125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V8<<, The Journey Continues Here!

Jcsy
post May 7 2009, 05:26 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

i find it hard 2 come about that e_1117 has overclocked his CPU?

i wonder how u do it , coz i cant seem 2 do it anywhere

so how are u running lower voltage (cant adjust) with higher cpu speed ( cant adjust ) ?

u carry over the CPU from other mobo ? doesnt make sense so far.. i still think your CPU is stock unless u are running a higher bios level than mine (which allows u 2 adjust) but that question just got answered as well
"can someone help me in how to upgrade my BIOS?
i saw many is require the disket one.....

what i must beware of when updating BIOS coz i nv do it..."

maybe yours shipped in SPECIAL =.= ?
edministrator
post May 7 2009, 07:18 AM

1,940 posts

@jcsy,

no idea bro, he said he oc'ed his cpu. so we all just advised him to move back 2 stock to troubleshoot his problem.
kabukiawie
post May 7 2009, 07:49 AM

2,039 posts

@duncan880409
raffles mobo.... just googled. very limited infor on this. unless you provide some cpuz screenshot. raffles from pakistan?!

btw, its very hard to diagnose your BSOD prob. too many possibility. like ram, cd, dvdrom drive, cable, mobo, hdd etc.

@jcsy
via mobo normally allows rising fsb, but not on voltage especially the 1 that come with vga. so he just push till the limit on the stock voltage.

This post has been edited by kabukiawie: May 7 2009, 07:54 AM
e_k1117
post May 7 2009, 08:11 AM

276 posts

@jcsy
yaya, there is 1 option on the BIOS which can OC abit by it default setting in the menu. i not sure what title is it already. tonight i check it n let you know. if not mistaken it is at the right side most top option in BIOS. from there i increase abit the FSB.

but last night i unOC back my proc, then stress it with PRIME95 whole night. nothing happen..... Maybe i shouldn't OC my proc at all......

BTW, just wan to ask, will the diff of 0.2Ghz-0.4Ghz after OC make so diff in speed and performance during the usage of the windows?

anyway, i think MSI- MS 7104 doesn't support DUAL channel one. am i right? cry.gif

does any1 here try windows 7 in s478 platform alr??? how is that? does p4 s478 able to cope it well?

Added on May 7, 2009, 8:21 amsome more my CRT is "kong" already. so i never go and fully use it yet....
anyway, my 24 inch LCD brows.gif is on the way already... drool.gif . hope that can get it by tonight.

hopefully my ati 9600se is able to drive it..... if not.... then cry.gif

This post has been edited by e_k1117: May 7 2009, 08:21 AM
edministrator
post May 7 2009, 08:52 AM

1,940 posts

1. leave it at stock for the moment to see if your problem comes back.
2. diff between 200-400Mhz is negligible in daily usage.
3. MSI-7104 is one of the budget boards that does not include dual channel support.
4. Windows 7 in s478 is more responsive compared to vista, no worries.
5. 9600SE provided with the new catalyst drivers can support 24" HD resolutions, best when connected through DVI.

This post has been edited by edministrator: May 7 2009, 08:53 AM
fylon
post May 7 2009, 09:22 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ May 6 2009, 09:35 PM)
@e_k1117 ,flash back to the previous version...I have never tried before.....I remembered fylon said can't work.
That is what i read from article, but never try it before. Pro's said that the flashing tools has some CRC checksum, it only allow upgrade but not downgrade. Well, i think it only applied to older version of mobo. Current mobo on the market is allow to flash up and down for the bios without worries. laugh.gif

P/s: Btw, this thread getting hox! 1 day page! drool.gif

@e_k1117

Any report from u by reverting back all ur rigs setting to default?
e_k1117
post May 7 2009, 09:49 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(e_k1117 @ May 7 2009, 08:11 AM)

but last night i unOC back my proc, then stress it with PRIME95 whole night. nothing happen..... Maybe i shouldn't OC my proc at all......
@fylon
looks like nothing happen yet. coz act i now using laptop since my CRT is "die" already. no green color at all, the screen jt vy reddy....
now also running the prime95 torture test..... icon_rolleyes.gif without restart whole day alr. biggrin.gif

waiting for my LCD now..... drool.gif
TSraymond5105
post May 7 2009, 10:17 AM

5,341 posts

@fylon,thanks for sharing. New bios can flash up and down already...

@e_k1117 ,buy 22" inches LCD ?
e_k1117
post May 7 2009, 10:31 AM

276 posts

icon_rolleyes.gif 24 inch Dell lcd if the seller not ffk me la... nod.gif 1 time buy big one liao. no need to upgrade anymore in few yrs time..... rclxms.gif
kabukiawie
post May 7 2009, 10:43 AM

2,039 posts

flashing up and down shouldnt be no prob. from my experience on my asus mobo, using older version flash tool i manage to flash to any version but using latest it stop me flash backward.
Jcsy
post May 7 2009, 01:03 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

anyway, i think MSI- MS 7104 doesn't support DUAL channel one. am i right?
nope, single channel lol biggrin.gif

mav910623
post May 10 2009, 11:34 AM

Dr. Antidote
1,344 posts

guys.. i recently changed my 2.4 prescott to a 3.2 northwood... now the HSF runs at 5k RPM all the time .. need a fix for this ... the prescott used to go up to 5400RPM under load after i installed a 8600GT... Im using the prescott HSF with the northwood BTW

Added on May 10, 2009, 12:38 pm
QUOTE(mav910623 @ May 10 2009, 11:34 AM)
guys.. i recently changed my 2.4 prescott to a 3.2 northwood... now the HSF runs at 5k RPM all the time .. need a fix for this ... the prescott used to go up to 5400RPM under load after i installed a 8600GT... Im using the prescott HSF with the northwood BTW
ok.. i think i solved it .. i changed back to the Northwood ORI HSF .. and now stable temp with 2700 RPM. temp is 45C idle (ok temp?)

This post has been edited by mav910623: May 10 2009, 12:38 PM
edministrator
post May 10 2009, 01:19 PM

1,940 posts

45C idle with stock cooling is normal.
TSraymond5105
post May 10 2009, 03:10 PM

5,341 posts

Prescott heatsink fan is running at 5k rpm by default?
e_k1117
post May 10 2009, 04:08 PM

276 posts

hi guys, ati 9600 se change to x1650xt.

will see big difference and improvement?? icon_question.gif
edministrator
post May 10 2009, 05:14 PM

1,940 posts

QUOTE(e_k1117 @ May 10 2009, 04:08 PM)

very very minor. 1650xt is a very low end card to start with. shakehead.gif how much does the card u r planning 2 get costs? sweat.gif
e_k1117
post May 10 2009, 05:46 PM

276 posts

hmm.gif i only got budget around RM100++ cry.gif
coz if put too much not worth alr....

Added on May 10, 2009, 5:50 pmjust minor improvement only ah.

but if according to the spec should be triple of 9600se performance....
256MB with 128bit DDR3.... where as 9600se just 128MB 64bit DDR1 only...

Added on May 10, 2009, 5:52 pmso i thought the performance should be very much different already...

This post has been edited by e_k1117: May 10 2009, 05:54 PM
TSraymond5105
post May 10 2009, 06:12 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(e_k1117 @ May 10 2009, 04:08 PM)

QUOTE(e_k1117 @ May 10 2009, 05:46 PM)
hmm.gif  i only got budget around RM100++  cry.gif
coz if put too much not worth alr....

Added on May 10, 2009, 5:50 pmjust minor improvement only ah.

but if according to the spec should be triple of 9600se performance....
256MB with 128bit DDR3.... where as 9600se just 128MB 64bit DDR1 only...

Added on May 10, 2009, 5:52 pmso i thought the performance should be very much different already...
Woops...Upgrade already ....Do you run any benchmark to see.You can feel improvement to 9600SE....But not that much.
edministrator
post May 10 2009, 06:19 PM

1,940 posts

yeah, i would foresee minor improvements from your current card, depends on the applications/games that u r running. but the best way we could advise u is based on how much you are spending for the card so we can gauge the price vs performance level, balance is the keyword here. cheers.

Added on May 10, 2009, 6:28 pmOh, one more thing, this one slipped my eyesight. You are referring to 1650Pro or 1650XT?

Pro and XT is different specs.

Pro=minor improvements due to crippled specs.
XT=same level as 7600GT.

some benchmarks for your reference:

bbqsauce: http://www.techspot.com/review/31-radeon-x...00gt/page4.html

This post has been edited by edministrator: May 10 2009, 06:30 PM
e_k1117
post May 10 2009, 06:41 PM

276 posts

so is that means that in terms of performance:

(X1650XT=>7600GT) > 7600GS

is that true?

Added on May 10, 2009, 6:44 pmoh ya, the review u gave is based on PCI-E platform one leh.....Not AGP.....

This post has been edited by e_k1117: May 10 2009, 06:44 PM

125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0297sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:20 PM