QUOTE(Jcsy @ Jun 3 2009, 03:57 PM)
Why can't? INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V8<<, The Journey Continues Here!
INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V8<<, The Journey Continues Here!
Jun 3 2009, 04:39 PM
5,341 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jun 3 2009, 04:47 PM
1,940 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Soviet Sarawak |
most likely coreavc not running.
Jun 3 2009, 05:36 PM
7,757 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Subang |
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jun 3 2009, 12:13 AM) i am back with my puny P42.4A + p4p800x + 1gbram + radeon9550. just setup today. very satisfied with the performance as it can play 720p movies smoothly. very huge improvement compare to my previous AthlonXP. will try 1080p soon, see how it goes Haha lately the prices of computer parts have dropped, especially HDDs, so good time to upgrade lah. Won't be upgrading for another few years, so it's not that bad @pengster hi, long time no see. @ray dont say like that, you buy mostly 2nd hand good stuffs. and most of it can't get it in the market liao. mine cpu is oem, mobo get the cheapest 1+ builtin vga, value ram. thats all.... even hdd still using 2nd hand PATA 80gb hdd. only ram and mobo is from shop, still the cheapest from the shelf. this rig will put me in hibernate for sometime before have $$ for new gear. QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 3 2009, 09:15 AM) What's ADP? ADP = American Degree Program =DYour 2.4A is back,glad to hear that.But maybe you can look for a faster proc to replace your 2.4A.....Your 720p movie utilize how many % of the cpu resources? Your AthlonXP speed is slower than 2.4A? Then must be dinosaur age one..haha QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 3 2009, 09:24 AM) @pengster Ooh not bad, I'm looking at the HDT-S1283 now. Can't seem to find the Sunbeam Corecontact though. Hahha! Xigmatek? @Kabu Which part itchy after look @ pengster rigs? Mine idle first core 57c, the other 3 cores around 50c. Why ah? Full load around 70c+. Using Ultra90 somemore. Oh yeah, I'm still using my old 17" CRT btw. |
Jun 3 2009, 05:51 PM
pengster,go for water cooling....and upgrade your monitor to 22" inches.
Jun 3 2009, 07:39 PM
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 3 2009, 05:51 PM) Still waiting for the green light for a LCD monitor. Water cooling? Totally no experience with water cooling. I was thinking of getting a Sunbeam Core Contact Freezer @ RM165 from Garage Sales. BTW bros, how much do you guys think I can sell off the P4 2.4B, MSI Neo2-V, 2xKVR400s with heatspreaders and a 6800GS? |
Jun 3 2009, 07:55 PM
2,039 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 3 2009, 09:15 AM) Your 2.4A is back,glad to hear that.But maybe you can look for a faster proc to replace your 2.4A.....Your 720p movie utilize how many % of the cpu resources? Your AthlonXP speed is slower than 2.4A? Then must be dinosaur age one..haha is 2.4GHz prescott la, 1mb L2 533fsb... my athlonxp is 1.66ghz more dino than my p4... lolz... 720 around 80+-%... tested 1080p, with coreAVC also lag an sound/video not sync. QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 3 2009, 09:59 AM) wait lo... that time you will be full with dust waiting. not srawakians are kayaman... is still alot of dino around..... most of lyn members use c2d for years and many switching to i7+ddr3. thats why majority this thread members are from here. Ed and me stick to our p4 rig for ages...he still use his p4m, i revived my p4 again. QUOTE(edministrator @ Jun 3 2009, 12:56 PM) ADP= Advanced Diploma Programme, most likely... what to do... can sense my axp a bit out of juice. haha... main reason is that my xp120 bracket collecting dust there. so just put it in use. @kabu, reviving your p4 rig 2 replace athlon? selling athlon rig? @fylon, recommend pengster prolima since he is top kayaman, dun recommend cheapo lah. |
Jun 3 2009, 08:16 PM
1,940 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Soviet Sarawak |
@kabu, nice revival of your p4 (oc a bit for powah), ya, my p4m still rocking good. the lcd mampus last 2 weeks, managed 2 salvage lcd from an old wrecked acer notebook courtesy of a friend as replacement, FOC. now the p4m still 24/7 torrenting! on Vista ftw! will be on win7 when released. 512MB ram ain't so bad for torrent rig, lol.
only use new rig for multimedia purpose and as needed, save electricity, haha. lately no gaming also. busy with 'projects'. This post has been edited by edministrator: Jun 3 2009, 08:23 PM |
Jun 3 2009, 10:14 PM
Wah each person has 2 rigs there, kaya also.I have only 1 rig only here.The rest are not with me.
Jun 3 2009, 11:49 PM
@ed
wei wei wei... what "PROJECT"??? @ray dont say like that, my another rig just old rig. refurbished dino pc. just tested my p4 with 720p dark knight, here's the screenshot on my 17" CRT. This post has been edited by kabukiawie: Jun 4 2009, 12:24 AM |
Jun 4 2009, 07:06 AM
425 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Seremban |
P4 478 user reporting in for 2nd time!
This is the 2nd time I been here. I just set up my download pc (2nd pc) with P4 2.4G. That is an old cpu anyway, got my ram from different friends. The machine is actually contributed by several friends. Now i have enough hardware to build the 3rd com already. But I don't need the 3rd one. P4 is good enough for my daily activities. But wonder how fast will i7 be? compared to my current com. tempted to upgrade by the way, i do have one sempron 2500++ over here. which one is better cpu? 1) Sempron 2500+ 2) P4 2.4 Ghz (533 Mhz Fsb) This post has been edited by SurpriseZZZZZ: Jun 4 2009, 07:12 AM |
Jun 4 2009, 07:35 AM
@SurpriseZZZZZ
nice, please state the complete spec so that brother ray will be able to update in the list. no need compare, even c2d is very hard to compete already. like mine e6230 can easily drag a mile ahead of my previous p4, even at stock. i7 is another level above. s754 sempron 2500+?? i tried both 2.4GHz prescott and 2500+ before. can tell you that p4 is definitely better. if athlon64 then maybe different story. sempron normal use is quite efficient and cooler. |
Jun 4 2009, 07:46 AM
425 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Seremban |
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jun 4 2009, 07:35 AM) @SurpriseZZZZZ nono, its 362 sempron, the old socket.nice, please state the complete spec so that brother ray will be able to update in the list. no need compare, even c2d is very hard to compete already. like mine e6230 can easily drag a mile ahead of my previous p4, even at stock. i7 is another level above. s754 sempron 2500+?? i tried both 2.4GHz prescott and 2500+ before. can tell you that p4 is definitely better. if athlon64 then maybe different story. sempron normal use is quite efficient and cooler. then i shall keep my rigs and save for another rigs then. i started to upgrade my rig a few years back and now so many old rigs in my room. I can easily make 3 rig out of my "collection" If can merge all cpu together then good. |
Jun 4 2009, 09:13 AM
4,431 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Soviet Sarawak |
Everyone 2 rigs eh.. I'm only having one. Ray, we are in the same board..
@SurpriseZZZZZ Welcome to the dino museum thread. |
Jun 4 2009, 09:23 AM
@SurpriseZZZZZ, give me your spec please.
@kabu,your 2.4G is using 60% of the cpu resource while playing 720p. It can show that old school is capable to paly hd movies nicely with the help of CoreAVC. Added on June 4, 2009, 9:24 am@fylon,i'm using an entry level of the Pentium Dual core in the company,no laptop for me. This post has been edited by raymond5105: Jun 4 2009, 09:24 AM |
Jun 4 2009, 09:39 AM
@Ray
Haha.. Cause im onsite engineer, i have to have 1 laptop ma.. Is a Centrino Duo, T5300 1.75Ghz with 2GB ram. Everything is nice, beside the onboard display which is 945G! No gaming for this guy. |
Jun 4 2009, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(SurpriseZZZZZ @ Jun 4 2009, 07:46 AM) nono, its 362 sempron, the old socket. socketA?? my socketA AthlonXp2000+ just retired. should be s462 right? then i shall keep my rigs and save for another rigs then. i started to upgrade my rig a few years back and now so many old rigs in my room. I can easily make 3 rig out of my "collection" If can merge all cpu together then good. i think the performance is almost the same as old Axp. unless is barton which is 333 or 400fsb. QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 4 2009, 09:23 AM) @kabu,your 2.4G is using 60% of the cpu resource while playing 720p. It can show that old school is capable to paly hd movies nicely with the help of CoreAVC. how is yours? You have better spec than me. by fact it should be better perform than mine. 1080p you cant play smoothly? i cant, ed last time can, quite weird... |
Jun 4 2009, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 4 2009, 09:39 AM) @Ray Mine desktop spec is E2160 with 2GB of RAM. Graphic is crap,build in one.Haha.. Cause im onsite engineer, i have to have 1 laptop ma.. Is a Centrino Duo, T5300 1.75Ghz with 2GB ram. Everything is nice, beside the onboard display which is 945G! No gaming for this guy. QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jun 4 2009, 10:31 AM) socketA?? my socketA AthlonXp2000+ just retired. should be s462 right? Old athlon is running at 333fsb only. I don't have any 1080p with me.I will try later when i get it.Why edmin one was weired?i think the performance is almost the same as old Axp. unless is barton which is 333 or 400fsb. how is yours? You have better spec than me. by fact it should be better perform than mine. 1080p you cant play smoothly? i cant, ed last time can, quite weird... |
Jun 4 2009, 12:13 PM
@kabu
Processor that makes the diff? Rmb ed were using 3.0Ghz. Btw guys, am letting go my Audigy 2 ZS, anyone interested do PM me. |
Jun 4 2009, 12:59 PM
Jun 4 2009, 01:22 PM
Letting go Audigy ZS pula,
Added on June 4, 2009, 1:22 pmAudigy 4 is coming with remote control right? This post has been edited by raymond5105: Jun 4 2009, 01:22 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0174sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:32 PM |