Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D5000 V5, Best entry level DSLR from Nikon

mememe12
post Jun 30 2009, 03:03 AM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jun 30 2009, 12:22 AM)
D90 noise control better than d300, IMHO
oh? really meh? i try both and feel almost the same =.='' hardly can see i think..
KTCY
post Jun 30 2009, 03:09 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Jun 30 2009, 03:03 AM)
oh? really meh? i try both and feel almost the same =.='' hardly can see i think..
Try under low light ?
alpha_company
post Jun 30 2009, 07:25 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

picture output can easily say d90 has the same output as d300's.

main difference
- price around rm1.6k difference
- d300 got weather sealed magnesium alloy body
- d300 physically bigger & better grip and d90 smaller/lighter

http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d90.htm

tishaban
post Jun 30 2009, 07:45 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jun 30 2009, 01:57 AM)
though 10mp 40D will have a wider view than 12mp d90 at the same focal length because of the 40d's lower resolution..
The focal length multiplier has nothing to do with resolution, it depends on the image sensor size. The smaller the sensor size, the bigger the focal length multiplier. If it depended on resolution then you can go and change settings on your D90/40D to a lower resolution and get free wide angle lenses biggrin.gif

alpha_company
post Jun 30 2009, 08:24 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

well.. yeah myb im wrong about that..dont know about that but saw comparisons and the 40D pics is a bit wider..

at the same distance, the kit 40D 18-55 IS also proves to get much wider pics than 18-105VR because shorter mfd.

nice if i could have 1685VR..

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Jun 30 2009, 08:25 AM
pleasuresaurus
post Jun 30 2009, 09:09 AM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jun 30 2009, 08:24 AM)
well.. yeah myb im wrong about that..dont know about that but saw comparisons and the 40D pics is a bit wider..

at the same distance, the kit 40D 18-55 IS also proves to get much wider pics than 18-105VR because shorter mfd.

nice if i could have 1685VR..
Aik? 18mm for both bodies and Canon gets a wider shot? Doesn't make sense la bro, 40D crop factor 1.6x and D90 1.5x, shouldn't D90 be tad bit wider?

1685VR vignetting, CA, plus pricey...
alpha_company
post Jun 30 2009, 09:39 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

maybe the pic was taken at diff positions la kot..and not at the same.

Added on June 30, 2009, 9:40 amthen what lens do u suggest? 70-200VR?

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Jun 30 2009, 09:40 AM
project-o
post Jun 30 2009, 10:02 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

70-200 IS USM or 70-200VR ?
pleasuresaurus
post Jun 30 2009, 10:05 AM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

The Nikkor 70-200 2.8 VR is an awesome lens no doubt. Optics, speed, performance, build. U should get it if u got the chance. Definitely not for poor mortals like me who can't afford the price tag cry.gif .
project-o
post Jun 30 2009, 10:15 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

70-200VR f2.8 is indeed a great lens. Anyway... optically... the 70-210 f4-5.6 isn't that far behind for a fraction of the cost.
QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Jun 30 2009, 10:05 AM)
The Nikkor 70-200 2.8 VR is an awesome lens no doubt. Optics, speed, performance, build. U should get it if u got the chance. Definitely not for poor mortals like me who can't afford the price tag  cry.gif .
pleasuresaurus
post Jun 30 2009, 10:47 AM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

I got my hands on a Siggy 50-150 2.8 awhile ago, pretty good so far. Doesn't have the same range as 70-200, no VR, but pic quality is good and it weighs less than half of the 70-200. Costs less than half too biggrin.gif
aaron1kee
post Jun 30 2009, 12:11 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(project-o @ Jun 30 2009, 10:15 AM)
70-200VR f2.8 is indeed a great lens. Anyway... optically... the 70-210 f4-5.6 isn't that far behind for a fraction of the cost.
How does the 70-210 fare in your opinion? I have one but seldom use it.
project-o
post Jun 30 2009, 12:13 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Pretty good...... but have to get it cleaned from fungus then only can really test it out. The push-pull zoom does need some getting used to.
QUOTE(aaron1kee @ Jun 30 2009, 12:11 PM)
pleasuresaurus
post Jun 30 2009, 12:37 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

QUOTE(aaron1kee @ Jun 30 2009, 12:11 PM)
Thats a pretty old skool lens bro, u inherited it from parents or elder siblings?
razuryza
post Jun 30 2009, 12:53 PM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Jun 30 2009, 12:37 PM)
Thats a pretty old skool lens bro, u inherited it from parents or elder siblings?
my dad got one... used to use it with his FM2 thumbup.gif
AlphaBeta
post Jun 30 2009, 01:04 PM

I have stars, got problem?
2,955 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jun 30 2009, 01:57 AM)
got one time need to shoot in rainy conditions..but as with any dslr, anybody will try to avoid that kind of situation right..

looked at canon lenses...most of nikon's lenses start at 18mm like 18-55, 18-105, 18-135, 18-70 whereas canon mostly starts at 24 or 28mm..not wide enough for me.. even the same mfd lenses, the canon starts at 24/28mm...so it wont be as wide as a 18mm, so lens wise canon's are not so versatile..

though 10mp 40D will have a wider view than 12mp d90 at the same focal length because of the 40d's lower resolution..
if u cant avoid...u terpaksa have to shoot also..if not ur client will be disappointed. But make sure u have weather sealed lens too..

the mp doesnt affect ur focal length..juz the crop factor of ur sensor.tht 0.1 diff not a lot la..haha..
aaron1kee
post Jun 30 2009, 01:38 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Jun 30 2009, 12:37 PM)
My uncle has one! laugh.gif
jsc_tidus
post Jun 30 2009, 04:15 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

D3000?

D5000 without video? sweat.gif
Tyson
post Jun 30 2009, 04:45 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Jun 30 2009, 04:15 PM)
D3000?

D5000 without video?  sweat.gif
Looks like the 'd3000' photoshopped
project-o
post Jun 30 2009, 04:52 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

There is a possiblilty that it is real. Anyway... if you look on the right side... it is smaller and narrower than the D5000. With the D60 and D40 being phased out a D3000 should be a good replacement... but I hope no more 3-point AF sensor.

126 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:27 AM