123 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Pwnagetool/Redsn0w/Purple&Blackra1n Thread, 2G/3G/3GS Jailbreak[iPhone 3.1.2 is OUT]

harmeet15
post Jul 26 2009, 05:54 PM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

QUOTE(denzel88 @ Jul 26 2009, 05:46 PM)
oo thx

So which is better PurpleRa1n or RedSn0w? in jailbreaking 3Gs
if it helps, i used rain, was decent..but then when snow cm out, jumped ship...
must say thr was a slight difference n snow cm out top
but rain is lot more faster n easier...smile.gif

denzel88
post Jul 26 2009, 06:15 PM

Let's Bring it On!
1,432 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Jul 26 2009, 05:54 PM)
if it helps, i used rain, was decent..but then when snow cm out, jumped ship...
must say thr was a slight difference n snow cm out top
but rain is lot more faster n easier...smile.gif
So is there any difference in performance or functionally in iPhone after installation of PurpleRa1n or RedSn0w?
kw87
post Jul 27 2009, 12:19 AM

36 posts

I heard after the new iphone 3gs been JB the lifespan of the battery will shorten, anyone knows anything about it?
harmeet15
post Jul 27 2009, 12:46 AM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(denzel88 @ Jul 26 2009, 06:15 PM)
So is there any difference in performance or functionally in iPhone after installation of PurpleRa1n or RedSn0w?
not alot. The initial purplerain had alot of unpatched kernels but da latest version fixed almost all da probs. Infact I read smwhr tat dev team found afew patches which geohot used in purplerain which were better n helped improve ultrasnow. Thus making snow da complete package to Jb. Tats my view. U can choose whichever method u like. smile.gif

QUOTE(kw87 @ Jul 27 2009, 12:19 AM)
I heard after the new iphone 3gs been JB the lifespan of the battery will shorten, anyone knows anything about it?
JB or no Jb. Battery life in 3gs seem to drain faster. At least for me. I've started to believe it's price u pay for faster speed n ram. tongue.gif
maybe 3.1 wud bring sm changes. Keeping fingers crossed. Till then. Neva leave home without juice pack. smile.gif

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Jul 27 2009, 09:57 AM
denzel88
post Jul 27 2009, 01:20 PM

Let's Bring it On!
1,432 posts

After reading the post by harmeet15, i'm kinda afraid now to use purplera1n... because of some corrupted baseband code, ram usage 6900times, etc shocking.gif

Anyway, base on the site original redsn0w site, it says that it is not compatible with iphone 3Gs.

Is it true?

frozzbyte
post Jul 27 2009, 01:37 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

@denzel88
Purplesn0w is not the same as Purplera1n.

After reading the post by harmeet15, i'm kinda afraid now to use purplera1n... because of some corrupted baseband code, ram usage 6900times, etc
That problem have been solve with purplesn0w RC2 by GeoHot. The quote by harmeet is referring to to RC1 of purplesn0w in unlocking the 3Gs baseband, and not the 3Gs jailbreaking tool called purplera1n (I know people will get confuse with all the colorful rain and snow)

Purplesn0w = unlock for 3GS
Purplera1n = Jailbreak for 3GS
Redsn0w = Jailbreak for all iPhone model
Ultrasn0w = unlock for 3G and 3Gs

That post regarding Redsn0w not compatible with 3Gs is old news. To get things straight, read this http://blog.iphone-dev.org/page/2
invisiblelim
post Jul 27 2009, 04:37 PM

1,263 posts

after i read, i still feel confuse.. like mine is maxis set, in order to JB, do i still need to install the Ultrasn0w(as i read, ultrasn0w is to unlock to phone)? or i just need to install the purplera1n & cydia will do?

This post has been edited by invisiblelim: Jul 27 2009, 04:42 PM
TSdavidgary73
post Jul 27 2009, 04:45 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Jul 27 2009, 04:37 PM)
after i read, i still feel confuse.. like mine is maxis set, in order to JB, do i still need to install the Ultrasn0w(as i read, ultrasn0w is to unlock to phone)? or i just need to install the purplesn0w & cydia will do?
Bro..what so confusng about? It's stated clearly that ultrasn0w is only applicable for 3G/3GS Lock iPhones, not 2G.

Since your iPhone is from Maxis(offically unlocked), you dont need ultrasn0w.

Just follow the guide according to your OS using redsn0w. Read and read until you understand the procedure on how to go about JBing your iPhone. If you're not confident or not sure, don't proceed as you may end up not knowing how to troubleshoot if anything goes wrong.

Cheers
invisiblelim
post Jul 27 2009, 04:53 PM

1,263 posts

orh.. if you clafied like that, i understand jor.. ^^ cause some term there make me confused, now i get it very clear.. will try out if got any problem, you will help me de, hihi thanks
tweedle
post Jul 27 2009, 06:51 PM

14 posts

If I erase and delete my iphone, will I have to install all the updates again? My iphone is jailbroken
pencacai
post Jul 27 2009, 07:26 PM

before jailbreak iphone 3gs,old Firmware must delete or replace only ,using redsn0w-win_0.8,tq pls help icon_question.gif

QUOTE(beavis68 @ Jul 27 2009, 08:52 PM)
if u r on firmware 3.0...u just jailbreak using d redsnow 0.8
dun need to replace or delete d firmware....
thanks bro .... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by pencacai: Jul 27 2009, 07:26 PM
beavis68
post Jul 27 2009, 08:52 PM

I want my chicken Picata!! r u threatening me?
1,020 posts

QUOTE(pencacai @ Jul 27 2009, 07:26 PM)
before jailbreak  iphone 3gs,old Firmware  must delete or replace only ,using redsn0w-win_0.8,tq pls help  icon_question.gif
if u r on firmware 3.0...u just jailbreak using d redsnow 0.8
dun need to replace or delete d firmware....
ansonliew
post Jul 29 2009, 12:52 PM

91 posts

hey sorry im really a noob in iphone..
does it mean i can JB my iphone by myself?
is the process complicated?
im afraid i might spoil the phone :S

harmeet15
post Jul 29 2009, 12:59 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(ansonliew @ Jul 29 2009, 12:52 PM)
dun wurry bro..
just follow the guide n u'll be fine...smile.gif

u cant 'spoil' the phone easily...

Added on July 29, 2009, 1:00 pmbtw, nice speedtest results...tongue.gif

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Jul 29 2009, 01:00 PM
hi54ever
post Jul 29 2009, 06:29 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(psyeo @ Jul 28 2009, 11:33 PM)
The point being, how long will it keep u connected and still push messages to you after you quit the application. Most free IM apps that push to you only stay connected max 30 minutes (e.g. nimbuzz, ebuddy and etc.), while Beejive, IM+ and maybe Agile messenger will let u stay connected for at least a day after you quit the application.

If you think the free ebuddy is great, I think you should try Nimbuzz too (it seems better to me, in terms of UI)

Cheers,
alright, will giv nimbuzz a try, i saw a SC shows tat Beejive can send/receive file izit?
neekun
post Jul 30 2009, 08:26 AM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

Just sharing this link:

http://www.informationweek.com/news/person...cleID=218800150

Well i guess JB will still be going strong....
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 30 2009, 12:06 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Kind of a bullshitty attitude by Apple.

They're actually sounding like those game developers who make LEGIT gamers suffer so much now.
hasuji
post Jul 30 2009, 03:17 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(ansonliew @ Jul 29 2009, 01:52 PM)
1. The answer is YES you may JB iphone yourself.
2. for me its not really a complicated process as long as u follow the guide/instruction carefully.
3. if you scared or not have the courage to do pls consult with our Iphone's Guru = Hanxz =

im not iphone guru or sifu but maybe i can give u my opinion.

last 6 month im also like u. afraid to that and this. but i managed to JB my iphone myself
although facing some prob. dont be afraid to learn and to do mistakes because
you'll only learn by doing mistakes. Basically it is learning process.

And i want to give credits to davidgary73, fighteden, genoclde and some more who helps me a lot replying my queries.. thumbup.gif

Lastly please make back up file before do any changes to your system. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by hasuji: Jul 30 2009, 03:33 PM
fazrulshafiq
post Jul 31 2009, 12:35 PM

13 posts

i need some help here.ive jailbreaking my iphone and ended up with no network coverage.i did it twice.the result is still the same.please help me.
teikwing
post Jul 31 2009, 12:57 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(fazrulshafiq @ Jul 31 2009, 12:35 PM)
i need some help here.ive jailbreaking my iphone and ended up with no network coverage.i did it twice.the result is still the same.please help me.
you need to provide details on your phone before you expect people here to help. state the your model, origin, soft or official-unlocked etc. if possible, use the template provided below.

iPhone Generation :
Unlocked?:
Current Firmware :
iTunes Version :
PC/MAC :
Jailbreaking software :
Problem Encountered :
Steps Taken So Far :
Screenshot of Problem(if applicable) :
Other Information/Remarks :

123 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top