Pwnagetool/Redsn0w/Purple&Blackra1n Thread, 2G/3G/3GS Jailbreak[iPhone 3.1.2 is OUT]
teikwing
Jun 22 2009, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(killerapp @ Jun 22 2009, 09:15 PM) i just spoke to a guy selling turbo sim from lelong.com.my. i was enquiring about the turbo sim for v2.2.1 baseband 2.30.03 and he told me that he can update the software to os3.0 and unlock the phone.he claims that he's the only one who can do it now...is that true that u can do it now?as far as i'm concern u can't do it now right... please read this: ultrasn0w for iPhone 3G 3.03G users all around the world with locked iPhone are still awaiting for DevTeam to release it. if the guy is able to unlock it now on 3.0, he should be doing it via flashing the phone's IC way, which makes it act like an officially-unlocked iPhone.
teikwing
Jun 27 2009, 02:12 AM
QUOTE(Brick1235 @ Jun 27 2009, 12:31 AM) I notice one more thing about this redsnow 0.72 is that when i go to Cydia to try to update it or install OpenSSH or OpenSSL it comes out this error "Couldn't configure pre-depend dpkg for grep, probably a dependency cycle." Any one out there having this problem? I don't think this if i use redsnow 0.71. did u install Icy too during the jailbreak process? try to re-jailbreak again without installing Icy this time. if you need Icy, install it through Cydia after the jailbreak.
teikwing
Jun 27 2009, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(tonitan78 @ Jun 27 2009, 12:32 PM) hello,,, sorry i am new to jb and unlock currently i m having lock iphone 3g with 2.28 baseband and still on version 2.2 running on yellowsn0w i had read through tutorial on upgrading to iphone os 3.0 but got confusion on the version of itunes to use,, according to devteam that the itunes 8.2 can lock the pwn and jailbreak and there's also people use the latest itunes to upgrade to OS 3.0. so which version of itunes to use if i want to restore to iphone OS 3.0? Thks. you will need to update iTunes to 8.2 before proceed with update/restore to FW 3.0 on your iPhone. Ultrasn0w for iPhone 3G
teikwing
Jun 28 2009, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(babymiki @ Jun 28 2009, 02:24 PM) Hi All, I just got 3G Maxis Set is it considered as official unlock set? So If I want to jail break I'd have to start with Redsn0w? yes. just go ahead. guides/tutorial are available at the first few posts of this thread.
teikwing
Jul 4 2009, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(SeanVinces @ Jul 4 2009, 10:57 PM) Hi David/Nokia/Taka, Yay ! I've successfully unlocked & JB the iphone 3G UK set, but now i'm trying to copy some customized sms tones by using diskaid. The file system location seems different from before. May i know where is the sound & themes located ?Thanks in advanced.  SMS tones etc. : /System/Library/Audio/UISounds Themes (using Winterboard): /Library/Themes
teikwing
Jul 8 2009, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(DIABLOW @ Jul 8 2009, 12:17 AM) please, i need the fresh link to install the redshow. the links posted above seem not working anymore. just choose from any of the links of redsn0w 0.7.2 from the #4 post of this thread. the older version worked flawlessly.
teikwing
Jul 10 2009, 04:09 PM
try to restore and re-jailbreak again. might be the phone running on low memory. check what background processes are running.
This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 10 2009, 04:18 PM
teikwing
Jul 11 2009, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(windwong @ Jul 11 2009, 12:23 AM) Hi, I had previously jailbreak my iphone using guide by David to version 2.2 (5G77) , carrier 2.9, modem firmware 02.28.00. Honestly i did it blindly(just following instruction) and installed many 3rd party application (also blindly following instruction) and my iphone is working fine untill now. If im to update my phone to OS 3.0, does that means i have to restore everything and jailbreak again and install back my 3rd party application? ( very time consuming) can i just update to OS3 by using itune 8.2 straight away? the reason for me to update here is to use the SMS, MMS so i can delete the bitesms and also hoping that it can run a bit faster than now..... or will that be the other way round in reality? thanks very much for the help are u using an officially-unlocked set? for the bolded statement, yes you will need to redo the whole jailbreaking process and re-install Cydia apps. (if that's the "3rd party" that u meant) just follow the guide provided on the first page. the whole restore/update and jailbreak process took me less than an hour. installing Cydia apps is an ease too if you have a stable/fast internet connection.
teikwing
Jul 12 2009, 01:27 AM
QUOTE(windwong @ Jul 12 2009, 01:02 AM) got problem guys.........jailbroken my 3G to OS3 today using redsnow. now try to put my celcom 3g simcard into the phone and trying to update things with Cydia but it shows no internet connection at all. it shows(Unable to Load, no internet connection) The 3G signs and signal is there all time but just cannot connect to internet....last time when still in 2.2 everytime i need internet in iphone i just put my celcom 3G simcard and it work fine.......... what happen?!@!!!!!! tried with WiFi? make sure you get the APN settings for Celcom correctly.
teikwing
Jul 12 2009, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(ularsawa @ Jul 12 2009, 01:29 PM) sorry david, but the downloaded file dun have any .rar ext nor .ipsw it just simply iPhone1,2_3.0_7A341_Restore. when i add .ipsw ext the file remain "winrar zip archive" format and not "Apple Device Software Update File" howcome ahh? sigh! downloaded and install from itunes. but now the problem on redsnowing it. the process still require this. where itunes keep it downloaded file huh? for those kind to e-mail me the file at zaharimr@gmail.com thank you bro. attempt several time edi download the file and the result still the same this link QUOTE iPhone 3G 3.0 Firmware - Download on the first post of http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/984406 should have worked. the original file extension is already in .ipsw. i don't have any problem using the file during the jailbreaking process previously. This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 12 2009, 01:59 PM
teikwing
Jul 12 2009, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(ularsawa @ Jul 12 2009, 01:57 PM) me oso confused now. just install chrome and try downloaded it using chrome. hmm.. the icon seems like the "itunes box" file and not in zip format. but just wait n see until it finish download. is it something to do with IE? Thanx for the link but mine is i2G here's the screenshot: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Note: if yours is i2G then the link should be the first one (iPhone 2G 3.0 - Download), iPhone1,1_3.0_7A341_Restore.ipswi'm on Firefox 3.0.11 btw. This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 12 2009, 02:06 PM
teikwing
Jul 20 2009, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Jul 20 2009, 04:21 PM) how to check. first page only stated iPhone 3G 3.0 Firmware - Download 3.0 firmware got a lot versiion? last time i use 2.2 and i upgrade to 3.0 with the itunes. and now my iphone locked,because i only call emergency i've downloaded the 3G 3.0 IPSW from the first page link and i don't face any issues in the restore/jailbreak process. if redsn0w 0.8 gives you problem, try to use the older 0.7.2 version.
teikwing
Jul 20 2009, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(estara @ Jul 20 2009, 06:22 PM) For the iphone 3g, is redsn0w 0.7.2 good enough or is downloading redsn0w 0.8 a better choice? both should be working fine.
teikwing
Jul 23 2009, 12:30 AM
QUOTE(magicalass @ Jul 22 2009, 11:59 PM) are 3Gs jailbreak not available yet? read the first post. purplera1n and the latest redsn0w is for 3GS.
teikwing
Jul 23 2009, 12:20 PM
@denzel88: i don't think you need jailbreaking to install any games (there's hardly any games on Cydia), unless you mean to get 'em through an illegitimate way.
and no, you won't increase the phone's performance's by jailbreaking or using purplera1n but,
if compared side-by-side with a jailbroken 3G, 3GS should be performing better since it's on a faster processor & double the RAM.
and no, jailbreaking won't cause any problem to your phone.
This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 23 2009, 12:40 PM
teikwing
Jul 31 2009, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(fazrulshafiq @ Jul 31 2009, 12:35 PM) i need some help here.ive jailbreaking my iphone and ended up with no network coverage.i did it twice.the result is still the same.please help me. you need to provide details on your phone before you expect people here to help. state the your model, origin, soft or official-unlocked etc. if possible, use the template provided below. QUOTE iPhone Generation : Unlocked?: Current Firmware : iTunes Version : PC/MAC : Jailbreaking software : Problem Encountered : Steps Taken So Far : Screenshot of Problem(if applicable) : Other Information/Remarks :
teikwing
Jul 31 2009, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(MattJ @ Jul 31 2009, 03:13 PM) Dear All, Tried jailbreaking my iphone 3g-s and got stuck at 2nd reboot, using Win XP and redsnow 0.8. Appreciate some help. Thanks re-do the whole jailbreaking process. you might have missed out on certain steps. both redsn0w or purplera1n will work on 3GS.
teikwing
Jul 31 2009, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(kw87 @ Jul 31 2009, 06:24 PM) any idea which is better? redsn0w or purplera1n? i only tried sn0w before user-preference. both use the vulnerability and will yield the same result but some users commented that it's much easier & faster to jailbreak via purplera1n.
teikwing
Jul 31 2009, 11:10 PM
@M H z:http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281read up post #4, 2. Maxis APN Settings Missing/Not Available? No Carrier Signal?
teikwing
Jul 31 2009, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(M H z @ Jul 31 2009, 11:33 PM) have check it out.. my itunes onli support ipsw read up properly. you must first enable iTunes to support Carrier Bundle. Malaysian Telco Carrier Logos ThreadThis post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 31 2009, 11:37 PM