9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

PFA Player of the Year : Ryan Giggs, Agree or disagree?

boxsystem
post Apr 27 2009, 05:10 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(popsoul @ Apr 27 2009, 05:08 PM)
I watched both Aston Villa and Sunderland match and decided to crown Macheda the Young Player of The Year.

Although he is relatively new to BPL. He is more capable than Ashley Young.
I'll take Benayoun for saving Liverpool so many times this season.
skystrike
post Apr 27 2009, 05:10 PM

back to normal
1,279 posts

QUOTE(darksider @ Apr 27 2009, 05:07 PM)
Don't know much about him, just watched him play a few matches,he wasn't impressive. Can't imagine he got this award sad.gif
well u should watch him play more.....after that its up to u to decide whether he is deserve this award or not... smile.gif
ecchan87
post Apr 27 2009, 05:12 PM

QUOTE(popsoul @ Apr 27 2009, 06:08 PM)
I watched both Aston Villa and Sunderland match and decided to crown Macheda the Young Player of The Year.

Although he is relatively new to BPL. He is more capable than Ashley Young.
no one can challenge ashley young in england.he is the best young player this season.
solstice818
post Apr 27 2009, 05:12 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Apr 27 2009, 05:07 PM)
my answer is yes....he deserve it....even any player from other team win that award....its mean they deserve it... smile.gif
People keep talking about how many bpl medals he has, cl medals...But that's not the point.

The PFA Player of the year award is not given because of the number of medals you have.Period.

You can play badly in 10 games , still getting the medals when your team won the league even if you start most of the match on bench.

That's not the measurement of it to judge whether he deserves it or not.

livingmonolith
post Apr 27 2009, 05:14 PM

821 posts

i sincerely believe that the TS started this thread merely for discussion, not to brag about 'my player is better than yours' issues. let's keep discussion relevant.

i did not vote in this poll but i think giggs deserves the PFA award. yes, he may have played fewer compared to other candidates this season, but in a way perhaps majority of the players who voted for him have the same opinion as i do, that for a player who have won so many in his career this is probably one award which he should land.

yes, in the course of one season he hasn't been the most prominent player, but again, this is only my personal opinion because i'm biasly leaning towards a player who i thought should've won it years ago. okay, that's a personal opinion so i hope this post won't cause any unnecessary arguments. smile.gif
hidzwan
post Apr 27 2009, 05:15 PM

377 posts

the award have been already awarded to him..no need to be so emo..

btw, my choices: Gerrard, jagielka, vidic or Lampard..
skystrike
post Apr 27 2009, 05:17 PM

back to normal
1,279 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Apr 27 2009, 05:12 PM)
People keep talking about how many bpl medals he has, cl medals...But that's not the point.

The PFA Player of the year award is not given because of the number of medals you have.Period.

You can play badly in 10 games , still getting the medals  when your team won the league even if you start most of the match on bench.

That's not the measurement of it to judge whether he deserves it or not.
so what is the measurement to judge whether he deserve that award in your own point of view???
popsoul
post Apr 27 2009, 05:18 PM

不死鳥
2,358 posts

QUOTE(ecchan87 @ Apr 27 2009, 05:05 PM)
i like ryan giggs.his got his own style to whack others team.pity for him coz nvr win this award.he deserve this long2 time ago.anyway congrat to him.
p/s:dun talk cock ler.he deserve to win it.
Giggs
League
12 starts, 11 sub app.
1236 minutes.
1 goal (1 first goal of match).
CL
8 Apps, 1 goal

I don't talk cock. I present you stats, whether you like it or not.
Jonno
post Apr 27 2009, 05:19 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

This is from a Liverpool fan

AS much as I hate to say it, Ryan Giggs is one hell of a player, one of the rare breed of British who can dribble and change the game, the fact that as he aged, he uses his speed lesser and lesser, played in a more central role to make use of his game intelligence and experience to hurt to opposition, have to give him that. On top of that, he has 10 league titles and is on course for his 11th (not if we can do somehting about it), he is one of the legends of the game, having scored in EVERY of the Premier League season, the only player who has done so so far.

However, as much as a legend he is, there are more deserving winners of the award (this year), the thing is that it is a farce that the PL did not come up with a Premier league llifetime achievement award to give to him is a stupid move, that would take the sentiments away and give the award to more deserving player, Vidic, Gerrard, Lampard (whoever you choice is) and the arguement / debate would be more even.

Having said that, as mentioned, I think sentiments has a lot to do with this year's awards, which cheapens it.
REDShaun
post Apr 27 2009, 05:19 PM

115 posts

and again.. because of the "he should have won it becos he has been a great player" turns an award that rewards hard working players yearly into a sentimental one to a player like Giggs who actually deserves something outstanding on its own...
solstice818
post Apr 27 2009, 05:22 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Apr 27 2009, 05:17 PM)
so what is the measurement to judge whether he deserve that award in your own point of view???
There is no way he deserves it this year. He deserves it years before.

I believe vidic, gerrard and lampard(shocking name that didnt make into the list) should have won it instead of him.

Is hard to convince people.They will start thinking that I m being bias, bitter of it.But the facts show otherwise.Vidic's impressive clean sheet records, Gerrard and lampard's point saving goals, I don't know why someone say that Giggs deserves it. He deserves to win it previous years but certainly not this year.

skystrike
post Apr 27 2009, 05:24 PM

back to normal
1,279 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Apr 27 2009, 05:22 PM)

I believe vidic, gerrard and lampard(shocking name that didnt make into the list) should have won it instead of him.

Is hard to convince people.
They will start thinking that I m being bias, bitter of it.But the facts show otherwise.Vidic's impressive clean sheet records, Gerrard and lampard's point saving goals, I don't know why someone say that Giggs deserves it. He deserves to win it previous years but certainly not this year.
i agree with u in this bolded part...nevermind la... smile.gif
longamwai
post Apr 27 2009, 05:25 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(akRia @ Apr 27 2009, 05:03 PM)
laugh.gif what a way to evade.
QUOTE(darksider @ Apr 27 2009, 05:07 PM)
Don't know much about him, just watched him play a few matches,he wasn't impressive. Can't imagine he got this award sad.gif
walao...wat to evade...truth is thr...

darksider lol...don't know much about giggs? den u dunno much about the premiership la dei....he was there since Premier League started in 1992...

REDShaun
post Apr 27 2009, 05:26 PM

115 posts

always understand the reasoning for the PFA and the reason it was created was to reward an individual based on the performance in a year

is it so hard to understand that? I mean seriously... its like income per annum, its like GDP per year... which part of per year or yearly is hard to understand??

we are not like saying... OMG!!! A MANC WON!!! WE HAVE TO PROTEST!!!

geez... LOL
longamwai
post Apr 27 2009, 05:29 PM

140 posts

talking bout point saving goals and improvement...benayoun oso din make the list ler...i tink he's a dam scary opponent to face
boxsystem
post Apr 27 2009, 05:31 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

If goals and appearences being counted, Ronaldo would have won it.

Well everyone is freely to express their own sentiments. The fact that Giggs had been voted as POTY by players showed something. If all of United players voted for Giggs, then tell me, where does the other votes came from? Undi hantu ka?

18 teams, consists of at least 11 players. 209 other team's votes VS 11 United votes. I wonder? Whether being a sub or first 11 this season, he has done his duties superbly. Just because he doesn't feature much does not mean he doesn't deserved it.

I think one thread was created on the nominated players. As what have been said there, I do think some of United players shouldn't even be listed at all. Heck, I wonder how FA missed on Jagielka.
Quick`
post Apr 27 2009, 05:32 PM

735 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Apr 27 2009, 04:24 PM)
seriously i loled at this comment.....
very funny meh hmm.gif

QUOTE(REDShaun @ Apr 27 2009, 05:26 PM)
always understand the reasoning for the PFA and the reason it was created was to reward an individual based on the performance in a year

is it so hard to understand that? I mean seriously... its like income per annum, its like GDP per year... which part of per year or yearly is hard to understand??

we are not like saying... OMG!!! A MANC WON!!! WE HAVE TO PROTEST!!!

geez... LOL
precisely,people are just debating if giggs really do deserved it or not
nothing more than that
i personally felt Vidic should win it,base on his overall performance on this "season"
not overall performance on his life time career
but i do admit...im fan of giggs during his prime time,classic dribbling skills at its best
normally when they announced this type of awards...we would usually go "yea,he deserved it"
but not this season,it gives the "huh,why giggs?" feeling, hence such thread is created
so to Man Utd fans,chillaks
nth is going to change the fact that giggs is the PFA winner this year
we are just merely discussing or debating,whichever u call it
solstice818
post Apr 27 2009, 05:32 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

There goes, they will keep repeating

" He has 10 premier league medals and 2 cl medals, you know?"

and then, we all get to know that people nowadays do not know how to differentiate

"sentimental" and "well deserved"

@longamwai:
Like I said, the list itself is a failed nomination lists.Why is Lampard not there? As much as I hate him, he deserves to be there...Same goes to Jagielka...

This post has been edited by solstice818: Apr 27 2009, 05:34 PM
hazremi
post Apr 27 2009, 05:35 PM

1million people saved this avatar bcoz she's too cute!
5,676 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Apr 27 2009, 05:22 PM)

Is hard to convince people.They will start thinking that I m being bias, bitter of it.But the facts show otherwise.Vidic's impressive clean sheet records, Gerrard and lampard's point saving goals, I don't know why someone say that Giggs deserves it. He deserves to win it previous years but certainly not this year.
u wanna cry please cry at the people who voted giggs...majority said giggs should win it...what more do u want to say?lol doh.gif
Hevrn
post Apr 27 2009, 05:37 PM

4,017 posts

Was Ryan Giggs the best player this year? No. Does he deserve a personal accolade to recognise the fact that he's stayed in one club/league and played a massive role in the development of the current best league in the world? Yes. End of. Its not like United gets an extra 3 points for having the best player in of the season in their club. If the players voted for him, leave it be at that. If an independent panel had voted the same way, some of you would have jumped on them and claimed that Fergie paid them off. Sheesh. These kinda decisions will never please anyone. Like when Torres did not win the best player of the Euro 08 award. I recall many of you claiming he was the best among the best in that tourney.

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0472sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:21 PM