post Jan 25 2011, 07:45 PM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 25 2011, 07:19 PM)
But if you read back they are questioning one poster here who fancy Chelsea and Bayern at the same time lol

To me even that guy is wearing an Arsenal shirt today but wearing a Man Utd next week , he still not a glory hunter but a football fan who fancy top clubs abroad.Dont just becos you so proud supporting Man utd,Arsenal chelsea etc and watch nothing but only your so call team in this world so u go call other glory hunters when you yourself is already one by supporting these teams.

being a true fan is about being loyal.
supporting any big club in particular =/= glory hunter.
get your facts right before trying to act smart.
boxsystem
post Jan 25 2011, 08:19 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 25 2011, 08:12 PM)
Particular on people like you i just want to remind is Glory hunter.. i dare to challenge all you MAN utd,Chelsea Arsenal and watever clubs which you have no connection in terms of place of birth nor go to stadium ( basically a fan who should have a voice is the one pay the ticket to support the club)

Yes glory hunter ..you!
so, if I've been to Old Trafford, I am no longer a glory hunter?
-Nos-
post Jan 25 2011, 08:43 PM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 25 2011, 08:12 PM)
Particular on people like you i just want to remind is Glory hunter.. i dare to challenge all you MAN utd,Chelsea Arsenal and watever clubs which you have no connection in terms of place of birth nor go to stadium ( basically a fan who should have a voice is the one pay the ticket to support the club)

Yes glory hunter ..you!
so you are saying i have to be born there to support the local club there?
well, then more than 90% of the fans are glory hunter according to your a$$wipe theory.
Meis
post Jan 26 2011, 01:25 AM

Thinker & Real Patriot
3,077 posts

glory hunter?

well i remember during my primary school days... almost everyone in my classroom are Man Utd fans... maybe like 80% of them and eventually i become one of those idiots who got brainwashed... and it was just right before Arsenal break Man Utd dominance during the late 90s

i still have some red devil passion around year 2000 (sekolah menengah now) but is slowly fading away

and i feel Man Utd games are boring, i simply do not find their game that interesting to watch... same goes to Liverpool... don't get me wrong... i have tried so many fxxking times to watch their games, but it is still boring for me

i don't care if they lose some matches but i tend to get really bore when watching their games

and now thinking back of it again... that is just so pathetic of me for being one of those fools who got brainwashered
i called it brainwasher bcoz of my friends influence

as i grow older, i tend to find the right "style" for myself... i read tons of paper at the sport section as my family do not have astro at that time

watch some Arsenal games on tv1 or tv2, and i never get sleepy

reading all the headlines such as "Arsenal hammered team blablabla 5-0" or "King Henry the top scorer", and etc. makes me begin to slowly fall in love with Arsenal... and since around 2001 there is no turning back for me, yes i support them before the 49 unbeaten runs

so am i glory hunter? i don't think so coz i am more of a "beautiful game hunter", well i guess i hate to get sleepy when watching matches smile.gif

keep it clean and stick to the topic folks

This post has been edited by Meis: Jan 26 2011, 01:36 AM
aressandro10
post Jan 26 2011, 09:48 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Jan 25 2011, 08:43 PM)
so you are saying i have to be born there to support the local club there?
well, then more than 90% of the fans are glory hunter according to your a$$wipe theory.
yes.. according to globally accepted urban definition, around 90% is about the right amount.... and base on arab team's fan attendance in Asia Cup, i think this it is widespread among the whole Asia as well... IMO, only small pockets of fans that loyally support their local clubs in Japan and Indonesia are pure non-glory hunters...

its not just about being loyal... what more important it to who you being loyal to... i think most glory-hunters are loyal to the big club they choose to support, no doubt about that.. but i think this is due to reason that big club tend to be favorite to win games most of the time for a long period of time, making being 'loyal' relative easier.... you cannot use the world 'loyal' easily without being really tested... i mean 'reaally' tested... not just not winning the league on the the last day of the season for 20 years.. the real test is when your on pitch expectation of the team that you support become soo low, that even a draw result againts Wolves or Northampton you will receive with an open arms as a good start and can really make your day...

in generally accepted definition , when you are not 'loyal' to your local club while supporting other people's club like crazy, then you are a glory hunter. If you come from kedah, you would not support Selangor in any condition eventhough they dominate the whole of Malaysian football title history now do you...

but of course, out of denial, we tend to make our own un-complete definition about glory-hunters that suit our position... and who am i to deny it smile.gif

Added on January 26, 2011, 9:54 am
QUOTE(boxsystem @ Jan 25 2011, 08:19 PM)
so, if I've been to Old Trafford, I am no longer a glory hunter?
i think the best thing to shield yourself from the guilt is to purchase the season ticket ..... even if you dont go to any of the matches... ..

being a season ticket holder will make you looks like a local from that area .. even if you are not..

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Jan 26 2011, 09:54 AM

33 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0301sec    1.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:12 PM