125 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V8<<, The Journey Continues Here!

fylon
post May 11 2009, 10:41 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@dlwl
P/s: Following Edmin's back? Xeon lagi keh? Hahha.. Quady is enough for me. brows.gif But unfortunately, Xeon 3 series is phase out liao, now is flooded with X5 series. Better take ur chance to hook one Q6 if got chance man. Its getting rare..
dlwl
post May 11 2009, 11:00 AM

4,789 posts

Edmin also using xeon? didnt notice that.
aiks, pahsed out already eh..hunting for this proc coz equavalent to Q9300. looks like gotta go for q6600 like you said biggrin.gif
fylon
post May 11 2009, 12:49 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@dlwl

O/T: Yea. X3 is phased out long time ago. Hardly to be found in market. Honestly, i will suggest u go for Q6 as cache play a big roles. brows.gif Cache is always not enough, so better to pick up the high cache proc as FSB / clock can be rise after that. But cache cant. icon_rolleyes.gif
edministrator
post May 11 2009, 01:40 PM

1,940 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ May 11 2009, 11:00 AM)
Edmin also using xeon? didnt notice that.
aiks, pahsed out already eh..hunting for this proc coz equavalent to Q9300. looks like gotta go for q6600 like you said biggrin.gif
yo bro. me on xeon X3220. was planning to get X3320 also but the cache is less. now running 3Ghz on 1333FSB. Later this week will run 3.60Ghz with FSB1600 when my new cooler arrives. now since xeon is rare and expensive, better get Q6600 G0, same specs as X3220. thumbup.gif
dlwl
post May 11 2009, 02:59 PM

4,789 posts

is it? didn't know that x3220=q6600 laugh.gif
thanks for sharing! thanks to fylon also tongue.gif
TSraymond5105
post May 12 2009, 09:25 PM

5,341 posts

Helo all,i've just got a new toy...HD2600XT....
edministrator
post May 12 2009, 10:29 PM

1,940 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ May 12 2009, 09:25 PM)
drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif for your p4? Please tell us more on the performance increase compared to previous setup! brows.gif

P/S: i also got a new toy TRUE120 paired with cm 90cfm fan, i need to bath now, all sweaty due to the installation job. Running my rig @ 9x370 = 3330core/888mem icon_rolleyes.gif from 9x266 = 2400core/800mem. currently priming for stability laugh.gif

This post has been edited by edministrator: May 12 2009, 10:36 PM
duncan880409
post May 12 2009, 10:32 PM

Like Working in My Lab ^^
3,700 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ May 12 2009, 09:25 PM)
AGP HD2600XT??? or??
TSraymond5105
post May 12 2009, 10:53 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ May 12 2009, 10:29 PM)
drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  for your p4? Please tell us more on the performance increase compared to previous setup!  brows.gif

P/S: i also got a new toy TRUE120 paired with cm 90cfm fan, i need to bath now, all sweaty due to the installation job. Running my rig @ 9x370 = 3330core/888mem  icon_rolleyes.gif  from 9x266 = 2400core/800mem. currently priming for stability  laugh.gif
Brother,i need to download 3D mark 06 to benchmark it. Research a bit from internet there,should be able to get close to 5k. On sound,that's pretty great,fidelity is great even on my lousy speakers. 3GB of RAM can feel the system is smoother in response.

QUOTE(duncan880409 @ May 12 2009, 10:32 PM)
AGP HD2600XT??? or??
AGP .
edministrator
post May 12 2009, 11:25 PM

1,940 posts

bro ray, since u have 3GB RAM (very cool for a s478), high end AGP card and a nice Audigy 2, u can try loading windows vista SP2 just for kicks, who knows it will give your rig a new life/perspective.

ATI runs well on vista compared to nvidia for older generation cards. btw, i dun k about 3dmark scores, it is the in game fps which is more important and practical.

This post has been edited by edministrator: May 12 2009, 11:27 PM
TSraymond5105
post May 12 2009, 11:32 PM

5,341 posts

@edmin,now i have no games to play with.Guess need to take games from my friends around. I believe the GC should be performing better than ATI 9550 very much.

Added on May 12, 2009, 11:32 pmOn Vista,i also need to get from others too. I have no installer for Vista.

Added on May 13, 2009, 8:57 am@edmin,are you using vista now?Need some feedback from users.

This post has been edited by raymond5105: May 13 2009, 08:57 AM
dlwl
post May 13 2009, 09:42 AM

4,789 posts

it should outperform 9550 by a very big margin smile.gif
why don't try windows 7 straight away?
Jcsy
post May 13 2009, 09:49 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

last night i tried turning off my HT on Prescott 3.0ghz

Hyper PI results were about 1 minute 17 seconds

i tried turning it back on my HT on Prescott 3.0ghz

Hyper PI results were about 1 minute biggrin.gif

without HT, i was spiking up to 100% , as if Windows did not know how 2 manage resources properly

with HT, one proc was spiking to 50% and i had remaining processor to still use windows and navigate
edministrator
post May 13 2009, 10:04 AM

1,940 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ May 12 2009, 11:32 PM)
@edmin,now i have no games to play with.Guess need to take games from my friends around. I believe the GC should be performing better than ATI 9550 very much.

Added on May 12, 2009, 11:32 pmOn Vista,i also need to get from others too. I have no installer for Vista.

Added on May 13, 2009, 8:57 am@edmin,are you using vista now?Need some feedback from users.
i m using vista SP2 on my office notebook, DELL 9100 with the spec of p4 s478 3.0Ghz HT, 1GB DDR400 and ATI 9700 Mobility (same as 9600XT). It is very responsive, and the 3D performance is similar to previous XP OS. Maybe the drivers and OS kernel of Vista has improved since its initial release.

This post has been edited by edministrator: May 13 2009, 10:10 AM
TSraymond5105
post May 13 2009, 10:09 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ May 13 2009, 09:42 AM)
it should outperform 9550 by a very big margin smile.gif
why don't try windows 7 straight away?
I thought Windows 7 is on RC3 only? They have made a full release on Windows 7 ? Yeah, HD2600XT should outperform 9550 with a huge margin.

QUOTE(Jcsy @ May 13 2009, 09:49 AM)
last night i tried turning off my HT on Prescott 3.0ghz

Hyper PI results were about 1 minute 17 seconds

i tried turning it back on my HT on Prescott 3.0ghz

Hyper PI results were about 1 minute biggrin.gif

without HT, i was spiking up to 100% , as if Windows did not know how 2 manage resources properly

with HT, one proc was spiking to 50% and i had remaining processor to still use windows and navigate
HT and non-HT really make some different in real life performance.No doubt with it.

QUOTE(edministrator @ May 13 2009, 10:04 AM)
i m using vista SP2 on my office notebook, DELL 9100 with the spec of p4 s478 3.0Ghz HT, 1GB DDR400 and ATI 9700 Mobility (same as 9600XT). It is very responsive, and the 3D performance is similar to previous XP OS. Maybe the drivers and OS kernel of Vista has improved since its initial release.
Then i might need to get myself a copy to install on it.Now i don't have a copy with me. sad.gif
edministrator
post May 13 2009, 10:11 AM

1,940 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ May 13 2009, 10:09 AM)
Then i might need to get myself a copy to install on it.Now i don't have a copy with me. sad.gif
i also installed Vista SP2 on my P4-M at home as a Torrent rig, wiped off XP OS from it last weekend. The network performance is a lot faster (tested by copying GBs of files from the notebook to my main rig) compared to previous Vista SP1 I have installed before on this very same notebook. Running modded Bitcomet on XP will render the notebook unable to do anything else (stutters and lags pretty bad due to resources usage with 512MB RAM). Since I have installed Vista SP2, the notebook's fan does not spin up as frequently as before, and I can surf and listen to mp3s while torrenting now. I believe the new kernel optimizes and balances system resources usage.
fylon
post May 13 2009, 10:20 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Ray
Just spotted on ya rigs. laugh.gif Nice upgrade huh... Same SC as mine, and a huge graphic processing unit enhanced. drool.gif Guess ur going to stick with ur P4 for anther 5 yrs with this setup? Haha..

Honestly, ur specs is enough for vista dy.. Me a & edmin were running on SP2 atm (i get from him). no doubt on the network performance. thumbup.gif U can may can have a try.
Jcsy
post May 13 2009, 10:22 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

yup , HT does make a difference in real life performance and situations

without HT, opening each programs causes 100% cpu usage, which spikes and slows down every other thing, even the mouse movement

however recent indicators mention that dual cores and quad cores dont really have HT on because of confclits and slowdowns

not the case for my s478 biggrin.gif
fylon
post May 13 2009, 10:25 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ May 13 2009, 10:22 AM)
yup , HT does make a difference in real life performance and situations

without HT, opening each programs causes 100% cpu usage, which spikes and slows down every other thing, even the mouse movement

however recent indicators mention that dual cores and quad cores dont really have HT on because of confclits and slowdowns

not the case for my s478 biggrin.gif
Just some correction here. FYI all batch of C2D / C2Q before I7 are all none HT. They are running on 1 core 1 thread.

This post has been edited by fylon: May 13 2009, 10:30 AM
edministrator
post May 13 2009, 10:34 AM

1,940 posts

@jcsy,
Hyper Threading (HT)= virtual core

your 'recent indications' comes from where? source please, i hope it is not your personal view only since this is a very 'factual' statement. conflicts and slowdowns are not the reasons why S775 does not include HT technology. Simply because it already has PHYSICAL multicore, so leaving HT technology out would enable them to roll out the s775 cpus faster to the market and keep the price tag down, and sees no point in having HT at that point of time.

Hence we have the new i7 s1366 nowadays that is architecturally different from previous generations of CPU to justify for the premium cost.

This post has been edited by edministrator: May 13 2009, 10:35 AM

125 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:56 AM