9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

PFA Player of the Year : Ryan Giggs, Agree or disagree?

Hevrn
post Apr 27 2009, 06:18 PM

4,017 posts

QUOTE(REDShaun @ Apr 27 2009, 06:16 PM)
i lol'd at that the statements you actually made. well as expected from a Man with cajones. i may need some lessons in sucking back my statements a bit from you although I'm not really reclined that particular way (see what i did?) hmm.gif

anyway peace bro, and if i can say it only proves the simple fact that Giggs is undeserving for the PFA award as is.

He does deserve a lifetime achievement thingy when they actually create one for him.  notworthy.gif
Maybe you should lol at your initial statement first. I never started anything against you, I just retorted to ppl who seem to be posting useless comments instead of participating in a healthy discussion.
REDShaun
post Apr 27 2009, 06:20 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Apr 27 2009, 06:18 PM)
Maybe you should lol at your initial statement first. I never started anything against you, I just retorted to ppl who seem to be posting useless comments instead of participating in a healthy discussion.
wateva bro... "one man's meat is another man's cajones" (see what i did there again..damn) hmm.gif

popsoul
post Apr 27 2009, 06:23 PM

不死鳥
2,358 posts

Couldn't care less now as Giggs took it. I can recall his only one goal so far this season was the single goal that for 3 points.

Not sour grapes but based on the performance, definitely one between Gerrard or Vidic should have nick it.
shortleg88
post Apr 27 2009, 06:24 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

QUOTE(popsoul @ Apr 27 2009, 05:52 PM)
I won't be surprise if Gary Neville and Paul Scholes in the list of nominees come next season.

Complete joke.
Gary Neville most likely not, Paul Scholes still stands a chance. I can be sure even if Vidic have won, some would have questioned the panel! Why Giggs achieve such accolade from his fellow peers? Respect! And that itself is a major factor in them casting the votes. Gerard and Ronaldo certainly ain't the favorite ones there as they often seem to be slight arrogant (Ronaldo is a lot tongue.gif )
REDShaun
post Apr 27 2009, 06:24 PM

115 posts

i vote Vidic.. and again that is for his 12 games shutout...
Hevrn
post Apr 27 2009, 06:25 PM

4,017 posts

QUOTE(REDShaun @ Apr 27 2009, 06:20 PM)
wateva bro...  "one man's meat is another man's cajones" (see what i did there again..damn)  hmm.gif
Whatever you say mate. If you want to have the parting shot so much, you can have it if it means so much to you. I never started anything against you.
blinky
post Apr 27 2009, 06:28 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

My sentiments:

He does not deserve to win the PFA Player of the Year award.

He deserves something better. Like a Lifetime Achievement Award.

The PFA Player of the Year should have went to Vidic or Gerrard.

By the way, what's with all the flaming? This is a thread about a footballer as an individual, don't have to drag the clubs into it.
whoopa
post Apr 27 2009, 06:28 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

the bpl players think giggs deserved it ...

no matter how much ppl here think he didnt deserve it all i can do is LOL .. so it seems us forumers know more of football than the players themselves wink.gif
popsoul
post Apr 27 2009, 06:29 PM

不死鳥
2,358 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Apr 27 2009, 06:24 PM)
Gary Neville most likely not, Paul Scholes still stands a chance. I can be sure even if Vidic have won, some would have questioned the panel! Why Giggs achieve such accolade from his fellow peers? Respect! And that itself is a major factor in them casting the votes. Gerard and Ronaldo certainly ain't the favorite ones there as they often seem to be slight arrogant (Ronaldo is a lot  tongue.gif )
No. I am certainly not one to question if Vidic won it but perhaps the nightmare given by Torres doesn't help much for this voting. smile.gif

The one you referred, Ronaldo won the PFA Player of the Year twice for previous 2 season companied with other awards, if not mistaken. Arrogant? What arrogant? cool2.gif
akRia
post Apr 27 2009, 06:34 PM

...~+noob+~...
1,998 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Apr 27 2009, 06:25 PM)
Whatever you say mate. If you want to have the parting shot so much, you can have it if it means so much to you. I never started anything against you.
chill la teh tarik on me laugh.gif
aboogee
post Apr 27 2009, 06:37 PM

1,090 posts

Maybe the ppl who voted felt it took more than mere performance to win the award.

Stats may show that Giggs wasnt the super bestest fuyoh players there is on the pitch, but at his age, with his enthusiasm and heart, that attitude on the field this season was wat earned the respect of his peers.

IINM, players cant vote for their own teammates, so if u asked me, and im jus speculating here, that the pool boys, if having to choose between Vida and Giggsy wudve definitely voted for Giggsy!

Not because 'vida had a nightmare handed to him by torres' but simply that the Giggs not only performed when called upon, but still showed heart.

So instead of taking into consideration of simple variables like how many passes were complete, how many goals he scored, how many defenders he left on their backside, i think its the elements that you cant quantify that swayed it to his favour, and theres absolutely no reason why the PFA voters cant take that into consideration!! smile.gif

d12fren87
post Apr 27 2009, 06:49 PM

724 posts

[quote=Jonno,Apr 27 2009, 04:07 PM]
This is a further prove that footballers knows nothing about football. There are at least 5 players that is a more worthy winners of the award than Giggs based on this YEAR's contribution.
Maybe I am biased, but of all the 6 nominees, I feel that if you are to choose one of the 6, then it can only be Gerrard, my reasoning, asas follow:

This is the PFA award , if u think If they dont know anything about Football then just ignore it.
Because next year and every year in the future, it will still be voted by footballers which u think they don know anything about football.
Duke Red
post Apr 27 2009, 06:55 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 27 2009, 05:56 PM)
then let me ask u this, how do u know?
the award say player of the year...
dun tell me every1 voted giggs cause of sentiment?
i think each player vote based on different point of view and ideology thus lets nt jz say its sentiment or feeling pity...
Do you know otherwise? In your opinion then, what facts make him deserving of this award? Screw Gerrard, are you saying Gigges deserves it ahead of Vidic based purely on form? Which do you think it most likely? That the players who know him and voted for him, were affected by the fact he's been one of the best players the last decade and is a top bloke in person, or that he was the best player in the league this season? Maybe my logic is flawed but I think the answer to this is pretty obvious.

Just to correct you in case Iwasn't clear enough, but I did say sentiment played a role, I didn't say they voted for him based PURELY on sentiment. Differentiate.

Added on April 27, 2009, 6:58 pmI think statements like, "well the players voted for him" is moot because this thread is asking for OUR opinions. Tell you what, sometimes fans do know more than players because some watch a lot of games. How many games do you think a player can squeeze into his busy weekly training schedule? Not to mention you have to consider they have personal lives to top it off.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 27 2009, 06:58 PM
Quick`
post Apr 27 2009, 07:00 PM

735 posts

bu the looks of it,no conclusion can be reached from this discussion anyway...
decision has already been made, Giggs is our official PFA winner for this year

those that thinks giggs deservingly deserve to win the award, then be it
those that think giggs won the award based on a sentimental approach,then be it
those that thinks..................yada yada,then be it
and the list goes on,
everyone happy can already

congratz to Ryan Giggs for this award notworthy.gif

TSprelude23
post Apr 27 2009, 07:04 PM

fYeah!!
2,497 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Apr 27 2009, 06:55 PM)
Do you know otherwise? In your opinion then, what facts make him deserving of this award? Screw Gerrard, are you saying Gigges deserves it ahead of Vidic based purely on form? Which do you think it most likely? That the players who know him and voted for him, were affected by the fact he's been one of the best players the last decade and is a top bloke in person, or that he was the best player in the league this season? Maybe my logic is flawed but I think the answer to this is pretty obvious.

Just to correct you in case Iwasn't clear enough, but I did say sentiment played a role, I didn't say they voted for him based PURELY on sentiment. Differentiate.

Added on April 27, 2009, 6:58 pmI think statements like, "well the players voted for him" is moot because this thread is asking for OUR opinions. Tell you what, sometimes fans do know more than players because some watch a lot of games. How many games do you think a player can squeeze into his busy weekly training schedule? Not to mention you have to consider they have personal lives to top it off.
I agree with Duke Red. Don't question who voted Giggs. Be it panel, coaches or players.

The main question remains, "Is Giggs the best player to win the award?"

-
I still think the players do not want Ronaldo to win three times in a row. rolleyes.gif If only Ronaldo is a saint like Scholes.

This post has been edited by prelude23: Apr 27 2009, 07:05 PM
Ken
post Apr 27 2009, 07:15 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(popsoul @ Apr 27 2009, 06:23 PM)
Couldn't care less now as Giggs took it. I can recall his only one goal so far this season was the single goal that for 3 points.

Not sour grapes but based on the performance, definitely one between Gerrard or Vidic should have nick it.
i thought this award was voted by all professional players in the league ? may be they wanna respect the old man ?
solstice818
post Apr 27 2009, 07:17 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

I cant imagine there are actually people calling mod to close down the thread just because of the disagreement.

If everyone agrees with one another, what's the point of discussion?
tommy81
post Apr 27 2009, 07:24 PM

88 posts

it's really hard to choose between vida and giggs!But giggs also has done a good job this season!But i'm happy he's won the award!Coz how come the player that winning league title the most not winning PFA of the year before?! hmm.gif
solstice818
post Apr 27 2009, 07:29 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(tommy81 @ Apr 27 2009, 07:24 PM)
it's really hard to choose between vida and giggs!But giggs also has done a good job this season!But i'm happy he's won the award!Coz how come the player that winning league title the most not winning PFA of the year before?! hmm.gif
QUOTE(solstice818 @ Apr 27 2009, 05:12 PM)
People keep talking about how many bpl medals he has, cl medals...But that's not the point.

The PFA Player of the year award is not given because of the number of medals you have.Period.

You can play badly in 10 games , still getting the medals  when your team won the league even if you start most of the match on bench.

DoNs
post Apr 27 2009, 07:34 PM

24 posts

Cant believe all this nonsense/booshit/crap talk that Giggs doesn't deserve the award. His fellow players voted him and is not 1 person voting. They all recognise his ability this season that they never saw in Giggs for the past 17-18 season.

Who would have thought that Giggs can transform himself from a brilliant winger to an excellent ( i mean EXCELLENT, not good enough, or so-so) attacking midfielder! And top of that, he reinvented himself as a top level att mid at the of 35 years old! And still keeps going AND IS GONNA STILL BE A KEY PLAYER for the upcoming match with Arsenal!

Why the fak we would be arguing about that. Clearly those professional players and fellow friends knows better.

Giggsy. You deserve the lot!

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0877sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:43 PM