Charging iPhone - PC USB vs. Charger etc, Over charge battery will spoil?
Oct 5 2010, 01:35 PM
587 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: In Front Of My PC |
thanks for the heads up.. didnt know that..
Oct 5 2010, 02:25 PM
47 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
One question. If we have charge the iphone to 100% and leave it plug with the charger on, the iphone is still consuming power and which power is it drawing? From the battery or from the charger? If from battery, means the battery will drop and the charging process start again to 100% and repeatedly.
Oct 5 2010, 03:09 PM
3,488 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Petaling Jaya |
@leochngyh did you read the apple.com/batteries page? its mentioned there that once charged, your iDevice draws power from the plug, not from the battery.
Oct 5 2010, 11:07 PM
54 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
ya... out of topic a bit... do you guys have any idea if want to replace iDevice battery at machine... how long will it takes? i think we need to leave the iDevice there for few days... coz i noticed iDevice is not easy to be dissemble...
Oct 6 2010, 12:12 AM
15,705 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Tg. Rambutan |
QUOTE(B-Hong @ May 21 2010, 10:05 AM) I had go thru 4 pages of this thread. Seem nobody post the price to replace a new battery, doesnt this mean iPhone's battery among your guys are still working well? Why so worried about iPhone battery? I still have my original iPhone 2G which is 3 years old and I only recently changed the battery. 3 years is a long long long time for gadgets. N it was very cheap n easy to DIY too. Bought the batt pack real cheap n needed only about 10 minutes to replace the battery. Most ppl dont even keep their phones for more than a year. So dont worry so much n just enjoy it. |
Oct 6 2010, 09:45 AM
55 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
hi.. ianho..
just ask.. everytime i charge my iphone 2g it will heat at back..why? just use 3 years lor same like u.. anyway where can i get this battery? how u open ur back cover to change the battery DIY? |
Oct 6 2010, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(raventah @ Oct 6 2010, 09:45 AM) hi.. ianho.. its normal if u charge ur phone and the back getting warm.. no worriesjust ask.. everytime i charge my iphone 2g it will heat at back..why? just use 3 years lor same like u.. anyway where can i get this battery? how u open ur back cover to change the battery DIY? Added on October 6, 2010, 12:08 pmgo search at the garage sales.. there is some forumers do the service.. (change batteries) This post has been edited by boblp: Oct 6 2010, 12:08 PM |
Oct 6 2010, 03:02 PM
1,798 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: Yuen Long, HK || Seremban || Kuala Lumpur |
I saw an article in lyn forum showing need to charge 4 hours per cycle, but some ppl said no need wait low battery can charge again until 100% then unplug and some said keep charging maintain 100%.
Actually which way is true? When i charged full 100%, then unplug to use until 95% then simply plug in charge again until 100%, can always do that? |
Oct 6 2010, 04:04 PM
1,600 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Shah Alam |
QUOTE(rstusa @ Oct 6 2010, 03:02 PM) I saw an article in lyn forum showing need to charge 4 hours per cycle, but some ppl said no need wait low battery can charge again until 100% then unplug and some said keep charging maintain 100%. yeah,i also about to ask the same quest ? .. can i just charge my phone even my bat still around 80-90 like that ?Actually which way is true? When i charged full 100%, then unplug to use until 95% then simply plug in charge again until 100%, can always do that? will this effect my battery ? .. |
Oct 6 2010, 04:24 PM
3,488 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Petaling Jaya |
I could really learn to hate some of you here. I already posted the link from Apple. just follow their instructions. what makes you think we forumers know any better than the manufacturer?
Go read this first if you have battery questions. www.apple.com/batteries |
Oct 6 2010, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Oct 6 2010, 05:24 PM) I could really learn to hate some of you here. I already posted the link from Apple. just follow their instructions. what makes you think we forumers know any better than the manufacturer? I do read that link, listening music half way then recharge again to full. But can i recharge to half way instead reach to 100% for 2nd time? It didn't mention in that link.Go read this first if you have battery questions. www.apple.com/batteries This post has been edited by rstusa: Oct 6 2010, 05:27 PM |
Oct 6 2010, 05:28 PM
1,979 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Coconut Tree. That's what my mum said |
any1 using 3rd party usb cable to charge n sync thier iphone?
Oct 6 2010, 05:54 PM
Oct 6 2010, 07:29 PM
1,600 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Shah Alam |
Oct 11 2010, 09:15 AM
144 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(rstusa @ Oct 6 2010, 03:02 PM) I saw an article in lyn forum showing need to charge 4 hours per cycle, but some ppl said no need wait low battery can charge again until 100% then unplug and some said keep charging maintain 100%. the '4 hour cycle' is a myth for modern batteries. in fact, it isn't good to wait until the battery is drained completely every time before charging, low battery levels are harmful for these types of battery. I rarely do a 'empty charge cycle' myself, just every month or so to condition the battery and calibrate the meter.Actually which way is true? When i charged full 100%, then unplug to use until 95% then simply plug in charge again until 100%, can always do that? you don't have to worry, you can charge your battery as often as you like. it wouldn't spoil the battery. what's more damaging to batteries are heat, and the aforementioned empty drain. |
Oct 11 2010, 11:42 AM
925 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Penang |
QUOTE(katnl @ Oct 11 2010, 10:15 AM) the '4 hour cycle' is a myth for modern batteries. in fact, it isn't good to wait until the battery is drained completely every time before charging, low battery levels are harmful for these types of battery. I rarely do a 'empty charge cycle' myself, just every month or so to condition the battery and calibrate the meter. agreed.. Lithium Ion batteries is different compare to the batteries in the old days. We don't even have to worry recharging from 80% to 100% again as it's not complete as 1 cycle (as you guys know).you don't have to worry, you can charge your battery as often as you like. it wouldn't spoil the battery. what's more damaging to batteries are heat, and the aforementioned empty drain. But as in general fact.. do not leave your Lithium Ion battery until totally depleted..this will cause the battery to ruin. |
Oct 13 2010, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(katnl @ Oct 11 2010, 10:15 AM) the '4 hour cycle' is a myth for modern batteries. in fact, it isn't good to wait until the battery is drained completely every time before charging, low battery levels are harmful for these types of battery. I rarely do a 'empty charge cycle' myself, just every month or so to condition the battery and calibrate the meter. I like your explanation. If i use until 80% then charge it to 100% again, but can i use until 80%, then charge until 95% and unplugged without reaching to 100%?you don't have to worry, you can charge your battery as often as you like. it wouldn't spoil the battery. what's more damaging to batteries are heat, and the aforementioned empty drain. |
Oct 13 2010, 08:53 PM
1,561 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Penang island |
so wanted to know am i charging my iphone 4 correctly....which is everyday after college would be around 5pm and will come back and charge till the next morning 8am then go to college....but in between sometimes at nite i will go out which i wont get to charge my phone around 8pm-12am/2am maybe then will continue charge till the next day 8am...and also i keep on sync with my itunes and charging it together...do i over charge it? will it reduce my battery life span?
Oct 13 2010, 09:06 PM
7,916 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
u guys ask a lot about charging battery... if someone say u need to charge X hours and cannot charge when not full etc...would u really follow?
juz charge whenever it's convenient to charge, and stop charging whenever u need to stop. if u hv to go out but ur phone is still charging at 98%, dun wait for it, juz unplug and go. as katnl have mentioned, heat and empty drain is ur worst enemy. |
Oct 13 2010, 09:43 PM
322 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Oct 13 2010, 08:53 PM) so wanted to know am i charging my iphone 4 correctly....which is everyday after college would be around 5pm and will come back and charge till the next morning 8am then go to college....but in between sometimes at nite i will go out which i wont get to charge my phone around 8pm-12am/2am maybe then will continue charge till the next day 8am...and also i keep on sync with my itunes and charging it together...do i over charge it? will it reduce my battery life span? The phone should trickle charge once it gets to 100% charge. However as a general rule dont leave the phone in the charger for more than 24 hours as most batteries tend to get warm during charging and prolonged heat does affect batteries over time. |
| Change to: | 0.0254sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:11 AM |