INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V8<<, The Journey Continues Here!

pengster
post Jun 1 2009, 11:25 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

Yo guys! V8 already huh? Nice thumbup.gif

It's been quite some time since I've been here.

raymond, can you remove me from the list? I've upgraded laugh.gif Thanks!
pengster
post Jun 2 2009, 12:04 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ Jun 1 2009, 11:37 PM)
not under tweak tool!

1. open media player classic.
2. go to view->options.
3. click on external filters.
4. select add filters.
5. navigate to corecodec folder and select the CoreAVCDecoder.ax file.
6. check the "prefer" radio button.
7. close media player classic and try running any H.264 file and gauge yourself of the improvements.

Added on June 1, 2009, 11:38 pm
welcome back! what have u upgraded? Kayaman detected~  rclxms.gif
Kayaman? I eat kaya la. rolleyes.gif

Couldnt tahan my old rig, graphic card overheating causing artifacts and recently had to edit some HD footage for assignment. So decided to upgrade. A much needed upgrade anyway. laugh.gif

I got these..

pengster
post Jun 2 2009, 07:41 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 2 2009, 08:56 AM)
Thanks edmin for guiding. Tonight will go back to adjust the settings.
Wah,another kayaman detected. Q9550 +GTS250 + Corsair XMS+ P45 mobo.CAn sit side by side with edmin already. Haha.
What laaa. This rig will probably last me until I come back from the US. Which is like another 4 years or so. laugh.gif

QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 2 2009, 09:07 AM)
Haha... I think im out from the kayaman league man.. Pengster take place.. All are 1st hand item le.. And Retail version some more.. Haix.. Mine all were 2nd hand.
Hey bro! Hows the Xigmatek btw? My Q9550's temps are quite high. Around 50c idle doh.gif

QUOTE(edministrator @ Jun 2 2009, 10:00 AM)
pengster's one better lah. Q9550. hi end ram. P45 mobo. pwned all with 1st hand purchase, lol.
Lol ram rm200+ only la. tongue.gif Not those crucial ballistix etc which costs rm400.

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jun 2 2009, 02:24 PM)
REAL KAYAMAN SPOTTED!!!!! haha RETAIL KAYAMAN! those are really nice upgrade, all stuffs on the table already over 2k. drool.gif i want that q9550!!! jk jk

fylon is 2ND HAND KAYAMAN.....and i am retail POORMAN. wink.gif
Hey bro long time no see xD
pengster
post Jun 2 2009, 09:01 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 2 2009, 08:34 PM)
@edmin,thanks for guiding.Now my cpu resources is always < 30% .  notworthy.gif

Added on June 2, 2009, 8:39 pm@pengster,going to US for further study? Really kaya ya....
Most probably la. Doing ADP now laugh.gif
pengster
post Jun 3 2009, 05:36 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jun 3 2009, 12:13 AM)
i am back with my puny P42.4A + p4p800x + 1gbram + radeon9550. just setup today. very satisfied with the performance as it can play 720p movies smoothly. very huge improvement compare to my previous AthlonXP. will try 1080p soon, see how it goes hmm.gif

@pengster
hi, long time no see. wink.gif and when see you already comeout with tons of guddies. makes me itchy only... haha

@ray
dont say like that, you buy mostly 2nd hand good stuffs. and most of it can't get it in the market liao.

mine cpu is oem, mobo get the cheapest 1+ builtin vga, value ram. thats all.... even hdd still using 2nd hand PATA 80gb hdd. only ram and mobo is from shop, still the cheapest from the shelf. this rig will put me in hibernate for sometime before have $$ for new gear. tongue.gif
Haha lately the prices of computer parts have dropped, especially HDDs, so good time to upgrade lah. Won't be upgrading for another few years, so it's not that bad laugh.gif

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 3 2009, 09:15 AM)
What's ADP? hmm.gif DAP i know la...
Your 2.4A is back,glad to hear that.But maybe you can look for a faster proc to replace your 2.4A.....Your 720p movie utilize how many % of the cpu resources? Your AthlonXP speed is slower than 2.4A? Then must be dinosaur age one..haha
ADP = American Degree Program =D

QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 3 2009, 09:24 AM)
@pengster

Hahha! Xigmatek? brows.gif Doing well man. Cheaper version of TRUE120. My idle load (with recently these current freaking hot day), idle is around 40-43'c. Night time will drop around 37-39'c. Full load with 4 core stress kaw kaw by prime95 is around 70-73'c. Temp can be trimp again actually by using high cfm fan. But im just too lazy to swap the fan. Having 4 CM 90CFM on hand.. Planning to make by this Saturday. brows.gif

@Kabu
Which part itchy after look @ pengster rigs? lust.gif Hahah!
Ooh not bad, I'm looking at the HDT-S1283 now. Can't seem to find the Sunbeam Corecontact though.

Mine idle first core 57c, the other 3 cores around 50c. Why ah? Full load around 70c+. Using Ultra90 somemore.

Oh yeah, I'm still using my old 17" CRT btw. laugh.gif doh.gif
pengster
post Jun 3 2009, 07:39 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 3 2009, 05:51 PM)
pengster,go for water cooling....and upgrade your monitor to 22" inches.
Still waiting for the green light for a LCD monitor. Water cooling? Totally no experience with water cooling. I was thinking of getting a Sunbeam Core Contact Freezer @ RM165 from Garage Sales. laugh.gif

BTW bros, how much do you guys think I can sell off the P4 2.4B, MSI Neo2-V, 2xKVR400s with heatspreaders and a 6800GS? unsure.gif
pengster
post Jun 4 2009, 12:59 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 4 2009, 12:13 PM)
@kabu
Processor that makes the diff? Rmb ed were using 3.0Ghz.

Btw guys, am letting go my Audigy 2 ZS, anyone interested do PM me. brows.gif
Why letting go? Upgrading? rolleyes.gif

Currently still satisfied with my Audigy 4. laugh.gif
pengster
post Jun 4 2009, 07:38 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 4 2009, 01:22 PM)
Letting go Audigy ZS pula, doh.gif The sound card cannot satisfy you already?

Added on June 4, 2009, 1:22 pmAudigy 4 is coming with remote control right?
Yup comes with a remote. Love it. So easy to adjust the volume thumbup.gif

QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 4 2009, 02:33 PM)
@Ray
Yea. SLR.. Budget 2k only.. Entry player.. blush.gif But before that, need to settle my system. Kasik satu kali update kaw kaw! Haha!
Nikon? Or Canon? brows.gif

QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 4 2009, 05:51 PM)
Who knows Xonar D2 pop out? brows.gif
Wah kayaman. XD
pengster
post Jun 5 2009, 12:06 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 4 2009, 08:15 PM)
Haha.. The truth reveal. Oh yea.. Grabbing ed's XtremeMusic and sell off my Audigy 2.. Something big is coming by tomorrow.. brows.gif

@edmin
Itu crystallizer really rox man.. Big improve from Audigy. The sounds get clearer and sharper. laugh.gif But due to limitation of headset.. Feel like shit.. sleep.gif Eh.. U got ur card already? Whats tat? brows.gif

@Pengster
Nikon D60.. Entry level lo.. What to do.. Haha! Kena poison kaw kaw liao.
Don't buy D60, get the new D5000. Much more worth it. Seriously. Same sensor as D90/D300 smile.gif

Btw bro, which do you recommend, S1283, Red Scorpion or Achilles? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by pengster: Jun 5 2009, 12:08 AM
pengster
post Jun 5 2009, 03:04 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jun 5 2009, 12:20 AM)
@ed
ho... you diam diam have undertable business with fylon oo.... haha... glad that you have got the "shorter" x-fi.. tongue.gif see when go your house feel the ump and crisps. brows.gif

@fylon
congrates, haha... i should know you get from ed... lolz... he mentioned to me that he eyeing for pcie x-fi, odnt know that fast you grab dy. tongue.gif

@ray
i think if oem should be around rm300+-. last time i saw it sell at garage. will pm ed for details...

@pengster
Dark knight!!! that 1 looks the coolest; drool.gif
Looks the best but the performance not as good as I would expect laugh.gif

QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 5 2009, 12:33 AM)
@edmin
ph34r.gif Terbeli? Berapa ribu u TER-guna?

@Pengster
Cannot lo.. Out of my budget eh.. I max only got 2k. So D60 lo.. Some more im new kaki.. Haaha!

P/s: Honestly i will suggest u got for RS / S1283 Dark knight. Achilles is just so so.. Eventhough 4 pipe but performance still been smoke away by RS. Im running on RS + stock fan (60cfm), current Temp @ late night'c is 38 for 1st core. the rest of 35'c. My 1st core is around 3-5'c diff with others.

@Ray
Hehe.. Putting my PC into entertainment line now.. So must be make the system "kick" on movie-ing and music-ing. laugh.gif
Hmm okay thanks alot bro. I think I'll get the RS. My first core is like almost 10c difference from the other 3 cores doh.gif

pengster
post Jun 5 2009, 03:35 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jun 5 2009, 03:14 PM)
@pengster
if want better performance, true 120 is the way to go, like ed's. thumbup.gif
TRUE RM300 lah sweat.gif Whereas the Xigmatek only RM110-RM130 laugh.gif

BTW fylon, are you using the bolt through kit for your Xigmatek or just the normal push pins?
pengster
post Jun 5 2009, 06:13 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ Jun 5 2009, 03:49 PM)
fylon used the crossbow kit.
Ah i see, thanks!

QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 5 2009, 03:53 PM)
@Kabu
Haha.. I also TerBeli from edmin.. Some more got personal courier le. The item sent to my house after 2 hrs placed order. brows.gif

P/s: Definitely not edmin, but another fren of mine that keep showing his result of his Pantex K10. At the end kena poison kaw kaw.

@Pengster
Honestly, go for RS if u on tight budget like me. Alot of review had pointed out, RS only like 1-3'c different from TRUE. So, why spent more right? Rather spend the extra penny for CM 90cfm fan. brows.gif Hm.. Im using hte bolt through kit bro.

Anyways, Edmin's true is a steal, he got it for RM220 if not mistaken. Ofcause used unit. But still shine. laugh.gif
Ooh okay. Contemplating whether to get the crossbow or not. If I get it then have to take out everything again doh.gif

There's a 2nd hand TRUE @ Garage Sales for RM200 whistling.gif

QUOTE(lingloong @ Jun 5 2009, 03:59 PM)
He's using the Crossbow (ACK-I7361)  brows.gif
Sweet. laugh.gif
pengster
post Jun 5 2009, 08:08 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

I might get that. RM200 for a TRUE sounds tempting. But I've heard that it needs to be lapped to perform better. Is that true? laugh.gif
pengster
post Jun 6 2009, 05:08 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

Just reinstalled my Ultra 90 with TX-2 and the temps I got at idle is 61c,52c,57c,56c. Hot sia sweat.gif
pengster
post Jun 7 2009, 03:33 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 6 2009, 05:09 PM)
Intel stock cooler is better than the Ultra 90?  hmm.gif
No idea, didn't try to stock cooler. It looks puny. laugh.gif

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jun 6 2009, 05:25 PM)
@pengster
ultra 90 so bad?? hmm... i thought i can be better alot than normal 3rd party hfs. hmm.gif

if wanna switch new hfs, throw ultra90 to me... haha. wink.gif jk jk...
Don't know leh. Thats why I headache now. Wondering why performance so lousy. Maybe I should change to a Panaflo 90mm fan. unsure.gif

QUOTE(edministrator @ Jun 7 2009, 09:56 AM)
definitely good airflow and value for money (price range wise). but be aware that it's a dust magnet! i need to wipe the outer grills and the whole casing every 3-4 days...
Yup I totally agree. Using the CM690 too, paired with 3 TT Thunderblades and after a few days it gets choked with dust laugh.gif
pengster
post Jun 7 2009, 05:28 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jun 7 2009, 04:50 PM)
@fylon
kayaman's style-always got something new for the rig

my style- never change rig, when force to change, take lots of time then in the end just cheapo upgrade. haha...

@pengster
have you check the thermal paste on the last time you reinstall ultra90? is the thermal paste well spread on the cpu?

else must check your casing's airflow. tower type hfs seems very sensitive on ambient temp as it can absorb the heat faster. just my opinion.
Yeah actually this was the 2nd time I've reinstalled the Ultra90. Used Tuniq TX-2 and followed the directions properly for quad core cpus. Contact seems fine sweat.gif

Ambient temp is about 37-38c so I guess its alright? unsure.gif
pengster
post Jun 7 2009, 09:25 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 7 2009, 07:01 PM)
How you installed your Ultra90 during the first time? Is there another way to install the haetsink? hmm.gif
First time after setting up the new parts I totally didn't know that for quad core cpus you're supposed to apply the TIM in a line across the cpu. So i just did the normal way, a blob in the middle laugh.gif

@edmin
Yeah its a so-so cooler. Will be getting a Red Scorpion soon. Hopefully it can bring down the temps below 50c idle sweat.gif
pengster
post Jun 7 2009, 10:46 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 7 2009, 10:12 PM)
TIM in a line?
Yep. According the AC's website. lol

pengster
post Jun 8 2009, 04:25 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

For dual cores is one straight line vertically whereas for quad cores its a straight line horizontally. laugh.gif

pengster
post Jun 10 2009, 02:42 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jun 10 2009, 10:10 AM)
@bai
since you are not running at 1:1, timing is not an issue. keep at spd will do. only tighten when hit the ceiling to squeeze few more drop. wink.gif

if you can reach 3.6ghz then it will be great. thumbup.gif good luck.

@fylon
ray is correct. p4p800-x dont provide some "normal" oc option like
-2.8v vdimm(2.68v max)
-vagp(no adjust)
-PAT(no enable/disable)
-vcore(only 1.7v for northwood, 1.6v for prescott)

vdroop quite bad. even last time i try mine with igreen also fluctuated for vcore. sad.gif

@ray
low latency will not help it push fsb higher, especially on 1:1.
Yeah thats the exact reason why I sold the P4P800-x and kept the MSI Neo2-v laugh.gif

Anyway guys, I have my old stuff to let go, anyone interested? rolleyes.gif

0.0507sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:17 PM